DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Request
The applicant is requested to provide line numbers to each claim in all future claim submissions to aide in examination and communication with the applicant about claim recitations. The applicant is thanked for aiding examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show how the fluids associated with the heat pump and the steam condenser are properly related as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). In the present case, the drawing appears to present arrows that indicate refrigerant flow and appears to show refrigerant flow from the heat pump to the steam compressor and this is inconsistent and misleading. The drawings should elucidate the invention, not obfuscate the invention. The applicant is required to amend at least Fig. 2 to clearly show what fluid relations exist between the components of the invention.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: PG. pub. para. 70 appears to errantly reference the internal heat exchanger reference number.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In regard to claims 1, 8, 15, the recitation, “for capturing carbon dioxide ship onboard under 150C” is indefinite for being grammatically illogical and it is unclear how the system is related to a ship and unclear what is onboard and what is under 150C. There is no carbon dioxide ship in the disclosure and no way to discern what is being claimed.
In regard to claims 2, 9, the recitation, “wherein the engine exhaust gas is a heat source that recovers heat of the refrigerant” is indefinite for being inconsistent with the disclosed invention. The disclosed engine exhaust gas heats the refrigerant. The heat source does not recover any heat from the refrigerant. Rather the heat flow is from the engine exhaust gas to the refrigerant; the refrigerant recovers heat from the engine exhaust gas. Identifying the heat flow improperly is inappropriate and unacceptable.
In regard to claims 3, 10, the recitation, “which is the engine exhaust gas” is redundant.
The recitation, “and discharged from the evaporator” is unclear what is being referenced by this phrase, the engine exhaust gas or the refrigerant.
In regard to claims 4, 11, the recitation, “wherein the evaporator evaporates the refrigerant into gas having a humidity of 100%” is indefinite for improperly using the term humidity. Humidity is an amount of water in a gas. The applicant is not permitted to mis-use plain English terminology and fails to appropriately define this term in the disclosure.
In regard to claims 5, 12, the recitation, “of which heat” is indefinite as it is not clear what of which refers to. Further the recitation does not properly reference the already recited “heat” and it is unclear if this heat is the same or other heat.
In regard to claims 2-7, 9-13, the recitation, “for capturing carbon dioxide ship onboard under 150C” is additionally indefinite for reintroducing carbon dioxide improperly when it was already previously introduced and this creates ambiguity as to whether this is other carbon dioxide or the carbon dioxide previously recited.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
All of the claims have been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, and it is considered that none of the claim recitations should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except for the steam recompression unit which is interpreted as a compressor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vaughn (US 4087974). See the indefiniteness rejections and note that the prior art teaches the claimed features as far as can be interpreted.
In regard to claim 15, Vaughn teaches a steam supply system (see whole disclosure including Fig. 4) capable of capturing carbon dioxide on a ship at a temperature under 150°C (fully capable thereof), comprising: a heat pump (160) generating a steam (120’) by using engine exhaust gas (engine 100’ exhaust, column 4, line 35-40; column 12, line 59) discharged from an engine (100’) as a heat source (source of waste heat column 2, line 55-60); and a steam recompression unit (116’) recompressing the steam (120’) generated by the heat pump (160).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughn (US 4087974) in view of Korea inst energy (KR 10-1947098) see translation. See the indefiniteness rejections and note that the prior art teaches the claimed features as far as can be interpreted.
In regard to claims 1, 8, Vaughn teaches a steam supply system and method (see whole disclosure including Fig. 4) capable of capturing carbon dioxide on a ship at a temperature under 150°C (fully capable thereof), comprising: an evaporator (176) into which engine exhaust gas (from 100’) discharged from an engine (100’) is input.
Vaughn does not explicitly teach an internal heat exchanger recovering heat of a refrigerant evaporated and discharged by the evaporator (176). However, Korea teaches that internal heat exchangers are well known. Korea teaches providing heat to generate steam with a heat pump (110, 230), the heat pump (110, 230) having an internal heat exchanger (115, 240) recovering heat of a refrigerant (134) evaporated and discharged by an evaporator (114, 235) to provide heat recuperation to assist in cooling down the refrigerant from the condenser (112; 233, 232) to minimize vapor sent to the evaporator (114, 235) and increase a condensation heat amount of the condenser (112; 232, 233) by raising the temperature (para. 26).
Therefore it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Vaugh with the internal heat exchanger of Korea to provide heat recuperation to assist in cooling down the refrigerant from the condenser to minimize the vapor sent to the evaporator and increase the condensation heat amount of the condenser by raising the temperature (para. 26).
In regard to claims 2, 9, Vaughn teaches that the engine exhaust gas (from 100’) is a heat source (see it is a source of waste heat) that heats the refrigerant (see engine exhaust heats the refrigerant, column 13, line 45-50).
In regard to claim 3, 10, Vaughn teaches that the refrigerant (“refrigerant”, column 13, line 45-50) is heated or evaporated (column 13, line 5-10) by using the heat source (heat of engine exhaust gas), and discharged from the evaporator (176).
In regard to claim 4, 11, Vaughn teaches that the evaporator (176) evaporates the refrigerant (refrigerant) into a fully saturated vapor (per evaporation from liquid).
In regard to claim 5, 12, Vaughn, as modified, teaches a main compressor (162) compressing the refrigerant (refrigerant), at least some heat is recovered by the internal heat exchanger (Korea 115, 240).
In regard to claim 6, 13, Vaughn teaches a condenser (118’) heat-exchanging the refrigerant (refrigerant) compressed by the main compressor (100’) and water to generate a steam (120’; column 11, line 30-35).
In regard to claim 7, 14, Vaughn teaches a steam compressor (116’) recompressing the steam (120’) generated by the condenser (118’).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN F PETTITT whose telephone number is (571)272-0771. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F, 9-5p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR): http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached on 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN F PETTITT, III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
JFPIII
June 6, 2025