DETAILED ACTION
Status of the claim
The argument received on 8/25/2026 has been acknowledged and entered. Claims 1, 6, and 9 are amended. Claim 4 is cancelled. Claim 16-21 are newly added. Thus, claims 1-3 and 5-21 are currently pending. This action is a second non-final due to the new ground of rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 8/25/2026 with respect to claims 1-3 and 5-21 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 8/25/2026 with respect to claims 1-3 and 5-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “accumulation module” in claims 1. 3, 5-6, 9, and 16-17 and “battery lifetime estimation module” in claims 1 and 6-15.
According to MPEP 2181, II, B, “In cases involving a special purpose computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, the Federal Circuit has consistently required that the structure be more than simply a general purpose computer or microprocessor and that the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed function. See, e.g., Noah Systems Inc. v. Intuit Inc., 675 F.3d 1302, 1312, 102 USPQ2d 1410, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2012); Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1333, 86 USPQ2d at 1239. Image… the specification must sufficiently disclose an algorithm to transform a general purpose microprocessor to a special purpose computer so that a person of ordinary skill in the art can implement the disclosed algorithm to achieve the claimed function. Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1338, 86 USPQ2d at 1241.” A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding algorithm for performing the claimed function as described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Fig. 5 and paras. [0090]-[0098].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 and 5-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Specifically, representative Claim 1 recites:
A consumption meter comprising:
a battery for energy supply; and
an accumulation module configured to accumulate a first quantity over a time period to obtain a first accumulated quantity, wherein the first quantity is based on a product of at least a current drawn from the battery and a duration over which the current was drawn from the battery and configured to transmit the first accumulated quantity at regular or irregular intervals to a battery lifetime estimation module for calculating a remaining battery lifetime on a basis of a nominal battery capacity, the received first accumulated quantity and an operating time of the battery; and
a temperature sensor,
wherein the accumulation module is configured for accumulating a second quantity over a time period to obtain a second accumulated quantity, wherein the second quantity is a product of a temperature at the consumption meter and a duration for which the temperature was observed, and for transmitting the second accumulated quantity to the battery life-time estimation module for calculating a remaining battery lifetime additionally on the basis of the received second accumulated quantity.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements.”
Step 1: under the Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claim is considered to be in a statutory category (Machine).
Step 2A, Prong One: under the Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite an abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the groupings of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation that falls into the grouping of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation, that covers mathematical concepts - mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations.
For example, the limitation of “accumulation module configured to accumulate a first quantity over a time period to obtain a first accumulated quantity, wherein the first quantity is based on a product of at least a current drawn from the battery and a duration over which the current was drawn from the battery (see paras. [0009], [0052], [0080], [0091] of instant application) and configured to transmit the first accumulated quantity at regular or irregular intervals to a battery lifetime estimation module for calculating a remaining battery lifetime on a basis of a nominal battery capacity, the received first accumulated quantity and an operating time of the battery (see paras. [0009], [0013], [0025], [0103] of instant application)” is mathematical calculations. The limitation of accumulate a first quantity over a time period to obtain a first accumulated quantity and calculating a remaining battery lifetime on a basis of a nominal battery capacity, the received first accumulated quantity and an operating time of the battery are indicative of mathematical calculations. Transmitting to the estimation module is merely providing data between two modules to perform abstract idea that is mathematical calculations. Therefore, transmitting to the estimation module is merely part of abstract idea.
Further, limitation of “the accumulation module is configured for accumulating a second quantity over a time period to obtain a second accumulated quantity, wherein the second quantity is a product of a temperature at the consumption meter and a duration for which the temperature was observed , and for transmitting the second accumulated quantity to the battery life-time estimation module for calculating a remaining battery lifetime additionally on the basis of the received second accumulated quantity (paras. [0022]-[0033])” is mathematical calculations. The limitation of “the second quantity is a product of a temperature at the consumption meter and a duration for which the temperature was observed” is an indicative of mathematical calculations. Transmitting to the estimation module is merely providing data between two modules to perform abstract idea that is mathematical calculations. Therefore, transmitting to the estimation module is merely part of abstract idea. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mathematical calculations, then it falls within the “Mathematical Concepts” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Similar limitations comprise the abstract ideas of Claim 6.
