DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of claims
Claims 13 and 14 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 8-12, 17, 20-21 are amended.
Claims 1-12, 15-25 are pending.
Response to arguments
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 12/19/2025; Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Applicant remarks:
Hamilton , either alone or in combination with Lim and /or any other prior art of record, does not disclose -vehicular alert system, responsive to determination via a driver monitoring system of the vehicle that the identity of the driver of the vehicle does not correspond to one or more identities associated with the insurance policy, generates a third wireless communication transmitted from the vehicle to a mobile device associated with the one or more identities associated with the insurance policy.
Office Response:
Please see new mapping above, specifically the mapping for the independent claims.
Applicant further argues that the other independent claims which recite similar features are allowable and the dependent claims are also allowable since they depend on allowable subject and the Office respectfully disagrees. It is the Office's stance that all of the claimed subject matter has been properly rejected; therefore, the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-18, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20170297529A1 to Hamilton (herein after “Hamilton”) in view of JP 2022167341 A to Nakamura et al. (herein after “Nakamura”).
Regarding claim 1, Hamilton discloses A vehicular alert system, the vehicular alert system comprising an electronic control unit (ECU) disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular alert system (see Hamilton para[0043] The processes, methods, or algorithms disclosed herein may be deliverable to or implemented by a processing device, controller, or computer, which may include any existing programmable electronic control unit or dedicated electronic control unit.), wherein the ECU (See Hamilton vehicle controllers ) comprises electronic circuitry and associated software (see Hamilton para[0019] In one illustrative embodiment, the processor is provided with an operating system including an API to communicate with modem application software. The modem application software may access an embedded module or firmware on the BLUETOOTH transceiver to complete wireless communication with a remote BLUETOOTH transceiver (such as that found in a nomadic device); wherein the vehicular alert system is in wireless communication with a remote server that is remote from the vehicle(see Hamilton para[0015] In one illustrative embodiment, the system 1 uses the BLUETOOTH transceiver 15 to communicate 17 with a user's nomadic device 53 (e.g., cell phone, smart phone, PDA, or any other device having wireless remote network connectivity); wherein the vehicular alert system receives a first wireless communication from the remote server, and wherein the first wireless communication is pertaining to an insurance policy associated with the vehicle (see Hamilton para[0030] The vehicle server 209 may inform the vehicle when action is needed related to the policies (e.g. renewal) via alerts during a pre-defined time period (e.g. 7 days, 1 month, etc.) before such action is required (e.g. registration or insurance policies expire) and wherein the vehicular alert system, based on the first wireless communication (see Hamilton para [0019] In one illustrative embodiment, the processor is provided with an operating system including an API to communicate with modem application software. The modem application software may access an embedded module or firmware on the BLUETOOTH transceiver to complete wireless communication with a remote BLUETOOTH transceiver) , and responsive to determination that the insurance policy will expire in less than a threshold period of time, generates an alert for a driver of the vehicle(see Hamilton para[0030] The vehicle server 209 may inform the vehicle when action is needed related to the policies (e.g. renewal) via alerts during a pre-defined time period (e.g. 7 days, 1 month, etc.) before such action is required (e.g. registration or insurance policies expire).
