CTFR 18/524,226 CTFR 100932 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims This office action is in response to application number 18/524,226 filed on 2/26/2026, in which Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Applicant amends Claims 1-20. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement filed 11/30/2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. Specifically, foreign reference one, DE 102016124521 A1 was not considered because it was filed in English nor was a concise explanation of relevance filed with the reference. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. Response to Arguments Applicant’s amendments and arguments, see pgs. 10 and 17, filed 2/26/2026, with respect to the objections to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections to the drawings set forth in the office action of 11/28/2025 have been withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments and arguments, see pgs. 2-9 and 18, filed 2/26/2026, with respect to the objections to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The of 11/28/2025 have been withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments and arguments, see pgs. 11-16 and 18, filed 2/26/2026, with respect to the objections to Claims 1, 3, 11, and 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections to Claims 1, 3, 11, and 13 set forth in the office action of 11/28/2025 have been withdrawn. However, in light of the amendments, new claim objections are introduced. Further details are provided below Examiner maintains the claim interpretation of Claims 5 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) set forth in the office action of 11/28/2025. Applicant’s amendments and arguments, see pgs. 11-16 and 18, filed 2/26/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the office action of 11/28/2025 have been withdrawn. However, in light of the amendments, new rejections of Claims 11-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are introduced. Further details are provided below. Applicant’s amendments and arguments, see pgs. 11-16 and 18, filed 2/26/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not are persuasive. Applicant argues that Cheng does not disclose or suggest power dissipation systems that are separate and distinct from one or more electric motors nor an optimized power dissipation target for such a set of non-motor power dissipation systems and instead [Cheng, pg. 1, para 0007] discusses power dissipation motor control where power from brake torque is dissipated in stator windings of the motor. Applicant further argues that Cheng does not discuss “a set of optimized power dissipation targets” for a set of non-motor power dissipation systems. Finally, applicant further argues that Telford (relied on for disclosing sensors measurements) and Genter (relied on for disclosing target power dissipation determination based on operating parameters) do not discuss the amended features of independent Claims 1 and 11 and that the remaining references used for the dependent claims do not discuss the amended features of the independent claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Cheng primarily discusses using the stator windings of the motor to dissipate energy, [Cheng, pgs. 2-3, paras 0025-0026], also discusses calculating a distribution of energy dissipation, using reference models or look-up tables with calibrated entries to improve accuracy, where the dissipation is distributed between the motor and "other loads," and provides examples of "a DC/DC converter (e.g., 300V to 12V), heater or cooler, and all other auxiliary loads that are connected to the high voltage DC bus." Examiner reads this as an optimization of the energy dissipation distribution between power dissipation systems by calculating a desired value for each system using calibrated values, models, or a lookup table which optimizes, or improves the accuracy, of the dissipation. Additionally, [Genter, pg. 27, para 0132], discusses dissipating energy using a brake resistor or an increased power consumption of the electrical accessories, such as [Genter, pg. 6, para 0100] a heater, an air conditioner, power steering inverter, compressor, fan, and a DC-DC converter. Therefore, the set forth in the office action of 11/28/2025 is maintained. In light of the amendments, an updated rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is provided below. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 (lines 17 and 20) and Claim 11 (lines 15 and 18): “respectively” does not clearly identify which claim components, or features, are being linked and should be more clearly recited or “respectively” removed. For examination purposes, Claims 1 and 11 will be read as “respectively” being removed . Appropriate correction is required. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: "optimizers configured to" in Claim 5 (line 2) and Claim 15 (line 2) . Corresponding structure is not clearly identified in the specification. The specification, [pgs. 20-21, para 0035] describes the “optimizers” as being used to “monitor the operation of the power dissipation systems 330, as well as a regenerative torque capability 340 (e.g., associated with the regenerative braking system 140) and actual axle torques 344 of the vehicle 100” and “configured to optimize or adjust the operation of these power dissipation systems 330 to achieve desired power dissipation within a set of hardware limits/constraints.” The specification, [pg. 25, para 0040], also equates the “optimizers” to a ”hybrid controller optimizer,” where a controller is described as, [pg. 32, para 0048], “any suitable control device or set of multiple control devices that is/are configured to perform at least a portion of the techniques of the present application. Non-limiting examples include an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), one or more processors and a non-transitory memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the controller to perform a set of operations corresponding to at least a portion of the techniques of the present application.” For examination purposes, “optimizers” will be interpreted as a control module, or control unit, connected to the battery. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 (line 5) recites the limitation "the plurality of power dissipation systems.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the plurality of power dissipation systems” will be read as “a plurality of power dissipation systems.” Additionally, Claim 11 (lines 11-12) recites the limitation “a plurality of power dissipation systems,” which would already be defined in Claim 11 (line 5) and therefore should recite “the plurality of power dissipation systems.” Claims 12-20 are rejected by dependency on Claim 11. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 8, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al., PG Pub US-2013/0151050-A1 (herein "Cheng"), in view of Genter et al., PG Pub US-2023/0278651-A1 (herein "Genter") and Treharne et al., PG Pub US-2013/0289809-A1 (herein "Treharne") . Regarding Claim 1, Cheng discloses: (Currently Amended) A power dissipation control system for an electrified powertrain of an electrified vehicle, the power dissipation control system comprising: a plurality of power dissipation systems each configured to operate and thereby dissipate electrical energy generated and/or stored by the electrified powertrain , wherein each of the plurality of power dissipation systems is separate and distinct from one or more electric motors of the electrified powertrain ; and a control system configured to determine whether to enable/disable enable or disable a power dissipation mode of the electrified powertrain and, when the power dissipation mode is enabled: […]; determine an allocation or distribution of the target power dissipation between a set of available power dissipation systems from the plurality of power dissipation systems; optimize the allocation or distribution of the target power dissipation between the set of available power dissipation components systems to obtain a set of optimized power dissipation targets, respectively ; and control the available set of power dissipation systems based on t he optimized allocation or distribution the set of optimize power dissipation targets, respectively, to achieve the target power dissipation […] . See [Cheng, pg. 1, para 0002], which describes a power dissipation system for an electric vehicle, “The present disclosure relates to the field of hybrid electric vehicles (HEV) and battery electric vehicles (BEV), and more particularly to an electric power dissipation system and method for hybrid electric and battery electric vehicles.” See also [Cheng, pg. 1, para 0009], which explains that the battery state includes a state of charge and temperature, which are used as inputs to require operation of power dissipation, “As disclosed herein, the state of the battery includes a state of charge of the battery, a battery temperature, and/or a fault condition. The motor control unit selects the normal motor control operation if the state of charge of the battery is below a predetermined value and selects the power dissipation motor control operation if the state of charge of the battery is above a predetermined value.” Finally, see [Cheng, pg. 2, paras 0025-0026], which further explains a power dissipation process that includes sensing and managing dissipation to other loads, such as a DC/DC converter, a heater or a cooler, and all other auxiliary loads, and determination of a power dissipation mode, using a consumption equation, load models and lookup tables, and a calibration process, “FIG. 3 illustrates an example motor control process 40 having a power dissipation process 60 in accordance with the present disclosure. In a desired embodiment, the process 40 is implemented in software operated by control unit 30 or other processor. The power dissipation process 60 includes, among other processing, a current regulator process 62 and i.sub.q process 64. The current regulator process 62 […] tries to regulate the DC current feedback to the current reference value. The DC bus voltage V.sub.dc and current feedbacks i.sub.ds are sensed and the DC power consumption P can be calculated by equation (7). Depending on the i.sub.dc.sub.