Step 2A, Prong Two: under the Step 2A, Prong Two, we consider whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. In this step, we evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Therefore, none of the additional elements indicate a practical application.
Therefore, the claims are directed to a judicial exception and require further analysis under the Step 2B.
Step 2B:
The above claims comprise the following additional elements:
In Claim 1: a consumption meter (preamble); a battery for energy supply; a temperature sensor.
In Claim 6: a consumption meter system (preamble); a battery life-time estimation module; a consumption meter; a battery for energy supply; a temperature sensor; receive the first accumulated quantity from the accumulation module.
The additional elements such as a consumption meter and batter for energy supply, temperature sensor are recited at a high-level of generality without descriptions of its specific structure/features to perform the claimed features for producing the mathematical process addressed above (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Further, note that step of receiving the first accumulated quantity from the accumulation module in claim 6 is insignificant (gathering data) extra-solution activity to perform abstract idea that is mathematical calculations (i.e. calculating a remaining battery lifetime) (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Claim 1 does not present tangible or physical elements/components and/or integration of improvements to be indicative of specific features/structure/acts, for example, how and or with what to accumulate the first and second quantity over a time period to obtain the first and second accumulated quantities and calculate the remaining battery lifetime based on the received first and second accumulated quantities. Further, an abstract idea itself is just that, abstract, and whether such feature is or is not significant does not preclude it from being considered abstract. An abstract idea by itself, whether it or not it has a benefit, does not reasonably overcome a 101 rejection because it is still an abstract idea. Therefore, the above advantages relate to abstract idea limitations which are not considered. The Improvements in the abstract idea are not qualified as improvements indicating a practical application. The pending claims are not patent eligible since a claim for a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(a).I) and an improvement in the abstract idea itself is not an improvement in technology (see MPEP 2106.05(a).II and MPEP 2106.05(a).II: Examples that the courts have indicated may not be sufficient to show an improvement to technology include: iii. Gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48)). This is just a processor running mathematics. Similar limitations comprise the abstract ideas of Claim 6. Therefore, the independent claims 1 and 6 are ineligible.
Regarding claims 3,
The additional elements of “wherein the accumulation module is configured for estimating the first quantity based on an operation of the consumption meter, or wherein the consumption meter further comprises means for measuring the current drawn from the battery, and means for measuring a voltage at which the current is supplied by the battery and/or means for measuring the duration over which the current is drawn from the battery” is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the relevant based on the prior art of record (page 5, lines 22-27, page 5, lines 28-31, page 5, lines 31-34 of Kazunari (JP 2021179397 A); col. 1, lines 48, col. 2, lines 9-17, and col. 1, lines 43-50 of Kozaki (US 5691078)). Therefore, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these additional elements/steps are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the relevant art based on the prior art of record.
Regarding claims 2 and 5-21,
All features recited in these claims are abstract ideas, as all features found in these claims are directed towards mathematical calculations steps. All features recited in these claims merely define or describe the abstract idea that is mathematical concepts. Therefore, all features recited in these claims are part of abstract idea. The explanation for the rejection of Claims 2 and 5-21 therefore are incorporated herein and applied to Claims 1 and 6. These claims therefore stand rejected for similar reasons as explained in above Claims 1 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazunari in view of Su et al. (CN 113447830 A, hereinafter referred to as “Su”) (cited in IDS dated November 30, 2023) and Narotam (GB 2102964 A, hereinafter referred to as “Narotam”).
