Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 07/16/2026.
Claims 1-12, 13-19, 20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12, 13-19, 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYAN et al. ( US 20170094490, hereinafter, RYAN’s 490 ) in view of LINDHOLM et al. ( US 20180063688, hereinafter, LINDHOLM’s 688), and further in view of IMMENDORF et al. ( US 20180160267, hereinafter, IMMENDORF’s 267 ) .
Regarding to the claim 1, RYAN’s 490 teaches a cellular network system (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ] to facilitate continuation of voice services in an event of a failure in a wireless network, the cellular network (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ]:
An emergency server that corresponds to a standalone server physically and logically separated from the cellular network core (an emergency system may be implemented as a separate hardware entity with interface to a cellular network. A single emergency system may interface to single cellular network 118 or multiple cellular networks such as networks 118A, 118B, and 118C maintained by different operators ) [see Paragraph 0035],
Wherein the emergency server is configured to:
During non-emergency operations of the cellular network core:
(the emergency server 130) collect subscriber data ( the emergency server maintains a subscriber register which includes subscriber profiles ) [see Paragraph 0034], wherein the subscriber data corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (device phone numbers) [see Paragraph 0051 ] and internation mobile subscriber identities (IMSIs) [see Paragraph 0070 ] for particular user equipment ( UE ) [see Paragraphs 0070 & 0071 & Figure 5 & Figure 7 & Figure 9 ];
Store the subscriber data in dedicated storage accessible to the emergency server and not accessible by the cellular network core ( the emergency system 130, the emergency mediation server 120, the emergency server 320, the emergency server 510 ) [see paragraphs 0070 & 0051];
During an emergency mode, use a data of the subscriber phone numbers (device phone numbers) [see Paragraph 0051] and / or the IMSIs (IMSIs) [see the Paragraph 0070 ] for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls [see Paragraphs 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0039 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0051 & 0063 & 0070 & 0071 ].
However, RYAN’s 490 does not explicitly teach mapping data.
LINDHOLM’s 688, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches
an emergency server (P-CSCF ) [see Paragraphs 0056 & 0057 ] , wherein the emergency server is configured to:
during non-emergency operation :
collect subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration ) ( an emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ), wherein the subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration) corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (MSISDN) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063 & 0061 ] and international mobile subscriber identities (IMSIs) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063] for particular user equipment (UE) (collect an emergency registration, wherein the emergency registration corresponds to MSISDN and IMSI ; it constructs the emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ] ; and
store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core (store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ] ;
during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls (during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ]
(collect an emergency registration, wherein the emergency registration corresponds to MSISDN and IMSI ; it constructs the emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of RYAN’s 490 in view of LINDHOLM’s 688 because LINDHOLM’s 688 suggests that thus, implementing the device information determination techniques can improve UE access to emergency services and allow unregistered UEs to make calls without being anonymous.
However, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 do not explicitly teach wherein, in the emergency mode, the cellular network core uses the emergency server to obtain data comprising the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone, and / OR the IMSIs for the particular UE, and the cellular network core uses the data to complete the one or more voice calls.
IMMENDORF’s 267, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein, in the emergency mode, the cellular network core uses the emergency server to obtain data comprising the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone, and / OR the IMSIs for the particular UE (the IMSIs for the particular UE ) [see Paragraph 0079] , and the cellular network core uses the data to complete the one or more voice calls ([0079] The subscriber IDs returned at S308 may be temporary subscriber identities which may be linked within a cellular network to a globally unique subscriber identity for the UE. In particular, the subscriber IDs returned at S308 may be temporary subscriber identities which may be linked within a cellular network to a globally unique subscriber identity for the UE (e.g. IMSI, ESN, dynamically assigned device IP Address, etc.) The subscriber IDs may be received by an emergency mediation server 120 from each network for which a location area identifier change was requested at S306) [see Paragraph 0079] [also see the paragraph 0078].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify combined system ( RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688), and further in view of IMMENDORF’s 267 because IMMENDORF’s 267 suggests that cellular networks are typically capable of determining the locations of User Equipment (UE). Location information for a UE can be used for many purposes, such as delivering location-specific information to users. One field that benefits from accurate location information for UEs is emergency services.
