DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument in Pages 7 and 8 of the remarks, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that CHEN does not need to disclose that the heat transfer structure 140 can be treated as two separate structures since CHEN’s heat transfer structure 140 reads on Applicant’s corresponding structures as claimed. Moreover, Examiner notes that although CHEN does not teach the newly added limitation, CHEN teaches in ¶ [0051] that the plurality of heat transfer structures (140) can be arranged in any desired configuration. Therefore, it would be obvious as matter of design choice within the skill of the art to modify CHEN’s vapor chamber to have a perimeter profile of the plurality of heat transfer structures forms a circle-like shape.
Therefore, the previous rejection is maintained, modified as necessitated by Amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (US 20200355444 A1: Previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, CHEN teaches a vapor chamber (see Figures 1A-1D), comprising:
a first plate (110);
a second plate (190) opposite the first plate (110), the first plate (110) and the second plate (190) defining an interior cavity (space between 190 and 110),
the interior cavity comprising, a first portion (FP: see CHEN’s Figure 1B annotated by Examiner), a pair of second portions (SP), and a pair of third portions (TP), the first portion (FP) surrounded by the pair of second portions (SP) and the pair of third portions (TP), the pair of second portions (SP) on opposite sides of the first portion (FP) and the pair of third portions (TP) on opposite sides of the first portion (FP) different from the opposite sides of the pair of second portions (SP), each of second portion (SP) having a width extending from a respective opposite side of the first portion (FP) to a respective perimeter interior side wall of the vapor chamber (see CHEN’s Figure 1B annotated by Examiner), each third portions (TP) having a length extending from a respective opposite side of the first portion (FP) to a respective perimeter interior side wall of the vapor chamber (see CHEN’s Figure 1B annotated by Examiner), the length of each third portions (TP) defining a longitudinal direction (X direction: see CHEN’s Figure 1B annotated by Examiner), the first portion (FP) having a first depth (D2) extending from the first plate (110) to the second plate (190: see CHEN’s Figure 1B annotated by Examiner and cf. Figure 1D), each second portions (SP) and each third portions (TP) further having a second depth (D1) extending from the first plate (110) to the second plate (190);
a plurality of support structures (154 and 176) disposed in the first portion (FP), the pair of second portions (SP), and the pair of third portions (TP), respectively, each plurality of support structures (154 and 176) having a first support contact end (upper end of 154 and 176), and a second support contact end (lower end of 154 and 176) opposite to each other and a structure diameter (diameter of 154 and 176), the first support contact ends (upper end of 154 and 176) contacts the second plate (190: see Figure 1D);
a plurality of heat transfer structures (half of 140) disposed in the first portion (FP), each plurality of heat transfer structures (140) having a first heat transfer contact end (upper end of 140: see Figure 1E), and a second heat transfer contact end (lower end of 140) opposite to each other and a structure length (length of 140), the first heat transfer contact ends (upper end of 140) contact the second plate (the upper end of 140 thermally contact 190: see Figure 1E);
the first depth (D2) is greater than the second depth (D1: see Figure 1D), and the structure length (length of 140) is greater than the structure diameter (diameter of 154 and 176: see Figures 4A-5B); and
wherein a position of the structure length of each of the plurality of heat transfer structures is in line with the longitudinal direction (see CHEN’s Figure 1B annotated by Examiner),
and a plurality of heat transfer base structures (the other half of 140: see Figures 4A and 4B) disposed in the first portion (FP), each plurality of heat transfer base structures having a first heat transfer base contact end (upper end of the other half of 140) and a second heat transfer base contact end (lower end of the other half of 140) opposite to each other and a base structure length (length the other half of 140), the second heat transfer base contact ends (lower end of the other half of 140) contacts the first plate (110), the first heat transfer base contact ends (upper end of the other half of 140) contact at least one of the second heat transfer contact ends (lower end of the first half of 140 :see Figures 4A and 4B where the lower end of the first half of 140 thermally contact the upper end of the other half of 140) and at least one of the second support contact ends (lower end of 154 and 176: see Figures 4A and 4B).
CHEN does not teach wherein the length of each third portion is greater than the width of each second portion, wherein a perimeter profile of the plurality of heat transfer structures forms a circle-like shape.