Regarding claim 1, Kazunari teaches a consumption meter (page 5, lines 22-24: calculate the assumed current consumption value of the operation performed in) comprising:
a battery for energy supply (Fig. 1 and page 7, line 22: a built-in lithium thionyl chloride battery (primary battery)); and an
accumulation module configured to accumulate a first quantity over a time period to obtain a first accumulated quantity (page 5, lines 25-26: the second calculation means calculates the integrated current consumption value of the device from the start of operation to the present based on the assumed current consumption value),
wherein the first quantity is based on a product of at least a current drawn from the battery and a duration over which the current was drawn from the battery (page 5, lines 25-26: the second calculation means calculates the integrated current consumption value of the device from the start of operation to the present based on the assumed current consumption value) and
configured to transmit the first accumulated quantity at regular or irregular intervals (page 5, lines 35-36: The device has a first calculation means and a second calculation means, and transmits a current consumption integrated value and a battery voltage value to the server device at a predetermined cycle ) to a battery lifetime estimation module for calculating a remaining battery lifetime on a basis of a nominal battery capacity (page 5, lines 29-31: the first prediction means calculates the remaining battery capacity by subtracting the integrated current consumption value from the battery capacity of the battery, and obtains the remaining battery capacity and the estimated current consumption value per unit day), the received first accumulated quantity and an operating time of the battery (page 5, lines 22-26: The first calculation means acquires the operating time of the operation performed by the device and the current value per unit time that is expected to be consumed during the operation, and the device is based on the operating time and the current value per unit time. Calculate the assumed current consumption value of the operation performed in).
Kazunari does not specifically teaches a temperature sensor, wherein the accumulation module is configured for accumulating a second quantity over a time period to obtain a second accumulated quantity, wherein the second quantity is a product of a temperature at the consumption meter and a duration for which the temperature was observed, and for transmitting the second accumulated quantity to the battery life-time estimation module for calculating a remaining battery lifetime additionally on the basis of the received second accumulated quantity.
However, Su teaches a temperature sensor (page 7, lines 37-38: the temperature sensor is used for measuring temperature; page 6, line 32: the calculation is carried out separately, the working time is strictly counted),
wherein the accumulation module is configured for accumulating a second quantity over a time period to obtain a second accumulated quantity (page 6, lines 24-26: the accumulated time is used for calculating the dormancy power consumption so as to obtain the accurate real-time power consumption of the disposable lithium battery, note that the above feature of “the calculation is carried out separately, the working time is strictly counted” in page 6, lines 32 reads on “a second accumulated quantity”),
for transmitting the second accumulated quantity to the battery life-time estimation module for calculating a remaining battery lifetime additionally on the basis of the received second accumulated quantity (page 6, lines 24-26: see above; page 6, line 32: see above; page 6, lines 3-4: s4: the wireless intelligent sensor measures working parameters of the disposable lithium battery and transmits the measured parameters to the upper computer through the first wireless communication module; page 6, line 32: the calculation is carried out separately, the working time is strictly counted).
Kazunari and Su are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of monitoring electric quantity of battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the temperature sensor such as is described in Su into Kazunari, in order to monitor electric quantity of battery (Su, page 2, lines 9-10).
Kazunari and Su do not specifically teach that the second quantity is a product of a temperature at the consumption meter and a duration for which the temperature was observed.
However, Narotam teaches the second quantity is a product of a temperature at the consumption meter and a duration for which the temperature was observed (page 1, lines 107-108: Figure 1, the meter includes a temperature measuring device 1; page 1, lines 123-126: Fig. 2 and the processing circuit 7 produces a signal (TAT0)t representative of the product of the difference of the reference and sampled temperature and the sampling interval, note that the above feature of Fig.1 and the product of the difference of the reference and sampled temperature and the sampling interval” in Fig. 2 and page 1, lines 123-126 reads on “the second quantity is a product of a temperature at the consumption meter and a duration for which the temperature was observed”).
Kazunari and Narotam are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of meter including temperature measurement device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the second quantity which is a product of a temperature at the consumption meter and a duration such as is described in Narotam into Kazunari, in order to allow a meter to compute data which takes full account of the times for which temperatures are maintained (Narotam, page 1, lines 95-98).
