Double Patenting
Claim 4 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim 5. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Specification
Applicant is advised to follow the Specification guidelines below. (For example, paragraph 1 of disclosure should be removed).
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT: See MPEP § 310.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT. See 37 CFR 1.71(g).
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM: The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR. See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE: See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING: See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is in claim format and contains legal phraseology, e.g. “comprises”.. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a top, a bottom, two end pieces”. The language “end pieces” is confusing since it is the same exact body. For the purpose of this Office Action, Examiner interprets it as “a top, a bottom, two ends and two sides”
Claim 1, line 5 recites “said center support”. Examiner suggests replacing it with the following for constancy “said center support bar”
Claims 1 and 2 recite “in combination”. The term is unnecessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirola (USP 3,280,674).
Regarding claim 1, Sirola discloses a work material stabilizer for a lathe, said work material stabilizer (14) comprising in combination: (A). a center support bar (26) having a top, a bottom, two ends and two sides, said center support bar having a predetermined opening (38) from side to side; said center support being detachedly affixed to a linear slide block and said linear slide block being detachedly affixed to a linear slide bar and said linear slide bar (16) is detachedly affixed to a metal cutting bar (18) (figures 1 & 3 and col. 1, lines 48-51); a bearing (52) having a centered opening located in said predetermined opening (38) (figure 2). Siroja discloses the claimed invention (i.e. center support bar having a predetermined opening (38) except for the opening being near one of the ends. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to place the opening at any location of the center support bar depending on the size of the center support bar, shape of workpiece etc, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the opening at any location of the center support bar depending on the size of the center support bar, shape of workpiece etc.
Regarding claim 2, Sirola discloses a metal material working piece (W) located in and through said predetermined opening (38); said material work piece (W) being held by jaws of a chuck (12) of a lathe by one end of said material work piece (figure 1); an opposite end of said material work piece being held by a lathe centering piece (i.e. tailstock) (col. 1, lines 25-27).
Regarding claims 3-5, Sirola is silent about the material of the work material stabilizer. Examiner takes Official Notice that it is old and well known in the machining art to utilize metal such as steel to make the work material stabilizer due to its strength and durability.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirola (USP 3,280,674) in view of Pace (US Pub. No. 2004/0060403).
The modified device of Sirola discloses all aspects of the claimed subject matter as set forth in the rejection above. The modified device of Sirola fails to disclose said
bearing outside diameter is consistent in size and said centered opening in said bearing is varied in size to accommodate various sizes of material work pieces. Pace discloses a work material stabilizer having a top, bottom, two ends and two sides as well as an opening (22a) to receive a workpiece (figures 1-8). Pace also discloses bushing assembly (42) that is insertable into the workpiece support opening and bearing assembly (24) located in said opening (paragraph 8 and figures 5, 7 and 8). Pace also discloses implementing a bushing (42) of varying sizes enables the user to operate on workpieces of unlimited sizes and additionally, the advantages of the present invention provide the ability to machine numerous types of materials and still obtain the same optimal results (paragraph 33). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to keep Sirola’s bearing outside diameter consistent in size and said centered opening in said bearing is varied in size to, as taught by Pace for the purpose of accommodating varying workpiece sizes (paragraph 33).
Conclusion
/SARA ADDISU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 3/21/26