DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 23 – 42 are pending. Claims 1 – 22 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/30/2023 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ling (CN110106816 A).
Regarding Independent Claim 30, Ling teaches an object-gathering apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: a chassis (body, 1); a plurality of wheels (first and second rollers attached to roller shafts; Paragraph [0011]) coupled to the chassis (1) and configured to traverse a surface (Fig. 1); a receptacle (collection structure, 5) coupled to the chassis (1); and a sweep assembly housing (32) coupled to the chassis (1) and configured for vertical adjustment relative to the chassis (1; Figs. 2 and 3); and a sweep assembly (feeding structure, 3) coupled to the sweep assembly housing and configured transfer objects from the surface into the receptacle (5) by mechanical action on the objects (Paragraph [0017]), and without use of negative pressure or vacuum suction acting on the objects during the transfer (Paragraph [0017]), in response to powered rotation of the sweep assembly (Paragraph [0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23 – 27, 29, 31 – 35 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling (CN110106816 A) in view of Gao et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0003137 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 23, Ling teaches an object-gathering apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: a chassis (body, 1); a plurality of wheels (first and second rollers attached to roller shafts; Paragraph [0011]) coupled to the chassis (1) and configured to traverse a surface (Fig. 1); a receptacle (collection structure, 5) coupled to the chassis (1); and a sweep assembly (feeding structure, 3) coupled to the chassis (1) and configured to transfer objects from the surface into the receptacle by mechanical action on the objects (Paragraph [0017]), and without use of negative pressure or vacuum suction acting on the objects during the transfer (Paragraph [0017]), in response to powered rotation of the sweep assembly (Paragraph [0017]).
Ling does not explicitly teach a battery clip affixed to the chassis and accessible from an exterior of the object-gathering apparatus, wherein a rechargeable battery is removably insertable into the battery clip; a powered rotation of the sweep assembly by the rechargeable battery.
Gao, however, teaches a battery clip (bracket that holds battery, 170) affixed to the chassis (100) and accessible from an exterior of the object-gathering apparatus (100; battery and holding bracket accessible from the bottom of snow blower, 100), wherein a rechargeable battery (170; Paragraph [0008]) is removably insertable into the battery clip (battery is removable from bracket that holds it in place); powered rotation of the sweep assembly (snow throwing mechanism, 140) by the rechargeable battery (Paragraphs [0008] and [0420]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the object-gathering apparatus of Ling to further include a battery clip affixed to the chassis and accessible from an exterior of the object-gathering apparatus, wherein a rechargeable battery is removably insertable into the battery clip; a powered rotation of the sweep assembly by the rechargeable battery, as taught by Gao, to supply a rechargeable energy source, thus extending the life of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 24, Ling, as modified, teaches the object-gathering apparatus (Fig. 1) according to Claim 23, as discussed above.
Ling does not teach wherein the battery clip is configured to receive a standard off-the-shelf lithium-ion battery compatible with handheld power tools.
Gao, however, teaches the battery clip (bracket receiving battery, 170) is configured to receive a standard off-the-shelf lithium-ion battery compatible with handheld power tools (Paragraph [0242] – Gao teaches the battery is a lithium-ion battery, thus the bracket is configured to receive a standard off-the-shelf lithium-ion battery compatible with handheld power tools).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the object-gathering apparatus of Ling to further include the battery clip is configured to receive a standard off-the-shelf lithium-ion battery compatible with handheld power tools, as taught by Gao, to supply a rechargeable energy source, thus extending the life of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 25, Ling, as modified, teaches the object-gathering apparatus (Fig. 1) according to Claim 23, as discussed above.
Ling does not teach at least one wheel motor affixed to the chassis and drivingly coupled to at least one of the plurality of wheels, wherein the at least one wheel motor is configured to be driven by the rechargeable battery.
Gao, however, teaches at least one wheel motor (moving motor, 182) affixed to the chassis (100) and drivingly coupled to at least one of the plurality of wheels (driving wheels, 184 and 186; with rolling wheel devices, 162; Fig. 1), wherein the at least one wheel motor (182) is configured to be driven by the rechargeable battery (Paragraphs [0240] – [0242]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the object-gathering apparatus of Ling to further include at least one wheel motor affixed to the chassis and drivingly coupled to at least one of the plurality of wheels, wherein the at least one wheel motor is configured to be driven by the rechargeable battery, as taught by Gao, to supply a rechargeable energy source, thus extending the life of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 26, Ling, as modified, teaches the object-gathering apparatus (Fig. 1) according to Claim 23, as discussed above.
Ling does not teach the plurality of wheels includes a rear caster wheel that is not drivingly coupled to the at least one wheel motor.
Gao, however, teaches the plurality of wheels (Fig. 1) includes a rear caster wheel (162) that is not drivingly coupled to the at least one wheel motor (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the object-gathering apparatus of Ling to further include the plurality of wheels includes a rear caster wheel that is not drivingly coupled to the at least one wheel motor, as taught by Gao, to provide an apparatus that allows the load to be driven in multiple directions, thus improving the maneuverability of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 27, Ling, as modified, teaches the object-gathering apparatus (Fig. 1)
further comprising a sweep assembly housing (32) coupled to the chassis (1) and configured for vertical adjustment relative to the chassis (1; Figs. 2 and 3), wherein the sweep assembly (3) is coupled to the chassis via the sweep assembly housing (32)
Regarding Claim 29, Ling, as modified, teaches the object-gathering apparatus (Fig. 1) according to Claim 23, as discussed above.