Regarding to the claim 13, RYAN’s 490 teaches a method to facilitate continuation of voice services in an event of a failure in a wireless network, the method comprising:
facilitating operating of a cellular network core (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ] in a non-emergency mode, wherein the cellular network core (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ] comprises one or more servers;
during non-emergency operations of the cellular network core (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ],
collecting, by an emergency server that corresponds to a standalone server physically and logically separated from the cellular network core (an emergency system may be implemented as a separate hardware entity with interface to a cellular network. A single emergency system may interface to single cellular network 118 or multiple cellular networks such as networks 118A, 118B, and 118C maintained by different operators ) [see Paragraph 0035],
collect subscriber data ( the emergency server maintains a subscriber register which includes subscriber profiles ) [see Paragraph 0034] , wherein the subscriber data corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (device phone numbers) [see Paragraph 0051 ] and international mobile subscriber identities ( IMSIs) ) [see Paragraph 0070 ] for particular user equipment ( UE ) [see Paragraphs 0070 & 0071 & Figure 5 & Figure 7 & Figure 9 ]
during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core, storing, by the emergency server, the subscriber mapping data in dedicated storage accessible to the emergency server and not accessible by the cellular network core ( the emergency system 130, the emergency mediation server 120, the emergency server 320, the emergency server 510 ) [see paragraphs 0070 & 0051];
During an emergency mode, use a data of the subscriber phone numbers (device phone numbers) [see Paragraph 0051] and / or the IMSIs (IMSIs) [see the Paragraph 0070 ] for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls [see Paragraphs 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0039 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0051 & 0063 & 0070 & 0071 ].
However, RYAN’s 490 does not explicitly teach mapping data.
LINDHOLM’s 688, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches
an emergency server (P-CSCF ) [see Paragraphs 0056 & 0057 ] , wherein the emergency server is configured to:
during non-emergency operation :
collect subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration ) ( an emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ), wherein the subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration) corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (MSISDN) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063 & 0061 ] and international mobile subscriber identities (IMSIs) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063] for particular user equipment (UE) (collect an emergency registration, wherein the emergency registration corresponds to MSISDN and IMSI ; it constructs the emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ] ; and
store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core (store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ] ;
during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls (during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ]
(collect an emergency registration, wherein the emergency registration corresponds to MSISDN and IMSI ; it constructs the emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of RYAN’s 490 in view of LINDHOLM’s 688 because LINDHOLM’s 688 suggests that thus, implementing the device information determination techniques can improve UE access to emergency services and allow unregistered UEs to make calls without being anonymous.
However, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 do not explicitly teach wherein, in the emergency mode, the cellular network core uses the emergency server to obtain data comprising the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone, and / OR the IMSIs for the particular UE, and the cellular network core uses the data to complete the one or more voice calls.
IMMENDORF’s 267, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein, in the emergency mode, the cellular network core uses the emergency server to obtain data comprising the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone, and / OR the IMSIs for the particular UE (the IMSIs for the particular UE ) [see Paragraph 0079] , and the cellular network core uses the data to complete the one or more voice calls ([0079] The subscriber IDs returned at S308 may be temporary subscriber identities which may be linked within a cellular network to a globally unique subscriber identity for the UE. In particular, the subscriber IDs returned at S308 may be temporary subscriber identities which may be linked within a cellular network to a globally unique subscriber identity for the UE (e.g. IMSI, ESN, dynamically assigned device IP Address, etc.) The subscriber IDs may be received by an emergency mediation server 120 from each network for which a location area identifier change was requested at S306) [see Paragraph 0079] [also see the paragraph 0078].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify combined system ( RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688), and further in view of IMMENDORF’s 267 because IMMENDORF’s 267 suggests that cellular networks are typically capable of determining the locations of User Equipment (UE). Location information for a UE can be used for many purposes, such as delivering location-specific information to users. One field that benefits from accurate location information for UEs is emergency services.
