DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
The applicant’s claim to priority of Japan 2011-105514 on 5/10/2011 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mian (US Publication 20100076631 hereinafter Mian) and further in view of Tian et al. (US 20160059416 hereinafter Tian).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly 10 and 19), Mian teaches determining one or more of a location or a pose of a power system component based on data received from one or more optical sensors (See at least: [0035] via “Imaging device 46 can acquire images of the general surroundings of vehicle 30, which can be provided for processing by processing component 36 to acquire an overall situational awareness for vehicle 30. Similarly, vehicle 30 can include a set of microphones, such as an acoustic microphone array 47, which can acquire acoustic data from the environment around vehicle 30. Processing component 36 can process the acoustic data to detect and compute directional information for a source of a sound, e.g., by comparing phase information from the array 47, identify the type of sound, and/or the like.”; [0037]-[0041] via “GPS”);
determining a mapping of a location of a robotic system within a model of an external environment of the robotic system based on the data from the one or more optical sensors, the model of the external environment providing locations of objects external to the robotic system (See at least: [0036], [0048], [0078], [0089] -[0090] via “[0089] Rail yard 10A comprises numerous salient features that can be used to accurately location vehicle 30. For example, the rail tracks comprise recognizable patterns, as well as various other features, such as sign posts, roads, structures, and/or the like, can be identified on a highly accurate digital map of rail yard 10A. Processing component 36 can identify some of these features within image data captured by imaging device 46 and use their location to make periodic course corrections to the movement of vehicle 30. Additionally, processing component 36 can implement an algorithm, such as Kalman filters, to reduce location estimation errors. [0090] Additionally, the map of rail yard 10A can be supplemented with information utilized by vehicle 30. For example, rail yard 10A can comprise several virtual cells 204A-204C”);
determining a sequence of movements of one or more components of the robotic system configured to perform maintenance on the power system component based at least in part on the locations of the objects external to the robotic system and the one or more of the location or the pose of the power system component (See at least: [0008] The inventors recognize, among other things, a need for a cost effective automated or semi-automated solution that improves and/or provides for various operations relating to the processing of rail vehicles. To this extent, an embodiment provides a robotic vehicle capable of performing routing-related functions of rail vehicles, evaluation of rail vehicles, security, and/or the like, in a rail yard. The robotic vehicle can be configured to: perform operations on moving rail vehicles; receive a set of tasks and execute the tasks without further operator intervention; successfully operate despite variations in object geometry, locations, and field conditions (e.g., snow/rain, cluttered scene, etc.); consume low power while operating; and/or the like.; [0040] “[0040] Regardless, an embodiment of the wireless communications solution enables multiple vehicles 30 to operate within an area and communicate with the same system(s) without the communications conflicting. To this extent, a group of vehicles 30 can be implemented within a work area, and cooperatively address various maintenance-related, dangerous, and/or routine tasks for the work area. For example, multiple vehicles 30 can be deployed in a rail yard to perform inspections, monitor the area, decouple rail vehicles, and/or the like. The vehicles 30 can be configured to communicate with a central system and/or with one another to request assistance or perform some action, when necessary.”, [0055], [0060], [0078]); and
communicating one or more control signals to remotely control movement of the one or more components of the robotic system based on the sequence of movements of the one or more components to perform the maintenance on the power system component (See at least: [0030] An embodiment provides a robotic vehicle capable of fully autonomous and/or semi-autonomous operation for performing one or more rail-related actions including, but not limited to, rail yard maintenance/inspection, hump track maintenance, hazardous material response, perimeter security, and/or the like. Railways are under constant pressures to reduce cost and provide safer operation. It is desirable to reduce the exposure of workers to slipping within a rail yard, the requirement of workers to perform continuous monitoring, the requirement of workers to perform actions in dangerous conditions, etc. Therefore, a railway solution that incorporates a robotic vehicle capable of fully autonomous and/or semi-autonomous operation can be beneficial to the railway industry.”; [0040], [0074]-[0085]; 0096] While vehicle 30 is generally described herein as being configured for autonomous operation in response to receiving a set of tasks from another system, it is understood that vehicle 30 can operate in semi-autonomously, during which a remote user can control vehicle 30 to perform one or more tasks and/or assist vehicle 30 in performing one or more assigned tasks. For example, processing component 36 can transmit image data captured by imaging devices 46, 114A, and/or 114B for presentation to the remote user. Additionally, processing component 36 can transmit data acquired by other sensors, such as microphone array 47 for presentation to the remote user. Data from imaging device 46 and microphone array 47 can provide situational awareness for the remote user, and processing component 36 and/or a remote system can analyze and supplement the data with analysis information (e.g., identified objects within the field of view, directional information of a source of a sound, and/or the like). Data from imaging devices 114A, 114B can be utilized by the remote user to perform/assist processing component with performing the task(s).),
but fails to teach the sequence of movements comprising a predetermined movement plan includinq one or more waypoints for movement of the one or more components of the robotic system.