Regarding claim 2, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of calim1, in addition, Kazunari teaches that the first quantity is based at least on the product of the current drawn from the battery and the duration over which the current was drawn from the battery (page 5, lines 22-23: the first calculation means acquires the operating time of the operation performed by the device and the current value per unit time that is expected to be consumed during the operation) and also a voltage at which the current was supplied from the battery (page 5, lines 28-31: the determination means determines whether or not the voltage value of the battery of the apparatus is equal to or less than a predetermined voltage value, the first prediction means calculates the remaining battery capacity by subtracting the integrated current consumption value from the battery capacity of the battery, and obtains the remaining battery capacity; page 5, lines 31-34: page 5, lines 31-34: the expected battery life up to the final voltage of the device is calculated).
Regarding claim 3, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of calim1, in addition, Kazunari teaches that the accumulation module is configured for estimating the first quantity based on an operation of the consumption meter (page 5, lines 22-27: The first calculation means acquires the operating time of the operation performed by the device and the current value per unit time that is expected to be consumed during the operation, and the device is based on the operating time and the current value per unit time. Calculate the assumed current consumption value of the operation performed in…. The third calculation means calculates the estimated current consumption value per unit day based on the assumed current consumption value or the integrated current consumption value), or
wherein the consumption meter further comprises means for measuring the current drawn from the battery (page 5, lines 22-27: see above), and means for measuring a voltage (page 5, lines 28-31: the determination means determines whether or not the voltage value of the battery of the apparatus is equal to or less than a predetermined voltage value, the first prediction means calculates the remaining battery capacity by subtracting the integrated current consumption value from the battery capacity of the battery, and obtains the remaining battery capacity; page 5, lines 31-34: the expected battery life up to the final voltage of the device is calculated) at which the current is supplied by the battery and/or means for measuring the duration over which the current is drawn from the battery (page 5, lines 22-27: see above).
Regarding claim 5, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of calim1, in addition, Kazunari teaches that the accumulation module is configured for accumulating the one or more quantities from a time (page 5, lines 35-36: The device has a first calculation means and a second calculation means, and transmits a current consumption integrated value and a battery voltage value to the server device at a predetermined cycle) the battery is initially placed in the consumption meter until the battery is removed from the consumption meter (page 5, lines 25-26: the second calculation means calculates the integrated current consumption value of the device from the start of operation to the present based on the assumed current consumption value), or wherein the accumulation module is configured for accumulating the one or more quantities over an entire lifetime of the consumption meter (page 5, lines 25-26: see above; page 5, lines 35-36: see above).
Regarding claim 6, it is a system type claim and has similar limitations as of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 2 above. The additional elements of a battery life-time estimation module (page 5, lines 29-30: the first prediction means calculates the remaining battery capacity by subtracting the integrated current consumption value from the battery capacity of the battery) taught by Kazunari.
Regarding claim 7, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of claim 6, in addition, Kazunari teaches that the battery lifetime estimation module is configured to calculate the remaining battery lifetime by subtracting the first accumulated quantity last received from an available battery capacity to obtain a remaining battery capacity (page 6, lines 28-29: the remaining battery capacity is calculated by subtracting the integrated current consumption value from the battery capacity of the battery) and estimating the remaining battery life by dividing the remaining battery capacity by an expected future discharge of the battery (page 6, lines 26-30: the estimated battery up to the final voltage of the device is calculated based on the remaining battery capacity and the estimated current consumption value per unit day).
Regarding claim 8, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam in view of Su teaches all the limitation of claim 7, in addition, Kazunari teaches the average current drawn the battery (page 5, lines 22-24: The first calculation means acquires the operating time of the operation performed by the device and the current value per unit time that is expected to be consumed during the operation, and the device is based on the operating time and the current value per unit time. Calculate the assumed current consumption value of the operation performed in, note that the above feature of “current value per unit time” reads on “average”) and battery estimation module (page 5, lines 29-31: the first prediction means calculates the remaining battery capacity by subtracting the integrated current consumption value from the battery capacity of the battery, and obtains the remaining battery capacity and the estimated current consumption value per unit day).
