DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
A Preliminary Amendment was filed on 11/30/2023. Accordingly, an Office Action on the merits of claims 1-20 is as follows:
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: data gathering unit in claims 12-13; data analysis unit in claims 12; connection unit in claims 13-14; and data analysis system in claims 13-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 14 requires the limitations of claim 13, whereby the connection unit transmits both engine control AND vibration data to the data analysis system. However, claim 14 requires that the user apparatus is arranged to receive the vibration data from the vibration sensors themselves and the gathered data, which also includes the vibration data. There is, however, no disclosed embodiment where the connection unit AND the user apparatus both receive the vibration data. At best, in Figure 7 and [0064-67] of the originally filed specification, it is clear that the connection unit, in the sole user apparatus embodiment, only receives the engine control data, while the vibration data is not gathered by the data gathering unit nor transmitted by the connection unit. It is unclear why the user apparatus would receive the vibration data twice, according to the claim. The claim limitations have not been adequately disclosed in the specification or drawings to show that Applicant possessed such a feature at the time filing. The Examiner is unable to interpret the claim based on the lack of written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the bearing/bearings" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-9, 12, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (CN103558003A).
Considering claim 1, Jiang discloses a method for identification of lateral vibration characteristics of an electric machine, in which method:
- torsional excitation is produced by a frequency converter 1, said torsional excitation effecting lateral vibration in said electric machine (Figures 1-3; [0020]); and
- lateral vibration of excitation response from said electric machine is measured by one or more vibration sensors 10, 13, 15, 19, 21, 24, 27 and 30 as lateral vibration data (Figures 1 and 3; [0022]; [0018]).
Considering claim 2, Jiang discloses that lateral vibration characteristics of the electric machine are identified with the help of said lateral vibration data and excitation data, said excitation data comprising data of the produced torsional excitation ([0012], wherein the vibration monitoring and analysis system can monitor the lateral vibration and torsional vibration of the rotor in real time, and can also store and playback data, which is convenient for studying the lateral vibration and torsional vibration characteristics of the rotor system under torsional vibration excitation and the coupling relationship between lateral vibration and torsional vibration).
Considering claim 4, Jiang discloses that the torsional excitation comprises torsional excitation in the form of an impulse, random noise, pseudo random noise, a harmonic torsional excitation or a harmonic torsional excitation sweep ([0021]; Sinusoidal signal in range of 1 Hz to 1 kHz).
Considering claim 7, Jiang discloses an arrangement for identification of lateral vibration characteristics of an electric machine, said arrangement comprising:
- a frequency converter 1/3 (Figures 1-2 and 4; [0018]; [0020]; [0023]);
- one or more vibration sensors 10, 13, 15, 19, 21, 24, 27, 30 and an electric machine 6 (Figures 1 and 3; [0022]; [0018]).
- wherein said frequency converter 1/3 is arranged for producing torsional excitation, said torsional excitation effecting lateral vibration in said electric machine (Figure 4; [0020]; [0023]); and
- wherein said one or more vibration sensors at least one lateral vibration sensor arranged for measuring the lateral vibration from said electric machine as excitation response and for producing lateral vibration data (X and Y direction vibration sensors [0018]; [0022]; Figures 1 and 3).
Considering claim 8, Jiang discloses that said at least one lateral vibration sensor is arranged to measure lateral vibration at least in the horizontal direction (X direction vibration sensors [0018]; [0022]; Figures 1 and 3).
Considering claim 9, Jiang discloses that said frequency converter 1/3 is arranged for identifying the lateral vibration characteristics of the electric machine with the help of said lateral vibration data and excitation data, said excitation data comprising data of the produced torsional excitation ([0012], wherein the vibration monitoring and analysis system can monitor the lateral vibration and torsional vibration of the rotor in real time, and can also store and playback data, which is convenient for studying the lateral vibration and torsional vibration characteristics of the rotor system under torsional vibration excitation and the coupling relationship between lateral vibration and torsional vibration; Figures 1-2 and 4; [0023]).
Considering claim 12, Jiang discloses that said frequency converter comprises:
- a data gathering unit arranged for gathering data, said gathered data including control data for said electric machine and lateral vibration data of said electric machine (Figures 1-2 and 4; [0020]; [0023]); and
- a data analysis unit arranged for analyzing said gathered data and for identifying the lateral vibration characteristics of said electric machine and/or the condition of said electric machine (Figures 1 and 4; [0020]; [0023]).
Considering claim 16, Jiang discloses that torsional excitation comprises torsional excitation in the form of an impulse, random noise, pseudo random noise, a harmonic torsional excitation or a harmonic torsional excitation sweep ([0021]; Sinusoidal signal in range of 1 Hz to 1 kHz).
Considering claim 15, Jiang discloses a frequency converter 1/3 (Figures 1-2 and 4; [0018]; [0020]; [0023]) of an arrangement for identification of lateral vibration characteristics of an electric machine, said arrangement comprising:
- one or more vibration sensors 10, 13, 15, 19, 21, 24, 27, 30 and an electric machine 6 (Figures 1 and 3; [0022]; [0018]).