However, Hamilton does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the vehicular alert system wirelessly communicates a second wireless communication to another vehicle responsive to determination that the vehicle and the other vehicle have collided, and wherein the second wireless communication comprises information pertaining to the insurance policy associated with the vehicle, wherein the vehicular alert system, responsive to determination via a driver monitoring system of the vehicle that an identity of the driver of the vehicle does not correspond to one or more identities associated with the insurance policy, generates a third wireless communication transmitted from the vehicle to a mobile device associated with the one or more identities associated with the insurance policy. Nevertheless, Nakamura same field of endeavor teaches wherein the vehicular alert system wirelessly communicates a second wireless communication (See Nakamura para [0014] The first communication unit 111 has a communication function of performing wired communication or wireless communication with another device provided in the mobile body 100 .) to another vehicle responsive to determination that the vehicle and the other vehicle have collided, and wherein the second wireless communication comprises information pertaining to the insurance policy associated with the vehicle(See Nakamura para[0099] A notification may be made to the effect that an accident has occurred or that dangerous driving has been performed.); and
wherein the vehicular alert system, responsive to determination via a driver monitoring system of the vehicle that an identity of the driver of the vehicle does not correspond to one or more identities associated with the insurance policy, generates a third wireless communication transmitted from the vehicle to a mobile device associated with the one or more identities associated with the insurance policy. (See Nakamura para[0095] Furthermore, if a user whose information does not match the vehicle insurance information is entered as the driver, a warning may be issued, for example, by displaying a warning on the display unit of the user's communication device 350A, or by outputting a warning announcement from the voice output unit.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Hamilton’s vehicle computer system for authorizing Insurance and registration policy with Nakamura’s alert for collision and unmatched identity of the drive with the insurance information in order to allow to confirm to whether or not the driver is the driver is made based on the information input by the user (See para[0095] and to communication control (see para[0099]).
Regarding claim 2, Hamilton and Nakamura remain applied as claim 1. Hamilton discloses wherein the vehicular alert system, responsive to determination that the insurance policy has expired, limits operation of a system of the vehicle (see Hamilton para [0004] output a message at the vehicle computer system indicating a status of a vehicle insurance policy as pertaining to the driver based upon the driver profile data and vehicle policy data received from a remote server, and prevent vehicle driving in response to the status indicating an expired insurance policy or unauthorized driver) .
Regarding claim 7, Hamilton and Nakamura remain applied as claim 1. Hamilton discloses wherein the alert comprises a graphical display displayed at a display device of the vehicle (see Hamilton para [0013] The processor is also provided with a number of different inputs allowing the user to interface with the processor. In this illustrative embodiment, a microphone 29, an auxiliary input 25 (for input 33 ), a USB input 23 , a GPS input 24 , screen 4 , which may be a touchscreen display, para [0014] Outputs to the system can include, but are not limited to, a visual display 4).
Regarding claim 8, Hamilton and Nakamura remain applied as claim 1. Hamilton discloses wherein the alert comprises a third wireless communication transmitted from the vehicle to a mobile device of the driver (see Hamilton para [0025] In addition to having exemplary processes executed by a vehicle computing system located in a vehicle, in certain embodiments, the exemplary processes may be executed by a computing system in communication with a vehicle computing system. Such a system may include, but is not limited to, a wireless device (e.g., and without limitation, a mobile phone).
Regarding claim 9, Hamilton and Nakamura remain applied as claim 1. Hamilton discloses wherein the vehicular alert system wirelessly communicates a third wireless communication to the remote server, and wherein the third wireless communication comprises sensor data captured by one or more sensors disposed at the vehicle and representative of a driving condition of the vehicle (see Hamilton para [0040] The server may receive vehicle data 403 upon establishing a connection. The server may also be able to send data to the vehicle that is stored remotely or accessed off-board. The server may request vehicle data related to various vehicle policies, including insurance information, registration information, driver profile data, and other vehicle data (e.g. VIN, data from sensors, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, Hamilton and Nakamura remain applied as claim 1. Hamilton discloses wherein the vehicular alert system wirelessly communicates a third wireless communication to the remote server (see Hamilton mobile phone, wireless device para [0025]), and wherein the third wireless communication comprises a request for information pertaining to the insurance policy associated with the vehicle (see Hamilton para[0041] For example, the server may receive insurance data from an insurance agency or insurance server that stores vehicle insurance data indicating a vehicle's insurance policy information).
Regarding claim 11, Hamilton and Nakamura remain applied as claim 1. Hamilton discloses wherein the vehicular alert system wirelessly communicates the third wireless communication responsive to receiving an input from the driver, and wherein the input comprises information pertaining to the insurance policy associated with the vehicle (see Hamilton para [0032] The VCS may send vehicle data 303 to the server to assist the user in the vehicle registration and insurance policy. The VCS may send the vehicle registration data 202 and insurance information data 204 to the server based on the user inputting the required data into the VCS.).