Regarding to the claim 20, RYAN’s 490 teaches one or more non-transitory, machine-readable media having machine-readable instructions thereon which, when executed by one or more processing devices, cause the one or more processing devices to perform operations to facilitate continuation of voice services in an event of a failure in a wireless network, the operations comprising:
facilitating operating of a cellular network core (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ] in a non-emergency mode, wherein the cellular network core (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ] comprises one or more servers;
during non-emergency operations of the cellular network core (cellular communication network) [see the Abstract ],
collecting, by an emergency server that corresponds to a standalone server physically and logically separated from the cellular network core (an emergency system may be implemented as a separate hardware entity with interface to a cellular network. A single emergency system may interface to single cellular network 118 or multiple cellular networks such as networks 118A, 118B, and 118C maintained by different operators ) [see Paragraph 0035],
collect subscriber data ( the emergency server maintains a subscriber register which includes subscriber profiles ) [see Paragraph 0034] , wherein the subscriber data corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (device phone numbers) [see Paragraph 0051 ] and international mobile subscriber identities ( IMSIs) ) [see Paragraph 0070 ] for particular user equipment ( UE ) [see Paragraphs 0070 & 0071 & Figure 5 & Figure 7 & Figure 9 ]
during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core, storing, by the emergency server, the subscriber mapping data in dedicated storage accessible to the emergency server and not accessible by the cellular network core ( the emergency system 130, the emergency mediation server 120, the emergency server 320, the emergency server 510 ) [see paragraphs 0070 & 0051];
During an emergency mode, use a data of the subscriber phone numbers (device phone numbers) [see Paragraph 0051] and / or the IMSIs (IMSIs) [see the Paragraph 0070 ] for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls [see Paragraphs 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0039 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0051 & 0063 & 0070 & 0071 ].
However, RYAN’s 490 does not explicitly teach mapping data.
LINDHOLM’s 688, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches
an emergency server (P-CSCF ) [see Paragraphs 0056 & 0057 ] , wherein the emergency server is configured to:
during non-emergency operation :
collect subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration ) ( an emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ), wherein the subscriber mapping data (an emergency registration) corresponds to subscriber phone numbers (MSISDN) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063 & 0061 ] and international mobile subscriber identities (IMSIs) [see Paragraphs 0062 & 0063] for particular user equipment (UE) (collect an emergency registration, wherein the emergency registration corresponds to MSISDN and IMSI ; it constructs the emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ] ; and
store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core (store the subscriber mapping data in storage, wherein the storage is not shared with the cellular network core) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ] ;
during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls (during an emergency mode, use a mapping of the subscriber phone numbers and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to facilitate completion of one or more voice calls) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ]
(collect an emergency registration, wherein the emergency registration corresponds to MSISDN and IMSI ; it constructs the emergency registration in order to make an authentication IMS emergency call ) [see Paragraphs 0055 – 0063 & 0008 – 0019 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of RYAN’s 490 in view of LINDHOLM’s 688 because LINDHOLM’s 688 suggests that thus, implementing the device information determination techniques can improve UE access to emergency services and allow unregistered UEs to make calls without being anonymous.
However, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 do not explicitly teach wherein, in the emergency mode, the cellular network core uses the emergency server to obtain data comprising the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone, and / OR the IMSIs for the particular UE, and the cellular network core uses the data to complete the one or more voice calls.
IMMENDORF’s 267, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein, in the emergency mode, the cellular network core uses the emergency server to obtain data comprising the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone, and / OR the IMSIs for the particular UE (the IMSIs for the particular UE ) [see Paragraph 0079] , and the cellular network core uses the data to complete the one or more voice calls ([0079] The subscriber IDs returned at S308 may be temporary subscriber identities which may be linked within a cellular network to a globally unique subscriber identity for the UE. In particular, the subscriber IDs returned at S308 may be temporary subscriber identities which may be linked within a cellular network to a globally unique subscriber identity for the UE (e.g. IMSI, ESN, dynamically assigned device IP Address, etc.) The subscriber IDs may be received by an emergency mediation server 120 from each network for which a location area identifier change was requested at S306) [see Paragraph 0079] [also see the paragraph 0078].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify combined system ( RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688), and further in view of IMMENDORF’s 267 because IMMENDORF’s 267 suggests that cellular networks are typically capable of determining the locations of User Equipment (UE). Location information for a UE can be used for many purposes, such as delivering location-specific information to users. One field that benefits from accurate location information for UEs is emergency services.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYAN et al. ( US 20170094490, hereinafter, RYAN’s 490 ) in view of LINDHOLM et al. ( US 20180063688, hereinafter, LINDHOLM’s 688), and further in view of IMMENDORF et al. ( US 20180160267, hereinafter, IMMENDORF’s 267 ), and further in view of Varga et al. ( US 20130201879, hereinafter, Varga’s 879 ).
