DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: ‘increasingly its elastic deformation’ at Line 2 contains a minor grammatical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-10, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahr (DE 901489).
Regarding claim 1, Mahr discloses a cutting tool system comprising a tool body 2, a flexible internal pressure chamber 4 disposed within the tool body and at least one cutting edge 9 attached to the tool body. The flexible internal pressure chamber is configured to elastically deform, due to pressure within the flexible internal pressure chamber, which in turn deforms the tool body, which in turn changes a position of the at least one cutting edge attached to the tool body (Paragraphs [0001] and [0007-0008] of the attached English translation).
Regarding claim 5, Mahr discloses the exterior of the tool body being stiff (Paragraph [0007] of the attached English translation mentions the body being welded or soldered, processes which are performed on metallic members).
Regarding claim 6, Mahr discloses the tool body comprising a generally cylindrical shape when the flexible internal pressure chamber is in an unpressurized state (see e.g. Figs. 1b and 2b).
Regarding claim 7, Mahr discloses the tool body comprising a non-uniform shape when the flexible internal pressure chamber is in an unpressurized state (see e.g. Figs. 1a and 2a).
Regarding claim 8, Mahr discloses that when the flexible internal pressure chamber is under the pressure within the internal pressure chamber, at least one portion of the tool body outwardly expands (e.g. the exterior sleeve 2 with cutting edges 9 thereon) and at least another portion of the tool body inwardly contracts (e.g. the exterior of sleeve 1 which is pressed radially inward by the pressure in chamber 4).
Regarding claim 9, Mahr discloses the flexible internal pressure chamber being configured to increasingly elastically deform as the pressure within the flexible internal pressure chamber rises, thereby causing the tool body to increasingly deform as the pressure within the flexible internal pressure chamber increases, thereby causing the position of the at least one cutting edge 9 attached to the tool body to increasingly change as the pressure within the flexible internal pressure chamber increases.
Regarding claim 10, Mahr discloses the change in position of the at least one cutting edge being attached to the tool body is independent of how quickly the cutting tool system rotates by nature of staying at the predetermined diameter when the appropriate pressure is applied.
Regarding claim 17, Mahr discloses an inherent method of cutting comprising controlling a pressure within a flexible internal pressure chamber 4 of a tool body to elastically deform the flexible internal pressure chamber. A stiff, exterior portion of the tool body 2 deforms due to the deformation of the flexible internal pressure chamber, and a position of at least one cutting edge 9 attached to the stiff, exterior portion of the tool body changes due to the deformation of the stiff, exterior portion of the tool body (Paragraphs [0001] and [0007-0008] of the attached English translation).
Regarding claim 19, Mahr discloses the stiff, exterior portion of the tool body deforming comprising at least one portion of the tool body outwardly expanding (e.g. the exterior sleeve 2 with cutting edges 9 thereon) and at least another portion of the tool body inwardly contracting (e.g. the exterior of sleeve 1 which is pressed radially inward by the pressure in chamber 4).
Regarding claim 20, Mahr discloses the flexible internal pressure chamber being configured to increasingly elastically deform as the pressure within the flexible internal pressure chamber rises, thereby causing the stiff, exterior portion of the tool body to increasingly deform as the pressure within the flexible internal pressure chamber increases, thereby causing the position of the at least one cutting edge 9 attached to the stiff, exterior portion of the tool body to increasingly change as the pressure within the flexible internal pressure chamber increases.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 11-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahr (DE 901489) in view of Hyatt et al. (US 6196773, hereinafter ‘Hyatt’).
Regarding claims 2-4, Mahr discloses a manually adjustable tool, either by a manually depressed piston 8 (Fig. 1b) or a manually rotated nut 13 (Fig. 2b) to increase/decrease pressure. Mahr does not disclose the claimed CNC control device.