Regarding claim 12, Hamilton and Nakamura remain applied as claim 1. Hamilton discloses wherein the vehicular alert system wirelessly communicates the third wireless communication automatically upon vehicle startup (see Hamilton para [0004] output a message at the vehicle computer system indicating a status of a vehicle insurance policy as pertaining to the driver based upon the driver profile data and vehicle policy data received from a remote server, and prevent vehicle driving in response to the status indicating an expired insurance policy or unauthorized driver) , and wherein the third wireless communication comprises vehicle identification information (see Hamilton para [0032] The VCS may send vehicle data 303 to the server to assist the user in the vehicle registration and insurance policy. The VCS may send the vehicle registration data 202 and insurance information data 204 to the server based on the user inputting the required data into the VCS.).
Regarding claim 15, Hamilton and Nakamura remain applied as claim 1. Hamilton discloses wherein the vehicular alert system wirelessly communicates the second wireless communication to the other vehicle responsive to a request received from the other vehicle (see Hamilton para [0002] A vehicle may be configured to communicate with various devices and remote servers to exchange data; para0023]Further, the CPU could be in communication with a variety of other auxiliary devices 65. These devices can be connected through a wireless 67 or wired 69 connection. Auxiliary device 65 may include, but are not limited to, personal media players, wireless health devices, portable computers, and the like, para [0042] The server may analyze the data receive from other vehicles and servers and determine if there is an error with any vehicle policies 407, para [0026]FIG. 2 is an illustrative block topology of a vehicle interacting with the cloud and web server. A vehicle 201 may include an interface to interact with a user to provide functionality) for the information pertaining to the insurance policy associated with the vehicle (see Hamilton para [0032] The VCS may send vehicle data 303 to the server to assist the user in the vehicle registration and insurance policy. The VCS may send the vehicle registration data 202 and insurance information data 204 to the server based on the user inputting the required data into the VCS.).
Regarding claim 16, Hamilton and Nakamura remain applied as claim 1. Hamilton discloses wherein the vehicular alert system, responsive to receiving the first wireless communication at the ECU, determines an expiration date of the insurance policy (see Hamilton para[0036] The VCS may then again check for errors or issues 313 with the vehicle information. The VCS may process the new data itself to determine if such errors or issues are correct. For example, the VCS may determine that an expired policy is being used, and require that the user input a new policy with an appropriate expiration date. The VCS may compare the current date with the policy expiration date to determine if the policy is valid. The VCS may send messages to various vehicle controllers via the vehicle's communication bus requesting that the vehicle cannot be operated until any issues with the vehicle policy are resolved).
Regarding claim 17, Hamilton discloses A vehicular alert system, the vehicular alert system comprising: an electronic control unit (ECU) (see Hamilton vehicle controller) disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular alert system, wherein the ECU comprises electronic circuitry and associated software (see Hamilton para[0019] In one illustrative embodiment, the processor is provided with an operating system including an API to communicate with modem application software. The modem application software may access an embedded module or firmware on the BLUETOOTH transceiver to complete wireless communication with a remote BLUETOOTH transceiver (such as that found in a nomadic device); wherein the vehicular alert system is in wireless communication with a remote server that is remote from the vehicle; wherein the vehicular alert system wirelessly communicates a first wireless communication to the remote server (see Hamilton para[0030] The vehicle server 209 may inform the vehicle when action is needed related to the policies (e.g. renewal) via alerts during a pre-defined time period (e.g. 7 days, 1 month, etc.) before such action is required (e.g. registration or insurance policies expire) , and wherein the first wireless communication comprises a request for information pertaining to an insurance policy associated with the vehicle; wherein, based on the first wireless communication, the vehicular alert system receives a second wireless communication from the remote server, and wherein the second wireless communication comprises the information pertaining to the insurance policy associated with the vehicle (see Hamilton para [0032] The VCS may send vehicle data 303 to the server to assist the user in the vehicle registration and insurance policy. The VCS may send the vehicle registration data 202 and insurance information data 204 to the server based on the user inputting the required data into the VCS.); wherein the vehicular alert system, responsive to receiving the second wireless communication at the ECU, determines an expiration date of the insurance policy (see Hamilton para[0036] The VCS may then again check for errors or issues 313 with the vehicle information. The VCS may process the new data itself to determine if such errors or issues are correct. For example, the VCS may determine that an expired policy is being used, and require that the user input a new policy with an appropriate expiration date. The VCS may compare the current date with the policy expiration date to determine if the policy is valid. The VCS may send messages to various vehicle controllers via the vehicle's communication bus requesting that the vehicle cannot be operated until any issues with the vehicle policy are resolved).; and wherein the vehicular alert system, responsive to determination that the insurance policy will expire in less than a threshold period of time, generates an alert for a driver of the vehicle(see Hamilton para[0030] The vehicle server 209 may inform the vehicle when action is needed related to the policies (e.g. renewal) via alerts during a pre-defined time period (e.g. 7 days, 1 month, etc.) before such action is required (e.g. registration or insurance policies expire).
