DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
112(b) Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks and Amended Claim Set, filed 4/22/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
103 Rejections
Applicant's arguments filed 4/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the newly introduced limitation “wherein the position determination unit… serves no purpose in recording magnetic resonance data but functions as a positioning tag to define the marker position” in claim 1, lines 5-8 (and similar in claim 15, lines 8-11) overcomes the rejection of record over the combination of Nufer in further view of Biber. Remarks at 7-9. Applicant cites to paragraphs [0033] and [0014] of the originally filed specification in support of this contention. Applicant’s citations to paragraphs [0033] and [0014] as well as the citations regarding the Nufer and Biber references appear to indicate that Applicant’s argument and construction of the newly introduced claim limitations rises and falls with the premise that the newly introduced claim limitations do not “serve to locate imaging equipment” (Remarks at 8) particularly “local coil arrangements” (e.g., claim 1, line 6).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the marker position does not locate the position of a local coil arrangement) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
First, the claim limitations “wherein the position determination unit is freely positionable and independent of local coil arrangements” (claim 1, lines 5-6) does not require that the position determination unit cannot be attached to local coil arrangements, but merely that the position determination unit can be separated from or re-positioned relative to local coil arrangements, i.e., is at least detachable from the local coil arrangement. These limitations encompass the embodiments disclosed in Applicant’s originally filed specification at [0031], [0033], and [0047] wherein the position determination unit positioned such that the marker position is placed on a local coil arrangement while being detachable from the local coil arrangement. Wherein the marker position is placed on the local coil in these embodiments, the marker position locates the position of the local coil arrangement.
Second, the claim limitations “wherein the position determination unit… serves no purpose in recording magnetic resonance data but functions as a positioning tag to define the marker position” (claim 1, lines 5-8) does not require that the position determination unit cannot be attached to a local coil arrangement or be used to also determine the position of the local coil arrangement. These limitations encompass the embodiments disclosed in Applicant’s originally filed specification at [0031], [0033], [0034], and [0047] wherein the position determination unit positioned such that the marker position is placed on a local coil arrangement while also being detachable from the local coil arrangement. Wherein the marker position is placed on the local coil in these embodiments, the marker position locates the position of the local coil arrangement. For example, paragraph [0033] states that
In particular, the position determination unit…. preferably serves no purpose in the recording of the magnetic resonance data itself but serves merely as a positioning tag, with which a user, in an especially simple manner, can define a marker position and thereby a required position of the patient on the patient couch relative to the field of view…. It can moreover comprise a fastener, with which it is fastened to…. a local coil arrangement.
Paragraph [0033] discloses that the marker position also indicates the local coil arrangement position as the position determination unit is fastened to the local coil arrangement.
For example, paragraph [0034] states
a position determination unit with a magnetic field sensor and a communication system for transmission of sensor data of the magnetic field sensor to the control system able to be freely positioned on the patient couch and/or on a patient supported on the patient couch at a marker position, wherein the control system has:
an evaluation unit for evaluation of the sensor data of the magnetic field sensor for establishing the marker position in a coordinate system of the magnetic resonance system, in which a field of view position of a field of view of the magnetic resonance system is also known,
a determination unit for establishing a desired required position of the field of view relative to the marker position from the marker position, at least in the longitudinal direction of the patient couch for a subsequent measurement of magnetic resonance data, and
a control unit for controlling the patient couch while using the marker position in such a way that the desired required position of the field of view relative to the marker position is assumed.
Paragraph [0034] further discloses that the function of “serves merely as a positioning tag… can define a marker position and thereby a required position of the patient on the patient couch relative to the field of view” of paragraph [0033] encompasses “establishing a desired required position of the field of view relative to the marker position from the marker position… for a subsequent measurement of magnetic resonance data” and “controlling the patient couch while using the marker position in such a way that the desired required position of the field of view relative to the marker position is assumed.” Contrary to Applicant’s contention, paragraphs [0033] and [0034] establish that the positioning tag and marker position thereof play an important role in facilitating the imaging process by establishing a desired required position for subsequent MR measurement as well as controlling the couch to assume that position.
