This office action is in response to the amendment filed 03/12/2026.
Claims 1-12, 13-19, 20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12, 13-19, 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYAN et al. ( US 20170094490, hereinafter, RYAN’s 490 ) in view of LINDHOLM et al. ( US 20180063688, hereinafter, LINDHOLM’s 688).
Regarding to the claim 1, US 20170094490 teaches a cellular network system (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ] to facilitate continuation of voice services in an event of a failure in a wireless network, the cellular network (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ]:
An emergency server that corresponds to a standalone server physically and logically separated from the cellular network core (an emergency system may be implemented as a separate hardware entity with interface to a cellular network. A single emergency system may interface to single cellular network 118 or multiple cellular networks such as networks 118A, 118B, and 118C maintained by different operators ) [see Paragraph 0035],
Wherein the emergency server is configured to:
During non-emergency operations of the cellular network core:
(the emergency server 130) collect subscriber data ( the emergency server maintains a subscriber register which includes subscriber profiles ) [see Paragraph 0034], wherein the subscriber data corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (device phone numbers) [see Paragraph 0051 ] and internation mobile subscriber identities (IMSIs) [see Paragraph 0070 ] for particular user equipment ( UE ) [see Paragraphs 0070 & 0071 & Figure 5 & Figure 7 & Figure 9 ];
Store the subscriber data in dedicated storage accessible to the emergency server and not accessible by the cellular network core ( the emergency system 130, the emergency mediation server 120, the emergency server 320, the emergency server 510 ) [see paragraphs 0070 & 0051];
During an emergency mode, use a data of the subscriber phone numbers (device phone numbers) [see Paragraph 0051] and / or the IMSIs (IMSIs) [see the Paragraph 0070 ] for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls [see Paragraphs 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0039 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0051 & 0063 & 0070 & 0071 ].
However, US 20170094490 does not explicitly teach mapping data.
US 20180063688, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches
an emergency server (P-CSCF ) [see Paragraphs 0056 & 0057 ] , wherein the emergency server is configured to:
during non-emergency operation :
collect subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration ) ( an emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ), wherein the subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration) corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (MSISDN) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063 & 0061 ] and international mobile subscriber identities (IMSIs) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063] for particular user equipment (UE) (collect an emergency registration, wherein the emergency registration corresponds to MSISDN and IMSI ; it constructs the emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ] ; and
store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core (store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ] ;
during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls (during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ]
(collect an emergency registration, wherein the emergency registration corresponds to MSISDN and IMSI ; it constructs the emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20170094490 in view of US 20180063688 because US 20180063688 suggests that thus, implementing the device information determination techniques can improve UE access to emergency services and allow unregistered UEs to make calls without being anonymous.
Regarding to the claim 13, US 20170094490 teaches a method to facilitate continuation of voice services in an event of a failure in a wireless network, the method comprising:
facilitating operating of a cellular network core (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ] in a non-emergency mode, wherein the cellular network core (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ] comprises one or more servers;
during non-emergency operations of the cellular network core (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ],
collecting, by an emergency server that corresponds to a standalone server physically and logically separated from the cellular network core (an emergency system may be implemented as a separate hardware entity with interface to a cellular network. A single emergency system may interface to single cellular network 118 or multiple cellular networks such as networks 118A, 118B, and 118C maintained by different operators ) [see Paragraph 0035],
collect subscriber data ( the emergency server maintains a subscriber register which includes subscriber profiles ) [see Paragraph 0034] , wherein the subscriber data corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (device phone numbers) [see Paragraph 0051 ] and international mobile subscriber identities ( IMSIs) ) [see Paragraph 0070 ] for particular user equipment ( UE ) [see Paragraphs 0070 & 0071 & Figure 5 & Figure 7 & Figure 9 ]
during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core, storing, by the emergency server, the subscriber mapping data in dedicated storage accessible to the emergency server and not accessible by the cellular network core ( the emergency system 130, the emergency mediation server 120, the emergency server 320, the emergency server 510 ) [see paragraphs 0070 & 0051];
During an emergency mode, use a data of the subscriber phone numbers (device phone numbers) [see Paragraph 0051] and / or the IMSIs (IMSIs) [see the Paragraph 0070 ] for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls [see Paragraphs 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0039 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0051 & 0063 & 0070 & 0071 ].
However, US 20170094490 does not explicitly teach mapping data.