--.sub.ref value, either zero or a positive value for more power consumption by the motor and other loads in the system, the DC current feedback is compared with the reference value and fed to the current regulator. The "other loads" could be, for example, a DC/DC converter (e.g., 300V to 12V), heater or cooler, and all other auxiliary loads that are connected to the high voltage DC bus. The auxiliary loads can be factored into the determination by use of load reference models or look-up tables for a more accurate calculation. The commanded i.sub.d is calculated by equation (6) and is compensated by the output of the current regulator process 62. The commanded i.sub.d can also be obtained by using look-up tables that can take motor/vehicle parameter uncertainty and other vehicle power loads into consideration to get better accuracy of the power consumption. [0026] The i.sub.d, i.sub.q calculation for normal motor torque control (i.e., when power dissipation mode is not needed) is performed in process 42. It should be appreciated that the process 42 can also be implemented by using a look-up table 42' […] with calibration entries to accommodate the uncertainty of the motor and other loads in the vehicle; this may allow for a more accurate calculation. The motor stator resistance value is also compensated for by stator temperature feedback. In other words, the motor stator resistance is compensated for by stator temperature feedback. Thus, for more accurate calculations, a sensor may be used to sense the temperature and calculate the resistance based on that temperature. For a given i.sub.d and commanded torque, the commanded i.sub.q is calculated by equation (3). I.sub.d and i.sub.q are limited by the intersection point of torque and current limit circle (i.sub.d.sub.--.sub.max, i.sub.q.sub.--.sub.max). Depending on whether the drive system is in the power dissipation mode or not, a motor control process 44 will take input either the normal current command or the disclosed novel power dissipation current command.” Cheng does not disclose: determine a target power dissipation based on a driver torque request and a set of operating parameters of the electrified vehicle; […]; […] and thereby reduce a thermal load on a friction brake system of the electrified vehicle. However, Genter teaches: determine a target power dissipation based on […] a set of operating parameters of the electrified vehicle . See [Genter, pgs. 3-4, paras 0044-0046], which explain that a control module can receive data including performance optimization and desired depletion level to manage negative torque requests, over the road charging, and power flow, “[0044] In one embodiment, the control module may be arranged to perform an over the road recharging operation when there is no active braking and the trailer battery level is below a target trailer battery level. For example, when the vehicle is not braking sufficiently to maintain a desired trailer battery depletion level, the control module may demand over the road recharging. In this case the control unit may demand a negative torque on trailer motors to charge the trailer battery. This may provide a means for maintaining the trailer battery state when there is no active braking. [0045] In one embodiment, the control module communicates with a fleet management center, for example, for updates and learning. For example, the control module may communicate current and past states to the fleet management center. The fleet management center may use the information from the truck/trailer system (and other such systems) to learn and for performance optimization. The fleet management center may send updates to the truck/trailer system for performance tuning. For example, the fleet management center may send updates to the truck/trailer system regarding commands, such as, but not limited to, distance to destination and desired depletion level of the trailer battery at destination, and refrigeration unit settings (temperature setting, humidity setting, etc). [0046] The tractor unit may comprise a sensor configured to sense when the trailer battery is connected to the powertrain, and the control module may be arranged to manage flow of power between the trailer battery and the powertrain when it is sensed that the trailer battery is connected.” See also [Genter, pg. 15, para 0224], which explains that the controller uses the power consumption and regenerative braking to achieve a desired depletion level, “[0224] In one embodiment, a controller (for example, control system 907) determines the regenerative braking needed to maintain sufficient trailer battery capacity for the refrigeration unit. In this embodiment, the controller keeps account of the refrigeration energy/power consumption and estimates the range based on the battery state or remaining capacity. The controller receives information from connectivity devices on the range requirement for the current trip and uses that information to manage the trailer battery in such a way as to reach a desired level of depletion at the destination. For example, if the battery will be recharged with off-board power at the destination (e.g. electric grid) then the regenerative braking split may be managed in such a way that the trailer battery will be substantially depleted (low SOC) at the destination. The controller determines a battery depletion target along the route, which may be dynamic or static. The controller determines the regenerative braking needed to maintain the battery at the desired depletion level (based on, for example, range, power consumption, depletion target, distance to destination, and/or any other appropriate parameter).” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Genter to define a target dissipation value, based on operating parameters. Doing so provides the system with parameters to learn and optimize vehicle performance and maintain the desired battery state [Genter, pgs. 3-4, paras 0044-0045], over the duration of the route so that energy recovery is not wasted [Genter, pg. 8, para 0112]. However, Treharne teaches: [determine a target power dissipation] based on a driver torque request […]; […] and […] and thereby reduce a thermal load on a friction brake system of the electrified vehicle. See [Treharne, pg. 3, paras 0029-0031], which describe a driver controls system that includes an acceleration system with sensors for receiving torque requests from the driver and a braking system for receiving brake torque requests from the driver and controlling the regenerative braking and friction braking, “[0029] Also shown in FIG. 1 are simplified schematic representations of a driver controls system 54 and a navigation system 56. The driver controls system 54 includes acceleration and gear selection (shifting) systems (all not shown). The acceleration system includes an accelerator pedal having one or more sensors, which provide information such as a driver request for vehicle propulsion (drive torque request) to the vehicle controller. […]. [0030] The braking system 16 provides friction braking of the vehicle 12. The braking system includes a brake pedal 58 for receiving an input force from the driver. […]. Each brake line L1, L2, L3 and L4 extends to a brake caliper that is mounted to one of the wheels, for applying a frictional braking torque to the corresponding wheel for decelerating the vehicle. [0031] […]. The BPP signal is indicative of a driver request for brake torque (brake torque request). The brake controller 68 also receives input that corresponds to an accelerator pedal position. The brake controller 68 determines a total brake torque value based on the brake pedal position and the accelerator pedal position. The brake controller 68 communicates with the vehicle controller 14 to coordinate regenerative braking and friction braking.” See also [Treharne, pg. 1, para 0003], which further explains that regenerative braking recovers energy that would have been lost as heat to the friction brake, “Electric vehicles often include a braking system that utilizes both friction braking and regenerative braking. Regenerative braking is used to recharge vehicle batteries, and recovers much of the energy that would otherwise be lost as heat during friction braking. Therefore regenerative braking improves the overall efficiency or fuel economy of the electric vehicle as compared to vehicles only configured for friction braking.