Applicant appears to argue that “serves no purpose in the recording of the magnetic resonance data itself” should be construed such that the positioning tag plays no role in defining the position of imaging equipment such as the local coil arrangement. Applicant appears to have mistakenly confused the disclaimer of the use of the magnetic field sensor of the position determination unit as a MR data detector/recorder, with a disclaimer of the use of the magnetic field sensor or the position obtained by the magnetic field sensor for facilitating the imaging process. However, paragraphs [0033] and [0034] indicate that the language in question is properly construed as excluding the use of the positioning tag’s magnetic field sensor as a detector/recorder for MR data, i.e., that the magnetic field sensor does not function as a detector for reception of MR data for readout as a body or local coil would, but instead functions as a position sensor. There is no disclosure that the positioning tag’s magnetic field sensor’s marker position cannot also correspond to the position of a local coil arrangement, in fact, paragraphs [0031], [0033], and [0047] contemplate the placement of the positioning tag on the local coil arrangement such that the marker position is also the local coil position. There is also no disclosure that the positioning tag’s magnetic field sensor’s marker position is not used to facilitate the imaging process including using the position to establish a desired required position for subsequent MR measurement as well as controlling the couch to assume the desired required position and/or to improve the position of the patient and local coil (the local coil being placed at a position on the patient, e.g., the patient position and the local coil position are the same).
Therefore, a proper reading of the limitations “wherein the position determination unit is freely positionable and independent of local coil arrangements is that the position determination unit can be separated from or re-positioned relative to local coil arrangements, i.e., is at least detachable from the local coil arrangement. And a proper reading of the limitations “wherein the position determination unit… serves no purpose in recording magnetic resonance data but functions as a positioning tag to define the marker position” is that the position determination unit does not detect/receive/readout MR data, but instead only identifies marker position. There is no exclusion or disclaimer in the newly introduced claim limitations of using the marker position to also define the local coil position. Thus, nothing in the newly introduced limitations excludes the features of the combination of Nufer in further view of Biber as alleged by the Applicant.
Ergo, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed with the EPO on 12/20/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the EP22214872.8 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nufer et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0029559), hereinafter “Nufer,” in further view of Biber et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0289492), hereinafter “Biber.”
Regarding claim 1, Nufer discloses a method for positioning a patient couch in a patient tunnel of a magnetic resonance system, wherein the patient tunnel is defined by a main magnet unit with a main magnet operable to generate a main magnetic field (a method for automatically moving a patient table inside a basic field magnet of a scanner of a MRI apparatus, wherein the basic magnetic field is defined by a basic field magnet operable to generate a basic magnetic field, Abstract, [0007]), the method comprising:
positioning a position determination unit comprising a magnetic field sensor at a marker position on the patient couch or on a patient supported on the patient couch (a position detection unit comprising a magnetic field sensor is placed on a local RF-coil coupled to a patient table and/or positioned on the patient’s body, [0006]-[0008], [0014]-[0015], [0020], [0038]), wherein the position determination unit serves no purpose in recording magnetic resonance data but functions as a positioning tag to define the marker position (position detection unit comprising a magnetic field sensor such as a Hall sensor that varies its output voltage dependent on a magnetic field to determine the position of the position detection unit, i.e., the magnetic field sensor is not used to record MR data, [0008], [0015], [0020], [0038]);
evaluating sensor data of the magnetic field sensor using a control system to establish the marker position in a coordinate system of the magnetic resonance system, in which a field of view position of a field of view of the magnetic resonance system is known (magnetic field sensor data is evaluated using a control computer to establish the local RF-coil position in a coordinate system of the MRI apparatus in which an isocenter position of the MRI apparatus is known, Abstract, [0006]-[0008], [0016]-[0018], [0039], [0043]-[0050]);
determining a desired required position of the field of view relative to the marker position for a subsequent measurement of magnetic resonance data by the control system from the marker position at least in a longitudinal direction of the patient couch corresponding to a direction of movement of the patient couch (the relative distance between the position of the local RF-coil and the scanner isocenter position is determined for a subsequent measurement of MR data by the control computer from the local RF-coil position at least in a z-direction of the patient table corresponding to a direction of movement of the patient table, Abstract, [0006]-[0008], [0016]-[0018], [0039], [0043]-[0050]); and
controlling the patient couch by the control system, using the marker position and the field of view position, in such a way that the desired required position of the field of view relative to the marker position is set (patient table automatic movement is controlled using the position of the local RF-coil and the scanner isocenter position such that the position of the local RF-coil and the scanner isocenter position is set, Abstract, [0006]-[0008], [0016]-[0018], [0039], [0043]-[0050]).
