DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s Response dated 05/05/2026. Claims 1 and 9 were amended. Claim 10 is newly added.
As a result of amendments to the claim, objection to claim 1 no longer applies.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argument that “Chen does not define when the physical RX/TX circuitry is active in specific time slots, nor does it tie deactivation to prior use of particular slots. Chen's activation/deactivation concerns routing participation rather than physical-layer slot scheduling” is persuasive. To teach this and the amendment two new references are now used in combination with existing Brown to teach the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1, 4 - 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al, (U.S. PGPub 2013/0315078), Brown hereinafter, in view of Kobayashi (US 4574378 A), Kobayashi hereinafter and further in view of Uggmark et al. (US 6564073 B1), Uggmark hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 1 and 9, Brown teaches a communication method for a wireless ad hoc network, wherein the wireless ad hoc network comprises a plurality of nodes, wherein the wireless ad hoc network is a time-slotted barrage relay network, wherein each node comprises a receiver RX circuit being configured to receive data packages based on time division multiple access (TDMA) frames, wherein each node comprises a transmitter TX circuit being configured to transmit data packages based on TDMA frames, (fig. 1 and paragraphs 0013 to 0015 discloses ad hoc network of plurality of nodes. [0013] … applicable to time-slotted barrage relay networks. In particular, time is divided into frames, which are further divided into M slots per frame (FIG. 1 employs 3 slots per frame labeled “A”, “B”, and “C”). ... -[0014] In one embodiment, for example, the central node 101 transmits a packet on slot A of the first TDMA frame. ... )
Yet, Brown does not expressly teach wherein the TDMA frames comprise time slots that are unambiguously assigned to one of the nodes, respectively, such that no time slot is assigned to more than one node, the communication method comprising:
However, in the analogous art, Kobayashi explicitly discloses wherein the TDMA frames comprise time slots that are unambiguously assigned to one of the nodes, respectively, such that no time slot is assigned to more than one node, the communication method comprising: (column 1 line 11 to 18 - TDMA (time division multiple access) and ALOHA are well-known as multiple access systems using a shared communication medium such as a satellite shown in FIG. 1. The TDMA scheme divides a channel into time slots at intervals comprising one-packet transmission time. When the number of users is N (positive integer), N slots are given as one frame. Each slot of the frame is permanently assigned to each user. ... )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Brown's Method and System for On-Demand Adaptation of Packet Time-To-Live In Time-Slotted Barrage Relay Networks to include Kobayashi’s permanent assignment of slot to each user for ease of implementation.
Yet, Brown in view of Kobayashi does not expressly teach transmitting, by at least one node of the plurality of nodes, at least one data package in a subset of time slots of a TDMA frame, respectively, wherein the subset of time slots is assigned to a subset of nodes of the plurality of nodes; and deactivating, by the at least one node, the RX circuit and/or the TX circuit of the at least one node during the subset of time slots of subsequent TDMA frames.
However, in the analogous art, Uggmark explicitly discloses transmitting, by at least one node of the plurality of nodes, at least one data package in a subset of time slots of a TDMA frame, respectively, wherein the subset of time slots is assigned to a subset of nodes of the plurality of nodes; and (Column 5 line 1 to 19 - As already mentioned, a TDMA telephone uses a number of control pulses or strobes, which are used to switch on and off i.a. various radio circuits. The strobes are all completely controlled by the CPU 242 in such a way, that the telephone is capable of sending and receiving in the correct TDMA timeslot. For instance, the TX strobe is activated at least once for each TDMA frame in order to switch on transmitter 212 and the components comprised therein, such as the power amplifier (PA). The transmitter is activated, by the TX strobe, just before the correct timeslot and is then deactivated immediately after this timeslot, by switching the TX strobe from e.g. a high logical value to a low logical value. In normal talk mode, i.e. for a voice call, the TX strobe is generated exactly once in every TDMA frame by the CPU 242 and the timing generator 246, for as long as the ongoing telephone call lasts. In case of a data call (DTX), on the other hand, the number of TX strobes may be two or more (multislot) in each TDMA frame.)
