DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the reference Bhutta [US 2023/0082359 A1] does not teach or discloses “A match network comprising: a variable vacuum capacitor; one or more solid-state capacitances switchably in parallel with the variable vacuum capacitor; and a controller configured to:control the variable vacuum capacitor to impedance match to a first impedance state of a plasma load; andswitch at least one solid-state capacitance into or out of parallel arrangement with the variable vacuum capacitor to impedance match to a second state of the plasma load.” (see page 8-15)
Examiner disagrees:
In response to applicant's arguments against the reference that does not teach “are not in parallel with one another. The claims require that the solid-state capacitances be " Capacitors 31A and 33A are not in parallel. Independently, FIG. 3 shows capacitor 33A shunted to ground on the RF-input side of series inductor 35 and capacitor 31A shunted to ground on the RF-output side of that same inductor. Two shunt elements separated by a series inductor switchably in parallel with the variable vacuum capacitor," and that at least one solid-state capacitance be switched "into or out of parallel arrangement with" it. FIG. 3 does not show that relationship between 33A and 31A under any reading.” Examiner disagree: The prior art Bhutta clearly teaches in Fig. 4-7 the use of an electronic circuit for providing a variable capacitance using an electronically variable capacitor having two capacitor arrays; Furthermore, The prior art Bhutta discloses For example, in FIG. 3, capacitor 33A can be an EVC, while capacitor 31A can be non-variable. In other embodiments, more than one capacitor in the matching network can be variable (paragraph [0152]) in Fig. 12, A second capacitor 39B can also be included. This capacitor can be, for example, an EVC, a variable capacitor that is not an EVC (e.g., a vacuum variable capacitor), or a non-variable capacitor (see paragraph [0163]) EVC 651 of FIG. 4 can be used in most systems requiring a varying capacitance. For example, EVC 651 can be used as the series EVC and/or shunt EVC in matching network 11 of FIG. 2, or as one or both of the shunt EVCs in matching network 11A of FIG. 3. It is often desired that the differences between the capacitance values allow for both a sufficiently fine resolution of the overall capacitance of the circuit and a wide range of capacitance values to enable a better impedance match at the input of a RF matching network, and EVC 651 allows this. (see paragraph [0075]) FIG. 5 is a schematic of a variable capacitance system 655 according to an accumulative setup. Where this figure uses reference numbers identical to those of FIG. 4, it is understood that the relevant components can have features similar to those discussed in FIG. 4. The variable capacitance system 655 comprises a variable capacitor 651 for providing a varying capacitance. The variable capacitor 651 has an input 613 and an output 630. The variable capacitor 651 includes a plurality of discrete capacitors 653 operably coupled in parallel. The plurality of capacitors 653 includes first (fine) capacitors 651a and second (coarse) capacitors 651B. Further, the variable capacitor 651 includes a plurality of switches 661. Of the switches 661, one switch is operably coupled in series to each of the plurality of capacitors to switch in and out each capacitor, thereby enabling the variable capacitor 651 to provide varying total capacitances. The variable capacitor 651 has a variable total capacitance that is increased when discrete capacitors 653 are switched in and decreased when the discrete capacitors 653 are switched out. (see paragraph [0082])
Bhutta discloses in Fig. 3-7 and 12, one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3, 33a and Fig. 5, 653) switchably in parallel (Fig. 3-7, Paragraph [0082-83 & 0089]) with the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]); and a controller (Fig. 3, 45) configured to: control the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) to impedance match (Paragraph [0100-116]) to a first impedance state of a plasma load (Fig. 3, 19); and switch at least one solid-state capacitance (Fig. 3, 33 and Fig. 7, 653) into or out of parallel arrangement with the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) to impedance match to a second state (Paragraph [0089-90 & 0102 & 0229 & 0240]) of the plasma load (Fig. 3, 19).