DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 110-123) in the reply filed on 9 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 111-112 and 116 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 111 recites “a longitudinal axis of the eccentric shaft” and depends from claim 110 which recites “an eccentric shaft having a longitudinal axis”; it is not clear if a longitudinal axis in claim 111 refers to the same longitudinal axis recited in claim 110 or to an additional and different one.
For purposes of prior art examination, claim 111 is being interpreted as reciting “the longitudinal axis of the eccentric shaft”.
Claim 112 depends from claim 111 and fails to remedy its deficiencies.
Claim 116 recites “a diameter of the sanding pad” and depends from claim 115 which recites “a diameter of the sanding pad”; it is not clear if a diameter in claim 116 refers to the same diameter recited in claim 115 or to an additional and different one.
For purposes of prior art examination, claim 116 is being interpreted as reciting “the diameter of the sanding pad”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 110-111 and 114-120 (as far as the claim(s) are definite and understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin (US 6,132,300 A) in view of Huber (US 6,979,254 B1).
Regarding claim 110, Martin teaches a random orbit sander (Fig.1/3) comprising:
a housing (6);
a motor (2) enclosed within the housing, the motor including a motor shaft (7) rotatable about a first axis (Annotated Fig.1);
an eccentric carrier coupled to the motor shaft (Annotated Fig.1), the eccentric carrier including a circular internal bore (Fig.1, where radial bearing 15 is received) defining a second axis (Annotated Fig.1) that is offset from the motor shaft (Annotated Fig.1);
a radial bearing (15) received within the circular internal bore of the eccentric carrier (Annotated Fig.1);
a dust extraction fan (8) rotationally unitized with the eccentric carrier for corotation therewith (Annotated Fig.1);
an eccentric shaft (14) having a longitudinal axis (Annotated Fig.1); and
a sanding pad (21/24) supported by the eccentric shaft and rotatable about the first axis in an eccentrically orbiting manner (column 2 line 33-35 and 50-64).
Martin does not explicitly teach the eccentric carrier, the radial bearing, the dust extraction fan, and the eccentric shaft are coupled to each other by press-fit connections.
Huber teaches a random orbit sander (Fig.1A) comprising: a housing (15); an eccentric carrier (57), the eccentric carrier including a circular internal bore (where radial ball bearings 55 are received); two ball bearings (55) received within the circular internal bore of the eccentric carrier (Fig.1A); an eccentric shaft (53); a sanding pad (14/70) supported by the eccentric shaft. Huber further teaches the eccentric shaft is press-fitted into the radial ball bearings (column 5 line 65), therefore, disclosing a known and suitable connection method between co-rotating components.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the random orbit sander of Martin by having the eccentric carrier, the radial bearing, the dust extraction fan, and the eccentric shaft are coupled to each other by press-fit connections based on the teachings of Huber because this type of press-fit connections are known and suitable connections method between co-rotating components.
Regarding claim 111, Martin and Huber further teach a plane is defined perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the eccentric shaft such that the plane passes through the eccentric carrier, the dust extraction fan, the radial bearing, and the eccentric shaft (Martin Annotated Fig.1).
Regarding claim 114, Martin and Huber teach all the limitations of claim 110, see above, however, do not explicitly teach the eccentric carrier is integrally formed as a single piece with the motor shaft.
However, courts have affirmed “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.” Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the random orbit sander of Martin and Huber by having the eccentric carrier being integrally formed as a single piece with the motor shaft as a matter of obvious engineering choice.
Regarding claim 115, Martin and Huber teach all the limitations of claim 110, see above, however, do not explicitly teach a diameter of the sanding pad is less than four inches.
However, it is noted that applicant has not disclosed that having a diameter of the sanding pad is less than four inches results in an unpredicted result not seen in the prior art and it appears that the invention of Martin and Huber would perform equally well with a diameter of the sanding pad is less than four inches. Accordingly, it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Regarding claim 116, Martin and Huber teach all the limitations of claim 110, see above, however, do not explicitly teach a diameter of the sanding pad is three inches.