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Treharne to consider driver torque requests and heating of the friction brake in energy recovery, especially using regenerative braking. Doing so improves efficiency and fuel economy [Treharne, pg. 4, para 0035] and allows the system to determine total brake torque to predict and manage potential powertrain oscillation, which can damage the powertrain and cause unpleasant noise and vibration [Treharne pg. 1, paras 0004-0008] and further allow unnoticeable transitions between braking states [Treharne, pg. 6, para 0062]. Regarding Claim 8, Genter as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Cheng further discloses: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the control system is configured to determine the target power dissipation based on a regenerative torque capability of a regenerative braking system of the electrified powertrain, […], and a coast control torque request. See [Cheng, pg. 1, paras 0004 and 0006], which explain that the electric vehicle uses coast-down and regenerative braking to recover power, which are further managed based on the battery state of charge, “[0004] […] One of the desired features for hybrid electric and battery electric vehicles is to have a coast-down performance similar to that of conventional vehicles. This requires the electric motor to provide certain brake torque to the vehicle when the accelerator pedal is released. In other words, the mechanical power is converted to electric power and fed back to the battery. This is also called coast-down regenerative braking. Regenerative braking is an energy recovery mechanism that slows down a vehicle by converting its kinetic energy into another form--in the case of hybrid electric and battery electric vehicles, the kinetic energy is converted into electrical energy. In conventional braking systems (i.e., for internal combustion engine vehicles), by contrast, excess kinetic energy is converted into heat by friction in the brake linings; therefore, the excess energy is wasted in these vehicles. For hybrid electric and battery electric vehicles, however, the excess energy can be stored in a battery or bank of capacitors for later use. […]. [0006] Under certain conditions such as e.g., when the SOC is nearly full or the battery temperature is high, if coast-down regeneration is not allowed, the electric motor suddenly has to remove all of its braking torque to prevent the current (i.e., energy converted from kinetic energy) from charging the battery. This affects the smoothness of the driving experience as perceived and felt by the driver. This will give the driver inconsistent drive performance when the above conditions exist compared to when they do not. Thus, there is a need to allow regenerative braking in hybrid electric and battery electric vehicles under all circumstances even when the regeneration current cannot be fed back to the battery.” Cheng does not disclose: an actual or driver-intended torque request . However, Treharne teaches: an actual or driver-intended torque request . See again [Treharne, pg. 3, paras 0029-0031], which describe a driver controls system that includes an acceleration system with sensors for receiving torque requests from the driver and a braking system for receiving brake torque requests from the driver and controlling the regenerative braking and friction braking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Treharne to consider driver torque requests, especially using regenerative braking. Doing so improves efficiency and fuel economy [Treharne, pg. 4, para 0035] and allows the system to determine total brake torque to predict and manage potential powertrain oscillation, which can damage the powertrain and cause unpleasant noise and vibration [Treharne pg. 1, paras 0004-0008] and further allow unnoticeable transitions between braking states [Treharne, pg. 6, para 0062]. Regarding Claim 11, Cheng discloses: (Currently Amended) A power dissipation control method for an electrified powertrain of an electrified vehicle, the power dissipation control method comprising: determining, by a control system of the electrified vehicle, whether to enable/disable enable or disable a power dissipation mode for the electrified powertrain , wherein each of the plurality of power dissipation systems is separate or distinct from one or more electric motors of the electrified powertrain ; and when the power dissipation mode is enabled: […]; determining, by the control system, an allocation or distribution of the target power dissipation between a set of available power dissipation systems from a plurality of power dissipation systems; optimizing, by the control system, the allocation or distribution of the target power dissipation between the set of available power dissipation components systems to obtain a set of optimized power dissipation targets, respectively ; and controlling, by the control system, the available set of power dissipation systems based on the optimized allocation or distribution the set of power dissipation targets, respectively, to achieve the target power dissipation […] . See again [Cheng, pg. 1, para 0002], which describes a power dissipation system and method for an electric vehicle. Also see again [Cheng, pg. 1, para 0009], which explains that the battery state includes a state of charge and temperature, which are used as inputs to require operation of power dissipation. Finally see again see [Cheng, pg. 2, paras 0025-0026], which further explains a power dissipation process that includes sensing and managing dissipation to other loads, such as a DC/DC converter, a heater or a cooler, and all other auxiliary loads, and determination of a power dissipation mode, using a consumption equation, load models and lookup tables, and a calibration process. Cheng does not disclose: determining, by the control system a target power dissipation based on a driver torque request and a set of operating parameters of the electrified vehicle; […]; […] and thereby reduce a thermal load on a friction brake system of the electrified vehicle. However, Genter teaches: determine a target power dissipation based on […] a set of operating parameters of the electrified vehicle . See [Genter, pgs. 3-4, paras 0045-0046], which explain that a control module can receive data including performance optimization and desired depletion level to manage negative torque requests, over the road charging, and power flow. See also [Genter, pg. 15, para 0224], which explains that the controller uses the power consumption and regenerative braking to achieve a desired depletion level. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Genter to define a target dissipation value, based on operating parameters. Doing so provides the system with parameters to learn and optimize vehicle performance and maintain the desired battery state [Genter, pgs. 3-4, paras 0044-0045], over the duration of the route so that energy recovery is not wasted [Genter, pg. 8, para 0112]. However, Treharne teaches: [determine a target power dissipation] based on a driver torque request […]; […] and […] and thereby reduce a thermal load on a friction brake system of the electrified vehicle. See [Treharne, pg. 3, paras 0029-0031], which describe a driver controls system that includes an acceleration system with sensors for receiving torque requests from the driver and a braking system for receiving brake torque requests from the driver and controlling the regenerative braking and friction braking. See also [Treharne, pg. 1, para 0003], which further explains that regenerative braking recovers energy that would have been lost as heat to the friction brake. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Treharne to consider driver torque requests and heating of the friction brake in energy recovery, especially using regenerative braking. Doing so improves efficiency and fuel economy [Treharne, pg. 4, para 0035] and allows the system to determine total brake torque to predict and manage potential powertrain oscillation, which can damage the powertrain and cause unpleasant noise and vibration [Treharne pg. 1, paras 0004-0008] and further allow unnoticeable transitions between braking states [Treharne, pg. 6, para 0062]. Regarding Claim 18, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 11. Cheng further discloses: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the determining of the target power dissipation is based on a regenerative torque capability of a regenerative braking system of the electrified powertrain, […], and a coast control torque request. See [Cheng, pg. 1, paras 0004 and 0006], which explain that the electric vehicle uses coast-down and regenerative braking to recover power, which are further managed based on the battery state of charge. Cheng does not disclose: an actual or driver-intended torque request . However, Treharne teaches: an actual or driver-intended torque request. See again [Treharne, pg. 3, paras 0029-0031], which describe a driver controls system that includes an acceleration system with sensors for receiving torque requests from the driver and a braking system for receiving brake torque requests from the driver and controlling the regenerative braking and friction braking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Treharne to consider driver torque requests, especially using regenerative braking. Doing so improves efficiency and fuel economy [Treharne, pg. 4, para 0035] and allows the system to determine total brake torque to predict and manage potential powertrain oscillation, which can damage the powertrain and cause unpleasant noise and vibration [Treharne pg. 1, paras 0004-0008] and further allow unnoticeable transitions between braking states [Treharne, pg. 6, para 0062] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 4-7, 9, 12, 14-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, in view of Genter and Treharne, and further in view of Telford, PG Pub US-2025/0115168-A1 (herein "Telford") . Regarding Claim 2, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Cheng does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the control system is further configured to determine states of the plurality of power dissipation systems and constraints or limits relative to the electrified powertrain. However, Telford teaches: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the control system is further configured to determine states of the plurality of power dissipation systems and constraints or limits relative to the electrified powertrain. See [Telford, pg. 3, para 0065], which explains that the AIPD controller uses various parameters including the vehicle state, “FIG. 3 shows the data sets 300 used by the AI predictive drive (AIPD) suite of the SEMAS® controller 110. The AIPD suite is a high-level supervisory intelligent controller that monitors, amongst other parameters, the vehicle's current state.” See also [Telford, pg. 5, para 0084], which explains that the energy storage system has various tuning parameters, including state-of-charge and temperature, “The right-hand side table shows the tuning parameters for the energy storage system. The max and minimum SOC are expressed as a percentage of max SOC charge and discharge which have units in kW. Chmode is the SOC where the battery management system (BMS) switches from constant current to voltage driven, reducing this value when not required can extend the battery life. As with the FC parameters, this is a minimal data set and in practice additional parameters such as ESS temperatures, cooling availability and other metrics would be included.” See also [Telford, pgs. 9-10, para 0127], which further explains that the control system predicts and manages energy demand using the AIPD controller and a set of hard constraints, including maximum power change rate, soft constraints, including peak power output, and criteria, including power and torque limits, that can represent the current status or limit of the system, “The control system of the present disclosure examines the predicted energy demand profile and controls the vehicle subsystems to meet that energy demand according to preset criteria. With the proposed split in functions between the SEMAS® AIPD controller and VCU controller […]. These criteria will include both hard and soft constraints of the control system. An example of the preset criteria is the limitation on the peak power and the torque available to the driver at any point in time, […]. The VCU controller will then set the drive mode most compatible with these constraints. However, if the driver intervenes and demands more power than that predicted by the SEMAS® AIPD controller, then the VCU controller will determine which of the constraints is hard and which is soft. For example, the current maximum power change rate on the fuel cell may be a hard constraint, and the current peak power output of the ESS may be a soft constraint. The unmet peak power demand may also be a soft constraint.” Finally see [Telford, pg. 11, para 0130], which further explains that each component of the energy storage system can have constraints, including peak discharge rate, “Each component of the energy store system will have both hard and soft limits on the available energy; namely the power and the rate at which power levels can be changed. For example, the absolute peak discharge rate will be a hard limit based on the manufacturers specification. Each drive mode will then have a peak discharge rate for that mode which can be interpreted as a soft constraint. The control systems will try to adhere to the soft constraints, but these can be overridden, as needed, by an unexpected transient in the power demand. […]. The amplitude and rate of power demand may also have limitations depending on the current operating point and additional parameters such as the state of the FC humidifier, the thermal management system, and the current environmental conditions. These energy outputs are then available to drive the vehicle through the power electronics, and motor drive (PEMD). The available energy demand will also include the required energy for vehicle peripherals (e.g., cab and cargo environmental energy requirements).” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Telford to determine the states, constraints, and limits for managing the power dissipation. Doing so allows extending the battery life [Telford, pg. 3, para 0065], while meeting demand within the limitations of the components and environmental conditions and without compromising other systems [Telford, pgs. 9-10, para 0127]. Regarding Claim 4, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 2. Cheng does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the control system is further configured to determine the set of available power dissipation systems and the allocation or distribution of the set of available power dissipation systems based on the states of the plurality of power dissipation systems and the electrified powertrain constraints or limits. However, Telford teaches: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the control system is further configured to determine the set of available power dissipation systems and the allocation or distribution of the set of available power dissipation systems based on the states of the plurality of power dissipation systems and the electrified powertrain constraints or limits. See again [Telford, pg. 3, para 0065], which explains that the AIPD controller uses various parameters including the vehicle state and [Telford, pg. 5, para 0084], which explains that the energy storage system has various tuning parameters, including state-of-charge and temperature. Also see again [Telford, pgs. 9-10, para 0127], which further explains that the control system predicts and manages energy demand using the AIPD controller and a set of hard constraints, including maximum power change rate, soft constraints, including peak power output, and criteria, including power and torque limits, that can represent the current status or limit of the system and [Telford, pg. 11, para 0130], which further explains that each component of the energy storage system can have constraints, including peak discharge rate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Telford to determine the states, constraints, and limits for managing the power dissipation. Doing so allows extending the battery life [Telford, pg. 3, para 0065], while meeting demand within the limitations of the components and environmental conditions and without compromising other systems [Telford, pgs. 9-10, para 0127]. Regarding Claim 5, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 4. Cheng further discloses: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the control system further comprises a set of optimizers configured to perform the optimization of the allocation or distribution of the target power dissipation between the set of available power dissipation systems. See again [Cheng, pgs. 2, para 0025-0026], which further explains a power dissipation process that includes sensing and managing dissipation to other loads and determination of a power dissipation mode, using a consumption equation, load models and lookup tables, and a calibration process. See also [Cheng, pg. 