However, the sizes of the vapor chamber portions are an engineering design choice, as evidenced by CHEN, see at least CHEN’s ¶¶ [0042 and 0059], i.e. “the vapor chamber 100 can be shaped and sized (or otherwise configured) in a desired manner” and “The vapor chambers 100 in FIGS. 2A to 4B include two evaporator vapor flow areas 220E (FIG. 2A), 320E (FIG. 3A), 420E (FIG. 4A). However, in other embodiments the vapor chamber 100 includes one (1) or more than two (2) evaporator vapor flow areas, and the evaporator vapor flow areas can have any desired location and have a desired shape or size as required by the application and design”. Moreover, CHEN teaches in ¶ [0051] that the plurality of heat transfer structures (140) can be arranged in any desired configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN’s vapor chamber to have the length of each pair of third portions is greater than the width of each pair of second portions and wherein a perimeter profile of the plurality of heat transfer structures forms a circle-like shape as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
CHEN’s Figure 1B annotated by Examiner
Regarding claim 2, CHEN further teaches further comprising a centerline, the centerline passing through the first portion and each of the pair of third portions, the centerline intersecting a center of the vapor chamber (see ¶ [0058]).
CHEN does not teach wherein at least one of the plurality of heat transfer structures further has a maximum structure length, the maximum structure length is greater than the structure length, wherein a position of the maximum structure length is centered along the centerline.
However, the layout pattern of the plurality of heat transfer structures is as an engineering design choice, as evidenced by CHEN, see CHEN’s ¶ [0051] “The heat transfer structures 140 can be arranged in any desired configuration provided a desired vapor pressure drop is obtained in the vapor chamber 100 and without departing from the scope of the disclosure”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of heat transfer structures of CHEN’s vapor chamber to have at least one of the plurality of heat transfer structures further has a maximum structure length, the maximum structure length is greater than the structure length, wherein a position of the maximum structure length is centered along the centerline as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 3, CHEN further teaches further comprising a working fluid disposed in the interior cavity (see ¶ [0041], wherein the first portion (FP) further has a first volume ( volume of FP), the pair of second portions (SP) further has a second volume (volume of SP), and the pair of third portions (TP) further has a third volume (volume of TP), and
the first portion is configured to have the working fluid transitions between a liquid phase and a gas phase when heated, and the pair of second portions and the pair of third portions are configured to have the gas phase of the working fluid condenses back into a liquid phase when cooled (see at least ¶¶ [0036-0039]), wherein the third volume is greater than the second volume (since TP is greater than SP, then the volume of TP must be greater than volume of SP) , and
the position of the structure length of each of the plurality of heat transfer structures (140) is in line with the longitudinal direction to have the condensed working fluid flows from the pair of third portions (TP) to and through the first portion (FP) unhindered by any non-parallel plurality of heat transfer structures (see CHEN’s Figure 1B annotated by Examiner).
Regarding claim 4, CHEN further teaches wherein the plurality of support structures (154 and 176) have a cylinder shape (see Figure 4B).
Regarding claim 5, CHEN further teaches further comprising a heat source contact surface (114) opposite the first portion (FP), the heat source contact surface (114) being configured to thermally couple to a heat source (see ¶ [0042]), wherein a total area of the second heat transfer contact ends (lower end of 140) for all of the plurality of heat transfer structures (140) is greater than 12 percent, inclusive, of a total area of the heat source contact surface (see Figures 1B, 5A and 5B where 140 cover most of area of 114. Therefore, the total area of the lower end of 140 is greater than 12 percent of the total area of 114).
Regarding claim 6, CHEN further teaches wherein the plurality of heat transfer structures (140) disposed in the first portion (FP) decrease a vapor space of the first portion (any structure in empty space would decrease the space), increasing a temperature within the first portion, and increasing a temperature difference between the temperature within the first portion and the temperature within the pair of second portions and between the temperature within the first portion and the temperature within the pair of third portions when the heat source contact surface is thermally coupled to the heat source (Examiner notes the recitations: “increasing a temperature within the first portion, and increasing a temperature difference between the temperature within the first portion and the temperature within the pair of second portions and between the temperature within the first portion and the temperature within the pair of third portions when the heat source contact surface is thermally coupled to the heat source” are considered to be statements of intended use. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114(II). In the instant case, CHEN discloses all of the structural limitations as claimed and is thus capable of being employed in the manner claimed).
