DETAILED ACTION
The United States Patent & Trademark Office appreciates the response filed for the current application that is submitted on 07/24/2026. The United States Patent & Trademark Office reviewed the following documents submitted and has made the following comments below.
Amendment
Applicant submitted amendments on 07/24/2026. The Examiner acknowledges the amendment and has reviewed the claims accordingly.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Claims 15-31 in the reply filed on 01/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Applicant claims the benefit of US Provisional Application No. 63/429,231 filed 12/01/2022. Claims 15-30 and 104-110 have been afforded the benefit of this filing date.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS dated 02/08/2024, 07/18/2024, 07/18/2024, 12/08/2025, and 02/25/2026 have been considered and placed in the application file.
Overview
Claims 15-30 and 104-110 are pending in this application.
Claim 31 has been cancelled.
Claims 104-110 have been added.
Claims 15-30 and 104-110 are rejected.
Applicant Arguments:
In regards to the argument on Argument 1, Applicant/s state/s “Because Tran analyzes each new layer to determine if a defect occurs, Tran's separate blobs overlap the same region of the build surface. Overlapping blobs do not inherently or expressly disclose subdividing at least a portion of an image corresponding to a location of a part in the build surface into a plurality of non-overlapping regions, where each region is then analyzed for weld defects. Independent claim 15 distinguishes Tran for at least this reason. Thus, Tran does not describe a method as set forth in claim 15.” (See Remarks Pg 9, paragraph 2) therefore the 35 U.S.C 102 rejection should be withdrawn.
In regards to Argument 2, Applicant/s state/s “Since each of the dependent claims depends from a base claim that is believed to be in condition for allowance, for the sake of brevity, Applicant believes that it is unnecessary at this time to argue the further distinguishing features of the dependent claims.” (See Remarks Pg 9, paragraph 4) therefore the 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 rejections for the dependent claims should be withdrawn.
Examiner’s Responses:
In response to Argument 1, Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 has been fully considered but are moot in view of amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn due to the amendment. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Tran et al (US Patent Publication US 2022/0143704 A1 hereafter referred to as Tran) in view of Schwarz (DE 102019127323 A1 (using US publication US2024100626A1 as translation)).
10. The Examiner finds that Tran teaches on the amended claim language. Tran teaches regions of an image being subdivided with the purpose of identifying defects in ¶0082, ¶0092 and ¶0057-¶0060. Applicant argues “Because Tran analyzes each new layer to determine if a defect occurs, Tran's separate blobs overlap the same region of the build surface. Overlapping blobs do not inherently or expressly disclose subdividing at least a portion of an image corresponding to a location of a part in the build surface into a plurality of non-overlapping regions, where each region is then analyzed for weld defects. Independent claim 15 distinguishes Tran for at least this reason. Thus, Tran does not describe a method as set forth in claim 15.” however, the Examiner interprets that Tran teaches the main concept of using subdivided images to determine the defects in a substantive welding surfaces based on light intensities, the additional details of the functions of the main concepts as stated above by the applicant in the amendments is taught by Schwarz in the details of the rejection below. The Examiner will maintain prior art Tran and details of the rejection are below.
In response to Argument 2, Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 15’s dependent claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn due to the amendment. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Tran in view of Schwarz in further view of Buller et al. (US Patent Publication 2018/0186067 A1 hereafter referred to as Buller).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 106 and 109 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. The Examiner strongly suggested that appropriate corrections be made to clarify the claim scope.
With respect to Claim 106, the claim recites the following, each of which renders the claim indefinite:
“ substantially equal in area ” on line 2 (unclear how this affects the scope of the claim and there is no definition in the specification of “substantially equal” and therefore the size of the area cannot be properly ascertained to determine the metes and bounds of the claim);
With respect to Claim 109, the claim recites the following, each of which renders the claim indefinite:
“partially perpendicular” on line 2 (unclear how this affects the scope of the claim and there is no definition in the specification of “partially” and therefore the amount of perpendicularity with regards to the fusion direction cannot be properly ascertained to determine the metes and bounds of the claim);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16, 20, 26-27, 106-108, and 110 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Tran et al (US Patent Publication US 2022/0143704 A1 hereafter referred to as Tran) in view of Schwarz (DE 102019127323 A1 (using US publication US2024100626A1 as translation)).