Regarding to the claim 2, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 do not explicitly teach where the cellular network core is configured to send subscriber data to the emergency server, wherein the subscriber data corresponds to UE registrations during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core.
Varga’s 879, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches where the cellular network core is configured to send subscriber data to the emergency server, wherein the subscriber data corresponds to UE registrations during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core ( where the cellular network core is configured to send subscriber data to the emergency server, wherein the subscriber data corresponds to UE registrations during the non-emergency operations of the cellular network core ) [see Paragraphs 0067 & 0068 & 0074 & 0066 & 0065 & 0057 & 0058 & 0054 & 0053 & 0052 & 0029 & 0027 & 0026 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 ), and further in view of Varga’s 879 because Varga’s 879 suggests that an HSS is made aware of active emergency registration of a user. An active emergency registration of a user can be kept alive, even when terminating normal registration of the user. Enable a call back from an emergency centre to succeed.
Regarding to the claim 3, RYAN’s 490 further teaches where the emergency server is further configured to update the subscriber mapping data as subscriber changes are made ( where the emergency server is further configured to update the subscriber mapping data as subscriber changes are made ) [see Paragraphs 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0039 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0051 & 0063 & 0070 & 0071 ].
Regarding to the claim 4, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more servers comprises a home subscriber server (HSS).
Varga’s 879 , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more servers comprises a home subscriber server (HSS) [see Paragraph 0067 ] [see Paragraphs 0067 & 0068 & 0074 & 0066 & 0065 & 0057 & 0058 & 0054 & 0053 & 0052 & 0029 & 0027 & 0026 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 ), and further in view of Varga’s 879 because Varga’s 879 suggests that an HSS is made aware of active emergency registration of a user. An active emergency registration of a user can be kept alive, even when terminating normal registration of the user. Enable a call back from an emergency centre to succeed.
Regarding to the claim 5, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 teach the limitations of the claim 4 above.
However, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 do not explicitly teach wherein the emergency server corresponds to a standalone server that functions as an application server during normal operation mode and functions as a HSS during an emergency operation mode.
Varga’s 879 , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the emergency server corresponds to a standalone server that functions as an application server during normal operation mode and functions as a HSS during an emergency operation mode ( wherein the emergency server corresponds to a standalone server that functions as an application server during normal operation mode and functions as a HSS during an emergency operation mode ) [see Paragraphs 0067 & 0068 & 0074 & 0066 & 0065 & 0057 & 0058 & 0054 & 0053 & 0052 & 0029 & 0027 & 0026 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 ), and further in view of Varga’s 879 because Varga’s 879 suggests that an HSS is made aware of active emergency registration of a user. An active emergency registration of a user can be kept alive, even when terminating normal registration of the user. Enable a call back from an emergency centre to succeed.
Regarding to the claim 6, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 teach the limitations of the claim 4 above.
However, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 do not explicitly teach where the cellular network core is configured to use the HSS during the non-emergency operations.
Varga’s 879 , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches where the cellular network core is configured to use the HSS during the non-emergency operations ( where the cellular network core is configured to use the HSS during the non-emergency operations and, in the emergency mode, the cellular network core reconfigures to use the emergency server to obtain the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone numbers, and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE, wherein the cellular network core uses the subscriber mapping data, the subscriber phone numbers, and/or the IMSIs for the particular UE to complete the one or more voice calls ) [see Paragraphs 0067 & 0068 & 0074 & 0066 & 0065 & 0057 & 0058 & 0054 & 0053 & 0052 & 0029 & 0027 & 0026 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 ), and further in view of Varga’s 879 because Varga’s 879 suggests that an HSS is made aware of active emergency registration of a user. An active emergency registration of a user can be kept alive, even when terminating normal registration of the user. Enable a call back from an emergency center to succeed.
Regarding to the claim 7, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 teach the limitations of the claim 6 above.
However, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 do not explicitly teach where the cellular network core transitions to the emergency mode when a database of the cellular network core is detected as having become corrupted.
IMMENDORF’s 267 , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches where the cellular network core transitions to the emergency mode when a database of the cellular network core is detected as having become corrupted (where the cellular network core transitions to the emergency mode when a database of the cellular network core is detected as having become corrupted ) [see Paragraphs 0033 & 0035 & 0078 & 0079 & 0092 & 0112].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 ), and further in view of IMMENDORF’s 267 because IMMENDORF’s 267 suggests that cellular networks are typically capable of determining the locations of User Equipment (UE). Location information for a UE can be used for many purposes, such as delivering location-specific information to users. One field that benefits from accurate location information for UEs is emergency services.