However, Hamilton does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the vehicular alert system wirelessly communicates a second wireless communication to another vehicle responsive to determination that the vehicle and the other vehicle have collided, and wherein the second wireless communication comprises information pertaining to the insurance policy associated with the vehicle, wherein the vehicular alert system, responsive to determination via a driver monitoring system of the vehicle that an identity of the driver of the vehicle does not correspond to one or more identities associated with the insurance policy, generates a third wireless communication transmitted from the vehicle to a mobile device associated with the one or more identities associated with the insurance policy. Nevertheless, Nakamura same field of endeavor teaches wherein the vehicular alert system wirelessly communicates a second wireless communication (See Nakamura para [0014] The first communication unit 111 has a communication function of performing wired communication or wireless communication with another device provided in the mobile body 100 .) to another vehicle responsive to determination that the vehicle and the other vehicle have collided, and wherein the second wireless communication comprises information pertaining to the insurance policy associated with the vehicle(See Nakamura para[0099] A notification may be made to the effect that an accident has occurred or that dangerous driving has been performed.); and
wherein the vehicular alert system, responsive to determination via a driver monitoring system of the vehicle that an identity of the driver of the vehicle does not correspond to one or more identities associated with the insurance policy, generates a third wireless communication transmitted from the vehicle to a mobile device associated with the one or more identities associated with the insurance policy. (See Nakamura para[0095] Furthermore, if a user whose information does not match the vehicle insurance information is entered as the driver, a warning may be issued, for example, by displaying a warning on the display unit of the user's communication device 350A, or by outputting a warning announcement from the voice output unit.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Hamilton’s vehicle computer system for authorizing Insurance and registration policy with Nakamura’s alert for collision and unmatched identity of the drive with the insurance information in order to allow to confirm to whether or not the driver is the driver is made based on the information input by the user (See para[0095] and to communication control (see para[0099]).
Regarding claim 18, Hamilton and Nakamura remain applied as claim 17. Hamilton discloses wherein the vehicular alert system, responsive to determination that the insurance policy has expired, limits operation of a system of the vehicle (see Hamilton para [0004] output a message at the vehicle computer system indicating a status of a vehicle insurance policy as pertaining to the driver based upon the driver profile data and vehicle policy data received from a remote server, and prevent vehicle driving in response to the status indicating an expired insurance policy or unauthorized driver) .
Regarding claim 20, Hamilton and Nakamura remain applied as claim 1. Hamilton discloses wherein the alert comprises one selected from the group consisting of (i) a graphical display displayed at a display device of the vehicle ((see Hamilton para [0013] The processor is also provided with a number of different inputs allowing the user to interface with the processor. In this illustrative embodiment, a microphone 29, an auxiliary input 25 (for input 33 ), a USB input 23 , a GPS input 24 , screen 4 , which may be a touchscreen display, para [0014] Outputs to the system can include, but are not limited to, a visual display 4) and (ii) a third wireless communication transmitted from the vehicle to a mobile device of the driver ((see Hamilton para [0025] In addition to having exemplary processes executed by a vehicle computing system located in a vehicle, in certain embodiments, the exemplary processes may be executed by a computing system in communication with a vehicle computing system. Such a system may include, but is not limited to, a wireless device (e.g., and without limitation, a mobile phone).