Kazunari and Narotam do not specifically teach that the battery lifetime estimation module is configured for estimating the available battery capacity by applying a correction factor to the nominal battery capacity, and wherein: the battery lifetime estimation module is configured for calculating an average current drawn from the battery based on the received first accumulated quantity and determining the correction factor for estimating the available battery capacity based on the calculated average current; and/or the battery lifetime estimation module is configured for determining the correction factor based on a peak current drawn from the battery.
However, Su teaches that the battery lifetime estimation module (page 7, lines 9- 14: the formula for calculating the residual electric quantity of the disposable lithium battery)) is configured for estimating the available battery capacity by applying a correction factor to the nominal battery capacity (page 6, lines 24-26: see above; page 7, lines 9- 14: the temperature coefficient Tx and the load current coefficient Tx are parameters of the ratio of the actual capacity to the nominal capacity of the battery at different temperatures and different discharge currents, respectively, note that the above feature of “temperature coefficient Tx” in page 6, lines 24-26 reads on “correction factor”), and
wherein: the battery lifetime estimation module (page 7, lines 9- 14: the formula for calculating the residual electric quantity of the disposable lithium battery) is configured for calculating an page 6, lines 24-26: the accumulated time is used for calculating the dormancy power consumption so as to obtain the accurate real-time power consumption of the disposable lithium battery; page 6, line 32: the calculation is carried out separately, the working time is strictly counted) and determining the correction factor for estimating the available battery capacity based on the calculated page 6, lines 24-26: see above; page 6, line 32: see above; page 7, lines 9- 14. The temperature coefficient Tx and the load current coefficient Tx are parameters of the ratio of the actual capacity to the nominal capacity of the battery at different temperatures and different discharge currents, respectively); and/or
the battery lifetime estimation module (page 7, lines 9- 14: the formula for calculating the residual electric quantity of the disposable lithium battery) is configured for determining the correction factor based on a peak current drawn from the battery (page 6, line 61-page 7, lines 3: if the current fluctuates, the current is measured in real time, and the specific mode can be determined according to the actual situation).
Kazunari and Su are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of monitoring electric quantity of battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the battery lifetime estimation module such as is described in Su into Kazunari, in order to monitor electric quantity of battery (Su, page 2, lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 9, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam in view of Su teaches all the limitation of claim 6. Kazumari and Narotam do not specifically teach the battery lifetime estimation module is configured for receiving the second accumulated quantity from the accumulation module and calculating a remaining battery life-time also on basis of the received second accumulated quantity, wherein the battery lifetime estimation module is configured for correcting a received first accumulated value based on a received second accumulated value to account for temperature-dependent current consumption and/or wherein the battery lifetime estimation module is configured for determining the correction factor based on the received second accumulated quantity.
However, Su teaches that battery lifetime estimation module is configured for receiving the second accumulated quantity from the accumulation module (page 6, lines 24-26: the accumulated time is used for calculating the dormancy power consumption so as to obtain the accurate real-time power consumption of the disposable lithium battery; page 7, lines 29-31: all acquired data are transmitted to the first wireless communication module through the core controller, the second wireless transmitted to the upper computer by the first wireless communication module is wireless, and data interaction is carried out with the upper computer) and calculating a remaining battery life-time also on basis of the received second accumulated quantity (page 7, line 9: in step S6, the formula for calculating the remaining capacity of the lithium disposable battery), wherein the battery lifetime estimation module is configured for correcting a received first accumulated value based on a received second accumulated value to account for temperature-dependent current consumption and/or wherein the battery lifetime estimation module is configured for determining the correction factor based on the received second accumulated quantity (page 7, lines 9-17: the remaining battery capacity (Qr) Is the nominal capacity (Q) of the battery, the temperature coefficient (Tx) of the battery, the load current coefficient (Ix), the current working capacity (Qw) of the battery, the working times (W) of the battery, and the rest current (Is) of the battery. The nominal capacity Q of the battery is the nominal capacity of the disposable lithium battery actually used by the sensor. The temperature coefficient Tx and the load current coefficient Tx are parameters of the ratio of the actual capacity to the nominal capacity of the battery at different temperatures and different discharge currents, respectively, note that the above feature of page 6, lines 24-26, page 7, lines 29-3, and “the remaining battery capacity (Qr) Is the nominal capacity (Q) of the battery…The temperature coefficient Tx and the load current coefficient Tx are parameters of the ratio of the actual capacity to the nominal capacity of the battery at different temperatures and different discharge currents, respectively” in page 7, lines 9-17 reads on “the battery lifetime estimation module is configured for correcting a received first accumulated value based on a received second accumulated value to account for temperature-dependent current consumption”).