US 20180063688, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches
an emergency server (P-CSCF ) [see Paragraphs 0056 & 0057 ] , wherein the emergency server is configured to:
during non-emergency operation :
collect subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration ) ( an emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ), wherein the subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration) corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (MSISDN) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063 & 0061 ] and international mobile subscriber identities (IMSIs) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063] for particular user equipment (UE) (collect an emergency registration, wherein the emergency registration corresponds to MSISDN and IMSI ; it constructs the emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ] ; and
store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core (store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ] ;
during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls (during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ]
(collect an emergency registration, wherein the emergency registration corresponds to MSISDN and IMSI ; it constructs the emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20170094490 in view of US 20180063688 because US 20180063688 suggests that thus, implementing the device information determination techniques can improve UE access to emergency services and allow unregistered UEs to make calls without being anonymous.
Regarding to the claim 20, US 20170094490 teaches one or more non-transitory, machine-readable media having machine-readable instructions thereon which, when executed by one or more processing devices, cause the one or more processing devices to perform operations to facilitate continuation of voice services in an event of a failure in a wireless network, the operations comprising:
facilitating operating of a cellular network core (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ] in a non-emergency mode, wherein the cellular network core (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ] comprises one or more servers;
during non-emergency operations of the cellular network core (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ],
collecting, by an emergency server that corresponds to a standalone server physically and logically separated from the cellular network core (an emergency system may be implemented as a separate hardware entity with interface to a cellular network. A single emergency system may interface to single cellular network 118 or multiple cellular networks such as networks 118A, 118B, and 118C maintained by different operators ) [see Paragraph 0035],
collect subscriber data ( the emergency server maintains a subscriber register which includes subscriber profiles ) [see Paragraph 0034] , wherein the subscriber data corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (device phone numbers) [see Paragraph 0051 ] and international mobile subscriber identities ( IMSIs) ) [see Paragraph 0070 ] for particular user equipment ( UE ) [see Paragraphs 0070 & 0071 & Figure 5 & Figure 7 & Figure 9 ]
during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core, storing, by the emergency server, the subscriber mapping data in dedicated storage accessible to the emergency server and not accessible by the cellular network core ( the emergency system 130, the emergency mediation server 120, the emergency server 320, the emergency server 510 ) [see paragraphs 0070 & 0051];
During an emergency mode, use a data of the subscriber phone numbers (device phone numbers) [see Paragraph 0051] and / or the IMSIs (IMSIs) [see the Paragraph 0070 ] for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls [see Paragraphs 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0039 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0051 & 0063 & 0070 & 0071 ].
However, US 20170094490 does not explicitly teach mapping data.
US 20180063688, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches
an emergency server (P-CSCF ) [see Paragraphs 0056 & 0057 ] , wherein the emergency server is configured to:
during non-emergency operation :
collect subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration ) ( an emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ), wherein the subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration) corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (MSISDN) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063 & 0061 ] and international mobile subscriber identities (IMSIs) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063] for particular user equipment (UE) (collect an emergency registration, wherein the emergency registration corresponds to MSISDN and IMSI ; it constructs the emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ] ; and
store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core (store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ] ;
during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls (during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ]
(collect an emergency registration, wherein the emergency registration corresponds to MSISDN and IMSI ; it constructs the emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20170094490 in view of US 20180063688 because US 20180063688 suggests that thus, implementing the device information determination techniques can improve UE access to emergency services and allow unregistered UEs to make calls without being anonymous.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYAN et al. ( US 20170094490, hereinafter, RYAN’s 490 ) in view of LINDHOLM et al. ( US 20180063688, hereinafter, LINDHOLM’s 688), and further in view of Varga et al. ( US 20130201879, hereinafter, Varga’s 879 ).
Regarding to the claim 2, US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 do not explicitly teach where the cellular network core is configured to send subscriber data to the emergency server, wherein the subscriber data corresponds to UE registrations during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core.
US 20130201879, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches where the cellular network core is configured to send subscriber data to the emergency server, wherein the subscriber data corresponds to UE registrations during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core ( where the cellular network core is configured to send subscriber data to the emergency server, wherein the subscriber data corresponds to UE registrations during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core ) [see Paragraphs 0067 & 0068 & 0074 & 0066 & 0065 & 0057 & 0058 & 0054 & 0053 & 0052 & 0029 & 0027 & 0026 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 ), and further in view of US 20130201879 because US 20130201879 suggests that an HSS is made aware of active emergency registration of a user. An active emergency registration of a user can be kept alive, even when terminating normal registration of the user. Enable a call back from an emergency centre to succeed.
