DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-4 in the Remarks, filed May 14, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9-11, 14, 16-18, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kolan (US Publication 2025/0024315 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 10, 14, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kolan (US Publication 2025/0024315 A1).
Regarding to claims 1, 10, and 17, Kolan discloses a system 700/800 (fig. 7-8) comprising: at least one network device 200 (fig. 2 page 4 paragraph 0052) including one or more processors 210 (page 4 paragraph 0053) configured to: receive (fig. 7), from a user device 508, a slice selection 502 to associate an application 506 on the user device with a network slice (page 8 paragraph 0091); generate, after the receiving, a slice recommendation for the application to switch (migrate) to a different network slice (slice B) based on at least one of device parameters or network parameters (fig. 8 page 9 paragraph 0096); and provide, to the user device, the slice recommendation for presentation to a user (page 17 paragraph 0184).
Regarding to claim 2, Kolan discloses providing, to the user via the user device, a slice selection menu, and receiving user input via the slice selection menu (page 17 paragraph 0184).
Regarding to claim 3, Kolan discloses the slice selection menu includes options for the user to associate a network slice descriptor with individual applications on the user device (page 3 paragraph 0042).
Regarding to claims 5 and 14, Kolan discloses receiving an application ID for the application (pages 9-10 paragraph 0103).
Regarding to claims 9, 16, and 20, Kolan discloses generating, by one or more network devices, a different slice recommendation (page 9 paragraph 0096); and providing, by the one or more network devices and to the user device, the different slice recommendation for presentation to the user (page 17 paragraph 0184).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolan in view of Yang (US Publication 2023/0354172 A1).
Regarding to claims 6, 11, and 18, Kolan discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1, 10, and 17 except for the slice recommendation based on a location of the UE device. However, Yang discloses a network device 101 (fig. 10) generating a slice recommendation based on a location of a UE device (page 5 paragraph 0066). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange for the slice recommendation as taught by Yang into Kolan’s system to better select network that can improve the user experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 8, 12, 13, 15, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUC T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467