DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the knife head and lateral drive of claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses implied phrases (i.e. "The invention relates to"). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DOUBLE-KNIFE CUTTING SYSTEM WITH BENT KNIFE BACK.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 has a duplicate period at the end thereof which should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention, that is, whether the bending angle can be any angle between 5 and 45 degrees, or if it is limited to 15 degrees. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted it as the former (i.e. any angle between 5 and 45 degrees).
Claim 21 recites the limitation “a lateral drive”. However, it is unclear whether “a lateral drive” should be interpreted as a drive disposed at a lateral end of the mower device, or if “a lateral drive” refers to a drive mechanism for moving the blades in a lateral direction since the drive is not shown in the drawings nor described in sufficient detail in the specification as to make the location and arrangement clear.
Regarding claim 22, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention, that is, whether an extension of the knife back can be any distance greater than or equal to 10 mm, or if it is limited to 33 mm, and further, whether an extension of the bent section of the knife back can be any distance greater than or equal to 5 mm, or if it is limited to half the extension of the knife back. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted “preferably” to mean “and/or” such that either or both limitations may be true.
Claim 23 recites “wherein the upper cutting knife and/or the lower cutting knife is formed in one piece” in lines 1-2. The current wording of the claim when interpreted under “and” could be misconstrued as meaning both knives consist of only one part, in which case, relative movement would not be possible. The Examiner therefore suggests amending this portion of the claim to read --wherein the upper cutting knife is formed in one piece and/or the lower cutting knife is formed in one piece--.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the remaining sections" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-14, 17, 21-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomlinson et al. (US 3121303 A).
Regarding independent claim 13, Tomlinson discloses a mower knife device (70), comprising:
a double-knife cutting system (“double sickle mower”), wherein the double-knife cutting system comprises an upper cutting knife (124 + 124’) and a lower cutting knife (122 + 122’), which are configured to be movable in translation relatively to one another (“double sickle motion”), wherein the upper cutting knife and the lower cutting knife each comprise a plurality of blade elements (cutting teeth 124’ and 122’ respectively) and a knife back (122,124), wherein the blade elements are configured to be connected to one another via the knife back and arranged essentially in a knife plane (Fig. 3, teeth 122’,124’ arranged in a horizontal plane),
a knife bar (120) which comprises a first extension (i.e. height of 120) in the direction of an axis (up-down axis) orthogonal to the knife plane and which is configured to hold the double-knife cutting system (col. 3 lines 56-60), wherein a gap is arranged between the knife bar and the double-knife cutting system (as seen in Figs. 4-5, knife bar 120 is rearwardly spaced from knife backs 122,124), wherein a section (142,152) of the knife back adjoins the gap (Fig. 6, sections 142,152 extend into space 140 of gap),
wherein the section of the knife back adjacent to the gap is bent in the direction of the orthogonal axis (sections 142,152 are upwardly and downwardly bent, as seen in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Tomlinson discloses the mower knife device according to claim 13, wherein the section (152) of the knife back (124) of the upper cutting knife adjacent to the gap and the section (142) of the knife back (122) of the lower cutting knife adjacent to the gap are bent substantially symmetrically with respect to the knife plane (Fig. 6, substantially symmetrical about horizontal mid-plane of knives).
Regarding claim 17, Tomlinson discloses the mower knife device according to claim 13, wherein the bent section (142,152) of the knife back (122,124) is flat and comprises a bending angle of between 5° and 45° relative to the knife plane (approx. 45° or less as seen in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 21, Tomlinson discloses the mower knife device according to claim 13, comprising a knife head (128) to initiate a drive movement of a lateral drive (38) on the double-knife cutting system (tab 128 translates a drive movement from lateral drive system 38 to upper blade 124), wherein the knife head is fixedly connected directly to the upper cutting knife (124) at a remaining section (col. 3 line 72 – col. 4 line 4, fixedly connected at inner end of knife 124), which comprises sections of the knife back located outside the bent section of the knife back (Fig. 5, connected at separate inner end of knife back portion outside bent portions 142,152), and in particular is fixedly connected without additional reinforcement (direct connection as seen in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 22, Tomlinson discloses the mower knife device according to claim 13, wherein the knife back (122,124) comprises an extension of at least 10 mm in the direction from a blade tip of the blade element to the knife bar (i.e. in the front-back direction) (known from col. 5 line 74 – col. 6 line 2 that the thickness of plate 134,134’ is 3/8 inch = approx. 10 mm, and knife backs 122,124 are greater than this distance as seen in Figs. 6-7),
wherein the bent section (142,152) of the knife back comprises an extension of at least 5 mm and/or is half of the extension of the knife back, in the direction from a blade tip of the blade element to the knife bar (i.e. in the front-back direction) (from above, thickness of plate 134,134’ is 3/8 inch = approx. 10 mm, and bent sections 142,152 extend rearward a distance substantially equal thereto as seen in Figs. 6-7, and are close to half of the entire extension of knife backs 122,124).
Regarding claim 24, Tomlinson discloses the mower knife device according to claim 13, wherein remaining sections of the upper cutting knife and of the lower cutting knife are formed substantially flat outside the bent sections (142,152) of the knife back (Fig. 6, forward portions of knives 122,124 are substantially flat and horizontal).
Claims 13-16 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hinks et al. (US 3538690 A).