Regarding to the claim 3, US 20170094490 further teaches where the emergency server is further configured to update the subscriber mapping data as subscriber changes are made ( where the emergency server is further configured to update the subscriber mapping data as subscriber changes are made ) [see Paragraphs 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0039 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0051 & 0063 & 0070 & 0071 ].
Regarding to the claim 4, US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more servers comprises a home subscriber server (HSS).
US 20130201879, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more servers comprises a home subscriber server (HSS) [see Paragraph 0067 ] [see Paragraphs 0067 & 0068 & 0074 & 0066 & 0065 & 0057 & 0058 & 0054 & 0053 & 0052 & 0029 & 0027 & 0026 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 ), and further in view of US 20130201879 because US 20130201879 suggests that an HSS is made aware of active emergency registration of a user. An active emergency registration of a user can be kept alive, even when terminating normal registration of the user. Enable a call back from an emergency centre to succeed.
Regarding to the claim 5, US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 teach the limitations of the claim 4 above.
However, US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 do not explicitly teach wherein the emergency server corresponds to a standalone server that functions as an application server during normal operation mode and functions as a HSS during an emergency operation mode.
US 20130201879, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the emergency server corresponds to a standalone server that functions as an application server during normal operation mode and functions as a HSS during an emergency operation mode ( wherein the emergency server corresponds to a standalone server that functions as an application server during normal operation mode and functions as a HSS during an emergency operation mode ) [see Paragraphs 0067 & 0068 & 0074 & 0066 & 0065 & 0057 & 0058 & 0054 & 0053 & 0052 & 0029 & 0027 & 0026 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 ), and further in view of US 20130201879 because US 20130201879 suggests that an HSS is made aware of active emergency registration of a user. An active emergency registration of a user can be kept alive, even when terminating normal registration of the user. Enable a call back from an emergency centre to succeed.
Regarding to the claim 6, US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 teach the limitations of the claim 4 above.
However, US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 do not explicitly teach where the cellular network core is configured to use the HSS during the non-emergency operations and, in the emergency mode, the cellular network core reconfigures to use the emergency server to obtain the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone numbers, and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE, wherein the cellular network core uses the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone numbers, and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to complete the one or more voice calls.
US 20130201879, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches where the cellular network core is configured to use the HSS during the non-emergency operations and, in the emergency mode, the cellular network core reconfigures to use the emergency server to obtain the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone numbers, and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE, wherein the cellular network core uses the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone numbers, and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to complete the one or more voice calls ( where the cellular network core is configured to use the HSS during the non-emergency operations and, in the emergency mode, the cellular network core reconfigures to use the emergency server to obtain the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone numbers, and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE, wherein the cellular network core uses the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone numbers, and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to complete the one or more voice calls ) [see Paragraphs 0067 & 0068 & 0074 & 0066 & 0065 & 0057 & 0058 & 0054 & 0053 & 0052 & 0029 & 0027 & 0026 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 ), and further in view of US 20130201879 because US 20130201879 suggests that an HSS is made aware of active emergency registration of a user. An active emergency registration of a user can be kept alive, even when terminating normal registration of the user. Enable a call back from an emergency centre to succeed.
Regarding to the claim 7, US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 teach the limitations of the claim 6 above.
However, US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 do not explicitly teach where the cellular network core transitions to the emergency mode when a database of the cellular network core is detected as having become corrupted.
US 20130201879, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches where the cellular network core transitions to the emergency mode when a database of the cellular network core is detected as having become corrupted (where the cellular network core transitions to the emergency mode when a database of the cellular network core is detected as having become corrupted ) [see Paragraphs 0067 & 0068 & 0074 & 0066 & 0065 & 0057 & 0058 & 0054 & 0053 & 0052 & 0029 & 0027 & 0026 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 ), and further in view of US 20130201879 because US 20130201879 suggests that an HSS is made aware of active emergency registration of a user. An active emergency registration of a user can be kept alive, even when terminating normal registration of the user. Enable a call back from an emergency centre to succeed.
Regarding to the claim 8, US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 do not explicitly teach wherein the cellular network core corresponds to an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) core.
