DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 02/02/2024 has been considered.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1-31,36 and 37 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
a. Claim 1 should be replaced as follows, “A [versatile] RF control system comprising a central control module and at least one module group, wherein the at least one module group is used [especially] for generating an RF signal for manipulating optical signals or for controlling quantum systems, wherein the at least one module group comprises an RF generation module, a reference signal generation module and a control module, wherein the central control module comprises the following features: the central control module is configured to receive parameters for the RF signal of the at least one module group that is to be generated; the central control module is configured to use the received parameters to set control variables for: a) the RF generation module of the at least one module group and to transmit them to the RF generation module of the at least one module group; and b) the reference signal generation module of the at least one module group and to transmit them to the reference signal generation module of the at least one module group; wherein the at least one module group comprises the following features: the RF generation module is configured to generate, using the at least one received control variable: a) a first phase reference signal; and b) a carrier signal; and to transmit the first phase reference signal to the control module; the reference signal generation module is configured to generate, on the basis of the at least one received control variable a) a second phase reference signal; and b) an amplitude reference signal; and transmit it to the control module; the control module comprises a phase manipulation unit and an amplitude manipulation unit; the phase manipulation unit comprises a: a) phase detection unit; b) phase control unit; the phase detection unit is adapted to receive the first phase reference signal and a measured phase signal and to form a phase difference and transmit it as a phase difference signal to the phase control unit; wherein a phase setting unit and an amplitude setting unit is provided; wherein the phase setting unit is configured to generate and output the RF signal, or wherein the amplitude setting unit is configured to generate and output the RF signal”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
b. Claim 2 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized by the following feature: a clock generation module is provided; the clock generation module comprises at least one first clock generation unit, which is configured to generate a first reference clock and to output it to the RF generation module of the at least one module group; the RF generation module of the at least one module group is adapted to generate the carrier signal and the first phase reference signal using the same first reference clock”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
c. Claim 3 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 2, characterized by the following feature: the clock generation module comprises at least one second clock generation unit adapted to generate and output a second reference clock to the reference signal generation module of the at least one module group; the reference signal generation module of the at least one module group is adapted to generate the amplitude reference signal and the second phase reference signal using the same second reference clock”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
d. Claim 4 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the carrier signal and the first phase reference signal are identical”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
e. Claim 5 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the carrier signal and the first phase reference signal are arithmetically linked to each other, wherein the link relates to frequency, phase and/or amplitude”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
f. Claim 6 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the first phase reference signal and the second phase reference signal are linked to each other, wherein the link relates to frequency, phase and/or amplitude”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
g. Claim 7 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: the reference signal generation module comprises a reference conditioning unit; the reference conditioning unit is adapted to generate the amplitude reference signal from at least a first signal and a second signal, wherein the first signal and the second signal are different”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
h. Claim 8 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the phase manipulation unit comprises the phase setting unit, wherein the phase setting unit is of analog design, by using an analog phase shifter or a mixer”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
i. Claim 9 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the RF generation module comprises the phase setting unit, wherein the phase setting unit comprises a DSP unit and a frequency synthesis unit”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
j. Claim 10 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the amplitude manipulation unit comprises the amplitude setting unit, wherein the amplitude setting unit is realized in an analog design, by using at least one amplifier and/or at least one adjustable attenuator”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
k. Claim 11 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the RF generation module comprises the amplitude setting unit, wherein the amplitude setting unit comprises a DSP unit and a frequency synthesis unit”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
l. Claim 12 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized by the following features: the central control module is adapted to receive at least one operating parameter; the central control module is configured, depending on the received at least one operating parameter: a) to control the phase control unit of the at least one module group in such a way that it operates in the first or second operating mode or changes the operating mode; b) to control the amplitude control unit of the at least one module group in such a way that it operates in the first or second operating mode or changes the operating mode”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
m. Claim 13 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized by the following features: the central control module is adapted to receive at least one control parameter; the central control module is configured to configure the phase control unit of the at least one module group as a function of the received at least one control parameter in such a way that at least one of: a) a controller type of the phase control unit of the at least one module group can be defined from one of a plurality of controller types; or b) a transfer function of the phase control unit of the at least one module group can be defined, which describes a generation of the phase control signal from a difference between the phase difference signal and the second phase reference signal; the central control module is configured to configure the amplitude control unit of the at least one module group as a function of the received at least one control parameter in such a way that at least one of: a) a controller type of the amplitude control unit of the at least one module group can be defined from one of a plurality of controller types; or b) a transfer function of the amplitude control unit of the at least one module group can be defined, which describes a generation of the amplitude control signal from a difference between the measured amplitude signal and amplitude reference signal”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