Ling does not teach a control system coupled to the chassis and programmed to detect a bounded operational area, and to guide the apparatus within the bounded operational area.
Gao, however, teaches a control system (Paragraph [0237] – control module) coupled to the chassis (100) and programmed to detect a bounded operational area (Paragraph [0252]), and to guide the apparatus within the bounded operational area (Paragraph [0252]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the object-gathering apparatus of Ling to further include a control system coupled to the chassis and programmed to detect a bounded operational area, and to guide the apparatus within the bounded operational area, as taught by Gao, to provide an apparatus that while in autonomous mode, will not go outside of the working area, thus preventing damage to the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 31, Ling, as modified, teaches the object-gathering apparatus (Fig. 1) according to Claim 30, as discussed above.
Ling does not teach a power supply coupled to the chassis and configured to drive the rotation of the sweep assembly.
Gao, however, teaches a power supply (battery, 170) coupled to the chassis (100) and configured to drive the rotation of the sweep assembly (Paragraphs [0008] and [0420]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the object-gathering apparatus of Ling to further include a power supply coupled to the chassis and configured to drive the rotation of the sweep assembly, as taught by Gao, to supply a rechargeable energy source, thus extending the life of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 32, Ling, as modified, teaches the object-gathering apparatus (Fig. 1) according to Claim 31, as discussed above.
Ling does not teach the power supply comprises a battery clip affixed to the chassis, and wherein a rechargeable battery is removably insertable into the battery clip.
Gao, however, teaches the power supply (170) comprises a battery clip (bracket to hold battery, 170) affixed to the chassis (100), and wherein a rechargeable battery (170; Paragraph [0008]) is removably insertable into the battery clip (battery is removable from bracket that holds it in place).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the object-gathering apparatus of Ling to further include the power supply comprises a battery clip affixed to the chassis, and wherein a rechargeable battery is removably insertable into the battery clip, as taught by Gao, to supply a rechargeable energy source, thus extending the life of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 33, Ling, as modified, teaches the object-gathering apparatus (Fig. 1) according to Claim 32, as discussed above.
Ling does not teach the power supply is further configured to drive at least one of the plurality of wheels.
Gao, however, teaches the power supply (170) is further configured to drive at least one of the plurality of wheel (driving wheels, 184 and 186; with rolling wheel devices, 162; Fig. 1; Paragraphs [0240] – [0242]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the object-gathering apparatus of Ling to further include the power supply is further configured to drive at least one of the plurality of wheels, as taught by Gao, to supply a rechargeable energy source, thus extending the life of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 34, Ling, as modified, teaches the object-gathering apparatus (Fig. 1) wherein the vertical adjustment (Figs. 2 and 3) determines a proximity of the sweep assembly (3) to the surface (Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding Claim 35, Ling, as modified, teaches the object-gathering apparatus (Fig. 1) wherein the chassis (1) comprises a chassis housing (housing of 1), and wherein the sweep assembly housing (32) is coupled to the chassis housing (Fig. 1) and extends therefrom to at least partially encase the sweep assembly (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 42, Ling, as modified, teaches the object-gathering apparatus (Fig. 1) according to Claim 30, as discussed above.
Ling does not teach a control system coupled to the chassis and programmed to detect a bounded operational area, and to guide the apparatus within the bounded operational area.
Gao, however, teaches a control system (Paragraph [0237] – control module) coupled to the chassis (100) and programmed to detect a bounded operational area (Paragraph [0252]), and to guide the apparatus within the bounded operational area (Paragraph [0252]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the object-gathering apparatus of Ling to further include a control system coupled to the chassis and programmed to detect a bounded operational area, and to guide the apparatus within the bounded operational area, as taught by Gao, to provide an apparatus that while in autonomous mode, will not go outside of the working area, thus preventing damage to the apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28 and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although Ling in view of Gao teach an object gathering apparatus, the references alone or in combination fail to teach, suggest or make obvious one or more spacers coupled between the sweep assembly housing and the chassis housing, wherein a thickness of the one or more spacers determines a vertical offset between the sweep assembly housing and the chassis housing, as required by claims 28 and 36.
Claims 37 – 41 are further objected as dependents of objected claim 36.
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: CN108370853 A teaches a lawn falling leaf automatic cleaning device. The lawn falling leaf automatic cleaning device comprises a falling leaf collection system, a crushing system, a vehicle and an intelligent control system, wherein the falling leaf collection system comprises a needle barb shaft group, a comb tooth shaft group, a collection cover, a corrugated cover, a first support rod, a first swing arm rod, a first motor, a second motor, a second swing arm rod, a second support rod and a transverse rod; the crushing system comprises a fourth motor and two sets of rolling knife shafts; the vehicle comprises a power motor, a battery group, wheels, a steering execution mechanism and a cargo box; the intelligent control system comprises a camera, a control unit, a GPS (global positioning system) module, a GSM (global system for mobile communications) module and a monitoring module. The lawn falling leaf automatic cleaning device has the advantages that the falling leaves are punctured by needles with barbs, and are recycled into the cargo box through the comb tooth structure, so that the structure is simple, and little power is consumed; the falling leaves are crushed by the crushing device, so that the falling leaves can be conveniently collected and utilized; the unmanned management is realized by an image processing intelligent control type; the structure is simple, the working efficiency is high, and the intelligence degree is high.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723