Regarding Claim 15, Tran teaches a method of detecting weld defects (Tran ¶0002, ¶0014, ¶0056, ¶0059 discloses detecting anomalies in-situ of a workpiece in a 3D printing manufacturing process) in a build surface of an additive manufacturing system (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process), the method comprising:
obtaining an image (Tran ¶0014, ¶0048 disclose obtaining perception data of the workpiece and the perception data being an optical or IR image) of at least a portion (Tran ¶0062, ¶0089, ¶0114 discloses acquiring perception data of a localized region and a region of interest) of the build surface (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process);
subdividing at least a portion (Tran ¶0082, ¶0092 discloses segmenting the first perception data into foreground anomaly features and background features) of the image (Tran ¶0014, ¶0048 disclose obtaining perception data of the workpiece and the perception data being an optical or IR image) corresponding to a location of a part (Tran ¶0009, discloses anomalies being related to the location in the part corresponding to material deposition location)
of regions (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process); and
identifying a presence of weld defects (Tran ¶0014 detecting anomalies in-situ of a workpiece in a 3D printing manufacturing process ¶0073 discloses a defect being nonuniformity in the weld bead) in the build surface (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process) based at least in part on light intensities (Tran ¶0063 discloses the optical sensor in the camera measuring the light on the visible spectrum ¶0089 and ¶0114 discloses intensity pixel values being used to determine regions of interest and Fig 3b shows how the intensity values are used to determine the anomaly)
regions (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process).
Tran does not explicitly disclose in the build surface into a plurality non-overlapping, and of the plurality of non-overlapping.
Schwarz is in the same field of defect detection using image analysis in 3D printing. Further, Schwarz teaches in the build surface into a plurality non-overlapping (Schwarz ¶0056, ¶0058, and Fig 1C discloses nonoverlapping regions of spectral bands to completely cover the wavelength range) and of the plurality of non-overlapping (Schwarz ¶0056, ¶0058, and Fig 1C discloses nonoverlapping regions of spectral bands to completely cover the wavelength range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tran by incorporating non overlapping regions as taught by Schwarz to make an invention that can automatically determine the defect in a sequential order, not just layer by layer; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to for precise data detection for the monitoring and closed-loop control of the working process as to reduce the use of post-process inspection for quality assessment and classification as this increases the cost, integration effort and maintenance effort of the laser working systems. (Schwarz ¶0005, ¶0017).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 16, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 15, wherein identifying the presence of the weld defects (Tran ¶0014 detecting anomalies in-situ of a workpiece in a 3D printing manufacturing process ¶0073 discloses a defect being nonuniformity in the weld bead) includes identifying the presence of the weld defects (Tran ¶0014 detecting anomalies in-situ of a workpiece in a 3D printing manufacturing process ¶0073 discloses a defect being nonuniformity in the weld bead) based at least in part on light intensity gradients (Tran ¶0131 discloses using the gradients to validate anomalies ¶0120 discloses changing the pixels to determine the region of interest for the anomaly) in the plurality of non-overlapping (Schwarz ¶0056, ¶0058, and Fig 1C discloses nonoverlapping regions of spectral bands to completely cover the wavelength range) regions (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process). See Claim 15 for rationale, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 20, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 15, wherein identifying the presence of the weld defects includes (Tran ¶0014 detecting anomalies in-situ of a workpiece in a 3D printing manufacturing process ¶0073 discloses a defect being nonuniformity in the weld bead) identifying weld defects adjacent (Tran ¶0137, ¶0147, discloses identifying noise splatters and other defects adjacent to the current specimen) to one or more regions of the plurality of non-overlapping (Schwarz ¶0056, ¶0058, and Fig 1C discloses nonoverlapping regions of spectral bands to completely cover the wavelength range) regions (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process). See Claim 15 for rationale, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 26, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising moving an optics assembly relative to the build surface (Tran ¶0153 discloses moving the optical monitoring system to be adjusted and follow the fusion of the workpiece). See Claim 15 for rationale, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 27, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising moving a photosensitive detector (Tran ¶0071 discloses a phot interrupter signaling the sensors) relative to the build surface (Tran ¶0153 discloses moving the optical monitoring system to be adjusted and follow the fusion of the workpiece). See Claim 15 for rationale, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 106, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 15, wherein each region of the plurality of non-overlapping (Schwarz ¶0056, ¶0058, and Fig 1C discloses nonoverlapping regions of spectral bands to completely cover the wavelength range) regions (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process) is substantially equal in area (Schwarz ¶0025 discloses that spectral bands in the spectral dimension may be of the same size). See Claim 15 for rationale, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 107, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 15, wherein each region of the plurality of non-overlapping (Schwarz ¶0056, ¶0058, and Fig 1C discloses nonoverlapping regions of spectral bands to completely cover the wavelength range) regions (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process) comprises a plurality of pixels (Schwarz ¶0058, ¶0056 discloses that the regions that are being examined consist of a plurality of pixels arranged along a direction). See Claim 15 for rationale, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 108, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the plurality of non-overlapping (Schwarz ¶0056, ¶0058, and Fig 1C discloses nonoverlapping regions of spectral bands to completely cover the wavelength range) regions (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process) of the image are subdivided (Tran ¶0082, ¶0092 discloses segmenting the first perception data into foreground anomaly features and background features) based on the location of the part(Tran ¶0009, discloses anomalies being related to the location in the part corresponding to material deposition location). See Claim 15 for rationale, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 110, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 15, wherein identifying the presence of weld defects occurs after (Tran Figure 4 discloses that the foreground and background segmentation happens before the weld identification) subdividing at least a portion (Tran ¶0082, ¶0092 discloses segmenting the first perception data into foreground anomaly features and background features) of the image (Tran ¶0014, ¶0048 disclose obtaining perception data of the workpiece and the perception data being an optical or IR image). See Claim 15 for rationale, its parent claim.
Claims 17-19, 21-25, 28-30, 104-105, and 109 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Tran in view of Schwarz in further view of Buller et al. (US Patent Publication 2018/0186067 A1 hereafter referred to as Buller).
Regarding Claim 17, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 16, wherein identifying the presence of the weld defects (Tran ¶0014 detecting anomalies in-situ of a workpiece in a 3D printing manufacturing process ¶0073 discloses a defect being nonuniformity in the weld bead) includes identifying the presence of the weld defects (Tran ¶0014 detecting anomalies in-situ of a workpiece in a 3D printing manufacturing process ¶0073 discloses a defect being nonuniformity in the weld bead) based at least in part on a proportion of the light intensity gradients (Tran ¶0131 discloses using the gradients to validate anomalies ¶0120 discloses changing the pixels to determine the region of interest for the anomaly)
to a local fusion direction (Tran ¶0098, ¶0075 discloses the fusion direction being in the vertical or horizonal direction) in each region of the plurality of non-overlapping (Schwarz ¶0056, ¶0058, and Fig 1C discloses nonoverlapping regions of spectral bands to completely cover the wavelength range) regions (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process).
Tran in view of Schwarz does not explicitly disclose that are perpendicular.
Buller is in the same field of image analysis in 3D printing. Further, Buller teaches that are perpendicular (Buller ¶0290 discloses the gradient filter being applied perpendicular).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tran in view of Schwarz by incorporating the Gabor filter and applying it perpendicularly as taught by Buller to make an invention that can automatically determine the changes in gradient of the image to be able to detect defects based on the gradient; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to include a calibration system that facilitates calibration of one or more elements of an optical system, since an optical system (e.g., comprising a detection system) of the 3D printer may deviate from one or more of its calibrated properties. Calibrating the one or more elements of the optical system may result in (e.g., substantially) accurate operation of the optical system. (Buller, ¶0008).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 18, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 15, wherein identifying the presence of the weld defects (Tran ¶0014 detecting anomalies in-situ of a workpiece in a 3D printing manufacturing process ¶0073 discloses a defect being nonuniformity in the weld bead).
