DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-10, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Broghammer et al. (US 20040191022, hereinafter ‘Broghammer’).
Regarding claim 1, Broghammer discloses a cutting tool system (see e.g. Fig. 3) comprising a tool body ST, a non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber DK1 disposed within the tool body and at least one cutting edge S1 attached to the tool body. The non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber is configured to elastically deform, due to pressure within the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber, which in turn deforms the tool body, which in turn changes a position of the at least one cutting edge attached to the tool body.
Regarding claim 5, Broghammer discloses an exterior portion of the tool body being stiff (i.e. stiff enough to perform machining operations on a workpiece).
Regarding claim 6, Broghammer discloses the tool body comprising a generally cylindrical shape when the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber is in an unpressurized shape (see e.g. Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Broghammer discloses the tool body comprising a non-uniform shape when the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber is in an unpressurized state (see e.g. Fig. 4, pockets 25 creating said ‘non-uniform’ shape in the exterior of the tool body and/or Figs. 7/8 having tool bodies with varying diameters).
Regarding claim 8, Broghammer discloses that when the flexible internal pressure chamber is under pressure within the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber, at least one portion of the tool body W1 outwardly expands, and at least another portion of the tool body (e.g. the portion of the tool body on the opposite side of the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber) inwardly contracts.
Regarding claim 9, Broghammer discloses the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber being configured to increasingly elastically deform as the pressure within it increases, thereby causing the tool body to increasingly deform, thereby causing the position of the at least one cutting edge attached to the tool body to increasingly change.
Regarding claim 10, Broghammer discloses the only way of adjusting the position of the cutting edge being by increasing/decreasing the pressure in the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber, therefore the change in position of the at least one cutting edge attached to the tool body is independent of how quickly the cutting tool system rotates.
Regarding claim 17, Broghammer discloses an inherent method of cutting comprising controlling a pressure within a non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber DK1 disposed within a tool body ST to elastically deform the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber. A stiff, exterior portion of the tool body W1 then deforms due to the deformation of the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber and a position of at least one cutting edge S1 attached to the stiff, exterior portion of the tool body is changed.
Regarding claim 19, Broghammer discloses that when the flexible internal pressure chamber is under pressure within the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber, at least one portion of the stiff, exterior portion of the tool body W1 outwardly expands, and at least another portion of the stiff, exterior portion of the tool body (e.g. the portion of the tool body on the opposite side of the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber) inwardly contracts.
Regarding claim 20, Broghammer discloses the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber being configured to increasingly elastically deform as the pressure within it increases, thereby causing the tool body to increasingly deform, thereby causing the position of the at least one cutting edge attached to the tool body to increasingly change.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 11-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broghammer et al. (US 20040191022) in view of Hyatt et al. (US 6196773, hereinafter ‘Hyatt’).
Regarding claim 2, Broghammer contemplates an automated means for assisting in controlling the pressure within the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber (see Paragraph [0079], discussing an ‘automated cutter adjustment’) but does not explicitly disclose a CNC control device.
Hyatt discloses a similar cutting tool system 100 to increase/decrease pressure to expand/contract a cutting tool. The system comprises a CNC control device 104 to assist in controlling pressure within the internal pressure chamber 112/114 of the system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the CNC control of Hyatt to the adjustable tool of Broghammer in order to more quickly and accurately adjust the tool. See also MPEP 2144.04, III.
Regarding claim 3, Broghammer discloses a pressure sensor disposed within the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber (Paragraph [0079]).
Regarding claim 4, Broghammer discloses a valve connected to the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber (Paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 11, Broghammer discloses a cutting tool system (see e.g. Fig. 3) comprising a tool body ST comprising a stiff, exterior portion, a non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber DK1 disposed within the tool body, the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber supporting the stiff, exterior portion and at least one cutting edge S1 attached to the stiff, exterior portion of the tool body. A pressure sensor disposed within the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber (Paragraph [0079]) and a valve is also connected to the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber (Paragraph [0032]). The non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber is configured to elastically deform, due to pressure within the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber, which in turn deforms the tool body, which in turn changes a position of the at least one cutting edge attached to the tool body. Broghammer contemplates an automated means for assisting in controlling the pressure within the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber (see Paragraph [0079], discussing an ‘automated cutter adjustment’) but does not explicitly disclose a CNC control device.
Hyatt discloses a similar cutting tool system 100 to increase/decrease pressure to expand/contract a cutting tool. The system comprises a CNC control device 104 to assist in controlling pressure within the internal pressure chamber 112/114 of the system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the CNC control of Hyatt to the adjustable tool of Broghammer in order to more quickly and accurately adjust the tool. See also MPEP 2144.04, III.
Regarding claim 12, Broghammer discloses the tool body comprising a generally cylindrical shape when the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber is in an unpressurized shape (see e.g. Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Broghammer discloses the tool body comprising a non-uniform shape when the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber is in an unpressurized state (see e.g. Fig. 4, pockets 25 creating said ‘non-uniform’ shape in the exterior of the tool body and/or Figs. 7/8 having tool bodies with varying diameters).
Regarding claim 14, Broghammer discloses that when the flexible internal pressure chamber is under pressure within the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber, at least one portion of the stiff, exterior portion of the tool body W1 outwardly expands, and at least another portion of the stiff, exterior portion of the tool body (e.g. the portion of the tool body on the opposite side of the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber) inwardly contracts.
Regarding claim 15, Broghammer discloses the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber being configured to increasingly elastically deform as the pressure within it increases, thereby causing the tool body to increasingly deform, thereby causing the position of the at least one cutting edge attached to the tool body to increasingly change.
Regarding claim 16, Broghammer discloses the only way of adjusting the position of the cutting edge being by increasing/decreasing the pressure in the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber, therefore the change in position of the at least one cutting edge attached to the tool body is independent of how quickly the cutting tool system rotates.
Regarding claim 18, Broghammer contemplates an automated means for assisting in controlling the pressure within the non-cylindrical flexible internal pressure chamber (see Paragraph [0079], discussing an ‘automated cutter adjustment’) but does not explicitly disclose a CNC control device.
Hyatt discloses a similar cutting tool system 100 to increase/decrease pressure to expand/contract a cutting tool. The system comprises a CNC control device 104 to assist in controlling pressure within the internal pressure chamber 112/114 of the system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the CNC control of Hyatt to the adjustable tool of Broghammer in order to more quickly and accurately adjust the tool. See also MPEP 2144.04, III.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722