n. Claim 14 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: the amplitude manipulation unit comprises an amplitude calibration unit; the amplitude calibration unit comprises a first, second and/or third calibration stage; an input signal can be fed to the amplitude calibration unit, the amplitude calibration unit being designed, using the first, second and/or third calibration stage, to generate and output the measured amplitude signal from the feedable input signal, wherein a) the first calibration stage is configured to add a first offset value to the supplied input signal in order to shift the supplied input signal; b) the second calibration stage is configured to amplify an input signal of the second calibration stage; c) the third calibration stage is adapted to add a second offset value to an input signal of the third calibration stage in order to shift the input signal of the third calibration stage”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
o. Claim 15 should be replaced as follows, “ The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: a first bias tee is provided; the first bias tee is configured to superimpose a first DC voltage on an incoming phase signal; the first bias tee is further configured to output only an alternating component of the incoming phase signal as a measured phase signal to the phase detection unit”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
p. Claim 16 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 15, characterized by the following features: the at least one module group comprises a first DC voltage source adapted to generate the first DC voltage for the first bias tee of the at least one module group and to transmit it to the first bias tee of the at least one module group; the central control module is configured to receive at least one first bias parameter; the central control module is configured to control the first DC voltage source of the at least one module group as a function of the received first bias parameter in such a way that it generates the desired first DC voltage”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
q. Claim 17 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: a second bias tee is provided; the second bias tee is configured to superimpose a second DC voltage on the RF signal; the second bias tee is further configured to output the RF signal superimposed with the second DC voltage”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
r. Claim 18 should be replaced as follows, “ The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 17, characterized by the following features: the at least one module group comprises a second DC voltage source adapted to generate the second DC voltage for the second bias tee of the at least one module group and to transmit it to the second bias tee of the at least one module group; the central control module is configured to receive at least one second bias parameter; the central control module is configured to control the second DC voltage source of the at least one module group as a function of the received second bias parameter in such a way that it generates the desired second DC voltage”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
s. Claim 19 should be replaced as follows, “ The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 17, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: a bias point control unit is provided; the bias point control unit is adapted to receive a bias point reference signal and a measured bias point signal; the bias point control unit is adapted to generate the second DC voltage such that the deviation between the bias point reference signal and the measured bias point signal is less than a threshold value; the bias point control unit is configured to transmit the second DC voltage to the second bias tee”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
t. Claim 20 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: a frequency conversion unit is provided; the frequency conversion unit is configured to receive a local oscillator signal and the RF signal; the frequency conversion unit is configured to change a frequency of the RF signal by mixing it with the local oscillator signal and then to output the RF signal”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
u. Claim 21 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 20, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: the frequency conversion unit comprises a filter unit; the filter unit is adapted to select a specific sideband and to filter the RF signal to thereafter output the RF signal”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
v. Claim 22 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: the [versatile] RF control system comprises at least one output means, wherein at least one signal of the following group of signals can be output for a user of the versatile RF control system via the at least one output means: a) the second phase reference signal; b) the amplitude reference signal; c) the measured phase signal; d) the measured amplitude signal; e) the phase difference signal; f) a phase error signal between the second phase reference signal and the phase difference signal; g) an amplitude error signal between the amplitude reference signal and the measured amplitude signal; h) the phase control signal; i) the amplitude control signal”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
w. Claim 23 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 22, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the at least one output means is at least one of: a) a user display on a screen; b) a digital signal output; or c) an analog signal output”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
x. Claim 24 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the RF generation module, the reference generation module and the control module are each integrated in a separate semiconductor chip or in a common semiconductor chip”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
y. Claim 25 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized by the following feature: the versatile RF control system comprises a housing; the at least one module group is arranged in a common module frame in the housing of the RF control system; or the RF generation module, the reference generation module and the control module of the at least one module group are arranged in at least two or three different module frames in the housing of the RF control system”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
z. Claim 26 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 25, characterized by the following feature: the central control module is arranged in a module frame in the housing of the RF control system”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
a1. Claim 27 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 2, characterized by the following features: the clock generation module is arranged in a module frame in the housing of the RF control system”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
a2. Claim 28 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 25, characterized by the following feature: a backplane for data exchange is provided, wherein at least one of: a) the RF generation module, the reference signal generation module and the control module of the respective module group; and/or b) the central control module; or c) a clock generation module; are connected to the backplane for mutual data exchange”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
a3. Claim 29 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 25, characterized by the following feature: a plurality of module groups are provided to generate and output a plurality of RF signals independently of each other”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