Hyatt discloses a similar cutting tool system 100 to increase/decrease pressure to expand/contract a cutting tool. The system comprises a CNC control device 104 to assist in controlling pressure within the internal pressure chamber 112/114 of the system, with a pressure sensor 140 disposed within the internal pressure chamber and a valve 168 connected to the flexible internal pressure chamber.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the valve, sensor and CNC control of Hyatt to the manually adjusted tool of Mahr, in order to more quickly and accurately adjust the tool. See also MPEP 2144.04, III.
Regarding claim 11, Mahr discloses a cutting tool system comprising a tool body comprising a stiff, exterior portion 2, a flexible internal pressure chamber 4 disposed within the tool body, supporting the stiff, exterior portion of the tool body and at least one cutting edge 9 attached to the stiff, exterior portion of the tool body. The flexible internal pressure chamber is configured to elastically deform, due to pressure within the flexible internal pressure chamber, which in turn deforms the tool body, which in turn changes a position of the at least one cutting edge attached to the tool body (Paragraphs [0001] and [0007-0008] of the attached English translation). Mahr discloses a manually adjustable tool, either by a manually depressed piston 8 (Fig. 1b) or a manually rotated nut 13 (Fig. 2b) to increase/decrease pressure. Mahr does not disclose the claimed CNC control device.
Hyatt discloses a similar cutting tool system 100 to increase/decrease pressure to expand/contract a cutting tool. The system comprises a CNC control device 104 to assist in controlling pressure within the internal pressure chamber 112/114 of the system, with a pressure sensor 140 disposed within the internal pressure chamber connected to the CNC controller to monitor the pressure therein and a valve 168 connected to the flexible internal pressure chamber controlled by the CNC controller.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the valve, sensor and CNC control of Hyatt to the manually adjusted tool of Mahr, in order to more quickly and accurately adjust the tool. See also MPEP 2144.04, III.
Regarding claim 12, Mahr discloses the tool body comprising a generally cylindrical shape when the flexible internal pressure chamber is in an unpressurized state (see e.g. Figs. 1b and 2b).
Regarding claim 13, Mahr discloses the tool body comprising a non-uniform shape when the flexible internal pressure chamber is in an unpressurized state (see e.g. Figs. 1a and 2a).
Regarding claim 14, Mahr discloses that when the flexible internal pressure chamber is under the pressure within the internal pressure chamber, at least one portion of the tool body outwardly expands (e.g. the exterior sleeve 2 with cutting edges 9 thereon) and at least another portion of the tool body inwardly contracts (e.g. the exterior of sleeve 1 which is pressed radially inward by the pressure in chamber 4).
Regarding claim 15, Mahr discloses the flexible internal pressure chamber being configured to increasingly elastically deform as the pressure within the flexible internal pressure chamber increases, thereby causing the tool body to increasingly deform as the pressure within the flexible internal pressure chamber increases, thereby causing the position of the at least one cutting edge 9 attached to the stiff, exterior portion of the tool body to increasingly change as the pressure within the flexible internal pressure chamber increases.
Regarding claim 16, Mahr discloses the change in position of the at least one cutting edge being attached to the tool body is independent of how quickly the cutting tool system rotates by nature of staying at the predetermined diameter when the appropriate pressure is applied.
Regarding claim 18, Mahr discloses a manually adjustable tool, either by a manually depressed piston 8 (Fig. 1b) or a manually rotated nut 13 (Fig. 2b) to increase/decrease pressure. Mahr does not disclose the claimed CNC control device.
Hyatt discloses a similar cutting tool system 100 to increase/decrease pressure to expand/contract a cutting tool. The system comprises a CNC control device 104 to assist in controlling pressure within the internal pressure chamber 112/114 of the system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the CNC control of Hyatt to the manually adjusted tool of Mahr, in order to more quickly and accurately adjust the tool. See also MPEP 2144.04, III.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Weidmer (US 20080219787) and DE 20216739 disclose elements of or similar to the instant invention.
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722