However, it is noted that applicant has not disclosed that having a diameter of the sanding pad is three inches results in an unpredicted result not seen in the prior art and it appears that the invention of Martin and Huber would perform equally well with a diameter of the sanding pad is three inches. Accordingly, it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Regarding claim 117, Martin and Huber all the limitations of claim 110, see above, however, do not explicitly teach a motor housing portion height of the random orbit sander is less than 0.6 times an overall length of the random orbit sander.
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In the current instance the only difference between claim 117 and the disclosed random orbit sander assembly of Martin and Huber is the relative dimensions of the motor housing portion height of the random orbit sander being less than 0.6 times an overall length of the random orbit sander. Since Martin and Huber have disclosed a random orbit sander assembly with the claimed components and, if having said claimed relative dimensions between the motor housing portion height of the random orbit sander being less than 0.6 times an overall length of the random orbit sander would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claims are not patentably distinct and said relative dimensions modification would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 118, Martin and Huber further teach the eccentric carrier, the dust extraction fan, the radial bearing, and the eccentric shaft are positioned within a lower cavity of a motor housing portion of the random orbit sander (Martin Fig.1).
Regarding claim 119, Martin and Huber further teach the radial bearing and the eccentric shaft are provided within the eccentric carrier, and wherein the dust extraction fan is provided outside the eccentric carrier (Martin Fig.1 and Annotated Fig.1).
Regarding claim 120, Martin and Huber further teach the radial bearing includes two rows of ball bearings positioned between the eccentric shaft and the eccentric carrier (Huber Fig.1A, note bearings 55 between eccentric shaft 53 and eccentric carrier 57).
Claim(s) 121 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin and Huber as applied to claim 110 above, and further in view of Chen (US 20220072676 A1).
Regarding claim 121, Martin and Huber all the limitations of claim 110, see above, and further teach the housing includes a motor housing portion (Martin Fig.1, portion of 6 where 2 is enclosed) defining a motor housing axis (Martin Annotated Fig.1, similar to First Axis) and a handle portion defining a handle axis transverse to the motor housing axis (Martin Annotated Fig.1), the motor is enclosed within the motor housing portion and oriented vertically within the motor housing portion (Martin Annotated Fig.1), however, do not explicitly teach a battery pack is removably connectable to a rear end of the handle portion.
Chen teaches a sander (Fig.4) comprising: a housing (where 11 points to); an eccentric carrier (117), the eccentric carrier including a circular internal bore (where radial ball bearings 136 are received); ball bearings (136) received within the circular internal bore of the eccentric carrier (Fig.4); an eccentric shaft (defined by 152); a sanding pad (15/151) supported by the eccentric shaft; a handle portion (11). Chen further teaches the sander including a battery pack (16) is removably connectable to a rear end of the handle portion (Fig.3, note battery mount 121).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the random orbit sander of Martin and Huber by having a battery pack removably connectable to a rear end of the handle portion based on the teachings of Chen because this would require a simple substitution of one known element (electrical cord plug of Martin) for another (battery connection of Chen) to obtain predictable results (providing a suitable power source to run the sander).
Claim(s) 122 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin and Huber as applied to claim 110 above, and further in view of Zhang et al – hereafter Zhang 1 – (US 20230271296 A1).
Regarding claim 122, Martin and Huber all the limitations of claim 110, see above, however, do not explicitly teach a user control panel positioned at a top of a motor housing portion of the housing, wherein the first axis passes through the user control panel.
Zhang 1 teaches a sander (Fig.1-3) comprising: a housing (10); a handle portion (110); a motor housing portion of the housing (above 120); a first axis (101). Zhang 1 further teaches the sander including a user control panel (111) positioned at a top of a motor housing portion of the housing (Fig.1). The user control panel allows controlling on/off operation of the sander.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the sander of Martin and Huber by having a user control panel positioned at a top of a motor housing portion of the housing based on the teachings of Zhang 1 because this would allow controlling on/off operation of the sander.
Furthermore, it has been held that if shifting the position of a component in a device would not have modified the operation of said device, said position shift of said component is unpatentable, additionally, a particular placement of a component in a device has been held to be an obvious matter of design choice. In the current instance, there is no evidence that having the first axis passing through the user control panel, would change the operation of the sander assembly, therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the sander assembly of Martin, Huber and Zhang 1 by shifting the position/placement of the first axis passing through the user control panel as an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
Claim(s) 123 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin and Huber as applied to claim 110 above, and further in view of Zhang et al – hereafter Zhang 2 – (US 20240198483 A1).
