DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Industrial Galvanizers (WO 2009/021290).
As to claim 1, Industrial Galvanizers discloses an end plate 12 configured to integrate with a first end wall or a second end wall of a roadway barrier, the end plate comprising:
a body wall 70 including a front surface and a rear surface, the body wall configured to couple with a first side wall and a second side wall of the roadway barrier; and
a brace 98,99.2 attached along a width of the rear surface of the body wall and extending rearward therefrom, the brace including a first notch A and a laterally-spaced apart second notch B (Figure 8 reprinted below with annotations), each notch providing an opening in the brace that is capable of allowing the brace to bend at the notch locations (Figures 1-13).
[AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 2, Industrial Galvanizers discloses an end plate comprising:
a first side flange 99 extending rearward from a left side edge of the body wall 70, the first side flange configured to couple with the first side wall of the roadway barrier; and
a second side flange 99 extending rearward from a right side edge of the body wall, the second side flange configured to couple with the second side wall of the roadway barrier (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 3, Industrial Galvanizers discloses an end plate comprising first and second bottom flanges 88 each extending rearward from a bottom edge of the body wall 70 (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 4, Industrial Galvanizers discloses an end plate wherein the first notch A and the second notch B each have a generally rectangular shape with first and second opposing side surfaces and an end surface positioned therebetween (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 5, Industrial Galvanizers discloses an end plate wherein the first notch A and the second notch B are each capable of widening during a vehicular impact with the roadway barrier (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 6, Industrial Galvanizers discloses an end plate wherein the end plate comprises a left bumper 74,76,78 and a right bumper 74,76,78 spaced apart from the left bumper, each bumper attached to the front surface of the body wall 70, and the first notch A is roughly aligned with a feature of the right bumper and the second notch B is roughly aligned with a feature of the left bumper (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 7, Industrial Galvanizers discloses an end plate 12 configured to integrate with a first end wall or a second end wall of a roadway barrier, the end plate comprising:
a body wall 70 including a front surface and a rear surface;
a first side flange 99 extending rearward from a left side edge of the body wall, the first side flange configured to couple with a first side wall of the roadway barrier;
a second side flange 99 extending rearward from a right side edge of the body wall, the second side flange configured to couple with a second side wall of the roadway barrier;
first and second bottom flanges 88 each extending rearward from a bottom edge of the body wall; and
a brace 98,99.2 attached along a width of the rear surface of the body wall and extending rearward therefrom, the brace including a first notch A and a laterally-spaced apart second notch B, each notch providing an opening in the brace that is capable of allowing the brace to bend at the notch locations, and each notch capable of widening during a vehicular impact with the roadway barrier (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 8, Industrial Galvanizers discloses an end plate wherein the end plate comprises a left bumper 74,76,78 and a right bumper 74,76,78 spaced apart from the left bumper, each bumper attached to the front surface of the body wall 70, and the first notch A is roughly aligned with a feature of the right bumper and the second notch B is roughly aligned with a feature of the left bumper (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 9, Industrial Galvanizers discloses a roadway barrier comprising:
a first side wall 22 and a second side wall 22 spaced apart from the first side wall; and
a first end wall and a second end wall spaced apart from the first end wall, each end wall coupled with the side walls and including an end plate 12 comprising:
a body wall 70 including a front surface and a rear surface,
a first side flange 99 extending roughly orthogonal from the rear surface on a first side edge of the body wall, the first side flange configured to couple with the first side wall,
a second side flange 99 extending roughly orthogonal from the rear surface on a second side edge of the body wall, the second side flange configured to couple with the second side wall,
first and second bottom flanges 88 each extending roughly orthogonal from the rear surface on a bottom edge of the body wall, and
a brace 98,99.2 attached along a width of the rear surface of the body wall and extending orthogonal therefrom, the brace including a first notch A and a laterally-spaced apart second notch B, each notch providing an opening in the brace that is capable of allowing the brace to bend at the notch locations, and each notch capable of widening during a vehicular impact with the roadway barrier (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 10, Industrial Galvanizers discloses a roadway barrier wherein the end plate comprises a left bumper 74,76,78 and a right bumper 74,76,78 spaced apart from the left bumper, each bumper attached to the front surface of the body wall 70, and the first notch A is roughly aligned with a feature of the right bumper and the second notch B is roughly aligned with a feature of the left bumper (Figures 1-13).
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dyke et al. (US 6,485,224).
As to claim 1, Dyke et al. disclose an end plate 40 configured to integrate with a first end wall or a second end wall of a roadway barrier, the end plate comprising:
a body wall 42 including a front surface and a rear surface, the body wall configured to couple with a first side wall and a second side wall of the roadway barrier; and
a brace 70 attached along a width of the rear surface of the body wall and extending rearward therefrom, the brace including a first notch 72 and a laterally-spaced apart second notch 72, each notch providing an opening in the brace that is capable of allowing the brace to bend at the notch locations (Figures 1-8).
As to claim 2, Dyke et al. disclose an end plate comprising:
a first side flange 46 extending rearward from a left side edge of the body wall 42, the first side flange configured to couple with the first side wall of the roadway barrier; and
a second side flange 46 extending rearward from a right side edge of the body wall, the second side flange configured to couple with the second side wall of the roadway barrier (Figures 1-8).
As to claim 3, Dyke et al. disclose an end plate comprising first and second bottom flanges A each extending rearward from a bottom edge of the body wall 42 (Figure 7 reprinted below with annotations; Figures 1-8).
[AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 4, Dyke et al. disclose an end plate wherein the first notch 72 and the second notch 72 each have a generally rectangular shape with first and second opposing side surfaces and an end surface positioned therebetween (Figures 1-8).
As to claim 5, Dyke et al. disclose an end plate wherein the first notch 72 and the second notch 72 are each capable of widening during a vehicular impact with the roadway barrier (Figures 1-8).
As to claim 7, Dyke et al. disclose an end plate 40 configured to integrate with a first end wall or a second end wall of a roadway barrier, the end plate comprising:
a body wall 42 including a front surface and a rear surface;
a first side flange 46 extending rearward from a left side edge of the body wall, the first side flange configured to couple with a first side wall of the roadway barrier;
a second side flange 46 extending rearward from a right side edge of the body wall, the second side flange configured to couple with a second side wall of the roadway barrier;
first and second bottom flanges A each extending rearward from a bottom edge of the body wall; and
a brace 70 attached along a width of the rear surface of the body wall and extending rearward therefrom, the brace including a first notch 72 and a laterally-spaced apart second notch 72, each notch providing an opening in the brace that is capable of allowing the brace to bend at the notch locations, and each notch capable of widening during a vehicular impact with the roadway barrier (Figures 1-8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same interpretation of the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
08/28/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619