Regarding independent claim 13, Hinks discloses a mower knife device (Figs. 1-4), comprising:
a double-knife cutting system (10), wherein the double-knife cutting system comprises an upper cutting knife (15) and a lower cutting knife (16), which are configured to be movable in translation relatively to one another (see opposing arrows 13, 14 in Fig. 1), wherein the upper cutting knife and the lower cutting knife each comprise a plurality of blade elements (cutting teeth 19 and 20 respectively) and a knife back (11, 12), wherein the blade elements are configured to be connected to one another via the knife back and arranged essentially in a knife plane (Fig. 2-3, teeth 19,20 are arranged in a horizontal plane),
a knife bar (rearmost portion of 23) which comprises a first extension (height of the rearmost portion of 23, i.e. height at portion where screws 26 extend) in the direction of an axis (up-down axis) orthogonal to the knife plane and which is configured to hold the double-knife cutting system (col. 2 lines 66-68), wherein a gap is arranged between the knife bar and the double-knife cutting system (Fig. 2, rearmost portion of 23 is rearwardly spaced from knives 15,16), wherein a section (17,18) of the knife back adjoins the gap,
wherein the section of the knife back adjacent to the gap is bent in the direction of the orthogonal axis (sections 17,18 are upwardly and downwardly bent, as seen in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Hinks discloses the mower knife device according to claim 13, wherein the knife bar (rearmost portion of 23) is arranged at the level of the double-knife cutting system (10) and symmetrically around the knife plane (see Fig. 2, symmetric about midplane of knives), and/or wherein the section (17) of the knife back of the upper cutting knife (15) adjacent to the gap and the section (18) of the knife back of the lower cutting knife (16) adjacent to the gap are bent substantially symmetrically with respect to the knife plane (see Fig. 2, bent portions 17,18 are symmetric about midplane of knives).
Regarding claim 15, Hinks discloses the mower knife device according to claim 13, wherein the section (17,18) of the knife back (11,12) adjacent to the gap is bent uniformly along an entire width of the double-knife cutting system (10) (Fig. 4, col. 2 lines 50-53).
Regarding claim 16, Hinks discloses the mower knife device according to claim 13, wherein the section (17,18) of the knife back (11,12) adjacent to the gap is bent such that a distance between a projecting part (upper tip of 17) of the bent knife back of the upper cutting knife (15) and a projecting part (lower tip of 18) of the bent knife back of the lower cutting knife (16) in the direction of the orthogonal axis (up-down axis) corresponds to at least the first extension of the knife bar (Fig. 2, combined height of bent sections 17 + 18 is at least as tall as height of rearmost portion of 23, i.e. where screws 26 extend).
Regarding claim 23, Hinks discloses the mower knife device according to claim 13, wherein the upper cutting knife (15) and/or the lower cutting knife (16) is formed in one piece and made of a flat steel (col. 6 lines 64-65 formed of stainless steel) and subsequently bent (Figs. 2-3, col. 2 lines 47-55 see “L-shaped cross section”).
Regarding claim 24, Hinks discloses the mower knife device according to claim 13, wherein remaining sections of the upper cutting knife (15) and of the lower cutting knife (16) are formed substantially flat outside the bent sections of the knife back (Fig. 2-3, forward portions of knives 15,16 are substantially flat and horizontal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomlinson or Hinks as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Majkrzak (US 20050166566 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Tomlinson or Hinks discloses the mower knife device according to claim 13, wherein each blade element comprises two boundaries with cutting edges (Tomlinson teaches each cutting tooth 122’124’ comprises two lateral cutting edges, Hinks teaches each cutting tooth 15,16 comprises two lateral cutting edges) arranged thereon, but does not explicitly detail wherein the boundaries are convexly formed such that the cutting edge of one blade element and the opposite cutting edge of an adjacent blade element extend continuously over the knife back.
In the same field of endeavor, Majkrzak discloses a similar sickle mower including a cutting knife (10) comprising a plurality of blade elements (15), wherein each blade element comprises two strictly convexly formed boundaries with cutting edges (26) arranged thereon, wherein the cutting edges of adjacent blade elements extend continuously over the knife back (19) (para. [0019] continuously curved from tips 32 toward inner midpoint 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the blade elements of Tomlinson or Hinks to have curved, continuous cutting edges as opposed to straight line tapered edges, as taught by Majkrzak, in order to greatly increase the cutting capacity of the knife sections (Majkrzak at para. [0005 and 0017]).
Regarding claim 19, Tomlinson/Hinks in view of Majkrzak discloses the mower knife device according to claim 18. Majkrzak further teaches wherein each blade element (15) is symmetrically constructed around a centerline (36) which runs parallel to a direction from a blade tip (32) of the blade element to a knife bar (12) (i.e. parallel to fore-aft direction), wherein the two strictly convexly formed boundaries (26) in the region of the blade tip run substantially parallel to the centerline (see Majkrzak blade configuration shown on the left of Fig. 1 and bottom of para. [0016] teaches at a region adjacent tips 32 the cutting edges 26 are linear and parallel to the fore and aft center line 36, i.e. the space between the cutting edge lines 26 shown by double arrow 40 in Fig. 4 is constant).
Regarding claim 20, Tomlinson/Hinks in view of Majkrzak discloses the mower knife device according to claim 18. Majkrzak further teaches wherein the cutting edges (26) are flat (Majkrzak at Figs. 1 and 4-5, para. [0006] teaches cutting edges are edges are also smoothly curved).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Talbot et al. (US 10918017 B2) discloses a cutter bar having rearwardly extending diverging arms. Shimizu et al. (US 20210029887 A1) discloses a reciprocating blade apparatus. Peterson (US 10321636 B2) discloses a vegetation trimming apparatus. Yang et al. (US 6510681 B2) discloses a high speed sickle cutting system. Wells (US 3564714 A) discloses a trimmer blade tooth configuration. Herman (US 3083518 A) discloses a weed lawn mower attachment. Huddle et al. (US 2664690 A) discloses a double sickle mower. Kulikowski (US 2042902 A) discloses a hedge trimmer. Auble (US 1113944 A) discloses a cutter for a mower. Hatch (US 0354786 A) discloses an improved cutting tooth.
/JULIA C TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671