DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-16 and 18-20 in the reply filed on 9/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
the adaption to mount the destemming device to a vehicle in claim 20, line 1;
the power take-off in claim 20, line 3
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive due to the method claim being withdrawn; therefore, a new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Destemming Devices.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: missing the period at the end of line 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Evans et al. (US 10624384 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Evans et al. teaches a destemming device [100] comprising:
a housing [102 and 300];
a first support block (see below) having a plurality of cutting fingers ([408], see Col. 11, lines 42-51) attached thereto (attached through housing and front plate [108], see Fig. 1); and
a second support block (see below) spaced apart from the first support block and also having a plurality of cutting fingers ([408], see Col. 11, lines 42-51) attached thereto (attached through housing and front plate [108], see Fig. 1);
wherein each cutting finger comprises a base [406] and at least one cutting edge (edge of [408]), and is spring-mounted so as to be able to travel relative to the first support block or the second support block (spring mounted through [422], biases inwards relative to the support blocks; see Col. 12, lines 3-10); and
wherein the plurality of cutting fingers on the first support block and the plurality of cutting fingers on the second support block form a cutting aperture (see below; space formed between the plurality of cutting fingers).
Examiner’s Note: a support block is being interpretated as a large, solid material with flat surfaces on each side (see attached Merriam-Webster NPL for “block”); therefore, the first and second supports as taught by Evans et al. are support blocks.
Regarding claim 7, Evans et al. teaches wherein the first support block (see above) and the second support block (see above) are placed such that the pluralities of cutting fingers ([408], see Col. 11, lines 42-51) float vertically (floats through spring [422] biases cutting fingers, see Col. 12, lines 3-10);
or wherein the cutting edges (edges of [408]) on the first support block and the second support block are recessed (edges do not stick out, rather are a part of the base and therefore recessed relative to the housing, see Fig. 4) relative to the housing [102 and 300];
or wherein the first support block is fixed in place relative to the housing, and the second support block floats relative to the housing.
Regarding claim 18, Evans et al. discloses a destemming device [100] comprising:
a housing [102 and 300];
a first support block (see below) having a plurality of cutting fingers ([408], see Col. 11, lines 42-51) attached thereto (attached through housing and front plate [108], see Fig. 1); and
a cutting surface (see below; second support block with cutting fingers attached) spaced apart from the first support block;
wherein each cutting finger comprises a base [406] and at least one cutting edge (edge of [408]), and is spring-mounted so as to be able to travel relative to the first support block or the second support block (spring mounted through [422], biases inwards relative to the support blocks; see Col. 12, lines 3-10); and
wherein the plurality of cutting fingers on the first support block and the cutting surface form a cutting aperture (see below; space formed between the plurality of cutting fingers located on the first support block and the cutting aperture).
Regarding claim 19, Evans et al. teaches wherein the cutting surface (see above) is a flat metal piece, or is a second support block (cutting surface is the second support block, see above) having a plurality of cutting fingers ([408], see Col. 11, lines 42-51) attached thereto (attached through housing and front plate [108], see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-12, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans et al. (US 10624384 B2) in view of Moore (US 3962850 A).
Regarding claim 8, Evans et al. discloses the destemming device as applied above, as well as, a system (system of [104 and 105] and support blocks, see above) configured to fit within the housing [102 and 300], the system comprising:
a first assembly [106 and 112] comprising a first gripper wheel ([106] is a gripper wheel through grippers [112], see Col. 9, lines 64-67 and Col. 10, lines 1-3); and
a second assembly [104 and 110] comprising a second gripper wheel ([104] is a gripper wheel through grippers [110], see Col. 9, lines 64-67 and Col. 10, lines 1-3); and
at least one motor [118] that is operatively connected to rotate the first gripper wheel and the second gripper wheel (see Col. 10, lines 36-40).
But Evans et al. fails to disclose the system is a belt system with gripper belts.
Moore discloses a similar destemming device [10] comprising of a belt system ([48, 80, and 82], see Fig. 2) with first and second gripper belts ([48], sandwich plant material; therefore, gripping it, see Col. 4, lines 7-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the gripper wheels of Evans et al. with the gripper belts of Moore since both are mechanisms gripping onto the crop material to move it from one location to another; therefore, yielding the same predictable result.
Regarding claim 9, Evans et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the first support block (see above) is fixed in place (support block is a part of the belt assembly; therefore fixed together in place in relation to each other) relative to the first belt assembly [106 and 112], or wherein the second support block (see above) is fixed in place (support block is a part of the belt assembly; therefore fixed together in place in relation to each other) relative to the second belt assembly [104 and 110].