US 20130201879, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the cellular network core corresponds to an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) core ( [0032] Different types of network entities and functions exist in the IMS network. Call Session Control Functions (CSCF) implement a session control function in SIP layer. The CSCF can act as Proxy CSCF (P-CSCF), Serving CSCF (S-CSCF) or Interrogating CSCF (I-CSCF). The P-CSCF is the first contact point for the User Equipment (UE) within the IMS; the S-CSCF handles the session states in the network; the I-CSCF is mainly the contact point within an operator's network for all IMS connections destined to a subscriber of that network operator, or a roaming subscriber currently located within that network operator's service area ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 ), and further in view of US 20130201879 because US 20130201879 suggests that an HSS is made aware of active emergency registration of a user. An active emergency registration of a user can be kept alive, even when terminating normal registration of the user. Enable a call back from an emergency centre to succeed.
Regarding to the claim 11, US 20170094490 further teaches wherein the emergency server operates independently from the one or more servers ( wherein the emergency server operates independently from the one or more servers ) [see Paragraphs 0070 & 0071 & Figure 5 & Figure 7 & Figure 9 ].
Regarding to the claim 12, US 20170094490 further teaches wherein the emergency server is physically remote from the one or more servers ( wherein the emergency server is physically remote from the one or more servers ) [see Paragraphs 0070 & 0071 & Figure 5 & Figure 7 & Figure 9 ].
Regarding to the claim 14, claim 14 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 2 above.
Regarding to the claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 3 above.
Regarding to the claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 4 above.
Regarding to the claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 5 above.
Regarding to the claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 6 above.
Regarding to the claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 7 above.
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYAN et al. ( US 20170094490, hereinafter, RYAN’s 490 ) in view of LINDHOLM et al. ( US 20180063688, hereinafter, LINDHOLM’s 688), and further in view of Bouvet et al. ( US 20200119984 , hereinafter, Bouvet’s 984 ).
Regarding to the claim 9, US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 do not explicitly teach wherein the IMS core comprises a session border controller (SBC) and a call session control function (CSCF).
US 20200119984, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the IMS core comprises a session border controller (SBC) and a call session control function (CSCF) ( [0112] The terminal sends an SIP REGISTER request 200 to the server SRV belonging to the IMS core R_C. The server SRV may correspond to various servers of the network R_C. It may be for example a P-CSCF (or A-SBC), I-CSCF or S-CSCF server, or else an application server or a combination of these. The server SRV receives the request 200 and interrogates a database comprising data relating to the subscribers of the network via a message 201. In the case of an IMS network such as the network R_C, the database is for example an HSS server, and the message 201 may be a SAR message in accordance with the Diameter protocol )[see Paragraph 0112 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20170094490 and US 20180063688), and further in view of US 20200119984 because US 20200119984 suggests that there is therefore a need for a solution for dynamically adapting the behavior of a terminal according to a network context at a low cost.
Regarding to the claim 10, US 20170094490 and US 20180063688 teach the limitations of the claim 9 above.
However, US 20170094490 does not explicitly teach wherein the IMS core further an application server.
US 20200119984, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the IMS core further an application server ( [0112] The terminal sends an SIP REGISTER request 200 to the server SRV belonging to the IMS core R_C. The server SRV may correspond to various servers of the network R_C. It may be for example a P-CSCF (or A-SBC), I-CSCF or S-CSCF server, or else an application server or a combination of these. The server SRV receives the request 200 and interrogates a database comprising data relating to the subscribers of the network via a message 201. In the case of an IMS network such as the network R_C, the database is for example an HSS server, and the message 201 may be a SAR message in accordance with the Diameter protocol )[see Paragraph 0112 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20170094490 and US 20180063688), and further in view of US 20200119984 because US 20200119984 suggests that there is therefore a need for a solution for dynamically adapting the behavior of a terminal according to a network context at a low cost.
Regarding to the claim 13, US 20180063688 teaches during non-emergency operations, collecting, by an emergency server ( P-CSCF ) [see Paragraphs 0056 & 0057 ], subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration ), wherein the subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration ) corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (MSISDNs) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063 & 0061 ] and international mobile subscriber identities (IMSIs) for particular user equipment (UE) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063]
;
during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core, storing, by the emergency server, the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core (store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ];
during an emergency mode, using, by the emergency server ( P-CSCF ) [see Paragraphs 0056 & 0057 ], a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs (MSISDNs and IMSIs ) for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls (during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ]
(collect an emergency registration, wherein the emergency registration corresponds to MSISDN and IMSI ; it constructs the emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ].