However, while Nufer discloses positioning a position determination unit comprising a magnetic field sensor at a marker position on the patient couch or on a patient supported on the patient couch as detailed above, Nufer does not appear to disclose a standalone position determination unit, wherein the position determination unit is freely positionable and independent of local coil arrangements.
However, in the same field of endeavor of positioning a patient in an MR system tunnel, Biber teaches a standalone position determination unit comprising a magnetic field sensor, wherein the position determination unit is freely positionable and independent of local coil arrangements (magnetic field probe comprises one or more magnetic field strength sensors used to determine position, Abstract, [0008], [0025]; magnetic field probe comprises one or more magnetic field strength sensors that can be attached in a detacheable manner to a local coil, i.e., the magnetic field probe is freely positionable and independent of the local coil, [0031]), and serves no purpose in recording magnetic resonance data but functions as a positioning tag to define the marker position (magnetic field probe comprises one or more magnetic field strength sensors used to determine position, i.e., the magnetic field strength sensors are not used to record MR data, Abstract, [0008], [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Biber’s known technique of providing a position determining magnetic field probe comprising one or more magnetic field strength sensors that can be attached and detached from a local coil to Nufer’s known process of providing a position detection unit comprising a magnetic field sensor placed on a local RF-coil coupled to a patient table and/or positioned on the patient’s body to achieve the predictable result that a PHOSITA would find it obvious to make the magnetic field strength sensors portable (See MPEP 2144.04 V. A. Making Portable) or make the magnetic field strength sensors separable from the local coil (See MPEP 2144.04 V. C. Making Separable) such that one or more sensors at a time can be used at various positions on the local coil as desired to achieve a desired level of measurement precision. See, e.g., Biber, [0021].
Regarding claim 2, Nufer discloses determining a desired location of the field of view as a middle of the field of view at least in the longitudinal direction at the marker position by the control system (the relative distance between the position of the local RF-coil and the isocenter of the scanner is determined in at least the z-direction by the control computer, Abstract, [0006]-[0008], [0016]-[0018], [0039], [0043]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 6, Nufer discloses the magnetic field sensor is a Hall sensor or is an orientation sensor (the magnetic field sensor is a Hall sensor, [0008], [0015], [0020], [0047], [0050]).
Regarding claim 7, Nufer discloses by the control system, using the sensor data of the magnetic field sensor or of the orientation sensor, orientation information describing the orientation of the position determination unit is determined (control computer uses the sensor data of the magnetic field sensor to determine orientation information describing the orientation of the position detection unit, Abstract, [0006]-[0008], [0016]-[0018], [0039], [0043]-[0050]); and the control system, from the orientation information, using an orientation to control information, which relates to a subsequent movement of the patient couch or a subsequent measurement of magnetic resonance data, or determination information, which describes the determination of the required position from the marker position, assignment specification to be assigned, control information and/or determination information, wherein the control system controls the magnetic resonance system in accordance with the control information or determines the required position in accordance with the determination information (the relative distance between the position of the local RF-coil and the scanner isocenter position is determined for a subsequent measurement of MR data by the control computer from the local RF-coil position at least in a z-direction of the patient table corresponding to a direction of movement of the patient table, Abstract, [0006]-[0008], [0016]-[0018], [0039], [0043]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 8, Nufer discloses wherein the control information relates to a support of the patient or to a speed of movement of the patient couch or to a local coil arrangement to be used or to a recording program to be used or to a magnetic resonance sequence to be used, or that the position determination unit comprises optical markings for visual distinction, or assignment of the orientations provided on its outer side (the control computer determines the relative distance between the position of the local RF-coil and the scanner isocenter position for a subsequent measurement of MR data such that the control computer controls the direction of movement of the patient table, Abstract, [0006]-[0008], [0016]-[0018], [0039], [0043]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 9, Nufer discloses wherein activation of the patient couch by the control system only takes place on fulfillment of a trigger condition (patient table is activated by the operator selection of the move to center icon, [0048]).
