Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite “partitioning elements of the vector into a first subset of elements with even indices and a second subset of elements with odd indices; and applying a reduction operation to combine elements from the second subset of elements with corresponding elements from the first subset of elements to obtain a first set of reduced elements” (claim 19) and “determining whether the vector has an odd number of elements; and in response to the vector having an odd number of elements, applying the reduction operation to an unmatched member of the first subset of elements and an identity value of the reduction operation” (claim 20). The partitioning, applying, and determining limitations are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than “reading a vector from a physical register of a vector register file or from bypass circuitry”, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – reading a vector from a physical register of a vector register file or from bypass circuitry. The element is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic register performing a generic storage of vector data, or generic bypass circuitry providing data) such that it amounts to no more than merely applying the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Retrieving data is an insignificant-extra solution activity. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of retrieving data amounts to no more than merely applying the exception using a generic computer component. Mere applying an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Retrieving data from registers or circuitry is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willcock, US Patent Application Publication 2016/0098208 (hereinafter Willcock) in view of Kunzman et al., US Patent Application Publication 2016/0179537 (hereinafter Kunzman).
Regarding claim 1, Willcock teaches:
An integrated circuit comprising: an execution circuitry configured to, responsive to a folding micro-op (see e.g. para. [0030], [0063], sensing circuitry performing/executing logical operations/instructions such as a reduction operation): read a vector from memory cells (see e.g. para. [0050]); partition elements of the vector into a first subset of elements with even indices and a second subset of elements with odd indices (see e.g. para. [0050], vector data is split into even and odd indexed elements); and apply a reduction operation to combine elements from the second subset of elements with corresponding elements from the first subset of elements to obtain a first set of reduced elements (see e.g. para. [0050-2], [0063-4], a reduction operation is performed on even indexed elements and odd indexed elements).
Willcock fails to explicitly teach wherein the memory cells are a vector register file configured to store register values of an instruction set architecture in physical registers.
Kunzman teaches a vector register file configured to store register values of an instruction set architecture in physical registers (see e.g. para. [0036], [0097], [0108]).
Willcock recognizes the logical equivalence and interchangeability of performing operations on data in memory or performing operations on data in registers (see e.g. para. [0028-30]), each with their advantages. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Willcock and Kunzman such that the vector data are read from a vector register file configured to store register values of an instruction set architecture in physical registers. This would have provided the clearly predictable result of performing the same operation on data simply sourced from a different location. This would have also provided increased flexibility in sourcing data for the reduction operation using fast and well-known storage such as registers.
Regarding claim 2, Willcock in view of Kunzman teaches or suggests:
The integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the execution circuitry is configured to, where the vector has an odd number of elements, apply the reduction operation to an unmatched member of the first subset of elements and an identity value of the reduction operation (see e.g. Willcock para. [0056], an empty/unmatched element can have an identity value applied).
Regarding claim 3, Willcock in view of Kunzman teaches or suggests:
The integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the reduction operation is one of integer addition or floating-point addition (see e.g. Willcock para. [0052], Kunzman para. [0098], [0108]).
Regarding claim 4, Willcock in view of Kunzman teaches or suggests:
The integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the reduction operation is an operation from a set of operations that includes integer addition, integer minimum, integer maximum, floating-point addition, floating-point minimum, floating-point maximum, logical AND, logical OR, and logical XOR (see e.g. Willcock para. [0052], Kunzman para. [0108]).
Regarding claim 5, Willcock in view of Kunzman teaches or suggests:
The integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the execution circuitry comprises one or more pipelined execution units (see e.g. Kunzman para. [0104]).
Regarding claim 6, Willcock in view of Kunzman teaches or suggests:
The integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the execution circuitry is configured to, in an early phase of a reduction operation applied to a large vector with elements stored in multiple physical registers of the vector register file: read a third subset of the elements of the large vector from a first physical register of the vector register file or from bypass circuitry; read a fourth subset of the elements of the large vector from a second physical register of the vector register file or from bypass circuitry; and apply the reduction operation to combine elements from the fourth subset of elements with corresponding elements from the third subset of elements to obtain a second set of reduced elements (see e.g. Kunzman para. [0158]).
Regarding claim 7, Willcock in view of Kunzman teaches or suggests:
The integrated circuit of claim 6, wherein the execution circuitry is configured to, where the large vector has an odd number of elements, apply the reduction operation to an unmatched member of the third subset of elements and an identity value of the reduction operation (see e.g. Willcock para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 8, Willcock in view of Kunzman teaches or suggests:
The integrated circuit of claim 1, comprising a second execution circuitry that is configured to, in an early phase of a reduction operation applied to a large vector with elements stored in multiple physical registers of the vector register file: read a third subset of the elements of the large vector from a first physical register of the vector register file or from bypass circuitry; read a fourth subset of the elements of the large vector from a second physical register of the vector register file or from bypass circuitry; and apply the reduction operation to combine elements from the fourth subset of elements with corresponding elements from the third subset of elements obtain a second set of reduced elements (see e.g. Kunzman para. [0158]).
Regarding claim 9, Willcock in view of Kunzman teaches or suggests:
The integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein the second execution circuitry is configured to, where the large vector has an odd number of elements, apply the reduction operation to an unmatched member of the third subset of elements and an identity value of the reduction operation (see e.g. Willcock para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 10, Willcock in view of Kunzman teaches or suggests:
The integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein the second execution circuitry comprises one or more pipelined execution units (see e.g. Kunzman para. [0104]).
Claims 11-18 are rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claims 1-8.
Claims 19-20 are rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claims 1-2.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Song et al., US Patent 5,991,531, teaches adding even and odd elements of a vector together.
Conclusion
/JOHN M LINDLOF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183