deactivating, by the at least one node, the RX circuit and/or the TX circuit of the at least one node during the subset of time slots of subsequent TDMA frames (Column 5 line 1 to 19 - As already mentioned, a TDMA telephone uses a number of control pulses or strobes, which are used to switch on and off i.a. various radio circuits. The strobes are all completely controlled by the CPU 242 in such a way, that the telephone is capable of sending and receiving in the correct TDMA timeslot. For instance, the TX strobe is activated at least once for each TDMA frame in order to switch on transmitter 212 and the components comprised therein, such as the power amplifier (PA). The transmitter is activated, by the TX strobe, just before the correct timeslot and is then deactivated immediately after this timeslot, by switching the TX strobe from e.g. a high logical value to a low logical value. In normal talk mode, i.e. for a voice call, the TX strobe is generated exactly once in every TDMA frame by the CPU 242 and the timing generator 246, for as long as the ongoing telephone call lasts. In case of a data call (DTX), on the other hand, the number of TX strobes may be two or more (multislot) in each TDMA frame.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Brown's Method and System for On-Demand Adaptation of Packet Time-To-Live In Time-Slotted Barrage Relay Networks to include Uggmark’s activation and deactivation on time slot to achieve the use of the slots for both transmit and receive.
Regarding Claim 4, Brown in view of Kobayashi and further in view of Uggmark teaches claim 1.
Brown further teaches wherein the subset of nodes comprises the at least one node and/or nodes being arranged upstream of the at least one node (fig. 1 discloses Node 126 and Node 134 to be upstream of Node 115, other examples are also present in the diagram)
Regarding Claim 5, Brown in view of Kobayashi and further in view of Uggmark teaches claim 1.
Brown further teaches wherein management data is provided and processed in the time slots assigned to the subset of nodes, respectively, wherein the management data comprises configuration information and/or location information associated with the respective node (paragraph 0020 discloses use of Hop Count field and Time to Live TTL ( a management data) incorporated into the data packet in the time slots -[0020] … a time-to-live (TTL) field and a hop count (HC) field. The TTL field is unchanged by relaying nodes while the HC field is set to 1 by the source of a packet and incremented upon relay. … )
Regarding Claim 6, Brown in view of Kobayashi and further in view of Uggmark teaches claim 1.
Brown further teaches wherein the at least one node transmits data packages received from different other nodes during a single TDMA frame in the subsequent TDMA frame (paragraph 0014 - In one embodiment, for example, the central node 101 transmits a packet on slot A of the first TDMA frame. All nodes that successfully receive this packet are, by definition, one hop away from the source. These nodes are labeled 111, 112, . . . , 117 in FIG. 1. These nodes transmit the same packet on slot B, thus relaying to nodes that are 2 hops away from the source ( nodes 121, 122, . . . , 129), which in turn transmit the same packet on slot C. Nodes that are 3 hops away from the source ( nodes 131, 132, . . . , 137) relay the packet on slot A of the second TDMA frame. In this way, packets transmit outward from the source via a decode-and-forward approach.)
Regarding Claim 7, Brown in view of Kobayashi and further in view of Uggmark teaches claim 1.
Brown further teaches wherein the TDMA frames comprise data transmission time slots for transmitting payload data, respectively (paragraph 0013 - … the present invention is especially applicable to time-slotted barrage relay networks. In particular, time is divided into frames, which are further divided into M slots per frame (FIG. 1 employs 3 slots per frame labeled “A”, “B”, and “C”). The value of M is denoted the “spatial pipelining factor” in the follow paragraphs. The data that is transmitted in a given time slot is denoted a “packet.” Two packets that are transmitted by two different nodes are said to be identical if all data—including all protocol header information—contained in the respective packets is identical. )
Regarding Claim 8, Brown in view of Kobayashi and further in view of Uggmark teaches claim 1.