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, The prior art The prior art Bhutta discloses and teaches the claim limitations as explained in office action mailed on 05/26/2026. For example, in FIG. 3, capacitor 33A can be an EVC, while capacitor 31A can be non-variable. In other embodiments, more than one capacitor in the matching network can be variable (paragraph [0152]) in Fig. 12, A second capacitor 39B can also be included. This capacitor can be, for example, an EVC, a variable capacitor that is not an EVC (e.g., a vacuum variable capacitor), or a non-variable capacitor (see paragraph [0163]) EVC 651 of FIG. 4 can be used in most systems requiring a varying capacitance. For example, EVC 651 can be used as the series EVC and/or shunt EVC in matching network 11 of FIG. 2, or as one or both of the shunt EVCs in matching network 11A of FIG. 3. It is often desired that the differences between the capacitance values allow for both a sufficiently fine resolution of the overall capacitance of the circuit and a wide range of capacitance values to enable a better impedance match at the input of a RF matching network, and EVC 651 allows this. (see paragraph [0075]) FIG. 5 is a schematic of a variable capacitance system 655 according to an accumulative setup. Where this figure uses reference numbers identical to those of FIG. 4, it is understood that the relevant components can have features similar to those discussed in FIG. 4. The variable capacitance system 655 comprises a variable capacitor 651 for providing a varying capacitance. The variable capacitor 651 has an input 613 and an output 630. The variable capacitor 651 includes a plurality of discrete capacitors 653 operably coupled in parallel. The plurality of capacitors 653 includes first (fine) capacitors 651a and second (coarse) capacitors 651B. Further, the variable capacitor 651 includes a plurality of switches 661. Of the switches 661, one switch is operably coupled in series to each of the plurality of capacitors to switch in and out each capacitor, thereby enabling the variable capacitor 651 to provide varying total capacitances. The variable capacitor 651 has a variable total capacitance that is increased when discrete capacitors 653 are switched in and decreased when the discrete capacitors 653 are switched out. (see paragraph [0082]).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Furthermore the dependent claims 3-7, 9-12, 15-18 and 20 are similarly rejected from independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhutta [US 2023/0082359 A1].
In regards to claim 1. Bhutta discloses a match network (Fig. 1-2, 11) comprising:
a variable capacitor (Fig. 1-2, 31 & Paragraph [0058]);
Bhutta does not specify one or more solid-state capacitances switchably in parallel with the variable vacuum capacitor; and a controller configured to: control the variable vacuum capacitor to impedance match to a first impedance state of a plasma load; and switch at least one solid-state capacitance into or out of parallel arrangement with the variable vacuum capacitor to impedance match to a second state of the plasma load.
Bhutta discloses in Fig. 3-7 and 12, one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3, 33a and Fig. 5, 653) switchably in parallel (Fig. 3-7, Paragraph [0082-83 & 0089]) with the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]); and a controller (Fig. 3, 45) configured to: control the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) to impedance match (Paragraph [0100-116]) to a first impedance state of a plasma load (Fig. 3, 19); and switch at least one solid-state capacitance (Fig. 3, 33 and Fig. 7, 653) into or out of parallel arrangement with the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) to impedance match to a second state (Paragraph [0089-90 & 0102 & 0229 & 0240]) of the plasma load (Fig. 3, 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Bhutta to discloses or teach one or more solid-state capacitances switchably in parallel with the variable vacuum capacitor; and a controller configured to: control the variable vacuum capacitor to impedance match to a first impedance state of a plasma load; and switch at least one solid-state capacitance into or out of parallel arrangement with the variable vacuum capacitor to impedance match to a second state of the plasma load for purpose of improvement in matching network tune speed and determine a parameter related to the matching network or the plasma chamber; based on the determined parameter, determine from the different positions of the VRE a new position for the VRE to reduce a reflected power at the RF input of the matching network; wherein the power control scheme is configured to be altered; and wherein, while the power control scheme is altered, the matching network alters the VRE to the new position as disclosed by Bhutta (Paragraph [0098 & 0009]).