Kazunari and Su are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of monitoring electric quantity of battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the battery lifetime estimation module such as is described in Su into Kazunari, in order to monitor electric quantity of battery (Su, page 2, lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 10, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of claim 9, Kazunari and Narotam do not specifically tache that the battery lifetime estimation module is configured for calculating the correction factor based on all second accumulated quantities received since the battery has been placed in the meter.
However, Su teaches the battery lifetime estimation module (page 7, lines 9- 14: the formula for calculating the residual electric quantity of the disposable lithium battery) is configured for calculating the correction factor (page 7, lines 9- 14. The temperature coefficient Tx and the load current coefficient Tx are parameters of the ratio of the actual capacity to the nominal capacity of the battery at different temperatures and different discharge currents, respectively, note that the above feature of “temperature coefficient Tx” in page 7, lines 9-14 reads on “correction factor”) based on all second accumulated quantities received since the battery has been placed in the meter (page 6, lines 24-26: the accumulated time is used for calculating the dormancy power consumption so as to obtain the accurate real-time power consumption of the disposable lithium battery; page 6, line 32: the calculation is carried out separately, the working time is strictly counted).
Kazunari and Su are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of monitoring electric quantity of battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the battery lifetime estimation module such as is described in Su into Kazunari, in order to monitor electric quantity of battery (Su, page 2, lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 11, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of claim 6, in addition, Kazunari teaches that the battery lifetime estimation module is configured for estimating the expected future discharge based on at least some of the received first accumulated quantities (page 5, lines 25-26: the second calculation means calculates the integrated current consumption value of the device from the start of operation to the present based on the assumed current consumption value) and by estimating the expected future discharge from selected received first accumulated quantities (page 6, lines 28-30: the remaining battery capacity is calculated by subtracting the integrated current consumption value from the battery capacity of the battery, and the estimated battery up to the final voltage of the device is calculated based on the remaining battery capacity and the estimated current consumption value per unit day, note that the above feature of “ the estimated battery up to the final voltage of the device” reads on “estimating the expected future discharge”), and
wherein an average of at least some of the received first accumulated quantities is determined (page 5, lines 22-24: The first calculation means acquires the operating time of the operation performed by the device and the current value per unit time that is expected to be consumed during the operation, and the device is based on the operating time and the current value per unit time. Calculate the assumed current consumption value of the operation performed in, note that the above feature of “the current value per unit time” in page 5, lines 22-24 reads on “an average of at least some of the received first accumulated quantities”).
Regarding claim 12, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of claim 11, in addition, Kazunari teaches that the battery lifetime estimation module is configured for excluding at least some of the received first (page 15, line 48-page 16, line 5: a determination means for determining whether or not the voltage value of the battery is equal to or lower than a predetermined voltage value. When the voltage value is larger than the predetermined voltage value, the remaining battery capacity is calculated by subtracting the current consumption integrated value from the battery capacity of the battery…When the voltage value is equal to or less than the predetermined voltage value, the remaining battery capacity is calculated based on the voltage value, note that the above feature of the remaining battery calculation according to the voltage condition reads on “the battery lifetime estimation module is configured for excluding at least some of the received first”).
and/or second accumulated quantities when estimating the expected future discharge (page 6, lines 28-30: the remaining battery capacity is calculated by subtracting the integrated current consumption value from the battery capacity of the battery, and the estimated battery up to the final voltage of the device is calculated based on the remaining battery capacity and the estimated current consumption value per unit day, note that the above feature of “the estimated battery up to the final voltage of the device” reads on “second accumulated quantities when estimating the expected future discharge”).