Regarding claim 10, Nufer discloses wherein the trigger condition evaluates actuation of an operating element on the main magnet unit or on the position determination unit (display and input units of the MRI imaging apparatus control computer, [0034]-[0035]; patient table is activated by the operator selection of the move to center icon, [0048]).
Regarding claim 11, Nufer discloses wherein identification information specifying a number is used for a number of consecutive measurements of magnetic resonance data in different examination regions (local RF-coil has an information element that provides a series of numbers to uniquely identify the RF-coil for a particular examination region, [0034]; a plurality of different examination regions upon which one or more local RF-coils may be placed include the hip, arm, shoulder, and foot, [0014], [0041], claim 8; control computer is used to conduct measurements of MR data including localizer and diagnostic scans in the respective examination regions by moving the patient table to align the local RF-coil at the respective examination region with the isocenter of the scanner, [0006]-[0007], [0017]-[0018], [0019], [0033], [0038]-[0040]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nufer in further view of Biber as in claim 1 above, and further in view of Hayama et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0276474), hereinafter “Hayama.”
Regarding claim 3, while Nufer discloses a position determination unit comprising a magnetic field sensor (a position detection unit comprising a magnetic field sensor, [0006]-[0008], [0014]-[0015], [0020], [0038]), Nufer in further view of Biber does not appear to teach wherein the position determination unit comprises an optical marker on its outer side, corresponding to the position of the magnetic field sensor in the position determination unit, for visual description of a current marker position.
However, in the same field of endeavor of magnetic field sensors and solving substantially the same problem of visually marking the location of the magnetic field sensor on the exterior of a housing within which the magnetic field sensor is positioned, Hayama teaches wherein the position determination unit comprises an optical marker on its outer side, corresponding to the position of the magnetic field sensor in the position determination unit, for visual description of a current marker position (the magnetic azimuth detecting device comprises a visible marker on its outer surface, corresponding to the position of a magnetic field sensor in the magnetic azimuth detecting device, for recognition of the position of the magnetic sensor, [0058]-[0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Hayama’s known technique of visibly marking the outer surface of the position determination unit to Nufer in further view of Biber’s known process of providing a magnetic field sensor at a local RF-coil to achieve the predictable result that providing such a mark allows for recognition of the position of the magnetic field sensor and allows for a person to distinguish between the position of a plurality of magnetic field sensors or magnetic field sensor elements from the outside. See, e.g., Hayama, [0059].
Claims 4-5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nufer in further view of Biber as in claim 1 above, and further in view of Bollenbeck et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0103479), hereinafter “Bollenbeck.”
Regarding claim 4, Nufer in further view of Biber does not appear to teach wherein the position determination unit further comprises an energy supply device or a wireless communication device operable to transfer the sensor data wirelessly to the control system.
However, in the same field of endeavor of MRI imaging and solving substantially the same problem of providing a local power supply or wireless/cordless communication device for the magnetic field sensor, Bollenbeck teaches wherein the position determination unit further comprises an energy supply device (a magnetic field sensor within a communication element housing, [0030], [0047], [0070], Figs. 1-3; communication element including the magnetic field sensor is powered via an energy storage element, [0027], [0054], [0067], [0085]) or a wireless communication device operable to transfer the sensor data wirelessly to the control system (a magnetic field sensor within a communication element housing, [0030], [0047], [0070], Figs. 1-3; communication element is wireless/cordless, [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0041], [0044], [0062], [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Bollenbeck’s known technique providing a local power supply and/or wireless/cordless communication device including a magnetic field sensor to Nufer in further view of Biber’s known process of providing a magnetic field sensor to achieve the predictable result that this provides a simple and reliable transmission of communication signals (see, e.g., Bollenbeck, [0024]) and/or provides a ready means by which to provide recharge the energy storage for the magnetic field sensor and communication system during the MRI procedure (see, e.g., Bollenbeck, [0027], [0054], [0067]).