In regards to claim 2. Bhutta discloses the match network of claim 1, wherein the controller (Fig. 1-7, 45 and 645) is configured to: tune the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) to impedance match to the first impedance state (match configurations via lookup table) based on a first power pulse (Fig. 15, 333) applied (Fig. 14, 15, para. [0181]-[0183], [0187]-[0189]: FIG. 14 provides a flow chart of the exemplified process 300 for impedance matching when the RF input signal has multi-level power setpoints. FIG. 15 provides a graph 330 of RF signal 332 having a first pulse level L1 and second pulse level L2, as well as the times 338, 339 for determining the parameter-related value...Control circuit of the matching network detects whether the first pulse level is being provided (operation 302)...While the first pulse level is being detected (operation 302), the second pulse level is not being detected (operation 312). During this first pulse interval 333, while the first level process 301A is measuring the parameter to determine the parameter- related value and alter the EVCs accordingly, second level process 301B is determining a parameter- related value for the second pulse level (operation 320) without measuring the parameter...At second pulse interval 335, the first pulse level L1 is OFF and the second pulse level L2 is ON. When this occurs, the first pulse level L1 and the second pulse level L2 switch roles) to the plasma load (Fig. 3, 19); and switch (Fig. 5, 653) the at least one solid-state capacitance to impedance match to the second impedance state (match configurations via lookup table) based on a second power pulse (Fig. 15, 333) applied to the plasma load that is different than the first power pulse (Fig. 14, 15, para. [0181 ]-[0183], [0187]-[0189]: FIG. 14 provides a flow chart of the exemplified process 300 for impedance matching when the RF input signal has multi-level power setpoints. FIG. 15 provides a graph 330 of RF signal 332 having a first pulse level L1 and second pulse level L2, as well as the times 338, 339 for determining the parameter-related value...Control circuit of the matching network detects whether the first pulse level is being provided (operation 302)...While the first pulse level is being detected (operation 302), the second pulse level is not being detected (operation 312). During this first pulse interval 333, while the first level process 301A is measuring the parameter to determine the parameter-related value and alter the EVCs accordingly, second level process 301B is determining a parameter-related value for the second pulse level (operation 320) without measuring the parameter...At second pulse interval 335, the first pulse level L1 is OFF and the second pulse level L2 is ON. When this occurs, the first pulse level L1 and the second pulse level L2 switch roles).
In regards to claim 3. Bhutta discloses the match network of claim 2, wherein the controller (Fig. 3-4, 45 and 645) is configured to: determine a first switched configuration (Fig. 5, 661) of the one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 5, 653) to impedance match for the first power pulse (Fig. 14-15 and 19, Paragraph [0224-227]); determine a second switched configuration (Fig. 5, 661) of the one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 5, 653) to impedance match (Fig. 14-15 and 19 & Paragraph [0224-227]) for the second power pulse (Fig. 15, 335); and toggle between the first switched configuration (Fig. 5, 661) and the second switched configuration (Fig. 5, 661) for the first power pulse (Fig. 15, 335) and the second power pulse (Fig. 14-15 and 19, 335 & Paragraph [0224-227]), respectively.
In regards to claim 4. Bhutta discloses the match network of claim 1, wherein the controller (Fig. 3-5, 45 and 645) is configured to: tune the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) to impedance match to the first impedance state (match configurations via lookup table) based on an average impedance value (Average parameter value) of a plasma load (Fig. 3, 19) over a period of time (Paragraph [0089 & 0103 & 0184 & 0188]); detect an impedance fluctuation of the plasma load (Fig. 3, 19) from the average impedance value (Fig. 6-7, 14-15 & Paragraph [0055 & 0089 & 0093 & 0103 & 0184 & 0188]); and switch the at least one solid-state capacitance (Fig. 5, 653) to impedance match to one or more second impedance states (match configurations via lookup table) based on the detected impedance fluctuation of the plasma load (Fig. 3, 19 & Fig. 6-7 & Paragraph [0102-103]).
In regards to claim 5. Bhutta discloses the match network of claim 4, wherein the controller (Fig. 3-5, 45 and 645) is configured to: tune the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) based on an impedance value that is offset from the average impedance value (Average parameter value) (Fig. 6-7 & Paragraph [0124 & 0176 & 0177 & 0184]); switch the one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3-7, 653 via 611) to a first switched configuration (array configuration capacitor switch positions via lookup table) to impedance match to the average impedance value (average parameter value) in conjunction with the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]); and switch the one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3-7, 653 via 661) to a second switched configuration (array configuration capacitor switch positions via lookup table) to impedance match based on the detected impedance fluctuation of the plasma load (Fig. 1-7, 19 & Paragraph [0083 & 0102-103]).