a4. Claim 30 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, characterized by the following feature: the RF signal can be fed to a quantum system, via an antenna and/or a cable arrangement”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
a5. Claim 31 should be replaced as follows, “ An optical arrangement comprising a [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1 and an optical system, wherein the optical system comprises at least one acousto-optical or electro-optical modulator and wherein the RF signal of the at least one module group can be fed as an input signal to an input of the at least one acousto-optical or electro-optical modulator”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
a6. Claim 36 should be replaced as follows, “The [versatile] RF control system according to claim 1, wherein the phase control unit is configured to: a) in a first operating mode of the phase control unit, receive the phase difference signal and the second phase reference signal and generate a phase control signal therefrom and transmit the phase control signal to the phase setting unit; b) in a second operating mode of the phase control unit, to transmit an adjustable phase control signal which is independent of the phase difference signal to the phase setting unit; the amplitude manipulation unit comprises an amplitude control unit; the amplitude control unit is adapted to: a) in a first operating mode of the amplitude control unit, receive the amplitude reference signal and a measured amplitude signal and generate an amplitude control signal therefrom and transmit the amplitude control signal to the amplitude setting unit; b) in a second operating mode of the amplitude control unit, to transmit an adjustable amplitude control signal, which is independent of the measured amplitude signal, to the amplitude setting unit; and wherein a) the phase setting unit is configured to receive the carrier signal and the phase control signal and to generate a phase-manipulated carrier signal therefrom and to transmit the phase-manipulated carrier signal to the amplitude setting unit, wherein the amplitude setting unit is configured to receive the phase-manipulated carrier signal and the amplitude control signal and to generate and output the RF signal therefrom; or b) the amplitude setting unit is configured to receive the carrier signal and the amplitude adjusting signal and to generate an amplitude-manipulated carrier signal therefrom and to transmit the amplitude-manipulated carrier signal to the phase setting unit, wherein the phase setting unit is configured to receive the amplitude-manipulated carrier signal and the phase control signal and to generate and output the RF signal therefrom”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
a7. Claim 37 should be replaced as follows, “A [versatile] RF control system comprising a central control module and at least one module group, wherein the at least one module group is used, for generating an RF signal for manipulating optical signals or for controlling quantum systems, and comprises an RF generation module, a reference signal generation module and a control module, wherein the central control module comprises : the central control module is configured to receive parameters for the RF signal of the at least one module group that is to be generated; the central control module is configured to use the received parameters to set control variables for: a) the RF generation module of the at least one module group and to transmit them to the RF generation module of the at least one module group; and b) the reference signal generation module of the at least one module group and to transmit them to the reference signal generation module of the at least one module group; the at least one module group comprises the following features: the RF generation module is configured to generate, using the at least one received control variable: a) a first phase reference signal; and b) a carrier signal; and to transmit the first phase reference signal to the control module; the reference signal generation module is configured to generate, on the basis of the at least one received control variable: a) a second phase reference signal; and b) an amplitude reference signal; and transmit it to the control module; the control module comprises a phase manipulation unit and an amplitude manipulation unit; the phase manipulation unit comprises a: a) phase detection unit; and b) phase control unit; the phase detection unit is adapted to receive the first phase reference signal and a measured phase signal and to form a phase difference and transmit it as a phase difference signal to the phase control unit; a phase setting unit is provided; the phase control unit is configured to: a) in a first operating mode of the phase control unit, receive the phase difference signal and the second phase reference signal and generate a phase control signal therefrom and transmit the phase control signal to the phase setting unit; b) in a second operating mode of the phase control unit, to transmit an adjustable phase control signal which is independent of the phase difference signal to the phase setting unit; the amplitude manipulation unit comprises an amplitude control unit; an amplitude setting unit is provided; the amplitude control unit is adapted to: a) in a first operating mode of the amplitude control unit, receive the amplitude reference signal and a measured amplitude signal and generate an amplitude control signal therefrom and transmit the amplitude control signal to the amplitude setting unit; b) in a second operating mode of the amplitude control unit, to transmit an adjustable amplitude control signal, which is independent of the measured amplitude signal, to the amplitude setting unit; and wherein a) the phase setting unit is configured to receive the carrier signal and the phase control signal and to generate a phase-manipulated carrier signal therefrom and to transmit the phase-manipulated carrier signal to the amplitude setting unit, wherein the amplitude setting unit is configured to receive the phase-manipulated carrier signal and the amplitude control signal and to generate and output the RF signal therefrom; or b) the amplitude setting unit is configured to receive the carrier signal and the amplitude adjusting signal and to generate an amplitude-manipulated carrier signal therefrom and to transmit the amplitude-manipulated carrier signal to the phase setting unit, wherein the phase setting unit is configured to receive the amplitude-manipulated carrier signal and the phase control signal and to generate and output the RF signal therefrom”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
For claim 1,
a. the central control module is configured to receive…on lines 8-11;
b. the RF generation module is configured to generate…on lines 19,20;
c. the reference signal generation module is configured to…on lines 25,26;
d. the phase detection unit is adapted receive…on lines 35-37;
e. the phase setting unit is configured to generate… on lines 40-42.
For claim 2,
a. the clock generation module is configured to…on lines 4-6;
b. the RF generation module is adapted to… on lines 7-9.
For claim 3,
a. at least one second clock generation unit adapted to generate…on lines 3-5;
b. the RF generation module is adapted to… on lines 6-8.
For claim 7,
a. the reference conditioning unit is adapted to generate… on lines 6-8.
For claim 12,
a. the central control module is adapted to receive…on lines 3-6.
For claim 13,
a. the central control module is adapted to receive…on lines 3-6.
For claim 14,
a. the first calibration stage is configured to add… on lines 12-14;
b. the second calibration stage is configured to amplify… on lines 15,16;
c. the third calibration stage is adapted to add… on lines 17,18.
For claim 16,
a. the central control module is configured to receive…on lines 7-11.