2 para 0024], which describes the vehicle system that includes the battery control module for controlling the battery, “FIG. 2 illustrates an electrical system overview of a hybrid electric vehicle. The electrical system includes a battery 10, which is an electric battery, connected to a battery control module 20 and a power electronics and motor control unit 30. The battery control module 20 monitors and controls the functions of the battery 10. For example, the battery control module 20 can detect the state of charge of the battery and/or the battery's temperature. The power electronics and motor control unit 30 contains motor control process 40 (described below) and is also connected to an electric motor 50, which can be for example, an interior permanent magnet motor,” and [Cheng, pg. 3, para 0027], which further explains that the battery control module monitors the battery parameters and state to coordinate the power dissipation process, “According to the present disclosure, the battery control module 20 monitors the state of the battery 10 (e.g., SOC or temperature of the battery). Depending on the state of the battery, the motor control process 40 will switch the operation of the motor control process 44 to use either use normal motor control (i.e., under a normal battery condition) or the disclosed power dissipation motor control process in accordance with the disclosed principles (i.e., under a constrained battery condition). By dissipating the power in the motor stator windings, the vehicle can maintain the coast-down braking torque without charging the battery, which can improve vehicle drive performance when power limits are constrained. The motor control process can not only produce zero charging current to the battery, it can also follow a prescribed commanded DC discharge current to dissipate more power from the battery. This accelerates the warm-up process of the battery or prevent a battery overcharge condition.” Regarding Claim 6, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 4. Cheng does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the set of available power dissipation systems includes at least one of an electric heater, an electric fan, and an electric compressor or pump. However, Genter teaches: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the set of available power dissipation systems includes at least one of an electric heater, an electric fan, and an electric compressor or pump. See [Genter, pg. 6, paras 0100], which explains that electrical accessories available for power dissipation include a heater, a compressor, and a fan, “FIG. 2 shows in more detail parts of the truck of FIG. 1. Referring to FIG. 2, the truck comprises tractor unit 102 and trailer 104. The tractor unit 102 comprises tractor battery 110, first DC-to-DC converter 130, junction box 132, electrical accessories 134, inverter 136, traction motor 103, tractor drivetrain 138, inverter controller 140, accelerator pedal position sensor 142, second DC-to-DC converter 144, range extender 146, third DC-to-DC converter 148 and system control module 150. […]. The traction motor 103 may also operate as a generator and may use regenerative braking to convert mechanical power from the tractor drivetrain 138 to electrical power to provide power to the components on DC bus, such as the battery 110 via DC-to-DC converter 130. […]. The electrical accessories 134 may comprise components such as a heater, air conditioner, power steering inverter, compressor, fan, DC-to-DC converter, etc. The range extender 146 may be in the form of a generator set (genset) and/or a fuel cell.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Genter to specify the power dissipation components to include a heater, a compressor, and a fan. Doing so allows managing the battery temperature including temporarily increasing battery cooling because of the battery’s high thermal inertia [Genter, pg. 9, para 0132] and the fact that batteries tend to heat up during use, it is important to have a vent and cooling circuit, or system [Genter, pg. 2, para 0016]. Regarding Claim 7, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 6. Cheng does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the electrified vehicle is a fuel cell electric vehicle (FCEV) comprising a fuel cell system that includes a fuel cell air compressor for pumping airflow through a fuel cell stack of the fuel cell system. However, Genter teaches: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the electrified vehicle is a fuel cell electric vehicle (FCEV) comprising a fuel cell system that includes a fuel cell air compressor for pumping airflow through a fuel cell stack of the fuel cell system. See [Genter, pg. 5, para 0095], which explains that the vehicle can include a fuel cell, “In this example, the tractor unit 102 includes a secondary power source 404. The secondary power source may be, for example, a generator set (genset) or a fuel cell for charging the battery 110 and/or supplying power to other powertrain components. In this case, the tractor unit may be a series hybrid electric vehicle (also referred to as an extended-range electric vehicle (EREV) or range-extended electric vehicle (REEV)). Alternatively, the secondary power source could be an internal combustion engine which provides motive power to the vehicle drivetrain, which case the tractor unit may be a parallel hybrid electric vehicle. In general, the tractor unit 102 may be configured in any suitable configuration, such as series hybrid, parallel hybrid, series/parallel hybrid, fuel cell, pure electric, or any other type of powertrain with a traction motor. A control system 107 is provided for controlling the tractor unit powertrain, including the traction motor 103 and/or secondary power source 404,” and again [Genter, pg. 6, paras 0100], which explains that electrical accessories available for power dissipation include a heater, a compressor, and a fan. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Genter to use a fuel cell and a compressor for circulating air. Using a fuel cell provides an alternate, secondary power source [Genter, pg. 5, para 0095] and further allows charging of the coupled battery [Genter, pg. 12, para 0175]. Additionally, as with a battery, using a compressor can provide a cooling circuit, or system [Genter, pg. 2, para 0016]. Regarding Claim 9, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 8. Cheng does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the electrified vehicle is a fuel cell electric vehicle (FCEV) and the control system is configured to determine the target power dissipation based on a minimum power generation limit for a fuel cell system of the electrified powertrain. However, Telford teaches: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the electrified vehicle is a fuel cell electric vehicle (FCEV) and the control system is configured to determine the target power dissipation based on a minimum power generation limit for a fuel cell system of the electrified powertrain . See [Telford, pgs. 1-2, para 0018], which describes the tuning parameters of the energy storage system, which include fuel cell power limits, “Optionally, the set of tuning parameters comprises at least one or more of: a fuel cell peak power limit, a fuel cell Power up slew rate, a fuel cell power down slew rate, an ESS max State of Charge (SOC), an ESS Min SOC, a target SOC at time t, a fuel cell array target power,” and [Telford, pg. 5, para 0083], which further describes the tuning parameters that include the fuel cell maximum and minimum power output and power change limits, “The left-hand side table shows the tuning parameters for the fuel cell array. The units for the FC max/FC min power output are in kW and for the power change limits values in kW/sec. The target power and power change limits are complex and depend upon a number of factors including, but not limited to, internal temperatures, environmental temperatures, historical battery SOC and battery temperature.” See also [Telford, pg. 4, para 0076], which further explains that the vehicle dynamic model uses inputs to output the target power outputs and inputs of the cell, “ The vehicle dynamic model 510 receives a variety of inputs that can be categorised into three main groupings. The first is the driver inputs 520 which include the requested velocity profile of the vehicle and any braking events. Second, is the state estimators 530, such as the mass of the vehicle, the gradient of the terrain or the rolling resistance of the vehicle. The third group of inputs is the route gradient profile 540. The vehicle dynamic model 510 outputs a predicted energy demand profile 550 for the vehicle along a given route which in turn is used to provide the least cost energy control strategy 560. This control strategy for the vehicle presets a number of targets 570 for internal components of the power train such as the target battery state-of-charge, the target fuel cell power output and the target regeneration energy input.