In regards to claim 6. Bhutta discloses the match network of claim 1, wherein the controller (Fig. 3-7, 45/645) is configured to: monitor an impedance state of the plasma load (Fig. 5-7 & Paragraph [0089-90]); and in response to detecting an impedance change of the plasma load (Fig. 3-7, 19) from the first impedance state to the second impedance state (Match configuration via lookup table), switch the at least one solid-state capacitance (Fig. 3-7, 653 via 611 of 31) into or out of parallel arrangement with the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) to impedance match to the second state of the plasma load (Fig. 5-7, 19 & Paragraph [0089-90]).
In regards to claim 7. Bhutta discloses the match network of claim 1, further comprising: a first array (Fig. 3-7, 651 of 653) including a first plurality of solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3-7, 653 of 33) and a first plurality of switches (Fig. 3-7, 661 of 33) corresponding with the first plurality of solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3-7, 653 of 33), wherein the first array (Fig. 3-7, 33) is in parallel with the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) and is part of a shunt leg (Shunt leg) (Fig. 1-2, 5 & Paragraph [0058 & 0082-83]); and a second array (Fig. 3-7, 651 of 653 of 31) including a second plurality of solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3-7, 653 if 31) and a second plurality of switches (Fig. 3-7, 661 of 31) corresponding with the second plurality of solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3-7, 653 of 31), wherein the second array (Fig. 3-7, 31) is in parallel with a second variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) and is part of a series leg (series leg) (Fig. 1-2 & 5 & Paragraph [0058 & 0082-83]); wherein the controller (Fig. 3-7, 45 of 645) is configured to operate the first plurality of switches (Fig. 3-7, 661 of 33) and the second plurality of switches (Fig. 3-7, 661 of 31) to impedance match to the second state (Fig. 1-2, 5 & Paragraph [0061-71]).
In regards to claim 8. Bhutta discloses a method (Abstract) comprising:
a variable capacitance (Fig. 1-2, 31 & Paragraph [0058]);
Bhutta does not specify controlling a variable vacuum capacitor for impedance matching to a first impedance state of a plasma load; and switching one or more solid-state capacitances into or out of parallel arrangement with the variable capacitance for impedance matching to a second impedance state of the plasma load.
Bhutta discloses in Fig. 3-7 and 12 controlling (Fig. 3, 45) a variable capacitance (Fig. 3-7, 31) for impedance matching to a first impedance state of a plasma load (Fig. 3, 19); and switching one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3, 33a and Fig. 5, 653) into or out of parallel arrangement with the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) for impedance matching to a second impedance state (Paragraph [0082-83 & 0089 & 0102 & 0140]) of the plasma load (Fig. 3, 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Bhutta to discloses or teach controlling a variable vacuum capacitor for impedance matching to a first impedance state of a plasma load; and switching one or more solid-state capacitances into or out of parallel arrangement with the variable capacitance for impedance matching to a second impedance state of the plasma load for purpose of improvement in matching network tune speed and determine a parameter related to the matching network or the plasma chamber; based on the determined parameter, determine from the different positions of the VRE a new position for the VRE to reduce a reflected power at the RF input of the matching network; wherein the power control scheme is configured to be altered; and wherein, while the power control scheme is altered, the matching network alters the VRE to the new position as disclosed by Bhutta (Paragraph [0098 & 0009]).
In regards to claim 9. Bhutta discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: providing power to the plasma load (Fig. 3, 19), the power including a first power pulse (Fig. 14-15, 333) and a second power pulse (Fig. 14-15, 335) that is different than the first power pulse (Fig. 14-15, 333); tuning the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) for impedance matching to the first impedance state (match configurations via lookup table) based on the first power pulse (Fig. 14-15, 333) applied to the plasma load (Fig. 3, 19); and switching the one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3-7, 653 of 33) for impedance matching to the second impedance state (Match configurations via lookup table) based on the second power pulse (Fig. 14-15, 335) applied to the plasma load (Fig. 3, 19 & Fig. 14-15, Paragraph [0181-183 & 0187 & 0189]).