Tran in view of Schwarz does not explicitly disclose includes using a Gabor filter.
Buller is in the same field of image analysis in 3D printing. Further, Buller teaches includes using a Gabor filter (Buller ¶0029, ¶0031, ¶0290 discloses the use of a Gabor filter as an image gradient filter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tran in view of Schwarz by incorporating the Gabor filter and applying it perpendicularly to local fusion directions as taught by Buller to make an invention that can automatically determine the changes in gradient of the image to be able to detect defects based on the gradient; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to include a calibration system that facilitates calibration of one or more elements of an optical system, since an optical system (e.g., comprising a detection system) of the 3D printer may deviate from one or more of its calibrated properties. Calibrating the one or more elements of the optical system may result in (e.g., substantially) accurate operation of the optical system. (Buller, ¶0008).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 19, Tran in view of Schwarz in view of Buller teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the Gabor filter (Buller ¶0029, ¶0031, ¶0290 discloses the use of a Gabor filter as an image gradient filter) applied to each separate region of the plurality of non-overlapping (Schwarz ¶0056, ¶0058, and Fig 1C discloses nonoverlapping regions of spectral bands to completely cover the wavelength range) regions (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process) is associated with a local (Buller ¶0283 discloses the contrast being related to the locality of the region of pixels) fusion direction (Tran ¶0098, ¶0075 discloses the fusion direction being in the vertical or horizonal direction) of each separate region (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process). See rationale for Claim 18, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 21, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 15, wherein identifying the presence of the weld defects (Tran ¶0014 detecting anomalies in-situ of a workpiece in a 3D printing manufacturing process ¶0073 discloses a defect being nonuniformity in the weld bead)
associated with the plurality of non-overlapping (Schwarz ¶0056, ¶0058, and Fig 1C discloses nonoverlapping regions of spectral bands to completely cover the wavelength range) regions (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process)
with the plurality of non-overlapping (Schwarz ¶0056, ¶0058, and Fig 1C discloses nonoverlapping regions of spectral bands to completely cover the wavelength range) regions (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process)
in the plurality of non-overlapping (Schwarz ¶0056, ¶0058, and Fig 1C discloses nonoverlapping regions of spectral bands to completely cover the wavelength range) regions (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process).
Tran in view of Schwarz does not explicitly disclose includes generating a score map, wherein scores associated, are indicative of weld quality.
Buller is in the same field of image analysis in 3D printing. Further, Buller teaches includes generating a score map (Buller ¶0290 discloses a map with pixel values associated with measurements indicating a defect) wherein scores associated (Buller ¶0290 discloses a map with pixel values associated with measurements indicating a defect) are indicative of weld quality (Buller ¶0290 discloses a map with pixel values associated with measurements indicating a defect).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tran in view of Schwarz by incorporating the score map and threshold as taught by Buller to make an invention that can automatically determine and map the changes in gradient of the image to be able to detect defects based on the gradient; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to include a calibration system that facilitates calibration of one or more elements of an optical system, since an optical system (e.g., comprising a detection system) of the 3D printer may deviate from one or more of its calibrated properties. Calibrating the one or more elements of the optical system may result in (e.g., substantially) accurate operation of the optical system. (Buller, ¶0008).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 22, Tran in view of Schwarz in view of Buller teaches the method of claim 21, wherein identifying the presence of the weld defects (Tran ¶0014 detecting anomalies in-situ of a workpiece in a 3D printing manufacturing process ¶0073 discloses a defect being nonuniformity in the weld bead) includes comparing the scores to a threshold (Buller ¶0290 discloses comparing the pixel values to a threshold to include or exclude the data) to identify the presence of the weld defects (Tran ¶0014 detecting anomalies in-situ of a workpiece in a 3D printing manufacturing process ¶0073 discloses a defect being nonuniformity in the weld bead). See rationale for Claim 21, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 23, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 15, of the additive manufacturing system (Tran ¶0057-¶0060 discloses a workpiece or substrate that includes a plurality of layers and the anomalies may be identified in the plurality of layers in the 3D manufacturing process) based at least in part on the identification of the presence of weld defects (Tran ¶0014 detecting anomalies in-situ of a workpiece in a 3D printing manufacturing process ¶0073 discloses a defect being nonuniformity in the weld bead).