For claim 18,
a. the central control module is configured to receive…on lines 7,8;
b. the central control module is configured to control…on lines 9,10.
For claim 19,
a. the bias point control unit…on lines 5-11.
For claim 20,
a. the frequency conversion unit is configured to…on lines 5-9.
For claim 36,
a. the phase control unit is configured to…on lines 2-9;
b. the amplitude control unit is adapted to…on lines 11-20;
c. the phase setting unit is configured to… on lines 21-23;
d. the amplitude setting unit is configured to… on lines 24-31.
For claim 37,
a. the central control module is configured to receive…on lines 7-17;
b. the RF generation module is configured to generate…on liens 18,19;
c. the reference signal generation module is configured to…on lines 23,24;
d. the phase detection unit is adapted to receive….on lines 33-35;
e. the phase control unit is configured to …on lines 37-44;
f. the amplitude control unit is adapted to…on lines 47-55;
g. the phase setting unit is configured to… on lines 56-59;
h. the amplitude setting unit is configured to… on lines 67-69.
a. The central control module 4 can be, for example, a computer, FPGA (field programmable gate array), ASIC (application-specific integrated circuit), DSP and/or microcontroller, see paragraph 76 and figure 1.
b. The at least one module group 6 comprises an RF generation module 7, a reference signal generation module 8 and a control module 9 and modules can merge into one another, and digital units in particular can be integrated into a common semiconductor chip such as an FPGA or ASIC, see paragraph 78 and figure 1.
c. the amplitude control unit 31, the phase detection unit 23 and the phase control unit 24 may be integrated in a common unit. The phase detection unit 23, the phase control unit 24, the phase setting unit 29 and/or the amplitude control unit 31 may be constructed with analog and/or digital components, see paragraph 107 and figure 8.
d. The clock generation module can be, for example, a DDS, a VCO or a PLL and the clock generation module 15 comprises a second clock generation unit, see paragraph 21 and 90.
e. The reference signal generation module 8 comprises a reference conditioning unit 37. The reference conditioning unit 37 is configured to generate the amplitude reference signal 19 from at least a first signal 38a and a second signal 38b. The reference conditioning unit can be analog or digital, see paragraphs 27, 117 and figure 4.
f. the calibration unit can be realized by an instrumentation amplifier with adjustable gain, as well as a first and a second adjustable voltage source, see paragraph 34 and figure 5.
g. The bias point control unit 52 and the bias point control unit can comprise a P, PI or PID controller, see paragraph 39 and figure 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4,5,6,7,8,9,22,23,24,25,26,28,29,30,31,34 and 35 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Murakowski (US 11005178) in view of Calhoun (US 2019/0222320).
Regarding claim 1, Murakowski discloses a versatile RF control system (RF antenna control system, see figure 1) comprising and at least one module group,(TOPS module 1000, see figure 1) wherein the at least one module group is used especially for generating an RF signal for manipulating optical signals or for controlling quantum systems,(modulation is implemented by adjusting voltage 116a provided to RF reference source 116 by a controller 60, see column 16, lines 38-43 and figure 1). wherein the at least one module group comprises an RF generation module, a reference signal generation module ;(The RF reference source 116 may be a voltage controlled oscillator that provides an RF reference signal to the TOPS 100, see figure 1) and a control module, (controller 60, see column 16, lines 38-43 and figure 1)a) the RF generation module of the at least one module group and to transmit them to the RF generation module of the at least one module group (The RF reference source 116 may be a voltage controlled oscillator that provides an RF reference signal to the TOPS 100, see column 3, lines 41-43 and figure 1) and b) the reference signal generation module of the at least one module group and to transmit them to the reference signal generation module of the at least one module group;(the voltage 116a input to control frequency of the RF reference signal generated by the RF reference source and thus the RF carrier frequency of the antenna transmitter 10 may be selectable by a user of the antenna transmitter 10,see column 2, lines see column 3, liens 56-61 and figure 1) wherein the at least one module group comprises the following features: the RF generation module is configured to generate, using the at least one received control variable: ;(the voltage 116a (control variable) input to control frequency of the RF reference signal generated by the RF reference source; see column 3, liens 56-61 and figure 1) a) a first phase reference signal; and b) a carrier signal; and to transmit the first phase reference signal to the control module;(the pair of signals that carry Fr and Fp respectively carry the desired amplitude and phase of the RF to be output by a corresponding antenna 412 and the phase information Fp in encoded into the relative phase offset between the two optical beams 114a, 114b, and the amplitude information Fr is encoded into the amplitude of one or both of the optical beams 114a, 114b, see column 3, lines 43-50 and figure 1) the reference signal generation module is configured to generate, on the basis of the at least one received control variable (the voltage 116a (control variable) input to control frequency of the RF reference signal generated by the RF reference source and thus the RF carrier frequency of the antenna transmitter 10 may be selectable by a user of the antenna transmitter 10,see column 2, lines see column 3, liens 56-61 and figure 1) a) a second phase reference signal; and b) an amplitude reference signal; and transmit it to the control module ;(the pair of signals that carry Fr and Fp respectively carry the desired amplitude and phase of the RF to be output by a corresponding antenna 412 and the phase information Fp in encoded into the relative phase offset between the two optical beams 114a, 114b, and the amplitude information Fr is encoded into the amplitude of one or both of the optical beams 114a, 114b, see column 3, lines 43-50 and figure 1) the control module comprises a phase manipulation unit ;(phase modulator 224, see figure 2) and an amplitude manipulation unit; (push pull MZM 228 for amplitude modulation, se figure 2) the phase manipulation unit comprises a: a) phase detection unit; b) phase control unit; the phase detection unit is adapted to receive the first phase reference signal and a measured phase signal and to form a phase difference and transmit it as a phase difference signal to the phase control unit;( The electrical input consists of two lines: One carrying phase-modulation signal Fp and the other carrying amplitude-modulation signal Fr. The phase-modulation signal Fp is directed to a phase modulator 224, see column 8, liens 8-11 and figure 2) wherein a phase setting unit and an amplitude setting unit is provided; (the amplitude-modulation signal Fr is directed to an amplitude modulator 228 such as a Mach-Zehnder push-pull modulator, see figure 2) wherein the phase setting unit is configured to generate and output the RF signal, or wherein the amplitude setting unit is configured to generate and output the RF signal; (the vector modulator VMm, the phase information Fp in encoded into the relative phase offset between the two optical beams 114a, 114b, and the amplitude information Fr is encoded into the amplitude of one or both of the optical beams 114a, 114b, see column 4, liens 46-50 and figure 1).