However, Tian teaches wherein the sequence of movements comprising a predetermined movement plan includinq one or more waypoints for movement of the one or more components of the robotic system (See at least: [0040] via “The control module 146 may also provide control commands pursuant to a pre-planned course of action when no human is detected in a zone of interest.”; [0020]; [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Mian in view of Tian to teach wherein the sequence of movements comprising a predetermined movement plan includinq one or more waypoints for movement of the one or more components of the robotic system so the route of the robotic system can be planned in advance to chart out a viable route to complete a task.
Regarding claim 2 (and similarly 11), Mian teaches wherein the mapping of the location of the robotic system is determined for a designated area around one or more of the robotic system or the power system component (See at least: [0036], [0048], [0078], [0089] -[0090] via “[0089] Rail yard 10A comprises numerous salient features that can be used to accurately location vehicle 30. For example, the rail tracks comprise recognizable patterns, as well as various other features, such as sign posts, roads, structures, and/or the like, can be identified on a highly accurate digital map of rail yard 10A. Processing component 36 can identify some of these features within image data captured by imaging device 46 and use their location to make periodic course corrections to the movement of vehicle 30. Additionally, processing component 36 can implement an algorithm, such as Kalman filters, to reduce location estimation errors. [0090] Additionally, the map of rail yard 10A can be supplemented with information utilized by vehicle 30. For example, rail yard 10A can comprise several virtual cells 204A-204C”).
Regarding claim 3 (and similarly 12), Mian teaches assigning one or more tasks to the one or more components of the robotic system based at least in part on the sequence of movements of the one or more components of the robotic system (See at least: [0008] The inventors recognize, among other things, a need for a cost effective automated or semi-automated solution that improves and/or provides for various operations relating to the processing of rail vehicles. To this extent, an embodiment provides a robotic vehicle capable of performing routing-related functions of rail vehicles, evaluation of rail vehicles, security, and/or the like, in a rail yard. The robotic vehicle can be configured to: perform operations on moving rail vehicles; receive a set of tasks and execute the tasks without further operator intervention; successfully operate despite variations in object geometry, locations, and field conditions (e.g., snow/rain, cluttered scene, etc.); consume low power while operating; and/or the like.; [0040] “[0040] Regardless, an embodiment of the wireless communications solution enables multiple vehicles 30 to operate within an area and communicate with the same system(s) without the communications conflicting. To this extent, a group of vehicles 30 can be implemented within a work area, and cooperatively address various maintenance-related, dangerous, and/or routine tasks for the work area. For example, multiple vehicles 30 can be deployed in a rail yard to perform inspections, monitor the area, decouple rail vehicles, and/or the like. The vehicles 30 can be configured to communicate with a central system and/or with one another to request assistance or perform some action, when necessary.”, [0055], [0060], [0078]).
