DETAILED ACTION
The following Office Action is in response to the Non-Provisional Patent Application filed on November 30, 2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 11, 13-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shindo (US 2023/0277192).
Concerning claims 1 and 16, the Shindo reference teaches a medical device handle (Figure 1-7; 10) comprising: an actuator (Figure 1; 14); a first pulley (Figure 2; 34); a second pulley (Figure 1; 32), wherein the second pulley is movable relative to the first pulley along an axis extending between a first axle of the first pulley and a second axle of the second pulley ([¶ 0133]); a pull member wrapped around the first pulley and the second pulley (Figure 2; 30) and coupled to the actuator ([¶ 0134], pull member coupled to actuator via pinion 28), and a control member coupled to the second pulley (Figure 2; 20) wherein movement of the second pulley along the axis is configured to move the control member in a direction parallel to or coaxial with the axis ([¶ 0140]); wherein the medical device handle is configured to transition from a first configuration, in which the first pulley and the second pulley are separated by a first distance, to a second configuration, in which the first pulley and the second pully are separated by a second distance, wherein the second distance is smaller than the first distance ([¶ 0133], first configuration = actuator is not pressed; second configuration = actuator is pressed).
Concerning claim 2, the Shindo reference teaches the medical device handle of claim 1, wherein the first pulley (Figure 2; 34) is fixed relative to a body of the medical device handle ([¶ 0133]).
Concerning claim 3, the Shindo reference teaches the medical device handle of claim 1, wherein each of the pull member and the control member includes at least one of a wire, a cable or a thread (Figure 1; 20, 30).
Concerning claim 4, the Shindo reference teaches the medical device handle of claim 1, wherein the axis extending between the first axle of the first pulley and the second axle of the second pulley is approximately parallel to a longitudinal axis of the medical device handle (Figure 2; horizontal arrow).
Concerning claim 5, the Shindo reference teaches the medical device handle of claim 1, wherein movement of the control member is configured to actuate an end effector at a distal end of a shaft extending from the medical device handle ([¶ 0141]).
Concerning claim 11, the Shindo reference teaches the medical device handle of claim 1, wherein the first pulley and the second pulley confer a mechanical advantage, such that a force exerted by the actuator on the pull member is smaller than a force exerted by the second pulley on the control member ([¶ 0133]).
Concerning claim 13, the Shindo reference teaches the medical device handle of claim 1, wherein the second pulley is coupled to the control member by a coupler (Figure 2; 33).
Concerning claim 14, the Shindo reference teaches the medical device handle of claim 13, wherein the coupler is affixed to a face of the second pulley (Figure 2; 32, 33).
Concerning claim 15, the Shindo reference teaches the medical device handle of claim 1, wherein movement of the second pulley along the axis by a distance is configured to move the control member by the distance ([¶ 0133]).
Concerning claim 17, the Shindo reference teaches the medical device handle of claim 16, wherein transitioning the medial device handle from the first configuration to the second configuration causes the control member to move proximally ([¶ 0134]).
Concerning claim 18, the Shindo reference teaches the medical device handle of claim 17, wherein movement of the control member is configured to actuate an end effector at a distal end of a shaft extending from the medical device handle ([¶ 0141]).
Concerning claim 20, the Shindo reference teaches a medical device handle (Figure 1-7; 10) comprising: an actuator (Figure 1; 14); a first pulley (Figure 2; 34); a second pulley (Figure 1; 32), wherein the second pulley is movable relative to the first pulley along an axis extending between a first axle of the first pulley and a second axle of the second pulley ([¶ 0133]); a pull member wrapped around the first pulley and the second pulley (Figure 2; 30) and coupled to the actuator ([¶ 0134], pull member coupled to actuator via pinion 28), and a control member coupled to the second pulley (Figure 2; 20); wherein the actuator is configured to move the pull member proximally so as to move the second pulley proximally relative to the first pulley, thereby moving the control member proximally ([¶ 0133]).
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jogasaki et al. (US 2017/0156711, hereinafter Jogasaki).
Concerning claim 1, the Jogasaki et al. prior art reference teaches a medical device handle (Figure 1-8) comprising: an actuator (Figure 1; 5); a first pulley (Figure 2; 16); a second pulley (Figure 1; 23), wherein the second pulley is movable relative to the first pulley along an axis extending between a first axle of the first pulley and a second axle of the second pulley ([¶ 0047]); a pull member wrapped around the first pulley and the second pulley (Figure 1; 15) and coupled to the actuator ([¶ 0054], pull member is operatively coupled to the actuator via pinion gears 9); and a control member coupled to the second pulley (Figure 1; 2, operatively coupled to the second pulley via racks 7), wherein movement of the second pulley along the axis is configured to move the control member in a direction parallel to or coaxial with the axis (Figure 1; B | [¶ 0053]).
Concerning claim 6, the Jogasaki reference teaches the medical device handle of claim 1, wherein the first pulley is rotatable about the first axle, and wherein the second pulley is rotatable about the second axle ([¶ 0038, 0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shindo (US 2023/0277192) in view of Hyodo et al. (US 2016/0360949, hereinafter Hyodo).
Concerning claims 7-10 and 19, the Shindo reference teaches the medical device handle of claim 1, further comprising a resilient member in the form of a spring configured to exert a restoring force on the pull member when the medical device is in the second configuration (Figure 4A; 46 | [¶ 0141]), but does not specifically teach said resilient member extending between the first pulley and the second pulley to restore force on the second pulley.
However, the Hyodo reference teaches a manipulation device including a first fixed pulley (Figure 5; 2) and a second movable pulley (Figure 5; 45), and a control member coupled to the second pulley, and further including a resilient member extending between the first pulley and the second pulley to exert a restoring force on the second pulley (Figure 5; 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the resilient member of the Shindo reference be positioned between the first pulley and the second pulley to exert a restoring force on the second pulley as in the Hyodo reference as a simple substitution of one known placement for a biasing member for exerting a restoring force on a control member (the compression spring at the end effector of Shindo) for another known placement for a biasing member for exerting a restoring force on a control member (the coil spring within the pully mechanism of the Hyodo reference) which would yield the predictable result of effectively operating in the same manner.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shindo (US 2023/0277192) in view of Kirkemo (US 2016/0089127).
Concerning claim 12, the Shindo reference teaches the medical device handle of claim 1, wherein the actuator is a push button ([¶ 0076]) or a lever ([¶ 0153]), but does not specifically teach at least one finger loop.
However, the Kirkemo reference teaches a medical device handle, therein being in the same field of endeavor as the Shindo reference, wherein the handle includes an actuator that may be a ring, button, or trigger ([¶ 0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the actuator of the Shindo reference be at least one finger loop as in the Kirkemo reference, given the Kirkemo reference defines a ring, or finger loop as an obvious alternative to a button or trigger (Kirkemo; [¶ 0052]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Frassica et al. reference (US 5,626,553), the teaches a medical device handle including an actuator, a first pulley, and a second movable pulley; the Okamoto et al. reference (US 2014/0309625) teaches a medical device handle including a pulley mechanism including a pull member, a control member, and a resilient member; the Jogasaki et al. reference (US 2016/0213438) teaches a medical device including a pulley system with a fixed pulley, a movable pulley, and a resilient member positioned between the pulleys; and the Kuroda et al. reference (US 2015/0032119) teaches a medical device handle that includes a pair of movable pullies for actuating a snare mechanism.
/MARTIN T TON/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 12/23/2025