Brown further teaches wherein the payload data corresponds to image data, video data, audio data, and/or language data (paragraph 0011 - … many important MANET applications (e.g., voice and video transmission in military and first responder networks). … ).
Regarding Claim 10, Brown teaches a communication method for a wireless ad hoc network, wherein the wireless ad hoc network comprises a plurality of nodes, wherein the wireless ad hoc network is a time-slotted barrage relay network, wherein each node comprises a receiver (RX) circuit being configured to receive data packages based on time division multiple access (TDMA) frames, wherein each node comprises a transmitter (TX) circuit being configured to transmit data packages based on TDMA frames, (fig. 1 and paragraphs 0013 to 0015 discloses ad hoc network of plurality of nodes. [0013] … applicable to time-slotted barrage relay networks. In particular, time is divided into frames, which are further divided into M slots per frame (FIG. 1 employs 3 slots per frame labeled “A”, “B”, and “C”). ... -[0014] In one embodiment, for example, the central node 101 transmits a packet on slot A of the first TDMA frame. ... )
Yet, Brown does not expressly teach wherein the TDMA frames each comprise time slots that are unambiguously assigned to one of the nodes, respectively, such that no time slot is assigned to more than one node, the communication method comprising:
However, in the analogous art, Kobayashi explicitly discloses wherein the TDMA frames each comprise time slots that are unambiguously assigned to one of the nodes, respectively, such that no time slot is assigned to more than one node, the communication method comprising: (column 1 line 11 to 18 - TDMA (time division multiple access) and ALOHA are well-known as multiple access systems using a shared communication medium such as a satellite shown in FIG. 1. The TDMA scheme divides a channel into time slots at intervals comprising one-packet transmission time. When the number of users is N (positive integer), N slots are given as one frame. Each slot of the frame is permanently assigned to each user. ... )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Brown's Method and System for On-Demand Adaptation of Packet Time-To-Live In Time-Slotted Barrage Relay Networks to include Kobayashi’s permanent assignment of slot to each user for ease of implementation.
Yet, Brown in view of Kobayashi does not expressly teach transmitting, by at least one node of the plurality of nodes, at least one data package in a subset of time slots of a TDMA frame, respectively, wherein the subset of time slots is assigned to a subset of nodes of the plurality of nodes, wherein the plurality of nodes exchange signals periodically in cycles having a predetermined number of TDMA frames, and wherein in the course of each cycle, the at least one node receives and/or transmits the at least one data package during each time slot only once; and
deactivating, by the at least one node, the RX circuit and/or the TX circuit of the at least one node during the subset of time slots of subsequent TDMA frames within the same cycle.
However, in the analogous art, Uggmark explicitly discloses transmitting, by at least one node of the plurality of nodes, at least one data package in a subset of time slots of a TDMA frame, respectively, wherein the subset of time slots is assigned to a subset of nodes of the plurality of nodes, wherein the plurality of nodes exchange signals periodically in cycles having a predetermined number of TDMA frames, and wherein in the course of each cycle, the at least one node receives and/or transmits the at least one data package during each time slot only once; (Column 5 line 1 to 19 - As already mentioned, a TDMA telephone uses a number of control pulses or strobes, which are used to switch on and off i.a. various radio circuits. The strobes are all completely controlled by the CPU 242 in such a way, that the telephone is capable of sending and receiving in the correct TDMA timeslot. For instance, the TX strobe is activated at least once for each TDMA frame in order to switch on transmitter 212 and the components comprised therein, such as the power amplifier (PA). The transmitter is activated, by the TX strobe, just before the correct timeslot and is then deactivated immediately after this timeslot, by switching the TX strobe from e.g. a high logical value to a low logical value. In normal talk mode, i.e. for a voice call, the TX strobe is generated exactly once in every TDMA frame by the CPU 242 and the timing generator 246, for as long as the ongoing telephone call lasts. In case of a data call (DTX), on the other hand, the number of TX strobes may be two or more (multislot) in each TDMA frame.)
