DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9 and 11-17 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II and species b, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al.(WO-2020098088-A1, reference made to English translation) in view of Shin et al.(US-20200280062-A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Yan discloses a negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery(¶[0057]), the negative active material comprising:
a porous carbon matrix (i.e. carbon mesh, ¶[0008]) having a porosity of about 10% to about 80%(¶[0013]);
silicon oxide distributed in pores of the porous carbon matrix(¶[0008]); and
a coating layer on a surface of the porous carbon matrix, the coating layer comprising carbon(¶[0015]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Yan does not explicitly disclose the carbon matrix or coating layer as amorphous.
Shin, related to negative active materials, teaches a negative active material composite with a core including amorphous carbon and silicon nanoparticles and a coating layer including amorphous carbon(¶[0010]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood using amorphous carbon for the core and coating layer in the negative electrode material of Yan as taught by Shin would have resulted in a material with improved initial efficiency and cycle-life characteristics(¶[0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used amorphous carbon for the core and coating layer to improve initial efficiency and cycle-life characteristics.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, modified Yan discloses the negative electrode material of claim 1 and Shin further teaches the carbon matrix may be a hard carbon(¶[0015]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Yan discloses the negative electrode material of claim 1 and Yan further discloses the silicon oxide may be nano-silicon suboxide (SiOx) where x is 0.8-1.5(¶[0020]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, modified Yan discloses the negative electrode material of claim 1 and Yan further discloses the silicon oxide particle size D50 of the silicon material is 5-300 nm(¶[0020]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, modified Yan discloses the negative electrode material of claim 1 and Shin further teaches silicon nanoparticle loading of 20-80%(¶[0014]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 8, modified Yan discloses the negative electrode material of claim 1 and Shin further teaches the coating layer is 10-2000 nm thick(¶[0025]) which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize given the size of the composite particle of 1-20 µm(¶[009]) would lead to an overlapping range with the claimed 1-20 wt.% of the wt. of the coating layer to the active material.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 10, modified Yan discloses the negative electrode material of claim 1 and Shin further teaches the nano-silicon material which includes nano silicon suboxide may be amorphous(¶[0020]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Yan discloses the negative electrode material of claim 1 and Shin further teaches the material used in a rechargeable lithium-ion battery including a positive electrode(i.e. counter electrode) and electrolyte(¶[0057]).
Conclusion
/K.J.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726