Regarding claim 13, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of claim 6, in addition, Kazunari teaches that the consumption meter comprises the battery life-time estimation module (page 5, lines 21-22: the battery life prediction system includes a first calculation means, a second calculation means, a third calculation means, a determination means, a first prediction means and a second prediction means).
Regarding claim 14, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of claim 6, in addition, Kazunari teaches that the battery lifetime estimation module is part of an external control device which is arranged remotely from the consumption meter (page 5, lines 35-36: The device has a first calculation means and a second calculation means, and transmits a current consumption integrated value and a battery voltage value to the server device at a predetermined cycle).
Regarding claim 15, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of claim 14, in addition, Kazunari teaches that the battery lifetime estimation module is configured to estimate remaining battery lifetime of the batteries of a plurality of consumption meters (Fig, 1, 10 and page 9, lines 9-12: calculates the expected battery life for each sensor device 10 using the equation (1). The server device 40 manages the expected battery life in a database in association with the identification information of each sensor device 10. Next, the second prediction calculation will be described. In the second prediction calculation, the remaining battery capacity of the sensor device 10 is calculated from the battery voltage value (measured value) of the sensor device 10, note that the above feature of “the remaining battery capacity of the sensor device 10 is calculated from the battery voltage value (measured value) of the sensor device 10” reads on “estimate remaining battery lifetime of the batteries of a plurality of consumption meters”).
Regarding claim 16, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of claim 6, wherein the accumulation module is configured to determine the first quantity based on an operation performed by the consumption meter by retrieving from a memory a prestored value representative of battery consumption for the operation (page 7, lines 32-34: the related parameter storage module is used for storing data, and the user interface interaction module is used for displaying the current residual power of the disposable lithium battery).
Regarding claim 17, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of claim 6, in addition Kazunari teaches that the accumulation module determines battery consumption without repeatedly measuring battery current (Page 3, line 29: on-line monitoring without adding an additional detection device).
Regarding claim 18, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of claim 6, in addition Kazunari teaches that the accumulated quantity is not reset after transmission (page 7, lines 30-31: the second wireless transmitted to the upper computer by the first wireless communication module is wireless, and data interaction is carried out with the upper computer. The residual power algorithm module is used for calculating the residual power of the disposable lithium battery, the related parameter storage module is used for storing data, note that the above feature of “the second wireless transmitted to the upper computer by the first wireless communication module is wireless, and data interaction is carried out with the upper computer” in page 7, lines 30-31 reads on “not reset after transmission” because parameters are stored in memory).
Regarding claim 19, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of claim 6, in addition Kazunari teaches that the consumption meter does not continuously measure current of the battery (page 6, line 40: measuring the working current of the wireless intelligent sensor in advance).
Regarding claim 20, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of claim 6, in addition Kazunari teaches further circuitry configured to limit a peak current of the battery (page 9, lines 23-24: if the work current is constant, the work current of the wireless intelligent sensor is measured in advance, note that the above feature of“the work current is constant” in page 9, lines 23-24 reads on “limit a peak current of battery”).
Regarding claim 21, Kazunari in view of Su and Narotam teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition Kazunari teaches further circuitry configured to limit a peak current of the battery (page 9, lines 23-24: if the work current is constant, the work current of the wireless intelligent sensor is measured in advance, note that the above feature of “the work current is constant” in page 9, lines 23-24 reads on “limit a peak current of battery”).
Conclusion
/SANGKYUNG LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858