However, Murakowski does not explicitly disclose a central control module, wherein the central control module comprises the following features: the central control module is configured to receive parameters for the RF signal of the at least one module group that is to be generated; the central control module is configured to use the received parameters to set control variables for.
In a related field of endeavor, Calhoun discloses a central control module;(remote antenna system 108, see figure 4) wherein the central control module comprises the following features: the central control module is configured to receive parameters for the RF signal of the at least one module group that is to be generated; the central control module is configured to use the received parameters to set control variables for ;(the phase of RF signals communicated along each RF signal path can be controlled using an electronic phase control components 402-1 . . . 402-n. Similarly, the amplitude or RF signals communicated along each RF signal path can be controlled using an electronic phase control components 404-1 . . . 404-n. These control components are responsive to control signals from an antenna steering control unit 406, see paragraph 52 and figure 4).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the central control module of Calhoun with Murakowski to produce a high power transmit modulated optical carrier (TMOC) signal and the motivation is to provide increased RF power output.
Regarding claim 4, Murakowski discloses he versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the carrier signal and the first phase reference signal are identical;(An RF carrier frequency of the antenna transmitter 10 may be the same frequency as the RF reference signal provided by the RF reference source 116 or may be a frequency responsive to this frequency, see column 3, lines 49-52 and figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Murakowski discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the carrier signal and the first phase reference signal are arithmetically linked to each other, wherein the link relates to frequency, phase and/or amplitude; ;( analog signals Fr and Fp (F′m) may provide phase and amplitude information, either at the frequency determined by the digital to analog converters DACr and DACp or by the carrier frequency provided by oscillator 38, see column 10, lines 18-21).
Regarding claim 6, Murakowski discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the first phase reference signal and the second phase reference signal are linked to each other, wherein the link relates to frequency, phase and/or amplitude; (the output of each vector modulator VMm is a linearly polarized light containing two spectral lines modulated in relative phase and in amplitude according to the electrical inputs F′m to the corresponding vector modulator VMm, see column 4, lines 51-59 and figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Murakowski discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: the reference signal generation module comprises a reference conditioning unit; (modulation is implemented by adjusting voltage 116a provided to RF reference source 116 by a controller 60, see column 16, lines 38-43 and figure 1). the reference conditioning unit is adapted to generate the amplitude reference signal from at least a first signal and a second signal, wherein the first signal and the second signal are different; (the output of each vector modulator VMm is a linearly polarized light containing two spectral lines modulated in relative phase and in amplitude according to the electrical inputs F′m to the corresponding vector modulator VMm, see column 4, lines 51-59 and figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Murakowski discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the phase manipulation unit ;(the phase-modulation signal Fp is directed to a phase modulator 224, see column 8, liens 8-11 and figure 2) comprises the phase setting unit, wherein the phase setting unit is of analog design, in particular by using an analog phase shifter or a mixer; (signals Fr and Fp may respectively have the phase information and amplitude information encoded thereon, which may be obtained by a digital to analog conversion of digital values (r, p), and may further have the frequency shifted by mixing with a carrier frequency of the corresponding encoder mixer EMm, see column 5, lines 59-65 and figures 2 and 3A).
Regarding claim 9, Murakowski discloses The versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the RF generation module comprises the phase setting unit, ;(the phase-modulation signal Fp is directed to a phase modulator 224, see column 8, liens 8-11 and figure 2) wherein the phase setting unit comprises a DSP unit and a frequency synthesis unit, (signals Fr and Fp may respectively have the phase information and amplitude information encoded thereon, which may be obtained by a digital to analog conversion of digital values (r, p), and may further have the frequency shifted by mixing with a carrier frequency of the corresponding encoder mixer EMm, see column 5, lines 59-65 and figures 2 and 3A).