Regarding to the claim 8, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 do not explicitly teach wherein the cellular network core corresponds to an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) core.
Varga’s 879 , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the cellular network core corresponds to an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) core ( [0032] Different types of network entities and functions exist in the IMS network. Call Session Control Functions (CSCF) implement a session control function in SIP layer. The CSCF can act as Proxy CSCF (P-CSCF), Serving CSCF (S-CSCF) or Interrogating CSCF (I-CSCF). The P-CSCF is the first contact point for the User Equipment (UE) within the IMS; the S-CSCF handles the session states in the network; the I-CSCF is mainly the contact point within an operator's network for all IMS connections destined to a subscriber of that network operator, or a roaming subscriber currently located within that network operator's service area ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 ), and further in view of Varga’s 879 because Varga’s 879 suggests that an HSS is made aware of active emergency registration of a user. An active emergency registration of a user can be kept alive, even when terminating normal registration of the user. Enable a call back from an emergency centre to succeed.
Regarding to the claim 11, RYAN’s 490 further teaches wherein the emergency server operates independently from the one or more servers ( wherein the emergency server operates independently from the one or more servers ) [see Paragraphs 0070 & 0071 & Figure 5 & Figure 7 & Figure 9 ].
Regarding to the claim 12, RYAN’s 490 further teaches wherein the emergency server is physically remote from the one or more servers ( wherein the emergency server is physically remote from the one or more servers ) [see Paragraphs 0070 & 0071 & Figure 5 & Figure 7 & Figure 9 ].
Regarding to the claim 14, claim 14 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 2 , because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 15, claim 15 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 3 , because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 16, claim 16 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 4 , because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 17, claim 17 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 5 , because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 18, claim 18 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 6 , because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 19, claim 19 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 7 , because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYAN et al. ( US 20170094490, hereinafter, RYAN’s 490 ) in view of LINDHOLM et al. ( US 20180063688, hereinafter, LINDHOLM’s 688), and further in view of Bouvet et al. ( US 20200119984 , hereinafter, Bouvet’s 984 ).
Regarding to the claim 9, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 do not explicitly teach wherein the IMS core comprises a session border controller (SBC) and a call session control function (CSCF).
Bouvet’s 984, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the IMS core comprises a session border controller (SBC) and a call session control function (CSCF) ( [0112] The terminal sends an SIP REGISTER request 200 to the server SRV belonging to the IMS core R_C. The server SRV may correspond to various servers of the network R_C. It may be for example a P-CSCF (or A-SBC), I-CSCF or S-CSCF server, or else an application server or a combination of these. The server SRV receives the request 200 and interrogates a database comprising data relating to the subscribers of the network via a message 201. In the case of an IMS network such as the network R_C, the database is for example an HSS server, and the message 201 may be a SAR message in accordance with the Diameter protocol )[see Paragraph 0112 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 ), and further in view of Bouvet’s 984 because Bouvet’s 984 suggests that there is therefore a need for a solution for dynamically adapting the behavior of a terminal according to a network context at a low cost.
Regarding to the claim 10, RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 teach the limitations of the claim 9 above.
However, RYAN’s 490 does not explicitly teach wherein the IMS core further an application server.
Bouvet’s 984 , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the IMS core further an application server ( [0112] The terminal sends an SIP REGISTER request 200 to the server SRV belonging to the IMS core R_C. The server SRV may correspond to various servers of the network R_C. It may be for example a P-CSCF (or A-SBC), I-CSCF or S-CSCF server, or else an application server or a combination of these. The server SRV receives the request 200 and interrogates a database comprising data relating to the subscribers of the network via a message 201. In the case of an IMS network such as the network R_C, the database is for example an HSS server, and the message 201 may be a SAR message in accordance with the Diameter protocol )[see Paragraph 0112 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (RYAN’s 490 and LINDHOLM’s 688 ), and further in view of Bouvet’s 984 because Bouvet’s 984 suggests that there is therefore a need for a solution for dynamically adapting the behavior of a terminal according to a network context at a low cost.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412