In regards to claim 10. Bhutta discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: determining a first switched configuration (Fig. 5, array of configuration of 661) of the one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 5, 653) to impedance match for the first power pulse (Fig. 14-15, 333 & Fig. 19 & Paragraph [0224-227]); determining a second switched configuration (Fig. 14-15, 661) of the one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 14-15 & 19 & Paragraph [0224-227]) to impedance match for the second power pulse (Fig. 14-15, 335 & 19 & Paragraph [0224-227]); and toggling between the first switched configuration (Fig. 5, array configuration of 661) and the second switched configuration (Fig. 5, array configuration of 661) for the first power pulse (Fig. 14-15, 333 & Fig. 19 & Paragraph [0224-227]) and the second power pulse (Fig. 14-15, 335 & 19 & Paragraph [0224-227]), respectively.
In regards to claim 11. Bhutta discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: tuning the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) for impedance matching to the first impedance state (match configurations via lookup table) based on an average impedance value (average parameter value) of the plasma load (Fig. 3, 19) over a period of time (Fig. 7, 14-15 & Paragraph [0089 & 0103 & 0184 & 0188]); detecting an impedance fluctuation of the plasma load (Fig. 3, 19) from the average impedance value (Fig. 6-7 & 14-15 & Paragraph [0055 & 0089 & 0093 & 0103 & 0184 & 0188]); and switching at least one solid-state capacitance (Fig. 3-7, 653) for impedance matching to the second impedance state (match configuration via lookup table) based on the detected impedance fluctuation of the plasma load (Fig. 3-7, 19) from the average impedance value (Average parameter value) (Fig. 6-7 & Paragraph [0102-103]).
In regards to claim 12. Bhutta discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: tuning the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) based on an impedance value that is offset from the average impedance value (Average parameter value) (Fig. 6-7 & Paragraph [0124 & 0176-177 & 0184]); switching the one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 5-7, 653) to a first switched configuration (array configuration capacitor switch positions via lookup table) to impedance match to the average impedance value (average parameter value) in conjunction with the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]); and switching the one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3-7, 653) to a second switched configuration (array configuration capacitor switch positions via lookup table) to impedance match based on the detected impedance (Fig. 5-7 & Paragraph [0083 & 0102-103]) fluctuation of the plasma load (Fig. 3, 19).
In regards to claim 14. Bhutta discloses a non-transitory processor-readable medium comprising instructions for execution by a processor (Fig. 1-2, 45) or for configuring a field programmable gate array (Paragraph [0042-44]), the instructions comprising instructions to:
Bhutta does not specify in Fig. 1-2, control a variable vacuum capacitor for impedance matching to a first impedance state of a plasma load; and switch one or more solid-state capacitances into or out of parallel arrangement with the variable vacuum capacitor for impedance matching to a second impedance state of the plasma load.
Bhutta discloses control a variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) for impedance matching to a first impedance state (array configuration capacitor switch positions via lookup table) of a plasma load (Fig. 3, 19 & Paragraph [0083 & 0089 & 0102 & 0140]); and switch one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3-7, 653 of 33) into or out of parallel arrangement with the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) for impedance matching to a second impedance state of the plasma load (Fig. 3, 19 & Paragraph [0089-90 & 0102 & 0140 & 0229]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Bhutta to discloses or teach with control a variable vacuum capacitor for impedance matching to a first impedance state of a plasma load; and switch one or more solid-state capacitances into or out of parallel arrangement with the variable vacuum capacitor for impedance matching to a second impedance state of the plasma load for purpose of improvement in matching network tune speed and determine a parameter related to the matching network or the plasma chamber; based on the determined parameter, determine from the different positions of the VRE a new position for the VRE to reduce a reflected power at the RF input of the matching network; wherein the power control scheme is configured to be altered; and wherein, while the power control scheme is altered, the matching network alters the VRE to the new position as disclosed by Bhutta (Paragraph [0098 & 0009]).