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Telford to include a fuel cell target power dissipation and a minimum power generation limit. Doing so improves the dynamic performance by dynamically setting the drive mode using exact tuning and set points and ensures the vehicle demand is met by balancing the unique limits of the fuel system with the route, power requirements, fuel economy, durability, and energy recapture [Telford, pg. 6, para 0099]. Regarding Claim 12, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 11. Cheng does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] further comprising determining, by the control system, states of the plurality of power dissipation systems and constraints or limits relative to the electrified powertrain. However Telford teaches: (Currently Amended) […] further comprising determining, by the control system, states of the plurality of power dissipation systems and constraints or limits relative to the electrified powertrain. See [Telford, pg. 3, para 0065], which explains that the AIPD controller uses various parameters including the vehicle state. See also [Telford, pg. 5, para 0084], which explains that the energy storage system has various tuning parameters, including state-of-charge and temperature. See also [Telford, pgs. 9-10, para 0127], which further explains that the control system predicts and manages energy demand using the AIPD controller and a set of hard constraints, including maximum power change rate, soft constraints, including peak power output, and criteria, including power and torque limits, that can represent the current status or limit of the system. Finally see [Telford, pg. 11, para 0130], which further explains that each component of the energy storage system can have constraints, including peak discharge rate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Telford to determine the states, constraints, and limits for managing the power dissipation. Doing so allows extending the battery life [Telford, pg. 3, para 0065], while meeting demand within the limitations of the components and environmental conditions and without compromising other systems [Telford, pgs. 9-10, para 0127]. Regarding Claim 14, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 12. Cheng does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] further comprising determining, by the control system, the set of available power dissipation systems and the allocation or distribution of the set of available power dissipation systems based on the states of the plurality of power dissipation systems and the electrified powertrain constraints or limits. However, Telford teaches: (Currently Amended) […] further comprising determining, by the control system, the set of available power dissipation systems and the allocation or distribution of the set of available power dissipation systems based on the states of the plurality of power dissipation systems and the electrified powertrain constraints or limits. See [Telford, pg. 3, para 0065], which explains that the AIPD controller uses various parameters including the vehicle state. See also [Telford, pg. 5, para 0084], which explains that the energy storage system has various tuning parameters, including state-of-charge and temperature. See also [Telford, pgs. 9-10, para 0127], which further explains that the control system predicts and manages energy demand using the AIPD controller and a set of hard constraints, including maximum power change rate, soft constraints, including peak power output, and criteria, including power and torque limits, that can represent the current status or limit of the system. Finally see [Telford, pg. 11, para 0130], which further explains that each component of the energy storage system can have constraints, including peak discharge rate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Telford to determine the states, constraints, and limits for managing the power dissipation. Doing so allows extending the battery life [Telford, pg. 3, para 0065], while meeting demand within the limitations of the components and environmental conditions and without compromising other systems [Telford, pgs. 9-10, para 0127]. Regarding Claim 15, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 14. Cheng further discloses: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the control system further comprises a set of optimizers configured to perform the optimization of the allocation or distribution of the target power dissipation between the set of available power dissipation systems. See again [Cheng, pgs. 2, para 0025-0026], which further explains a power dissipation process that includes sensing and managing dissipation to other loads and determination of a power dissipation mode, using a consumption equation, load models and lookup tables, and a calibration process. See also [Cheng, pg. 2 para 0024], which describes the vehicle system that includes the battery control module for controlling the battery and [Cheng, pg. 3, para 0027], which further explains that the battery control module monitors the battery parameters and state to coordinate the power dissipation process. Regarding Claim 16, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 14. Cheng does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the set of available power dissipation systems includes at least one of an electric heater, an electric fan, and an electric compressor or pump. However, Genter teaches: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the set of available power dissipation systems includes at least one of an electric heater, an electric fan, and an electric compressor or pump. See [Genter, pg. 6, paras 0100], which explains that electrical accessories available for power dissipation include a heater, a compressor, and a fan. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Genter to specify the power dissipation components to include a heater, a compressor, and a fan. Doing so allows managing the battery temperature including temporarily increasing battery cooling because of the battery’s high thermal inertia [Genter, pg. 9, para 0132] and the fact that batteries tend to heat up during use, it is important to have a vent and cooling circuit, or system [Genter, pg. 2, para 0016]. Regarding Claim 17, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 16. Cheng does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the electrified vehicle is a fuel cell electric vehicle (FCEV) comprising a fuel cell system that includes a fuel cell air compressor for pumping airflow through a fuel cell stack of the fuel cell system. However, Genter teaches: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the electrified vehicle is a fuel cell electric vehicle (FCEV) comprising a fuel cell system that includes a fuel cell air compressor for pumping airflow through a fuel cell stack of the fuel cell system. See [Genter, pg. 5, para 0095], which explains that the vehicle can include a fuel cell and again [Genter, pg. 6, paras 0100], which explains that electrical accessories available for power dissipation include a heater, a compressor, and a fan. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Genter to use a fuel cell and a compressor for circulating air. Using a fuel cell provides an alternate, secondary power source [Genter, pg. 5, para 0095] and further allows charging of the coupled battery [Genter, pg. 12, para 0175]. Additionally, as with a battery, using a compressor can provide a cooling circuit, or system [Genter, pg. 2, para 0016]. Regarding Claim 19, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 18. Cheng does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the electrified vehicle is a fuel cell electric vehicle (FCEV) and the determining of the target power dissipation is based on a minimum power generation limit for a fuel cell system of the electrified powertrain. However, Telford teaches: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the electrified vehicle is a fuel cell electric vehicle (FCEV) and the determining of the target power dissipation is based on a minimum power generation limit for a fuel cell system of the electrified powertrain . See [Telford, pgs. 1-2, para 0018], which describes the tuning parameters of the energy storage system, which include fuel cell power limits and [Telford, pg. 5, para 0083], which further describes the tuning parameters that include the fuel cell maximum and minimum power output and power change limits. See also [Telford, pg. 4, para 0076], which further explains that the vehicle dynamic model uses inputs to output the target power outputs and inputs of the cell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Telford to include a fuel cell target power dissipation and a minimum power generation limit. Doing so improves the dynamic performance by dynamically setting the drive mode using exact tuning and set points and ensures the vehicle demand is met by balancing the unique limits of the fuel