DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The indicated allowability of claims 7 and 8 are withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Izhaki et al (US Publication 2025/0016627 A1) and Bordeleau et al (US Publication 2020/0275359 A1). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolan (US Publication 2025/0024315 A1) in view of Izhaki et al (US Publication 2025/0016627 A1).
Regarding to claim 1, Kolan discloses a system 700/800 (fig. 7-8) comprising: at least one network device 200 (fig. 2 page 4 paragraph 0052) including one or more processors 210 (page 4 paragraph 0053) configured to: receive (fig. 7), from a user device 508, a slice selection 502 to associate an application 506 on the user device with a network slice (page 8 paragraph 0091); generate, after the receiving, a slice recommendation for the application to switch (migrate) to a different network slice (slice B) based on at least one of device parameters or network parameters (fig. 8 page 9 paragraph 0096); and provide, to the user device, the slice recommendation for presentation to a user (page 17 paragraph 0184).
Kola fails to teach for wherein generating the slice recommendation further includes at least one of: generating the slice recommendation based on a content type indicated in a packet header, or generating the slice recommendation based on predicted network conditions.
However, Izhaki discloses a slice orchestration system 700 (fig. 7) for generating slice recommendation based on predicted network conditions (page 19 paragraph 0140).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange for the slice recommendation as taught by Izhaki into Kolan’s system to provide an on-demand approval or rejection of a requested network slice at a device associated with service management of a wireless network.
Regarding to claim 2, Kolan discloses providing, to the user via the user device, a slice selection menu, and receiving user input via the slice selection menu (page 17 paragraph 0184).
Regarding to claim 3, Kolan discloses the slice selection menu includes options for the user to associate a network slice descriptor with individual applications on the user device (page 3 paragraph 0042).
Regarding to claim 5, Kolan discloses receiving an application ID for the application (pages 9-10 paragraph 0103).
Regarding to claim 9, Kolan discloses generating, by one or more network devices, a different slice recommendation (page 9 paragraph 0096); and providing, by the one or more network devices and to the user device, the different slice recommendation for presentation to the user (page 17 paragraph 0184).
Claims 1-3, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolan (US Publication 2025/0024315 A1) in view of Bordeleau et al (US Publication 2020/0275359 A1).
Regarding to claim 1, Kolan discloses a system 700/800 (fig. 7-8) comprising: at least one network device 200 (fig. 2 page 4 paragraph 0052) including one or more processors 210 (page 4 paragraph 0053) configured to: receive (fig. 7), from a user device 508, a slice selection 502 to associate an application 506 on the user device with a network slice (page 8 paragraph 0091); generate, after the receiving, a slice recommendation for the application to switch (migrate) to a different network slice (slice B) based on at least one of device parameters or network parameters (fig. 8 page 9 paragraph 0096); and provide, to the user device, the slice recommendation for presentation to a user (page 17 paragraph 0184).
Kola fails to teach for wherein generating the slice recommendation further includes at least one of: generating the slice recommendation based on a content type indicated in a packet header, or generating the slice recommendation based on predicted network conditions.
However, Bordeleau discloses a network slice selector 510 (fig. 5) for generating slice recommendation based on a content type indicated in a packet header (page 7 paragraphs 0063 and 0066).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange for the slice recommendation as taught by Bordeleau into Kolan’s system to slices network based on application-specific and/or device-specific that’s configured to meet latency, bandwidth, jitter, or other requirements of different applications or device types.
Regarding to claim 2, Kolan discloses providing, to the user via the user device, a slice selection menu, and receiving user input via the slice selection menu (page 17 paragraph 0184).
Regarding to claim 3, Kolan discloses the slice selection menu includes options for the user to associate a network slice descriptor with individual applications on the user device (page 3 paragraph 0042).
Regarding to claim 5, Kolan discloses receiving an application ID for the application (pages 9-10 paragraph 0103).
Regarding to claim 9, Kolan discloses generating, by one or more network devices, a different slice recommendation (page 9 paragraph 0096); and providing, by the one or more network devices and to the user device, the different slice recommendation for presentation to the user (page 17 paragraph 0184).
Claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kola in view of Izhaki and Yang (US Publication 2023/0354172 A1).
Regarding to claim 6, Kolan and Izhaki combined disclose all the limitations with respect to claim 1, except for the slice recommendation based on a location of the UE device. However, Yang discloses a network device 101 (fig. 10) generating a slice recommendation based on a location of a UE device (page 5 paragraph 0066). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange for the slice recommendation as taught by Yang into the combination of Kolan and Izhaki's system to better select network that can improve the user experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-12 and 14-23 are allowed.
Conclusion
/DUC T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467