Regarding claim 22, Murakowski does not explicitly disclose the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: the versatile RF control system comprises at least one output means, wherein at least one signal of the following group of signals can be output for a user of the versatile RF control system via the at least one output means: a) the second phase reference signal; b) the amplitude reference signal; c) the measured phase signal; d) the measured amplitude signal; e) the phase difference signal; f) a phase error signal between the second phase reference signal and the phase difference signal; g) an amplitude error signal between the amplitude reference signal and the measured amplitude signal; h) the phase control signal; i) the amplitude control signal.
In a related field of endeavor, Calhoun discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: the versatile RF control system comprises at least one output means, wherein at least one signal of the following group of signals can be output for a user of the versatile RF control system via the at least one output means: ;( computer system 500 which is useful for understanding an implementation of the antenna steering control unit 406 and input/output devices 510, a display unit 512, see figure 5) a) the second phase reference signal; b) the amplitude reference signal; c) the measured phase signal; d) the measured amplitude signal; e) the phase difference signal;( the phase and amplitude control of the RF signal output from the photodetector, see paragraph 36) f) a phase error signal between the second phase reference signal and the phase difference signal; g) an amplitude error signal between the amplitude reference signal and the measured amplitude signal; h) the phase control signal; i) the amplitude control signal. . (Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the display unit of Calhoun with Murakowski to display the output of the antenna steering control unit and the motivation is to provide display of the results.
Regarding claim 23, Murakowski does not explicitly disclose the versatile RF control system according to claim 22, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the at least one output means is at least one of: a) a user display on a screen; b) a digital signal output; or c) an analog signal output.
In a related field of endeavor, Calhoun discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 22, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the at least one output means is at least one of: a) a user display on a screen;( computer system 500 which is useful for understanding an implementation of the antenna steering control unit 406 and input/output devices 510, a display unit 512, see figure 5) b) a digital signal output; or c) an analog signal output. (Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the display unit of Calhoun with Murakowski to display the output of the antenna steering control unit and the motivation is to provide display of the results.
Regarding claim 24, Murakowski discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the RF generation module, the reference generation module and the control module are each integrated in a separate semiconductor chip or in a common semiconductor chip; (to optically connect modulator Mm and lasers 112a, 112b may be used, such as using other types of waveguides other than optical fibers. In some examples, modulator Mm and lasers 112a, 112b may be integrally formed, such as part of the same semiconductor chip or semiconductor package and RF reference 116 and controller 60, see column 14, lines 16-19 and figure 9A).
Regarding claim 25, Murakowski discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized by the following feature: the versatile RF control system comprises a housing; the at least one module group is arranged in a common module frame in the housing of the RF control system; or the RF generation module, the reference generation module and the control module of the at least one module group are arranged in at least two or three different module frames in the housing of the RF control system; (to optically connect modulator Mm and lasers 112a, 112b may be used, such as using other types of waveguides other than optical fibers. In some examples, modulator Mm and lasers 112a, 112b may be integrally formed, such as part of the same semiconductor chip or semiconductor package and RF reference 116 and controller 60, see column 14, lines 16-19 and figure 9A).
Regarding claim 26, Murakowski discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 25, characterized by the following feature: the central control module is arranged in a module frame in the housing of the RF control system; (RF reference 116 and controller 60, see column 14, lines 16-19 and figure 9A).
Regarding claim 28, Murakowski discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 25, characterized by the following feature: wherein at least one of: a) the RF generation module, the reference signal generation module and the control module of the respective module group; and/or b) the central control module; (to optically connect modulator Mm and lasers 112a, 112b may be used, such as using other types of waveguides other than optical fibers. In some examples, modulator Mm and lasers 112a, 112b may be integrally formed, such as part of the same semiconductor chip or semiconductor package and RF reference 116 and controller 60, see column 14, lines 16-19 and figure 9A).
However, Murakowski does not explicitly disclose a backplane for data exchange is provided, or c) a clock generation module; are connected to the backplane for mutual data exchange.
In a related field of endeavor, Calhoun discloses backplane for data exchange is provided, or c) a clock generation module (Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner) are connected to the backplane for mutual data exchange;( the unifying substrate (backplane) 700 that combines the group including the combiner 300, the optical conversion structure 304, the feed waveguide 306 with the photodetector 308, see paragraph 51 and figure 7).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the unifying substrate (backplane) of Calhoun with Murakowski to provide the unifying substrate for different optical components and the motivation is to provide integration of different optical components.
Regarding claim 29, Murakowski discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 25, characterized by the following feature: a plurality of module groups are provided to generate and output a plurality of RF signals independently of each other;( the optical beams Beam 1, Beam 2 . . . Beam M generated by the different sub-systems may have different frequencies (either from use of a different RF reference frequency provided to the TOPS module 1000 via a different RF reference 116, or by using different modulation frequencies provided by the channel encoder 300 and the optical beams of each sub-system may be combined at the photo-detectors, see column 7, lines 39-49 and figure 6).