system with the route, power requirements, fuel economy, durability, and energy recapture [Telford, pg. 6, para 0099] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, in view of Genter, Treharne, and Telford, and further in view of Rockwell et al., PG Pub US-2016/0280207-A1 (herein "Rockwell") and Rhodes et al., Patent No. US-10,392,018-B1 (herein "Rhodes") . Regarding Claim 3, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 2. Cheng does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the electrified powertrain constraints or limits include noise/vibration/harshness noise, vibration, or harshness (NVH) constraints, temperature limits, and pressure limits. However, Rockwell teaches: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the electrified powertrain constraints or limits include noise/vibration/harshness noise, vibration, or harshness (NVH) constraints, temperature limits […]. See [Rockwell, pgs. 1-2, paras 0012-0015], which explains that the system accounts for NVH and temperature limits for determining vehicle operation and management of the battery state of charge, “In the performance mode, the sacrifice of fuel economy for performance may be tempered by driver comfort requirements such as reduced vibration and reduced interior cabin noise. The noise and vibration reduction methods include limitations of an operating time of an engine, a noise-vibration-harshness limitation of a speed of an engine, limitations on an operating time of a battery fan, and a limitation of a speed of a battery fan. For example, the limitation of the operating time of an engine may include stopping an engine when the vehicle is not in motion, such as at a stop light or in a parking lot, or stopping the engine when the traction battery SOC is greater than a battery low threshold. Further, vehicle operation during performance mode may be qualified by a pedal demand event. An example of the noise-vibration-harshness (NVH) limitation of a speed of an engine may include electronically limiting the speed of the engine to less than a NVH limit that is less than a maximum engine speed. An example of limitations on an operating time of a battery fan may include stopping fan operation unless the battery temperature exceeds a high battery temperature threshold. And an example of the limitation of a speed of the battery fan includes operating the fan at a speed that reduces the noise generated by the fan such that a decibel level of the fan noise is less than a noise decibel threshold. [0013] […]. [0014] In the performance mode, the engine will operate until the battery is fully charged; this includes operating the engine when the vehicle is not in motion and operating the engine when the battery state of charge (SOC) is above a low SOC threshold. Also, other driver comfort requirements may be sacrificed including shutting off a battery fan when the battery temperature is below a low battery threshold and operating the battery fan at a speed greater than a noise limited speed. [0015] A battery fan will operate if the battery temperature is above a performance battery temperature. A threshold of operating a battery fan is a normal battery temperature which is typically set to keep the battery from overheating. The battery fan operation is limited to maintaining the battery temperature at the normal battery temperature to reduce the noise associated with the battery operation. Here, the battery fan is operated to reduce the battery temperature to a performance battery temperature which is less than the normal battery temperature. Also, the battery fan may be operated at a battery fan speed greater than a noise-vibration-harshness-fan speed to allow greater airflow and cooling of the battery. This reduction in battery temperature allows a battery to generate more heat from the discharging of a current from the battery before reaching a maximum battery temperature. This allows the battery to flow a current for an increased period of time resulting in an increase in available power from the battery.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Rockwell to include NVH and temperature constraints. Doing so allows for balancing modes, including a performance mode, that can be requested by the driver to limit NVH and provide a more comfortable experience for the driver [Rockwell, pg. 1, para 0012], while ensuring that the battery temperature limit is not exceeded so that the battery does not overheat [Rockwell, pg. 2, para 0015]. However, Rhodes teaches: wherein the electrified powertrain constraints or limits include […] pressure limits. See [Rhodes, col 4, lines 22-62], which explains that the controller uses sensor and actuator inputs to manage communication with or control vehicle components and power electronics for battery charging and discharging, where the inputs include accessories such as a compressor and component pressure readings, “The controller communicates with various engine/vehicle sensors and actuators via an input/output (I/O) interface (including input and output channels) that may be implemented as a single integrated interface that provides various raw data or signal conditioning, processing, and/or conversion, short-circuit protection, and the like. […]. As generally illustrated in the representative embodiment of FIG. 1, controller 50 may communicate signals to and/or from engine 14, disconnect clutch 26, M/G 18, battery 20, launch clutch 34, transmission gearbox 24, and power electronics 56. Although not explicitly illustrated, those of ordinary skill in the art will recognize various functions or components that may be controlled by controller 50 within each of the subsystems identified above. Representative examples of parameters, systems, and/or components that may be directly or indirectly actuated using control logic and/or algorithms executed by the controller include […], front-end accessory drive (FEAD) components such as an alternator, air conditioning compressor, battery charging or discharging (including determining the maximum charge and discharge power limits), regenerative braking, regenerative braking, M/G operation, clutch pressures for disconnect clutch 26, […], and the like. Sensors communicating input through the I/O interface may be used to indicate turbocharger boost pressure, crankshaft position (PIP), […], coolant temperature (ECT), intake manifold pressure (MAP), accelerator pedal position (PPS), ignition switch position (IGN), throttle valve position (TP), air temperature (TMP), […], deceleration or shift mode (MDE), battery temperature, voltage, current, or state of charge (SOC) for example.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Rhodes to include pressure limits of the system. Doing so provides a known parameter provided by the component sensors for control of the vehicle system [Rhodes, col 4, lines 22-39]. Additionally, it allows the control system to differentiate power consumption opportunities for cooling the battery using a temperature limit along with sensor readings, or parameters, of the compressor, especially in instances of high battery temperature [Rhodes, cols 11-12, lines 66-67 and 1-14]. Regarding Claim 13, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 12. Cheng does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the electrified powertrain constraints or limits include noise/vibration/harshness noise, vibration, or harshness (NVH) constraints, temperature limits, and pressure limits. However, Rockwell teaches: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the electrified powertrain constraints or limits include noise/vibration/harshness noise, vibration, or harshness (NVH) constraints, temperature limits […]. See [Rockwell, pgs. 1-2, paras 0012-0015], which explains that the system accounts for NVH and temperature limits for determining vehicle operation and management of the battery state of charge. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Rockwell to include NVH and temperature constraints. Doing so allows for balancing modes, including a performance mode, that can be requested by the driver to limit NVH and provide a more comfortable experience for the driver [Rockwell, pg. 1, para 0012], while ensuring that the battery temperature limit is not exceeded so that the battery does not overheat [Rockwell, pg. 2, para 0015]. However, Rhodes teaches: wherein the electrified powertrain constraints or limits include […] pressure limits. See [Rhodes, col 4, lines 22-62], which explains that the controller uses sensor and actuator inputs to manage communication with or control vehicle components and power electronics for battery charging and discharging, where the inputs include accessories such as a compressor and component pressure readings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Rhodes to include pressure limits of the system. Doing so provides a known parameter provided by the component sensors for control of the vehicle system [Rhodes, col 4, lines 22-39]. Additionally, it allows the control system to differentiate power consumption opportunities for cooling the battery using a temperature limit along with sensor readings, or parameters, of the compressor, especially in instances of high battery temperature [Rhodes, cols 11-12, lines 66-67 and 1-14] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, in view of Genter and Treharne, and further in view of Oldridge, WO-2015/089650-A1 (herein "Oldridge") . Regarding Claim 10, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 8. Cheng further discloses: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the control system is further configured to optimize the target power dissipation based on a battery state of charge (SOC) […]. See again [Cheng, pg. 1, para 0009], which explains that the battery state includes a state of charge and temperature, which are used as inputs to require operation of power dissipation and [Cheng, pgs. 2, para 0025-0026], which further explains a power dissipation process that includes sensing and managing dissipation to other loads and determination of a power dissipation mode, using a consumption equation, load models and lookup tables, and a calibration process. Cheng does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the control system is further configured to optimize the target power dissipation based on […], a grade of a road that the electrified vehicle is on, and a weight of the electrified vehicle. However, Oldridge teaches: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the control system is further configured to optimize the target power dissipation based on […], a grade of a road that the electrified vehicle is on, and a weight of the electrified vehicle. See [Oldridge, pgs. 8-9, paras 0033 and 0035], which explain that the controller manages charging and discharging using torque curves and regenerative braking profiles, including vehicle mass and road grade, “[0033] The digital electronic controller would also detect a state of charge of a battery pack for the vehicle, calculates an appropriate recharging profile, activate regenerative braking if the state of charge of the battery pack is below a selected charge level, and shunt power to brake resistors if the state of charge of the battery pack is above a selected charge level. […]. [0034] The digital electronic controller adjusts torque curve and regenerative braking profiles with algorithms depending on battery state of charge, preprogrammed route terrain, vehicle mass, and road grade. The power management system thus utilizes a strategy whereby vehicle drive output is modified in real time depending on input from sensors that measure vehicle load, road grade, vehicle speed & acceleration, and door position. The power management system is implemented by means of a digital electronic controller, preferably based on a distributed network with multiplexing capabilities. The vehicle power required [kW] has a linear relationship to passenger load and road grade.” See also [Oldridge, pg. 16, para 0058], which further explains that the regenerative braking profile and state-of-charge are used to determine charging and discharging, “If the Brake Sensor 28 indicates the brake pedal is depressed while a vehicle is going downhill, the motor(s) 62 are used to slow the vehicle down, and also to generate power for the battery pack, a feature known as regenerative braking. Since the magnitude of regenerative braking needed to restore full charge to the battery pack is dependent on the Battery SOC 20, this is taken into account when determining an appropriate recharging profile. As shown, if the battery pack is below a selected charge level, power from regenerative braking will be available. However, if the battery pack is above the selected SOC 20, then the system controller 12 enables power to be shunted to brake resistors 58 which permits the excess power to be dissipated by heat convection or liquid cooling of said resistors.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Oldridge to include vehicle mass and route grade in determining power dissipation. Vehicle performance is inherently sensitive to vehicle mass [Oldridge, pg. 1, para 0007], which can vary depending on the vehicle load [Oldridge, pg. 1, para 0008]. Therefore the vehicle components must be sized to meet the performance requirements based on weight and grade [Oldridge, pg. 2, para 0010]. Further, to achieve maximum potential, the system must balance vehicle operation and manage weight, grade, and regenerative charging [Oldridge, pg. 5, para 0022]. Regarding Claim 20, Cheng as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 18. Cheng further discloses: (Currently Amended) […] optimizing, by the control system, the target power dissipation based on a battery state of charge (SOC), […]. See again [Cheng, pg. 1, para 0009], which explains that the battery state includes a state of charge and temperature, which are used as inputs to require operation of power dissipation and [Cheng, pgs. 2, para 0025-0026], which further explains a power dissipation process that includes sensing and managing dissipation to other loads and determination of a power dissipation mode, using a consumption equation, load models and lookup tables, and a calibration process. Cheng does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] optimizing, by the control system, the target power dissipation based on […], a grade of a road that the electrified vehicle is on, and a weight of the electrified vehicle. See [Oldridge, pgs. 8-9, paras 0033 and 0035], which explain that the controller manages charging and discharging using torque curves and regenerative braking profiles, including vehicle mass and road grade. See also [Oldridge, pg. 16, para 0058], which further explains that the regenerative braking profile and state-of-charge are used to determine charging and discharging. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cheng with Oldridge to include vehicle mass and route grade in determining power dissipation. Vehicle performance is inherently sensitive to vehicle mass [Oldridge, pg. 1, para 0007], which can vary depending on the vehicle load [Oldridge, pg. 1, para 0008]. Therefore the vehicle components must be sized to meet the performance requirements based on weight and grade [Oldridge, pg. 2, para 0010]. Further, to achieve maximum potential, the system must balance vehicle operation and manage weight, grade, and regenerative charging [Oldridge, pg. 5, para 0022]. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERIN MARIE HARTMANN whose telephone number is (571)272-5309. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kito Robinson can be reached at (571) 270-3921. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /E.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3664 /KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 2 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 3 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 4 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 5 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 6 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 7 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 8 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 9 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 10 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 11 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 12 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 13 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 14 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 15 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 16 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 17 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 18 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 19 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 20 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 21 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 22 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 23 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 24 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 25 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 26 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 27 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 28 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 29 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 30 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 31 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 32 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 33 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 34 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 35 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 36 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 37 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 38 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 39 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/524,226 Page 40 Art Unit: 3664