DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 5/06/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that method claims 13-20 depend on instant claim 1 and thus do not constitute a separate invention. This is not found persuasive because the inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because inventions II and I are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case the product of group I can be made by a materially different method than the method of group II, such as by extrusion, powder metallurgy or direct casting.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/06/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “high permeability, high magnetic flux, and low iron loss” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “high permeability, high magnetic flux, and low iron loss” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. This renders the properties of the electrical steel sheet indefinite which renders the scope of the claim indefinite.
Instant claims 2-6 depend on instant claim 1 and are indefinite for at least the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 2006074650 A to Bae et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding claim 7, Bae ‘650 discloses an electrical steel comprising the following composition (Bae ‘650, title, abstract, Table 1, Example A) which lies within the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed wt%
Bae ‘650 A wt%
Lies within?
C
0-0.005
0.0021
Yes
N
0-0.005
0.0012
Yes
S
0-0.005
0.0015
Yes
P
0-0.05
0.006
Yes
Si
1.0-2.5
1.79
Yes
Al
0.1-0.8
0.37
Yes
Mn
0.1-0.8
0.26
Yes
Sb
0.01-0.10
0.04
Yes
Fe
Balance
Balance
Yes
10Si + 11Al + 6Mn
20-30
23.53
Yes
Bae ‘650 anticipates instant claim 7 because Bae ‘650 discloses all of the limitations of instant claim 7.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 101067478 B1 to Bae et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding claim 7, Bae ‘478 discloses an electrical steel comprising the following composition (Bae ‘478, title, abstract, Table 1, Example B) which lies within the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed wt%
Bae ‘478 B wt%
Lies within?
C
0-0.005
0.0026
Yes
N
0-0.005
0.0014
Yes
S
0-0.005
0.0022
Yes
P
0-0.05
0.014
Yes
Si
1.0-2.5
1.97
Yes
Al
0.1-0.8
0.33
Yes
Mn
0.1-0.8
0.20
Yes
Sb
0.01-0.10
0.03
Yes
Fe
Balance
Balance
Yes
10Si + 11Al + 6Mn
20-30
24.53
Yes
Bae ‘478 anticipates instant claim 7 because Bae ‘478 discloses all of the limitations of instant claim 7.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 2015062245 A to Bae et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding claim 7, Bae ‘245 discloses an electrical steel comprising the following composition (Bae ‘245, title, abstract, Table 1, Example X2) which lies within the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed wt%
Bae ‘245 X2 wt%
Lies within?
C
0-0.005
0.0037
Yes
N
0-0.005
0.0016
Yes
S
0-0.005
0.0024
Yes
P
0-0.05
0.004
Yes
Si
1.0-2.5
1.67
Yes
Al
0.1-0.8
0.12
Yes
Mn
0.1-0.8
0.38
Yes
Sb
0.01-0.10
0.03
Yes
Fe
Balance
Balance
Yes
10Si + 11Al + 6Mn
20-30
20.3
Yes
Bae ‘245 anticipates instant claim 7 because Bae ‘245 discloses all of the limitations of instant claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over KR 2006074650 A to Bae et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes) as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding claims 1-6 and 8-12 Bae ‘650 discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet lying wholly within the instantly claimed composition ranges as set forth above (Bae ‘650, title, abstract, Table 1, Example A). Regarding the limitations “high permeability, high magnetic flux, and low iron loss,” as well as the claimed properties of instant claims 2-6 and 8-12, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the non-oriented electrical steel of Bae ‘650 would be expected to have the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed electrical steel because the non-oriented electrical steel of Bae ‘650 has the same or substantially the same composition and structure. Therefore, a rejection based alternatively on either 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 is eminently fair and acceptable.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over KR 101067478 B1 to Bae et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes) as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding claims 1-6 and 8-12 Bae ‘478 discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet lying wholly within the instantly claimed composition ranges as set forth above (Bae ‘478, title, abstract, Table 1, Example B). Regarding the limitations “high permeability, high magnetic flux, and low iron loss,” as well as the claimed properties of instant claims 2-6 and 8-12, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the non-oriented electrical steel of Bae ‘478 would be expected to have the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed electrical steel because the non-oriented electrical steel of Bae ‘478 has the same or substantially the same composition and structure. Therefore, a rejection based alternatively on either 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 is eminently fair and acceptable.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over KR 2015062245 A to Bae et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes) as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding claims 1-6 and 8-12 Bae ‘245 discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet lying wholly within the instantly claimed composition ranges as set forth above (Bae ‘650, title, abstract, Table 1, Example X2). Regarding the limitations “high permeability, high magnetic flux, and low iron loss,” as well as the claimed properties of instant claims 2-6 and 8-12, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01 [R-3].) In the instant case, the non-oriented electrical steel of Bae ‘245 would be expected to have the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed electrical steel because the non-oriented electrical steel of Bae ‘245 has the same or substantially the same composition and structure. Therefore, a rejection based alternatively on either 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 is eminently fair and acceptable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20110042625 A1 to Tanaka and JP 2001158948 to Fujita disclose non-oriented electrical steels with compositions relevant to the instant claims.
/BRIAN D WALCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738