Regarding claim 21, Hamilton discloses A vehicular alert system, the vehicular alert system comprising: an electronic control unit (ECU) disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular alert system (see Hamilton vehicle controller), wherein the ECU comprises electronic circuitry and associated software (see Hamilton para[0019] In one illustrative embodiment, the processor is provided with an operating system including an API to communicate with modem application software. The modem application software may access an embedded module or firmware on the BLUETOOTH transceiver to complete wireless communication with a remote BLUETOOTH transceiver (such as that found in a nomadic device); wherein the vehicular alert system is in wireless communication with a remote server that is remote from the vehicle(see Hamilton para[0015] In one illustrative embodiment, the system 1 uses the BLUETOOTH transceiver 15 to communicate 17 with a user's nomadic device 53 (e.g., cell phone, smart phone, PDA, or any other device having wireless remote network connectivity); wherein the vehicular alert system receives a first wireless communication from the remote server see Hamilton para[0030] The vehicle server 209 may inform the vehicle when action is needed related to the policies (e.g. renewal) via alerts during a pre-defined time period (e.g. 7 days, 1 month, etc.) before such action is required (e.g. registration or insurance policies expire) , and wherein the first wireless communication is pertaining to an insurance policy associated with the vehicle; wherein the vehicular alert system, based on the first wireless communication, and responsive to determination that the insurance policy will expire in less than a threshold period of time(see Hamilton para[0030] The vehicle server 209 may inform the vehicle when action is needed related to the policies (e.g. renewal) via alerts during a pre-defined time period (e.g. 7 days, 1 month, etc.) before such action is required (e.g. registration or insurance policies expire), generates an alert for a driver of the vehicle; wherein the alert comprises one selected from the group consisting of (i) a graphical display displayed at a display device of the vehicle and (ii) a second wireless communication transmitted from the vehicle to a mobile device of the driver(see Hamilton para [0025] In addition to having exemplary processes executed by a vehicle computing system located in a vehicle, in certain embodiments, the exemplary processes may be executed by a computing system in communication with a vehicle computing system. Such a system may include, but is not limited to, a wireless device (e.g., and without limitation, a mobile phone).
; and wherein the vehicular alert system, responsive to determination that the insurance policy has expired, limits operation of a system of the vehicle (see Hamilton para [0004] output a message at the vehicle computer system indicating a status of a vehicle insurance policy as pertaining to the driver based upon the driver profile data and vehicle policy data received from a remote server, and prevent vehicle driving in response to the status indicating an expired insurance policy or unauthorized driver) .
However, Hamilton does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the vehicular alert system wirelessly communicates a second wireless communication to another vehicle responsive to determination that the vehicle and the other vehicle have collided, and wherein the second wireless communication comprises information pertaining to the insurance policy associated with the vehicle, wherein the vehicular alert system, responsive to determination via a driver monitoring system of the vehicle that an identity of the driver of the vehicle does not correspond to one or more identities associated with the insurance policy, generates a third wireless communication transmitted from the vehicle to a mobile device associated with the one or more identities associated with the insurance policy. Nevertheless, Nakamura same field of endeavor teaches wherein the vehicular alert system wirelessly communicates a second wireless communication (See Nakamura para [0014] The first communication unit 111 has a communication function of performing wired communication or wireless communication with another device provided in the mobile body 100 .) to another vehicle responsive to determination that the vehicle and the other vehicle have collided, and wherein the second wireless communication comprises information pertaining to the insurance policy associated with the vehicle(See Nakamura para[0099] A notification may be made to the effect that an accident has occurred or that dangerous driving has been performed.); and
wherein the vehicular alert system, responsive to determination via a driver monitoring system of the vehicle that an identity of the driver of the vehicle does not correspond to one or more identities associated with the insurance policy, generates a third wireless communication transmitted from the vehicle to a mobile device associated with the one or more identities associated with the insurance policy. (See Nakamura para[0095] Furthermore, if a user whose information does not match the vehicle insurance information is entered as the driver, a warning may be issued, for example, by displaying a warning on the display unit of the user's communication device 350A, or by outputting a warning announcement from the voice output unit.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Hamilton’s vehicle computer system for authorizing Insurance and registration policy with Nakamura’s alert for collision and unmatched identity of the drive with the insurance information in order to allow to confirm to whether or not the driver is the driver is made based on the information input by the user (See para[0095] and to communication control (see para[0099]).