Tran in view of Schwarz does not explicitly disclose further comprising controlling at least one process.
Buller is in the same field of image analysis in 3D printing. Further, Buller teaches further comprising controlling at least one process (Buller ¶0153, ¶0237 discloses controlling the shape and the temperature of the manufacturing process based on measured anomalies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tran in view of Schwarz by incorporating the score map and threshold as taught by Buller to make an invention that can automatically determine and map the changes in gradient of the image to be able to detect defects based on the gradient; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to include a calibration system that facilitates calibration of one or more elements of an optical system, since an optical system (e.g., comprising a detection system) of the 3D printer may deviate from one or more of its calibrated properties. Calibrating the one or more elements of the optical system may result in (e.g., substantially) accurate operation of the optical system. (Buller, ¶0008).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 24, Tran in view of Schwarz in view of Buller teaches the method of claim 23, further comprising selectively stopping a build process for one or more of the at least one parts (Buller ¶0153, ¶0291 discloses halting the energy in the manufacturing process based on measured anomalies) based at least in part on the identification of the presence of weld defects (Tran ¶0014 detecting anomalies in-situ of a workpiece in a 3D printing manufacturing process ¶0073 discloses a defect being nonuniformity in the weld bead). See rationale for Claim 23, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 25, Tran in view of Schwarz in view of Buller teaches the method of claim 23, further comprising changing one or more process parameters (Buller ¶0291 discloses change a process parameter of the 3D printing process based on detection of unexpected components) based at least in part on the identification of the presence of the weld defects (Tran ¶0014 detecting anomalies in-situ of a workpiece in a 3D printing manufacturing process ¶0073 discloses a defect being nonuniformity in the weld bead). See rationale for Claim 23, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 28, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 15, related to the identification of the presence of the weld defects (Tran ¶0014 detecting anomalies in-situ of a workpiece in a 3D printing manufacturing process ¶0073 discloses a defect being nonuniformity in the weld bead).
Tran in view of Schwarz does not explicitly disclose further comprising outputting information, to a user.
Buller is in the same field of image analysis in 3D printing. Further, Buller teaches further comprising outputting information (Buller ¶0382 discloses a computer system with a user interface that provides information to the user regarding the current and historical information of the 3D print process) to a user (Buller ¶0382 discloses a computer system with a user interface that provides information to the user regarding the current and historical information of the 3D print process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tran in view of Schwarz by incorporating user interface as taught by Buller to make an invention that can automatically determine the changes in gradient of the image to be able to detect defects based on the gradient and display the results to a user; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to include a calibration system that facilitates calibration of one or more elements of an optical system, since an optical system (e.g., comprising a detection system) of the 3D printer may deviate from one or more of its calibrated properties. Calibrating the one or more elements of the optical system may result in (e.g., substantially) accurate operation of the optical system. (Buller, ¶0008).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 29, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising fusing precursor material on the build surface (Tran ¶0003, ¶0056, ¶0069 discloses fusing material powder on the build platform) to form one or more parts on the build surface (Tran ¶0061 discloses laser beam being used to deposit material on the build surface to the workpiece).
Tran in view of Schwarz does not explicitly disclose with one or more laser energy pixels.