Regarding claim 30, Murakowski discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized by the following feature: the RF signal can be fed to a quantum system, in particular via an antenna and/or a cable arrangement ;(each of M branches output by the beam splitter 50 (and the TOPS module 1000) is coupled to a corresponding electro-optic vector modulator VM1, VM2, . . . VMM via an optical fiber 220 to antenna array 412 into a free space, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 31, Murakowski discloses an optical arrangement comprising a versatile RF control system according to claim 1 and an optical system, wherein the optical system comprises at least one acousto-optical or electro-optical modulator ;(each of M branches output by the beam splitter 50 (and the TOPS module 1000) is coupled to a corresponding electro-optic vector modulator VM1, VM2, . . . VMM via an optical fiber 220, see figure 1) and wherein the RF signal of the at least one module group can be fed as an input signal to an input of the at least one acousto-optical or electro-optical modulator;(the channel-encoder 300 converts N digital data streams Data 1, Data 2, . . . Data N into M analog vector signals that are fed (as F′m=Fr, Fp) into the electrical inputs of the respective M vector modulators VMM, see column 5, lines 4-8 and figure 1)
Regarding claim 34, Murakowski discloses the optical arrangement (100) according to claim 31, characterized by the following feature: an output of the at least one acousto-optic or electro-optic modulator connectable to a quantum system ;(each of M branches output by the beam splitter 50 (and the TOPS module 1000) is coupled to a corresponding electro-optic vector modulator VM1, VM2, . . . VMM via an optical fiber 220 to antenna array 412 into a free space, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 35, Murakowski discloses a measuring device comprising an optical arrangement according to claim 31; (RF antenna control system, see figure 1).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Murakowski (US 11005178) in view of Calhoun (US 2019/0222320) and further in view of Itagaki (JP 2021048453A).
Regarding claim 10, Murakowski discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the amplitude manipulation unit ; (push pull MZM 228 for amplitude modulation, see figure 2)
However, the combination of Murakowski and Calhoun does not explicitly disclose comprises the amplitude setting unit, wherein the amplitude setting unit is realized in an analog design, in particular by using at least one amplifier and/or at least one adjustable attenuator.
In a related field of endeavor, Itagaki discloses comprises the amplitude setting unit, wherein the amplitude setting unit is realized in an analog design, in particular by using at least one amplifier and/or at least one adjustable attenuator; (the voltage-controlled variable attenuator 205 controls the amplitude of the RF signal based on the voltage of the amplified by the first variable gain amplifier 207, and AM-AM distortion of the RF amplifier 209, see page 3, lines 33-37).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the Itagaki with Murakowski and Calhoun to provide variable attenuation and control the RF signal and the motivation is to provide desired power of the RF at the output.
Claims 11,15,17,20 and 21 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Murakowski (US 11005178) in view of Calhoun (US 2019/0222320) and further in view of Murakowski1 et al; (US 10313012)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Murakowski and Calhoun does not explicitly disclose the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the RF generation module comprises the amplitude setting unit, wherein the amplitude setting unit comprises a DSP unit and a frequency synthesis unit.
In a related field of endeavor, Murakowski1 discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following feature: the RF generation module ;(RF signal output by the antenna 120, see figure 2A) comprises the amplitude setting unit, wherein the amplitude setting unit comprises a DSP unit and a frequency synthesis unit; (the mixers modulate the received RF signal output by the corresponding antenna 120 to a lower frequency electrical signal with a sinusoidal electrical signal, see column 18, lines 49-53 and figure 2A).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the mixers of Muraskowki1 with Murakowski and Calhoun to provide upconversion and/or down conversion of RF signals to a higher or lower frequencies and the motivation is to preserve the phase and amplitude information of radio frequency (RF) waves in the optical domain.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Murakowski and Calhoun does not explicitly disclose the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: a first bias tee is provided; the first bias tee is configured to superimpose a first DC voltage on an incoming phase signal; the first bias tee is further configured to output only an alternating component of the incoming phase signal as a measured phase signal to the phase detection unit.
In a related field of endeavor, Murakowski1 discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: a first bias tee is provided; the first bias tee is configured to superimpose a first DC voltage on an incoming phase signal;( a phase offset 204 is applied to optical modulator 130 by applying a constant (DC) bias voltage; to obtain optical phase delay voltage where V is the half-wave voltage of the electro-optic modulator. The phase offset 204 is variable and is based on a selected frequency 202 input to the processor 200 and on the (optical) length of the optical fiber 140a, see column 13, lines 1-8 and figure 2D) the first bias tee is further configured to output only an alternating component of the incoming phase signal as a measured phase signal to the phase detection unit; (the processor 200 outputs an appropriate phase offset 204 for each of the modulators 130 of the imaging receiver 100 to compensate for the phase delay the RF signal would experience when traversing the distance, see column 13, lines 9-13 and figure 2d).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the DC voltage of Murakowski1 with Murakowski and Calhoun to obtain optical phase delay voltage to the electro-optical modulator and the motivation is to provide phase relations at the outputs of the optical fibers.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Murakowski and Calhoun does not explicitly disclose the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: a second bias tee is provided; the second bias tee is configured to superimpose a second DC voltage on the RF signal; the second bias tee is further configured to output the RF signal superimposed with the second DC voltage.