Claims 3-4, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20170297529A1 to Hamilton (herein after “Hamilton”) in view JP 2022167341 A to Nakamura et al. (herein after “Nakamura”) and US 20160288786 A1 to Lavoie et al. (herein after “Lavoie”).
Regarding claim 3, Hamilton and Nakamura remain applied as claims 1. However, Hamilton does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the system of the vehicle comprises a powertrain system of the vehicle. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Lavoie teaches wherein the system of the vehicle comprises a powertrain system of the vehicle (see Lavoie powertrain control system 74).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Hamilton’s vehicle computer system for authorizing Insurance and registration policy with Lavoie’s vehicle with powertrain system in order to allow to control the brake system to maintain a vehicle speed below a threshold speed when Insurance policy expires (see Lavoie para[0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Hamilton, Nakamura and Lavoie remain applied as claim 3. However, Hamilton does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein, based on the vehicular alert system limiting operation of the powertrain system of the vehicle, the vehicle is unable to travel at a speed greater than a threshold speed. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Lavoie teaches wherein, based on the vehicular alert system limiting operation of the powertrain system of the vehicle, the vehicle is unable to travel at a speed greater than a threshold speed (see Lavoie para[0080] if the vehicle speed exceeds the powertrain speed limit threshold, the powertrain speed limiter of powertrain control system 74 (FIG. 1) limits engine rpm.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Hamilton’s vehicle computer system for authorizing Insurance and registration policy with Lavoie’s vehicle with powertrain system in order to allow to control the brake system to maintain a vehicle speed below a threshold speed when Insurance policy expires (see Lavoie para[0004]).
Regarding claim 22, Hamilton and Nakamura remain applied as claims 21. However, Hamilton does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the system of the vehicle comprises a powertrain system of the vehicle. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Lavoie teaches wherein the system of the vehicle comprises a powertrain system of the vehicle (see Lavoie powertrain control system 74).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Hamilton’s vehicle computer system for authorizing Insurance and registration policy with Lavoie’s vehicle with powertrain system in order to allow to control the brake system to maintain a vehicle speed below a threshold speed when Insurance policy expires (see Lavoie para[0004]).
Regarding claim 23, Hamilton, Nakamura and Lavoie remain applied as claim 22. However, Hamilton does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach vehicular alert system limiting operation of the powertrain system of the vehicle, the vehicle is unable to travel at a speed greater than a threshold speed. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Lavoie teaches wherein, based on the vehicular alert system limiting operation of the powertrain system of the vehicle, the vehicle is unable to travel at a speed greater than a threshold speed (see Lavoie para[0080] if the vehicle speed exceeds the powertrain speed limit threshold, the powertrain speed limiter of powertrain control system 74 (FIG. 1) limits engine rpm.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Hamilton’s vehicle computer system for authorizing Insurance and registration policy with Lavoie’s vehicle with powertrain system in order to allow to control the brake system to maintain a vehicle speed below a threshold speed when Insurance policy expires (see Lavoie para[0004]).
Claims 5-6, 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20170297529A1 to David Hamilton (herein after “Hamilton”) in view of JP 2022167341 A to Nakamura et al. (herein after “Nakamura”) and US 20230271589 A1 to Pham et al. (herein after “Pham”).