Buller is in the same field of image analysis in 3D printing. Further, Buller teaches with one or more laser energy pixels (Buller ¶0148 discloses an electron and laser beam being used to form the 3D object).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tran in view of Schwarz by incorporating laser energy to deposit material as taught by Buller to make an invention that can automatically determine the changes in gradient of the image to be able to detect defects based on the gradient and adjust the deposition process; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to include a calibration system that facilitates calibration of one or more elements of an optical system, since an optical system (e.g., comprising a detection system) of the 3D printer may deviate from one or more of its calibrated properties. Calibrating the one or more elements of the optical system may result in (e.g., substantially) accurate operation of the optical system. (Buller, ¶0008).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 30, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches of claim 15 (See claim 15 above).
Tran in view of Schwarz does not explicitly disclose s non-transitory computer readable medium including processor executable instructions that when executed by a processor perform the method.
Buller is in the same field of image analysis in 3D printing. Further, Buller teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium (Buller ¶0029, ¶0028 and ¶0053-¶0056 discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium) including processor executable instructions (Buller ¶0028 discloses instructions read by one or more computer processors) that when executed by a processor perform the method (Buller ¶0028 discloses the processor performing operations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tran in view of Schwarz by incorporating the computer readable medium and processor executing instructions as taught by Buller to make an invention that can automatically determine the changes in gradient of the image to be able to detect defects based on the gradient; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to include a calibration system that facilitates calibration of one or more elements of an optical system, since an optical system (e.g., comprising a detection system) of the 3D printer may deviate from one or more of its calibrated properties. Calibrating the one or more elements of the optical system may result in (e.g., substantially) accurate operation of the optical system. (Buller, ¶0008).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 104, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising selectively illuminating the build surface (Tran ¶0061 and Fig 1 discloses illumination of the powder bed which is the build surface) to the direction of a weld (Tran Fig 25 and ¶0125 discloses the direction of printing on the substrate ).
Tran in view of Schwarz does not explicitly disclose perpendicular to a fusion.
Buller is in the same field of image analysis in 3D printing. Further, Buller teaches perpendicular to a fusion (Buller Fig 29, 2920 ¶0279 discloses the illumination direction being perpendicular to the weld surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tran in view of Schwarz by incorporating the Gabor filter and fusion and applying it perpendicularly to local fusion directions as taught by Buller to make an invention that can automatically determine the changes in gradient of the image to be able to detect defects based on the gradient; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to include a calibration system that facilitates calibration of one or more elements of an optical system, since an optical system (e.g., comprising a detection system) of the 3D printer may deviate from one or more of its calibrated properties. Calibrating the one or more elements of the optical system may result in (e.g., substantially) accurate operation of the optical system. (Buller, ¶0008).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 105, Tran in view of Schwarz in view of Buller teaches the method of claim 104, further comprising changing the fusion direction (Buller ¶0291, ¶0293, ¶0295 discloses facilitate direction a change in at least one characteristic of the energy beam to adjust the printing procedure). See rationale for Claim 104, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 109, Tran in view of Schwarz teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising illuminating a weld (Tran ¶0061 and Fig 1 discloses illumination of the powder bed which is the build surface) the direction of a weld (Tran Fig 25 and ¶0125 discloses the direction of printing on the substrate ).
Tran in view of Schwarz does not explicitly disclose in a direction that is at least partially perpendicular to a fusion.
Buller is in the same field of image analysis in 3D printing. Further, Buller teaches in a direction that is at least partially perpendicular to a fusion (Buller Fig 29, 2920 ¶0279 discloses the illumination direction being perpendicular to the weld surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tran in view of Schwarz by incorporating the Gabor filter and fusion and applying it perpendicularly to local fusion directions as taught by Buller to make an invention that can automatically determine the changes in gradient of the image to be able to detect defects based on the gradient; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to include a calibration system that facilitates calibration of one or more elements of an optical system, since an optical system (e.g., comprising a detection system) of the 3D printer may deviate from one or more of its calibrated properties. Calibrating the one or more elements of the optical system may result in (e.g., substantially) accurate operation of the optical system. (Buller, ¶0008).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Reference Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
EP-3521028-A1 to DR PONTILLER-SCHYMURA discloses method and system for additive manufacturing three dimensional objects.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL L ROBERTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2674
/ONEAL R MISTRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2674