Regarding claim 10, Evans et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the second support block (see above) and the second belt assembly [104 and 110] are attached to a mobile carriage frame [302] which floats (floats within the movement path [126], see Col. 11, lines 6-27) relative to the first belt assembly [106 and 112].
Regarding claim 11, Evans et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the housing [102 and 300] further comprises a device frame [102] having a plurality of channels [126] that guide the mobile carriage frame ([302]; see Col. 10, lines 24-35).
Regarding claim 12, Evans et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the device frame [102] includes a fixed crossbar (see below, member that runs across the frame; therefore, is a fixed crossbar), the fixed crossbar supporting (apart of the housing of the destemming device; therefore, supports the variable length tool, see Fig. 1) a variable length tool ([124]; see Col. 10, lines 45-50) for moving the mobile carriage frame [302] relative to the first belt assembly [106 and 112].
Regarding claim 14, Evans et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses an activation system (variable length tool [124] is an activation system; see Col. 10, lines 45-50) for increasing the distance between the first belt assembly [106 and 112] and the second belt assembly [104 and 110].
Regarding claim 20, Evans et al. discloses a destemming device [100], comprising:
a frame [102 and 300] comprising a first support block (see below) and a second support block (see below); and
a power source [118];
the first support block having a plurality of cutting fingers ([408], see Col. 11, lines 42-51) attached thereto (attached through housing and front plate [108], see Fig. 1); and
the second support block having a plurality of cutting fingers ([408], see Col. 11, lines 42-51) attached thereto (attached through housing and front plate [108], see Fig. 1); and
wherein the first support block and the second support block are adapted to move relative to each other (rotate relative to each other, see Col. 10, lines 36-40) to change a size of a cutting aperture (see below, aperture between blocks; changes size through grippers [110 and 112] being aligned or misaligned through rotation, see Col. 9, lines 64-67 and Col. 10, lines 1-3), and the power source provides power for such movement (see Col. 10, lines 36-40).
But Evans et al. fails to explicitly disclose the destemming device is adapted for mounting to another vehicle and that the power source is a power take-off.
Moore discloses a similar destemming device [10] adapted for mounting to another vehicle (through hitch [27], see Fig. 1) and consisting of a power take-off (motor [64] is in connection with the vehicle’s power take-off, see Col. 5, lines 26-29) used to power movement of the first and second support blocks ([68], see Figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the hitch and power take-off connections of Moore on the destemming device of Evans et al. in order for ease of moveability of the destemming device through use of the vehicle (see Moore Col. 4, lines 63-67 and Col. 5, lines 1-5) and in order for the power source of the destemming device to receive its power from the vehicle for precise control while in use (see Moore Col. 5, lines 26-29).
Claim(s) 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans et al. (US 10624384 B2) and Moore (US 3962850 A) as applied to claims 8-12, 14, and 20 above, and further in view of Hammerstein (US 1338768 A).
Regarding claim 13, the above combination discloses the destemming device as applied above, but fails to disclose wherein the variable length tool comprises a pneumatic cylinder, or a spring, or a linear actuator.
Hammerstein disclose a similar destemming device (see Fig. 1) comprising of a variable length tool ([53 and 54], see page 2, lines 65-93) comprising a pneumatic cylinder, or a spring [54a], or a linear actuator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the spring of Hammerstein on the variable length tool of Evans et al. and Moore in order for the variable length tool to return back to the normal position once the user is done with operation (see Hammerstein page 2, lines 74-77).
Regarding claim 15, Evans et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the activation system (variable length tool [124] is an activation system; see Col. 10, lines 45-50) is connected to the second belt assembly [104 and 110], wherein movement of the activation system causes the second belt assembly to move towards (can be moved towards or away from first belt assembly based on direction of movement of the activation system; see Col. 10, lines 45-54) the first belt assembly [106 and 112].
But Evans et al. fails to disclose the activation system comprises a foot pedal.
Hammerstein discloses a similar destemming device wherein the activation system (system of [52, 53 and 54]) comprises a foot pedal [54] that when depressed causes two mechanisms to move (see page 2, lines 74-84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the activation system of Evans et al. and Moore with the activation system of Hammerstein since both are moveable mechanisms utilized to separate two moving parts, yielding the same predictable result; therefore, when the foot pedal of Hammerstein is applied to the destemming device of Evans et al. and Moore depression of the foot pedal causes the second belt assembly to move towards the first belt assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892 for the full list of references.
Reference CN 1087471170 A discloses a similar destemming device (see Fig. 1) with a cutting finger (see Fig. 17) comprising of a base [64], a cross bar [37], and a compression spring [38].
/SUNNY D WEBB/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671