Regarding claim 5, Hamilton and Nakamura remain applied as claim 1. However, Hamilton does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the system of the vehicle comprises a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system of the vehicle. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Pham teaches wherein the system of the vehicle comprises a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system of the vehicle (see Pham para [0020] a heating ventilation and air-conditioning (HVAC) control feature to start or stop an HVAC of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Hamilton’s vehicle computer system for authorizing Insurance and registration policy with Pham’s vehicle comprises a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system in order to allow to development of connected vehicles that may communicate with electronic devices that may be located outside the vehicle (see Pham para[0001]).
Regarding claim 6, Hamilton, Nakamura and Pham remain applied as claim 5. However, Hamilton does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the vehicular alert system disables operation of the HVAC system. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Pham teaches wherein the vehicular alert system disables operation of the HVAC system (see Pham para[0020] a heating ventilation and air-conditioning (HVAC) control feature to start or stop an HVAC of the vehicle; para [0092] Based on such real-time notifications provided to the user 112 about the first set of features being controlled for another vehicle (e.g., the first vehicle 104A) and/or about the vehicle-alerts).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Hamilton’s vehicle computer system for authorizing Insurance and registration policy with Pham’s the vehicular alert system disables operation of the HVAC system in order to allow to development of connected vehicles that may communicate with electronic devices that may be located outside the vehicle (see Pham para[0001]).
Regarding claim 24, Hamilton and Nakamura remain applied as claim 21. However, Hamilton does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the system of the vehicle comprises a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system of the vehicle. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Pham teaches wherein the system of the vehicle comprises a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system of the vehicle (see Pham para [0020] a heating ventilation and air-conditioning (HVAC) control feature to start or stop an HVAC of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Hamilton’s vehicle computer system for authorizing Insurance and registration policy with Pham’s vehicle comprises a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system in order to allow to development of connected vehicles that may communicate with electronic devices that may be located outside the vehicle (see Pham para[0001]).
Regarding claim 25, Hamilton, Nakamura and Pham remain applied as claim 24. However, Hamilton does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach, wherein the vehicular alert system disables operation of the HVAC system. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Pham teaches wherein the vehicular alert system disables operation of the HVAC system (see Pham para[0020] a heating ventilation and air-conditioning (HVAC) control feature to start or stop an HVAC of the vehicle; see Pham para [0092] Based on such real-time notifications provided to the user 112 about the first set of features being controlled for another vehicle (e.g., the first vehicle 104A) and/or about the vehicle-alerts).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Hamilton’s vehicle computer system for authorizing Insurance and registration policy with Pham’s the vehicular alert system disables operation of the HVAC system in order to allow to development of connected vehicles that may communicate with electronic devices that may be located outside the vehicle (see Pham para[0001]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20170297529A1 to David Hamilton (herein after “Hamilton”) in view of JP 2022167341 A to Nakamura et al. (herein after “Nakamura”) , US 20160288786 A1 to Lavoie et al. (herein after “Lavoie”) and US 20230271589 A1 to Pham et al. (herein after “Pham”).
Regarding claim 19, Hamilton remains applied as claims 17 and 18. However, Hamilton does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the system of the vehicle comprises one selected from the group consisting of (i) a powertrain system of the vehicle. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Lavoie teaches wherein the system of the vehicle comprises one selected from the group consisting of (i) a powertrain system of the vehicle (see Lavoie powertrain control system 74).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Hamilton’s vehicle computer system for authorizing Insurance and registration policy with Lavoie’s vehicle with powertrain system in order to allow to control the brake system to maintain a vehicle speed below a threshold speed when Insurance policy expires (see Lavoie para[0004]).
However, Hamilton does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the system of the vehicle comprises (ii) a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system of the vehicle. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Pham teaches (ii) a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system of the vehicle (see Pham para [0020] a heating ventilation and air-conditioning (HVAC) control feature to start or stop an HVAC of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Hamilton’s vehicle computer system for authorizing Insurance and registration policy with Pham’s the vehicular alert system disables operation of the HVAC system in order to allow to development of connected vehicles that may communicate with electronic devices that may be located outside the vehicle (see Pham para[0001]).
Conclusion
/NAZIA AFRIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/JESS WHITTINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666c