Regarding claim 4 (and similarly 13), Mian teaches assigning the one or more tasks based on one or more of a type of maintenance to be performed or a classification of the power system component ((See at least: [0008] The inventors recognize, among other things, a need for a cost effective automated or semi-automated solution that improves and/or provides for various operations relating to the processing of rail vehicles. To this extent, an embodiment provides a robotic vehicle capable of performing routing-related functions of rail vehicles, evaluation of rail vehicles, security, and/or the like, in a rail yard. The robotic vehicle can be configured to: perform operations on moving rail vehicles; receive a set of tasks and execute the tasks without further operator intervention; successfully operate despite variations in object geometry, locations, and field conditions (e.g., snow/rain, cluttered scene, etc.); consume low power while operating; and/or the like.; [0040] “[0040] Regardless, an embodiment of the wireless communications solution enables multiple vehicles 30 to operate within an area and communicate with the same system(s) without the communications conflicting. To this extent, a group of vehicles 30 can be implemented within a work area, and cooperatively address various maintenance-related, dangerous, and/or routine tasks for the work area. For example, multiple vehicles 30 can be deployed in a rail yard to perform inspections, monitor the area, decouple rail vehicles, and/or the like. The vehicles 30 can be configured to communicate with a central system and/or with one another to request assistance or perform some action, when necessary.”, [0055], [0060], [0078]).
Regarding claim 5 (and similarly 14), Mian teaches wherein the one or more tasks include one or more of controlling a propulsion system of the robotic system or controlling movement of a manipulator arm of the robotic system (See at least: [0033] via “includes a motor that drives a set of tracks.”; [0034] Additionally, it is understood that for various applications, vehicle 30 can comprise a wheeled vehicle, which can move unrestricted over a terrain, move along a rail, move over pathways, and/or the like. To this extent, FIG. 2 shows side and top views, respectively, of an alternative robotic vehicle 30A, which comprises a rail-based vehicle traveling over a set of rails according to an embodiment. In this case, the set of rails can run parallel to a rail line on which rail vehicles 4A-4B are moving and the set of rails can be situated a sufficient distance from rail vehicles 4A-4B so that vehicle 30A does not interfere with other operations. It is understood that, with the exception of modifications to a portion of transport component 40 (FIG. 1), vehicle 30A can include the same components as shown and described herein with respect to vehicle 30 (FIG. 1).).
Regarding claim 6 (and similarly 15), Mian teaches wherein the one or more tasks include controlling movement of a manipulator arm of the robotic system to actuate the power system component (See at least: Figs. 5 and 6c-6d; [0044] via “[0044] Robotic vehicle 30 comprises an arm 102, which includes a plurality of links 104A-104D, each of which can be moved independent of the other links 104A-104D.”; [0070] FIGS. 5, 6C, 6D illustrate use of manipulator 140 to operate release handle 128 in order to detach rail vehicles 4A-B. In particular, processing component 36 (FIG. 1) can operate arm 102 (FIG. 1) and/or manipulator 140 to engage release handle 128. To this extent, release handle 128 can be positioned such that multiple fingers, such as fingers 148A, 148C are on one side of release handle 128, while at least one finger, such as finger 148B is on the other side of release handle 128. Processing component 36 can determine that fingers 148A-148C are properly aligned using, for example, data acquired from a sensor on each finger 148A-148C that measures an amount of force being exerted. Once manipulator 140 is engaged, processing component 36 can operate arm 102 to move (e.g., shake) manipulator 140 in the direction/distance required to release components 124A, 124B. Processing component 36 can determine whether rail vehicles 4A, 4B have been successfully released from one another. If so, fingers 148A-148C can disengage from release handle 128. Otherwise, processing component 36 can move manipulator 140 again to seek to release components 124A, 124B.).
