Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 4, line 8, “The finger portion 13 pivot relative to the base” should read “The finger portion 13 pivots relative to the base”.
On page 4, line 9, “referred to as a C1” should read “referred to as C1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, line 5, “becomes a stationary state” should read “enters a stationary state”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (KR 20100112670).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al teaches a hand structure comprising:
a base (110) (Page 5, paragraphs 2, 3; Fig. 3, element 110);
a finger joint portion (210a) provided on the base (110) (Page 7, paragraph 2; Fig. 1, elements 110, 210a);
a finger portion (210) that is swingable about the finger joint portion (210a) (Page 7, paragraph 2; Fig. 3, elements 211, 210a);
and a shock absorber that is connected between the base (110) and the finger portion (210) to mitigate rotational torque generated in the finger portion (210) in response to a swing of the finger portion (210) due to collision of a dynamic object (Page 8, paragraph 7; Fig. 8, elements 212, 213).
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al teaches a wrist joint portion (31) connected to the base (110) (Page 5, paragraph 4; Fig. 1, elements 31, 110); and
a driving unit (410a) configured to drive the base (110) about the wrist joint portion (31) (Page 5, paragraph 2; Page 10, paragraph 1; Fig. 2, elements 31, 110, 410a), wherein
the driving unit (410a) applies acceleration to the base (110) in a state where the finger joint portion (210a) becomes rigid after the object in contact with the finger portion (210) becomes a stationary state, and serves the object (Page 5, paragraph 2; Page 7, paragraph 3; Page 10, paragraph 1; Fig. 2, elements 211, 410a).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al teaches a plurality of the finger portions (210, 210’, 230) is provided for one base (110) (Page 3, paragraph 3; Fig. 1, elements 110, 210, 210’, 230); and
the shock absorber is connected between at least one of the finger portions (210) and the base (110) (Page 8, paragraph 7; Fig. 8, elements 110, 210, 212, 213).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al teaches a driving unit (410a) configured to drive the finger portion (210) with respect to the base (110) (Page 5, paragraph 2; Page 7, paragraph 3; Page 10, paragraph 1; Fig. 2, elements 210, 410a), wherein:
the finger portions (210, 210’, 230) include a finger portion (210) to which the shock absorber is connected, and a finger portion (210’, 230) to which the shock absorber is not connected (Page 8, paragraph 7; Fig. 8, elements 212, 213); and
the driving unit (410a, 410b) drives the finger portion (210’, 230) to which the shock absorber is not connected, and grips the object (Page 5, paragraph 2; Page 7, paragraph 3; Page 10, paragraph 1; Fig. 2, elements 410a, 410b, 210’, 230).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al in view of Matsuda (WO 02058896).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al fails to teach a cushioning material. Matsuda teaches a hand structure with a cushioning material (17) provided on a cushion side of the finger portion (6) (Page 2, paragraph 9; Page 5, paragraph 4; Fig. 2, elements 6, 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Matsuda in Lee et al to facilitate the creation of a cushioning member that can assist the finger portion with bending and stretching as taught by Matsuda (Page 2, paragraph 7).
Conclusion
/SYDNEY JEANINE SIMMONS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/GENE O CRAWFORD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651