In a related field of endeavor, Murakowski1 discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: a second bias tee is provided; the second bias tee is configured to superimpose a second DC voltage on the RF signal; ;( a phase offset 204 is applied to optical modulator 130 by applying a constant (DC) bias voltage; to obtain optical phase delay voltage where V is the half-wave voltage of the electro-optic modulator. The phase offset 204 is variable and is based on a selected frequency 202 input to the processor 200 and on the (optical) length of the optical fiber 140a, see column 13, lines 1-8 and figure 2D) the second bias tee is further configured to output the RF signal superimposed with the second DC voltage, ; (the processor 200 outputs an appropriate phase offset 204 for each of the modulators 130 of the imaging receiver 100 to compensate for the phase delay the RF signal would experience when traversing the distance, see column 13, lines 9-13 and figure 2d). Motivation same as claim 15.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Murakowski and Calhoun does not explicitly disclose the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: a frequency conversion unit is provided; the frequency conversion unit is configured to receive a local oscillator signal and the RF signal; the frequency conversion unit is configured to change a frequency of the RF signal by mixing it with the local oscillator signal and then to output the RF signal.
In a related field of endeavor, Murakowski1 discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: a frequency conversion unit is provided; the frequency conversion unit is configured to receive a local oscillator signal and the RF signal; the frequency conversion unit is configured to change a frequency of the RF signal by mixing it with the local oscillator signal and then to output the RF signal ;( the RF signals detected by antennas 120 may be down converted to a lower frequency and this lower frequency RF signal may be transmitted and processed by RF coupler 300. The RF signal detected by antennas 120 may be down converted by mixing the detected RF signal with a sinusoidal signal provided by a local oscillator and applying a low pass filter or a band pass filter to the resultant signal to allow transmission of the lower frequency sideband, see column 18, lines 57-65).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the local oscillator of Murakowski1 with Murakowski and Calhoun to down convert the detected RF signal to a lower frequency and the motivation is to provide generation of high power RF signal.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Murakowski and Calhoun does not explicitly disclose the versatile RF control system according to claim 20, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: the frequency conversion unit comprises a filter unit; the filter unit is adapted to select a specific sideband and to filter the RF signal to thereafter output the RF signal.
In a related field of endeavor, Murakowski1 discloses the versatile RF control system according to claim 20, characterized in that the at least one module group comprises the following features: the frequency conversion unit comprises a filter unit; the filter unit is adapted to select a specific sideband and to filter the RF signal to thereafter output the RF signal ;( the RF signals detected by antennas 120 may be down converted to a lower frequency and this lower frequency RF signal may be transmitted and processed by RF coupler 300. The RF signal detected by antennas 120 may be down converted by mixing the detected RF signal with a sinusoidal signal provided by a local oscillator and applying a low pass filter or a band pass filter to the resultant signal to allow transmission of the lower frequency sideband, see column 18, lines 57-65). Motivation same as claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2,3,12,13,14,16,18,19,27,32,33 and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
4. Claim 37 is allowed except for the minor informalities. Regarding claim 37, the closest prior art is Murakowski (US 11005178) in view of Calhoun (US 2019/0222320). Regarding claim 37, Murakowski discloses RF antenna control system with TOPS module 1000, wherein the modulation is implemented by adjusting voltage 116a provided to RF reference source 116 by a controller 60, see figure 1. In a related field of endeavor, Calhoun discloses phase of RF signals communicated along each RF signal path can be controlled using an electronic phase control components 402-1 . . . 402-n. Similarly, the amplitude or RF signals communicated along each RF signal path can be controlled using an electronic phase control components 404-1 . . . 404-n. These control components are responsive to control signals from an antenna steering control unit 406, see paragraph 52 and figure 4. Detailed reasons for allowance will be provided once claim objections to claim 37 as reproduced above is addressed.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as reproduced below.
a. Jain et al; (US 9112471) discloses mode selection module (118) for configuring a gain control module (110) to operate in an automatic gain control (AGC) mode when an estimated signal power level is less than a threshold power level and a manual gain control (MGC) mode when the estimated signal power level exceeds the threshold power level, see figure 1.
b. Kyle et al ;(US 6016304) discloses an RF phase and/or amplitude control device (40) has a digitally controlled attenuator (41) at it input to adjust the overall output level of the output, see figure 1.
c. Seeger (US 2024/0195508) discloses a control apparatus for generating a control signal for an electro-optic modulator and the control apparatus includes an RF signal source being configured to generate a radio frequency (RF) signal. The control apparatus further includes an amplitude adjustment circuit being configured to adjust an amplitude of the RF signal, thereby obtaining an adjusted RF signal, see figure 1.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634