Regarding claim 7 (and similarly 16 and 20), Mian teaches determining a movement trajectory of the one or more components of the robotic system based on one or more of the mapping of the location of the robotic system within the model of the external environment of the robotic system (See at least: [0036], [0048], [0078], [0089] -[0090] via “[0089] Rail yard 10A comprises numerous salient features that can be used to accurately location vehicle 30. For example, the rail tracks comprise recognizable patterns, as well as various other features, such as sign posts, roads, structures, and/or the like, can be identified on a highly accurate digital map of rail yard 10A. Processing component 36 can identify some of these features within image data captured by imaging device 46 and use their location to make periodic course corrections to the movement of vehicle 30. Additionally, processing component 36 can implement an algorithm, such as Kalman filters, to reduce location estimation errors. [0090] Additionally, the map of rail yard 10A can be supplemented with information utilized by vehicle 30. For example, rail yard 10A can comprise several virtual cells 204A-204C”) or the sequence of movements of the one or more components of the robotic system [0008] The inventors recognize, among other things, a need for a cost effective automated or semi-automated solution that improves and/or provides for various operations relating to the processing of rail vehicles. To this extent, an embodiment provides a robotic vehicle capable of performing routing-related functions of rail vehicles, evaluation of rail vehicles, security, and/or the like, in a rail yard. The robotic vehicle can be configured to: perform operations on moving rail vehicles; receive a set of tasks and execute the tasks without further operator intervention; successfully operate despite variations in object geometry, locations, and field conditions (e.g., snow/rain, cluttered scene, etc.); consume low power while operating; and/or the like.; [0040] “[0040] Regardless, an embodiment of the wireless communications solution enables multiple vehicles 30 to operate within an area and communicate with the same system(s) without the communications conflicting. To this extent, a group of vehicles 30 can be implemented within a work area, and cooperatively address various maintenance-related, dangerous, and/or routine tasks for the work area. For example, multiple vehicles 30 can be deployed in a rail yard to perform inspections, monitor the area, decouple rail vehicles, and/or the like. The vehicles 30 can be configured to communicate with a central system and/or with one another to request assistance or perform some action, when necessary.”, [0055], [0060], [0078]) ).
Regarding claim 8 (and similarly 17), Mian teaches determining a new mapping of the location of the robotic system within the external environment of the robotic system based at least in part on the movement trajectory of the one or more components of the robotic system (See at least: [0040]; [0089] -[0090] via “[0089] Rail yard 10A comprises numerous salient features that can be used to accurately location vehicle 30. For example, the rail tracks comprise recognizable patterns, as well as various other features, such as sign posts, roads, structures, and/or the like, can be identified on a highly accurate digital map of rail yard 10A. Processing component 36 can identify some of these features within image data captured by imaging device 46 and use their location to make periodic course corrections to the movement of vehicle 30. Additionally, processing component 36 can implement an algorithm, such as Kalman filters, to reduce location estimation errors. [0090] Additionally, the map of rail yard 10A can be supplemented with information utilized by vehicle 30. For example, rail yard 10A can comprise several virtual cells 204A-204C”; Note: a new map will be created once the vehicle is moved to a new location. );.
Regarding claim 9 (and similarly 18), Mian teaches remotely controlling movement of the one or more components of the robotic system responsive to completion of the maintenance on the power system component [0096] While vehicle 30 is generally described herein as being configured for autonomous operation in response to receiving a set of tasks from another system, it is understood that vehicle 30 can operate in semi-autonomously, during which a remote user can control vehicle 30 to perform one or more tasks and/or assist vehicle 30 in performing one or more assigned tasks. For example, processing component 36 can transmit image data captured by imaging devices 46, 114A, and/or 114B for presentation to the remote user. Additionally, processing component 36 can transmit data acquired by other sensors, such as microphone array 47 for presentation to the remote user. Data from imaging device 46 and microphone array 47 can provide situational awareness for the remote user, and processing component 36 and/or a remote system can analyze and supplement the data with analysis information (e.g., identified objects within the field of view, directional information of a source of a sound, and/or the like). Data from imaging devices 114A, 114B can be utilized by the remote user to perform/assist processing component with performing the task(s).).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/HARRY Y OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657