Regarding claim 5, Nufer in further view of Biber does not appear to teach the energy supply device is charged by alternating fields occurring during a measurement of magnetic resonance data in the patient tunnel or the sensor data is transmitted automatically on request or at regular intervals.
However, in the same field of endeavor of MRI imaging and solving substantially the same problem of providing a local power supply for the magnetic field sensor, Bollenbeck teaches the energy supply device is charged by alternating fields occurring during a measurement of magnetic resonance data in the patient accommodating region (energy storage element is charged by alternating fields occurring during a measurement of a magnetic resonance data in the patient tunnel, [0027], [0054], [0067]; tunnel-shaped patient accommodating region, [0015], Fig. 1) or the sensor data is transmitted automatically on request or at regular intervals (communication element transmits the magnetic field sensor data upon activation and/or continuously during a defined and/or specific period of time, [0047]-[0051]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Bollenbeck’s known technique providing a local power supply and/or wireless/cordless communication device including a magnetic field sensor to Nufer in further view of Biber’s known process of providing a magnetic field sensor to achieve the predictable result that this provides a simple and reliable transmission of communication signals (see, e.g., Bollenbeck, [0024]) and/or provides a ready means by which to provide recharge the energy supply for the magnetic field sensor and communication system during the MRI procedure (see, e.g., Bollenbeck, [0027], [0054], [0067]).
Regarding claim 12, Nufer does not appear to disclose the position determination unit has a housing in which the magnetic field sensor is accommodated, or has a maximum extent of 1 to 10 cm or volume of 1 too 100 cubic centimeters or is fastened using a fastener to the patient couch or to an item of clothing or to a cover or to a local coil arrangement.
However, in the same field of endeavor of positioning a patient in an MR system tunnel, Biber teaches attaching and detaching the position determination unit to the patient couch or to an item of clothing or to a cover or to a local coil arrangement (magnetic field probe comprises one or more magnetic field strength sensors used to determine position, Abstract, [0008], [0025]; magnetic field probe comprises one or more magnetic field strength sensors that can be attached in a detacheable manner to a local coil, [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Biber’s known technique of providing a position determining magnetic field probe comprising one or more magnetic field strength sensors that can be attached and detached from a local coil to Nufer’s known process of providing a position detection unit comprising a magnetic field sensor placed on a local RF-coil coupled to a patient table and/or positioned on the patient’s body to achieve the predictable result that a PHOSITA would find it obvious to make the magnetic field strength sensors portable (See MPEP 2144.04 V. A. Making Portable) or make the magnetic field strength sensors separable from the local coil (See MPEP 2144.04 V. C. Making Separable) such that one or more sensors at a time can be used at various positions on the local coil as desired to achieve a desired level of measurement precision. See, e.g., Biber, [0021].
However, Nufer in further view of Biber does not appear to explictly teach the position determination unit is fastened using a fastener.
However, in the same field of endeavor of MRI imaging and solving substantially the same problem of attaching a magnetic field sensor, Bollenbeck teaches a housing in which the magnetic field sensor is accommodated (a magnetic field sensor within the communication element housing, [0030], [0047], [0070], Figs. 1-3), the magnetic field sensor housing is fastened using a fastener to the patient couch or to an item of clothing or to a cover or to a local coil arrangement (fastening element can include a clip to the clothes of the patient and/or a Velcro fastener, [0037], [0074], [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Bollenbeck’s known technique of providing a fastener to attach the magnetic field sensor housing to Nufer in further view of Biber’s known process of providing a placement of the magnetic field sensor to determine the position of the object to which the magnetic field sensor is attached to achieve the predictable result that a fastening element such as a clip or Velcro strap allows for a simple and rapid arrangement of the magnetic field sensor housing. See, e.g., Bollenbeck, [0037].