Regarding claim 7, CHEN further teaches wherein each of the plurality of heat transfer structures (140) being spaced apart from each other and parallel to each other (see Figures 4A and 4B).
Regarding claim 8, CHEN does not teach wherein none of the plurality of support structures being disposed between each of the plurality of heat transfer structures.
However, the layout pattern of the plurality of support structures and the plurality of heat transfer structures is as an engineering design choice, as evidenced by CHEN, see CHEN’s ¶¶ [0051 and 0052] i.e. “The heat transfer structures 140 can be arranged in any desired configuration provided a desired vapor pressure drop is obtained in the vapor chamber 100 and without departing from the scope of the disclosure” and “The plurality of first support structures 154 are arranged in a desired pattern”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of heat transfer structures and the plurality of heat transfer structures of CHEN’s vapor chamber to have none of the plurality of support structures being disposed between each of the plurality of heat transfer structures as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 9, CHEN further teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of support structures (154 and 176) being disposed between at least two of the plurality of heat transfer structures (140: see Figures 4A and 4B).
Regarding claim 10, CHEN further teaches wherein the base structure length (length the other half of 140) is greater than the structure length (length the first half of 140) and the structure diameter (diameter of 154 and 176: see in Figures 4A and 4B where the length of the other half of 140 (i.e. on the left and right sides of 420E) are greater than the length the first half of 140 (i.e. on the middle side of 420E) and the diameter of 154 and 176), and wherein a direction of the base structure length is the same as the longitudinal direction (see Figures 4A and 4B).
Regarding claim 11, CHEN further teaches wherein a total area of the second heat transfer contact ends (lower end of the first half of 140) for all of the plurality of heat transfer structures (the first half of 140) is between 30 percent and 70 percent, inclusive, of a total area of the first heat transfer base contact ends (upper end of the other half of 140) for all of the plurality of heat transfer base structures (the other half of 140: since all 140 are divided to two halves, then the total area of the second heat transfer contact ends is 50 percent of the total area of the first heat transfer base contact ends).
Regarding claim 12, CHEN further teaches wherein the plurality of heat transfer base structures and the plurality of heat transfer structures have a rectangular cuboid-like shape (see in Figures 4A and 4B where 140 are have a rectangular cuboid-like shape).
Regarding claim 13, CHEN further teaches wherein further comprising a wick structure disposed on an inner surface (119) of the first plate (110), and outer surfaces of the plurality of support structures (some outer surfaces of 154 and 176), the plurality of heat transfer structures, and the plurality of heat transfer base structures (see in Figure 1E where 201 is disposed on 119, 140, and 154).
Regarding claim 14, CHEN does not teach wherein at least two of the plurality of heat transfer structures are disposed on one of the plurality of heat transfer base structures.
However, there is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the configuration of the plurality of heat transfer structures and the plurality of heat transfer base structures would result in a difference in function of CHEN’s vapor chamber. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the configuration of the plurality of heat transfer structures and the plurality of heat transfer base structures of CHEN’s vapor chamber, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the vapor chamber would function as intended being given the claimed configuration. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed configuration solves any stated problem, indicating that the plurality of heat transfer structures and the plurality of heat transfer base structures can be separate from each other or one is in top of the other (see Figures 2B-4) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the configuration as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration of the plurality of heat transfer structures and the plurality of heat transfer base structures of CHEN’s vapor chamber to have at least two of the plurality of heat transfer structures are disposed on one of the plurality of heat transfer base structures as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 15, CHEN as modified further teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of support structures (154 and 176) is disposed between the at least two of the plurality of heat transfer structures (Examiner notes that more than one of 154 are disposed between the plurality of heat transfer structures (i.e. first half of 140), see Figures 4A and 4B. Therefore, CHEN as modified would have at least one of 154 is disposed between at least two of the first half of 140).
Conclusion
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763