Regarding claim 123, Martin and Huber all the limitations of claim 110, see above, and further teach the housing includes a motor housing portion (Martin Fig.1, portion of 6 where 2 is enclosed) having a neck portion and a pommel portion (Martin Annotated Fig.1), however, do not explicitly teach a front work light is positioned on a front surface of the neck portion and is positioned below the pommel portion.
Zhang 2 teaches a sander (Fig.1/32) comprising: a housing (20); a handle portion (21); a motor housing portion of the housing (above 23) having a neck portion (where 22/204 points to) and a pommel portion (where 21/30/202 point to). Zhang 2 further teaches a front work light (271) is positioned on a front surface of the neck portion and is positioned below the pommel portion (Fig.32). A work region is within the illumination range of the work light, which is convenient for an operator to observe, thereby improving the user experience (¶100).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the sander of Martin and Huber by having a front work light is positioned on a front surface of the neck portion and is positioned below the pommel portion based on the teachings of Zhang 2 because this would allow a work region being within the illumination range of the work light, which is convenient for an operator to observe, thereby improving the user experience.
Claim(s) 110-113 (as far as the claim(s) are definite and understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20220072676 A1) in view of Huber (US 6,979,254 B1).
Regarding claim 110, Chen teaches a random orbit sander (Fig.2-4) comprising:
a housing (where 11 points to);
a motor (115) enclosed within the housing, the motor including a motor shaft (114) rotatable about a first axis (141);
an eccentric carrier coupled to the motor shaft (117), the eccentric carrier including a circular internal bore (where radial bearings 136 are received) defining a second axis (Annotated Fig.4) that is offset from the motor shaft (Fig.4);
a radial bearing (136) received within the circular internal bore of the eccentric carrier (Fig.4);
a dust extraction fan (126) rotationally unitized with the eccentric carrier for corotation therewith (Fig.4);
an eccentric shaft (defined by 152) having a longitudinal axis (Annotated Fig.4); and
a sanding pad (15/151) supported by the eccentric shaft and rotatable about the first axis in an eccentrically orbiting manner (¶30, note “produce an eccentric rotational route”).
Chen does not explicitly teach the eccentric carrier, the radial bearing, the dust extraction fan, and the eccentric shaft are coupled to each other by press-fit connections.
Huber teaches a random orbit sander (Fig.1A) comprising: a housing (15); an eccentric carrier (57), the eccentric carrier including a circular internal bore (where radial ball bearings 55 are received); two ball bearings (55) received within the circular internal bore of the eccentric carrier (Fig.1A); an eccentric shaft (53); a sanding pad (14/70) supported by the eccentric shaft. Huber further teaches the eccentric shaft is press-fitted into the radial ball bearings (column 5 line 65), therefore, disclosing a known and suitable connection method between co-rotating components.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the random orbit sander of Chen by having the eccentric carrier, the radial bearing, the dust extraction fan, and the eccentric shaft are coupled to each other by press-fit connections based on the teachings of Huber because this type of press-fit connections are known and suitable connections method between co-rotating components.
Regarding claim 111, Chen and Huber further teach a plane is defined perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the eccentric shaft such that the plane passes through the eccentric carrier, the dust extraction fan, the radial bearing, and the eccentric shaft (Chen Annotated Fig.4).
Regarding claim 112, Chen and Huber further teach the plane passes through a counterweight (Chen Annotated Fig.4, 119) of the dust extraction fan and through a fan blade of the dust extraction fan (Chen Annotated Fig.4).
Regarding claim 113, Chen and Huber further teach the dust extraction fan is formed with a counterweight (Chen Annotated Fig.4, 119) to form a fan and counterweight unit, however, do not explicitly teach the dust extraction fan being integrally formed as a single piece with the counterweight.
However, courts have affirmed “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.” Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the random orbit sander of Chen and Huber by having the dust extraction fan being integrally formed as a single piece with the counterweight as a matter of obvious engineering choice.
Conclusion
/JUAN G FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745