Regarding claim 13, Nufer in further view of Biber does not appear to teach the fastener comprises a clip or hook and loop fastener.
However, in the same field of endeavor of MRI imaging and solving substantially the same problem of attaching a magnetic field sensor, Bollenbeck teaches the fastener comprises a clip and/or hook and loop fastener (fastening element can include a clip to the clothes of the patient and/or a Velcro fastener, [0037], [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Bollenbeck’s known technique of providing a fastener to attach the magnetic field sensor housing to Nufer in further view of Biber’s known process of providing a placement of the magnetic field sensor to determine the position of the object to which the magnetic field sensor is attached to achieve the predictable result that a fastening element such as a clip or Velcro strap allows for a simple and rapid arrangement of the magnetic field sensor housing. See, e.g., Bollenbeck, [0037].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nufer in further view of Biber in further view of Bollenbeck.
Regarding claim 15, Nufer discloses a magnetic resonance system comprising:
a main magnet unit with a patient tunnel and a main magnet operable to generate a main magnetic field (a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus having a basic field magnet of a scanner of the MRI apparatus wherein the patient table is moved inside the basic field magnet, wherein the basic field magnet generates a basic magnetic field, Abstract, [0007], [0016], [0033]);
a patient couch movable into the patient tunnel in a longitudinal direction (patient table is movable into the basic field magnet in a z-direction, Abstract, [0006]-[0007], [0017]-[0018], [0037], [0039], [0048]);
a control system (control computer, [0006], [0017], [0019], [0023], [0033], [0038]-[0039]); and
a position determination unit with a magnetic field sensor freely supported on the patient couch positionable at a marker position (a position detection unit comprising a magnetic field sensor is placed on a local RF-coil coupled to a patient table and/or positioned on the patient’s body, [0006]-[0008], [0014]-[0015], [0020], [0038]), wherein the position determination unit serves no purpose in recording magnetic resonance data but functions as a positioning tag to define the marker position (position detection unit comprising a magnetic field sensor such as a Hall sensor that varies its output voltage dependent on a magnetic field to determine the position of the position detection unit, i.e., the magnetic field sensor is not used to record MR data, [0008], [0015], [0020], [0038]).
wherein the control system comprises:
an evaluation unit operable to evaluate the sensor data of the magnetic field sensor to establish the marker position in a coordinate system of the magnetic resonance system, in which a field of view position of a field of view of the magnetic resonance system is also known (magnetic field sensor data is evaluated using a control computer to establish the local RF-coil position in a coordinate system of the MRI apparatus in which an isocenter position of the MRI apparatus is known, Abstract, [0006]-[0008], [0016]-[0018], [0039], [0043]-[0050]);
a determination unit operable to establish a desired required position of the field of view relative to the marker position from the marker position at least in the longitudinal direction of the patient couch for a subsequent measurement of magnetic resonance data (the relative distance between the position of the local RF-coil and the scanner isocenter position is determined for a subsequent measurement of MR data by the control computer from the local RF-coil position at least in a z-direction of the patient table corresponding to a direction of movement of the patient table, Abstract, [0006]-[0008], [0016]-[0018], [0039], [0043]-[0050]); and
a controller operable to activate the patient couch while using the marker position in such a way that the desired relative required position of the field of view for the marker position is assumed (patient table automatic movement is controlled using the position of the local RF-coil and the scanner isocenter position such that the position of the local RF-coil and the scanner isocenter position is assumed, Abstract, [0006]-[0008], [0016]-[0018], [0039], [0043]-[0050]).
However, while Nufer discloses positioning a position determination unit comprising a magnetic field sensor at a marker position on the patient couch or on a patient supported on the patient couch as detailed above, Nufer does not appear to disclose a standalone position determination unit, wherein the position determination unit is freely positionable and independent of local coil arrangements.