And deactivating, by the at least one node, the RX circuit and/or the TX circuit of the at least one node during the subset of time slots of subsequent TDMA frames within the same cycle (Column 5 line 1 to 19 - As already mentioned, a TDMA telephone uses a number of control pulses or strobes, which are used to switch on and off i.a. various radio circuits. The strobes are all completely controlled by the CPU 242 in such a way, that the telephone is capable of sending and receiving in the correct TDMA timeslot. For instance, the TX strobe is activated at least once for each TDMA frame in order to switch on transmitter 212 and the components comprised therein, such as the power amplifier (PA). The transmitter is activated, by the TX strobe, just before the correct timeslot and is then deactivated immediately after this timeslot, by switching the TX strobe from e.g. a high logical value to a low logical value. In normal talk mode, i.e. for a voice call, the TX strobe is generated exactly once in every TDMA frame by the CPU 242 and the timing generator 246, for as long as the ongoing telephone call lasts. In case of a data call (DTX), on the other hand, the number of TX strobes may be two or more (multislot) in each TDMA frame.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Brown's Method and System for On-Demand Adaptation of Packet Time-To-Live In Time-Slotted Barrage Relay Networks to include Uggmark’s activation and deactivation on time slot to achieve the use of the slots for both transmit and receive.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al, (U.S. PGPub 2013/0315078), Brown hereinafter, in view of Kobayashi (US 4574378 A), Kobayashi hereinafter and further in view of Uggmark et al. (US 6564073 B1), Uggmark hereinafter and further in view of Sengodan et al. (U.S. PGPub 2002/0054596), Sengodan hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 2, Brown in view of Kobayashi and further in view of Uggmark teaches claim 1.
Yet, Brown in view of Kobayashi and further in view of Uggmark does not expressly teach wherein management data is provided and processed in the time slots assigned to the subset of nodes, respectively, wherein the management data comprises a remaining hop count portion, wherein the remaining hop count portion comprises information on a remaining hop count for the management data associated with the respective node, and wherein a value of the remaining hop count is decreased at each hop by the respective node.
However, in the analogous art, Sengodan explicitly discloses wherein management data is provided and processed in the time slots assigned to the subset of nodes, respectively, wherein the management data comprises a remaining hop count portion, wherein the remaining hop count portion comprises information on a remaining hop count for the management data associated with the respective node, and wherein a value of the remaining hop count is decreased at each hop by the respective node (paragraph 0071 - ... . The Hop Count 410 is used to determine whether the message propagates any further or not. Every node of the multicast tree that receives the request message decrements the Hop Count by one, and if the resulting value is not zero, it forwards it down the multicast tree.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Brown's Method and System for On-Demand Adaptation of Packet Time-To-Live In Time-Slotted Barrage Relay Networks to include Sengodan's hop countdown to set node limit for sent packets.
4. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al, (U.S. PGPub 2013/0315078), Brown hereinafter, in view of Kobayashi (US 4574378 A), Kobayashi hereinafter and further in view of Uggmark et al. (US 6564073 B1), Uggmark hereinafter and further in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0090275), Zhang hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 3, Brown in view of Kobayashi and further in view of Uggmark teaches claim 1.
Yet, Brown in view of Kobayashi and further in view of Uggmark does not expressly teach wherein the RX circuit and/or the TX circuit are reactivated for the subset of time slots after a number of TDMA frames corresponding to the remaining hop count have elapsed.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly discloses wherein the RX circuit and/or the TX circuit are reactivated for the subset of time slots after a number of TDMA frames corresponding to the remaining hop count have elapsed (paragraph 0026 - a time slot determination module configured to determine a set of time slots amongst the plurality of sets of time slots for the node to transmit data packets, the set of time slots being determined based on a hop count associated with the node.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Brown's Method and System for On-Demand Adaptation of Packet Time-To-Live In Time-Slotted Barrage Relay Networks to include Zhangs's determination of timeslots set based hop countdown to set node limit for sent packets.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472