In regards to claim 15. Bhutta discloses the non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the instructions comprise instructions to: tune the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) for impedance matching to the first impedance state based on a first power pulse applied to the plasma load (Fig. 3-7, 31 and 19 & Fig. 14-15 & Paragraph [0181-183] & [0187-189]); and switch the one or more solid-state capacitances for impedance matching to the second impedance state based on a second power pulse applied to the plasma load that is different than the first power pulse (Fig. 3-7, 653 of 33 and 19 & Fig. 14-15, 333 and 335 & Paragraph [0181-183 & 0187-189]).
In regards to claim 16. Bhutta discloses the non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions comprise instructions to: determine a first switched configuration (Fig. 3-7, 661) of the one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3-7, 653) to impedance match for the first power pulse (Fig. 14-15, 333 & Paragraph [0224-227]); determine a second switched configuration (Fig. 3-7, 661) of the one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3-7, 653) to impedance match for the second power pulse (Fig. 14-15 & 19, 333 & Paragraph [0224-227]); and toggle between the first switched configuration and the second switched configuration for the first power pulse and the second power pulse, respectively (Fig. 3-7, 661 & Fig. 14-15, 333 and 335 & Paragraph [0224-227]).
In regards to claim 17. Bhutta discloses the non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the instructions comprise instructions to: tune the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) for impedance matching to the first impedance state based on an average impedance value of the plasma load over a period of time (Fig. 3-7, 31 and 19 & Fig. 14-15 & Paragraph [0089 & 0103 & 0184 & 0188 & 0340]); detect an impedance fluctuation of the plasma load (Fig. 3-7, 19) from the average impedance value (average parameter value) (Fig. 6-7 & 14-15 & Paragraph [0055 & 0089 & 0093 & 0103 & 0184 & 0188); and switch at least one solid-state capacitance (Fig. 3-7, 653) for impedance matching to the second impedance state based on the detected impedance fluctuation of the plasma load from the average impedance value (Fig. 3-7, 19 & Paragraph [0102-103]).
In regards to claim 18. Bhutta discloses the non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 17, the instructions comprise instructions to: tune the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) based on an impedance value that is offset from the average impedance value (Fig. 3-7, 31 & Paragraph [0124 & 0176-177 & 0184]); switch the one or more solid-state capacitances to a first switched configuration to impedance match to the average impedance value in conjunction with the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3-7, 653 via 661 and 31 & Paragraph [0083 & 0103]); and switch the one or more solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3-7, 653 via 661) to a second switched configuration to impedance match based on the detected impedance fluctuation of the plasma load (Fig. 3-7, 19 & Paragraph [0083 & 0102 & 0103]).
In regards to claim 20. Bhutta discloses the non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the instructions comprise instructions to: control a first array (Fig. 3-7, 651 of 653 of 33) including a first plurality of solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3-7, 653 of 33) and a first plurality of switches (Fig. 3-7, 661 of 33) corresponding with the first plurality of solid-state capacitances (Fig. 3-7, 653 of 33), wherein the first array (Fig. 1-7, 33) is in parallel with the variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) and is part of a shunt leg of a match network (Fig. 1-2, 5 & Paragraph [0058 & 0082-83]); and control a second array (Fig. 1-7, 651 of 653 of 31) including a second plurality of solid-state capacitances (Fig. 1-7, 653 of 31) and a second plurality of switches (Fig. 1-7, 661 of 31) corresponding with the second plurality of solid-state capacitances (Fig. 1-7, 653 of 31),
wherein the second array (Fig. 1-7, 31) is in parallel with a second variable vacuum capacitor (Fig. 3, 31a and Fig. 12, 39b & Paragraph [0152 & 0163]) and is part of a series leg of the match network (Fig. 1-2 & 5 & Paragraph [0058 & 0082-83]); wherein the control of the first array and the second array includes operating the first plurality of switches and the second plurality of switches to impedance match to the second state (Fig. 1-2 & 5 & Paragraph [0061-71]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845