However, US 20180063688 does not explicitly teach facilitating operating of a cellular network core in a non-emergency mode, wherein the cellular network comprises one or more servers.
US 20240114593, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches facilitating operating of a cellular network core (IMS core 110 ) [see Figure 4 ] in a non-emergency mode, wherein the cellular network comprises one or more servers ( Proxy Call Session Control Function (PCSCF) 408 ) [see Figure 4 ]; and an emergency server ( Emergency Call Session Control Function (ECSCF) 410, Emergency Service Center 406 ) [see Figure 4 ],
during non-emergency operations of the cellular network core: collecting, by an emergency server ( Emergency Call Session Control Function (ECSCF) 410, Emergency Service Center 406 ) [see Figure 4 ], subscriber mapping data (MSISDNs and IMSIs ) , wherein the subscriber mapping data corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (MSISDNs) and international mobile subscriber identities (IMSIs) for particular user equipment (UE) (during non-emergency operations of the cellular network core: collect subscriber mapping data, wherein the subscriber mapping data corresponds to subscriber phone numbers and international mobile subscriber identities (IMSIs) for particular user equipment (UE)) [see Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0015 & 0016 & 0017 & 0037 ] ;
during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core (IMS core),
storing the subscriber mapping data (storing the MSISDNs and IMSIs in the Emergency Call Session Control Function (ECSCF) 410 and the Emergency Message With Callback Information 404 ) in storage , wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core (IMS core 110 ) ( store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core) [see Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0015 & 0016 & 0017 & 0037 ];
during an emergency mode, using, by the emergency server ( the Emergency Call Session Control Function (ECSCF) 410 and the Emergency Message With Callback Information 404 ) ,a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers (MSISDNs and IMSIs ) and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls (during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the MSISDNs and IMSIs for the UE to make one or more voice calls ) [see Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0015 & 0016 & 0017 & 0037 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20180063688 in view of US 20240114593 because US 20240114593 suggests that thus, implementing the device information determination techniques can improve UE access to emergency services and allow unregistered UEs to make calls without being anonymous.
Regarding to the claim 14 , US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 teach the limitations of the claim 13 above.
However, US 20180063688 does not explicitly teach sending, by the cellular network core, subscriber data to the emergency server, wherein the subscriber data corresponds to UE registrations during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core.
US 20240114593, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches sending, by the cellular network core, subscriber data to the emergency server, wherein the subscriber data corresponds to UE registrations during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core (sending, by the cellular network core, subscriber data to the emergency server, wherein the subscriber data corresponds to UE registrations during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core ) [see Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0015 & 0016 & 0017 & 0037 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20180063688 in view of US 20240114593 because US 20240114593 suggests that thus, implementing the device information determination techniques can improve UE access to emergency services and allow unregistered UEs to make calls without being anonymous.
Regarding to the claim 15, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20180063688 does not explicitly teach updating, by the emergency server, the subscriber mapping data as subscriber changes are made .
US 20240114593, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches updating, by the emergency server, the subscriber mapping data as subscriber changes are made (updating, by the emergency server, the subscriber mapping data as subscriber changes are made ) [see Paragraph 0030].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20180063688 in view of US 20240114593 because US 20240114593 suggests that thus, implementing the device information determination techniques can improve UE access to emergency services and allow unregistered UEs to make calls without being anonymous.
Regarding to the claim 20, US 20180063688 teaches one or more non-transitory, machine-readable media having machine-readable instructions thereon which, when executed by one or more processing devices, cause the one or more processing devices to perform operations to facilitate continuation of voice services in an event of a failure in a wireless network, the operations comprising:
during non-emergency operations, collecting, by an emergency server ( P-CSCF ) [see Paragraphs 0056 & 0057 ], subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration ), wherein the subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration ) corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (MSISDNs) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063 & 0061 ] and international mobile subscriber identities (IMSIs) for particular user equipment (UE) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063]
;
during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core, storing, by the emergency server, the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core (store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ];
during an emergency mode, using, by the emergency server ( P-CSCF ) [see Paragraphs 0056 & 0057 ], a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs (MSISDNs and IMSIs ) for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls (during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ]
(collect an emergency registration, wherein the emergency registration corresponds to MSISDN and IMSI ; it constructs the emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ].
However, US 20180063688 does not explicitly teach facilitating operating of a cellular network core in a non-emergency mode, wherein the cellular network comprises one or more servers.