However, in the same field of endeavor of positioning a patient in an MR system tunnel, Biber teaches a standalone position determination unit with a magnetic field sensor, wherein the position determination unit is freely positionable and independent of local coil arrangements (magnetic field probe comprises one or more magnetic field strength sensors used to determine position, Abstract, [0008], [0025]; magnetic field probe comprises one or more magnetic field strength sensors that can be attached in a detacheable manner to a local coil, i.e., the magnetic field probe is freely positionable and independent of the local coil, [0031]), and serves no purpose in recording magnetic resonance data but functions as a positioning tag to define the marker position (magnetic field probe comprises one or more magnetic field strength sensors used to determine position, i.e., the magnetic field strength sensors are not used to record MR data, Abstract, [0008], [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Biber’s known technique of providing a position determining magnetic field probe with one or more magnetic field strength sensors that can be attached and detached from a local coil to Nufer’s known apparatus providing a position detection unit with a magnetic field sensor placed on a local RF-coil coupled to a patient table and/or positioned on the patient’s body to achieve the predictable result that a PHOSITA would find it obvious to make the magnetic field strength sensors portable (See MPEP 2144.04 V. A. Making Portable) or make the magnetic field strength sensors separable from the local coil (See MPEP 2144.04 V. C. Making Separable) such that one or more sensors at a time can be used at various positions on the local coil as desired to achieve a desired level of measurement precision. See, e.g., Biber, [0021].
However, Nufer in further view of Biber does not appear to teach a communication device to transmit sensor data of the magnetic field sensor to the control system.
However, in the same field of endeavor of MRI imaging and solving substantially the same problem of providing a wireless/cordless communication device for the magnetic field sensor, Bollenbeck teaches a communication device to transmit sensor data of the magnetic field sensor to the control system (a magnetic field sensor coupled to a communication element within a communication element housing, [0030], [0047], [0070], Figs. 1-3; communication element is wireless/cordless, [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0041], [0044], [0062], [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Bollenbeck’s known technique providing a local power supply and/or wireless/cordless communication device including a magnetic field sensor to Nufer in further view of Biber’s known apparatus providing a magnetic field sensor to achieve the predictable result that this provides a simple and reliable transmission of communication signals (see, e.g., Bollenbeck, [0024]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gall et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0338614) discloses a method and MRI system for positioning a patient couch with an MRI tunnel of the main magnet using a Hall probe to determine the distance and speed of the patient couch relative to the isocenter of the magnet and the position of the Hall probe.
Ferguson et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0025845) discloses a method and MRI system for positioning a patient couch within an MRI tunnel of the main magnet using a Hall sensor to determine the distance of the patient couch relative to the isocenter of the magnet and the position of the Hall sensor.
Biber et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0329422) discloses a method and MRI system for positioning a patient couch within an MRI tunnel of the main magnet using a Hall sensor to determine the distance of the patient couch relative to the isocenter of the magnet and the position of the Hall sensor.
Ludwig et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0248665) discloses a method and MRI system for positioning a patient couch within an MRI tunnel of the main magnet using a Hall sensor to determine the distance of the patient couch relative to the isocenter of the magnet and the position of the Hall sensor.
Hetz et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0231622) discloses a method and MRI system for positioning a patient couch within an MRI tunnel of the main magnet using a Hall sensor to determine the distance of the patient couch relative to the isocenter of the magnet and the position of the Hall sensor.
Greim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0128149) discloses a method and MRI system for positioning a patient couch within an MRI tunnel of the main magnet using a Hall sensor to determine the distance of the patient couch relative to the isocenter of the magnet and the position of the Hall sensor.
Hengerer et al. (DE102020200466A1) discloses a method and MRI system for positioning a patient couch within an MRI tunnel of the main magnet using one or more uniquely identified Hall sensors to determine the distance of the patient couch relative to the isocenter of the magnet and the position of the Hall sensor.
/Johnathan Maynard/Examiner, Art Unit 3798