US 20240114593, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches facilitating operating of a cellular network core (IMS core 110 ) [see Figure 4 ] in a non-emergency mode, wherein the cellular network comprises one or more servers ( Proxy Call Session Control Function (PCSCF) 408 ) [see Figure 4 ]; and an emergency server ( Emergency Call Session Control Function (ECSCF) 410, Emergency Service Center 406 ) [see Figure 4 ],
during non-emergency operations of the cellular network core: collecting, by an emergency server ( Emergency Call Session Control Function (ECSCF) 410, Emergency Service Center 406 ) [see Figure 4 ], subscriber mapping data (MSISDNs and IMSIs ) , wherein the subscriber mapping data corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (MSISDNs) and international mobile subscriber identities (IMSIs) for particular user equipment (UE) (during non-emergency operations of the cellular network core: collect subscriber mapping data, wherein the subscriber mapping data corresponds to subscriber phone numbers and international mobile subscriber identities (IMSIs) for particular user equipment (UE)) [see Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0015 & 0016 & 0017 & 0037 ] ;
during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core (IMS core),
storing the subscriber mapping data (storing the MSISDNs and IMSIs in the Emergency Call Session Control Function (ECSCF) 410 and the Emergency Message With Callback Information 404 ) in storage , wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core (IMS core 110 ) ( store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core) [see Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0015 & 0016 & 0017 & 0037 ];
during an emergency mode, using, by the emergency server ( the Emergency Call Session Control Function (ECSCF) 410 and the Emergency Message With Callback Information 404 ) ,a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers (MSISDNs and IMSIs ) and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls (during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the MSISDNs and IMSIs for the UE to make one or more voice calls ) [see Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0015 & 0016 & 0017 & 0037 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20180063688 in view of US 20240114593 because US 20240114593 suggests that thus, implementing the device information determination techniques can improve UE access to emergency services and allow unregistered UEs to make calls without being anonymous.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINDHOLM et al. ( US 20180063688, hereinafter, LINDHOLM’s 688) in view of Sabeur et al. ( US 20240114593, hereinafter, Sabeur’s 593), and further in view of Qiu et al. ( US 20220078091, hereinafter, Qui’s 091 ).
Regarding to the claim 4, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more servers comprise a home subscriber server (HSS).
US 20220078091, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more servers comprise a home subscriber server (HSS) (wherein the one or more servers comprise a home subscriber server (HSS)) [see Figure 4A and Paragraph 0038].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20180063688 and US 20240114593), and further in view of US 20220078091 because US 20220078091 suggests that Moreover, the cloud infrastructure is inherently less reliable than traditional special purpose-built, fully integrated network servers. The need to maintain fault resilience in such a network becomes difficult with a large set of inter-dependent network functions.
Regarding to the claim 5, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 teach the limitations of the claim 4 above.
However, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 do not explicitly teach wherein the emergency server corresponds to a standalone server that functions as an application server during normal operation mode and functions as a HSS during an emergency operation mode.
US 20220078091, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the emergency server corresponds to a standalone server that functions as an application server during normal operation mode and functions as a HSS during an emergency operation mode (wherein the emergency server corresponds to a standalone server that functions as an application server during normal operation mode and functions as a HSS during an emergency operation mode) [see Paragraph 0044].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20180063688 and US 20240114593), and further in view of US 20220078091 because US 20220078091 suggests that Moreover, the cloud infrastructure is inherently less reliable than traditional special purpose-built, fully integrated network servers. The need to maintain fault resilience in such a network becomes difficult with a large set of inter-dependent network functions.
Regarding to the claim 8, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 teach the limitations of the claim 4 above.
However, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 do not explicitly teach wherein the cellular network core corresponds to an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) core.
US 20220078091, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the cellular network core corresponds to an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) core (wherein the cellular network core corresponds to an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) core ) [see Figure 4A and Paragraph 0038 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20180063688 and US 20240114593), and further in view of US 20220078091 because US 20220078091 suggests that Moreover, the cloud infrastructure is inherently less reliable than traditional special purpose-built, fully integrated network servers. The need to maintain fault resilience in such a network becomes difficult with a large set of inter-dependent network functions.
Regarding to the claim 9, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 teach the limitations of the claim 8 above.
However, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 do not explicitly teach wherein the IMS core comprises a session border controller (SBC) and a call session control function (CSCF).
US 20220078091, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the IMS core comprises a session border controller (SBC) and a call session control function (CSCF) (wherein the IMS core comprises a session border controller (SBC) and a call session control function (CSCF)) [see Paragraph 0001].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20180063688 and US 20240114593), and further in view of US 20220078091 because US 20220078091 suggests that Moreover, the cloud infrastructure is inherently less reliable than traditional special purpose-built, fully integrated network servers. The need to maintain fault resilience in such a network becomes difficult with a large set of inter-dependent network functions.
Regarding to the claim 10, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 teach the limitations of the claim 8 above.
However, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 do not explicitly teach wherein the IMS core further comprises an application server (AS).
US 20220078091, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the IMS core further comprises an application server ( wherein the IMS core further comprises an application server ) [see Paragraph 0044].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20180063688 and US 20240114593), and further in view of US 20220078091 because US 20220078091 suggests that Moreover, the cloud infrastructure is inherently less reliable than traditional special purpose-built, fully integrated network servers. The need to maintain fault resilience in such a network becomes difficult with a large set of inter-dependent network functions.
Regarding to the claim 11, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20180063688 does not explicitly teach wherein the emergency server operates independently from the one or more servers.
US 20240114593, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the emergency server ( Emergency Call Session Control Function (ECSCF) 410, Emergency Message With Callback Information 404 ) operates independently from the one or more servers (wherein the emergency server operates independently from the one or more servers ) [see Figure 4A and Paragraph 0038].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20180063688 and US 20240114593), and further in view of US 20220078091 because US 20220078091 suggests that Moreover, the cloud infrastructure is inherently less reliable than traditional special purpose-built, fully integrated network servers. The need to maintain fault resilience in such a network becomes difficult with a large set of inter-dependent network functions.
Regarding to the claim 12, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 teach the limitations of the claim 11 above.
However, US 20180063688 does not explicitly teach wherein the emergency server is physically remote from the one or more servers.
US 20240114593, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the emergency server is physically remote from the one or more servers (wherein the emergency server is physically remote from the one or more servers) [see Figure 4A and Paragraph 0038 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20180063688 and US 20240114593), and further in view of US 20220078091 because US 20220078091 suggests that Moreover, the cloud infrastructure is inherently less reliable than traditional special purpose-built, fully integrated network servers. The need to maintain fault resilience in such a network becomes difficult with a large set of inter-dependent network functions.
Regarding to the claim 16, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 teach the limitations of the claim 13 above.
However, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more servers comprise a home subscriber server (HSS).
US 20220078091, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more servers comprise a home subscriber server (HSS) (wherein the one or more servers comprise a home subscriber server (HSS)) [see Figure 4A and Paragraph 0038].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20180063688 and US 20240114593), and further in view of US 20220078091 because US 20220078091 suggests that Moreover, the cloud infrastructure is inherently less reliable than traditional special purpose-built, fully integrated network servers. The need to maintain fault resilience in such a network becomes difficult with a large set of inter-dependent network functions.
Regarding to the claim 17, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 teach the limitations of the claim 4 above.
However, US 20180063688 and US 20240114593 do not explicitly teach wherein the emergency server corresponds to a standalone server that functions as an application server during normal operation mode and functions as a HSS during an emergency operation mode.
US 20220078091, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the emergency server corresponds to a standalone server that functions as an application server during normal operation mode and functions as a HSS during an emergency operation mode (wherein the emergency server corresponds to a standalone server that functions as an application server during normal operation mode and functions as a HSS during an emergency operation mode) [see Paragraph 0044].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20180063688 and US 20240114593), and further in view of US 20220078091 because US 20220078091 suggests that Moreover, the cloud infrastructure is inherently less reliable than traditional special purpose-built, fully integrated network servers. The need to maintain fault resilience in such a network becomes difficult with a large set of inter-dependent network functions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose where the cellular network core is configured to use the HSS during the non-emergency operations and, in the emergency mode, the cellular network core reconfigures to use the emergency server to obtain the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone numbers, and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE, wherein the cellular network core uses the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone numbers, and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to complete the one or more voice calls.
Claims 18, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose using, by the cellular network core, the HSS during the non-emergency operations; and in the emergency mode, reconfiguring, by the cellular network core, to use the emergency server to obtain the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone numbers, and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE, wherein the cellular network core uses the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone numbers, and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to complete the one or more voice calls
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412