- wherein said frequency converter 1/3 is arranged for producing torsional excitation, said torsional excitation effecting lateral vibration in said electric machine (Figure 4; [0020]; [0023]); and
- wherein said one or more vibration sensors at least one lateral vibration sensor arranged for measuring the lateral vibration from said electric machine as excitation response and for producing lateral vibration data (X and Y direction vibration sensors [0018]; [0022]; Figures 1 and 3).
Considering claim 19, Jiang discloses that said frequency converter 1/3 is arranged for identifying the lateral vibration characteristics of the electric machine with the help of said lateral vibration data and excitation data, said excitation data comprising data of the produced torsional excitation ([0012], wherein the vibration monitoring and analysis system can monitor the lateral vibration and torsional vibration of the rotor in real time, and can also store and playback data, which is convenient for studying the lateral vibration and torsional vibration characteristics of the rotor system under torsional vibration excitation and the coupling relationship between lateral vibration and torsional vibration; Figures 1-2 and 4; [0023]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 10, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (CN103558003A) in view of Agilent (NPL - The Fundamentals of Modal Testing - Application Note 243 – 3).
Considering claim 3, Jiang fails to disclose generating one or more FRF utilizing both the lateral vibration data and the excitation data.
However, Agilent teaches that one or more frequency response functions (H(w) = Y(w)/X(w), Pages 11-12 and 14) are generated utilizing vibration data and excitation data, said excitation data comprising data of the produced torsional excitation (Feature already provided by Jiang); and lateral vibration characteristics of the electric machine are identified with the help of said lateral vibration data and said generated one or more frequency response functions (Pages 6-14; generally teach that frequency response functions from measured excitation data and measured vibration/acceleration response data are used to identify dynamic and vibrational characteristics of a structure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generating one or more FRF utilizing both the lateral vibration data and the data of the produced torsional excitation, whereby lateral vibration characteristics of the electric machine are identified with the help of said lateral vibration data and said generated one or more frequency response functions, as taught by Agilent, in the invention by Jiang. The motivation for doing so is to improve the diagnostic insight obtained from the measured data by applying known analytical techniques according to well-established function.
Considering claim 5, Jiang fails to disclose that that lateral vibration characteristics of the electric machine comprise the modal parameters of the electric machine.
However, Agilent teaches that the characteristics derived from the frequency response functions include modal parameters (Page 15, “modal analysis software”; Pages 38-47, entire section discussing modal parameter estimation based on frequency response function measurements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the modal parameter determination of Agilent in the invention by Jiang for the purpose of identifying lateral vibration characteristics of an electric machine. The motivation for doing so, as understood in the art, is to identify resonant frequency of the vibration to prevent excitation of lateral modes and to monitor for compliance with vibration limits at operating speeds.
Considering claim 10, Jiang fails to disclose that the frequency converter is arranged for generating one or more frequency response functions utilizing said lateral vibration data and excitation data, said excitation data comprising data of the produced torsional excitation; and for identifying the lateral vibration characteristics of the electric machine with the help of said lateral vibration data and said generated one or more frequency response functions.
However, Agilent teaches that one or more frequency response functions (H(w) = Y(w)/X(w), Pages 11-12 and 14) are generated utilizing vibration data and excitation data, said excitation data comprising data of the produced torsional excitation (Feature already provided by Jiang); and lateral vibration characteristics of the electric machine are identified with the help of said lateral vibration data and said generated one or more frequency response functions (Pages 6-14; generally teach that frequency response functions from measured excitation data and measured vibration/acceleration response data are used to identify dynamic and vibrational characteristics of a structure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generating one or more FRF utilizing both the lateral vibration data and the data of the produced torsional excitation, whereby lateral vibration characteristics of the electric machine are identified with the help of said lateral vibration data and said generated one or more frequency response functions, as taught by Agilent, in the invention by Jiang. The motivation for doing so is to improve the diagnostic insight obtained from the measured data by applying known analytical techniques according to well-established function.
Considering claim 17, Jiang fails to disclose that that lateral vibration characteristics of the electric machine comprise the modal parameters of the electric machine.
However, Agilent teaches that the characteristics derived from the frequency response functions include modal parameters (Page 15, “modal analysis software”; Pages 38-47, entire section discussing modal parameter estimation based on frequency response function measurements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the modal parameter determination of Agilent in the invention by Jiang for the purpose of identifying lateral vibration characteristics of an electric machine. The motivation for doing so, as understood in the art, is to identify resonant frequency of the vibration to prevent excitation of lateral modes and to monitor for compliance with vibration limits at operating speeds.
Considering claim 20, Jiang fails to disclose that the frequency converter is arranged for generating one or more frequency response functions utilizing said lateral vibration data and excitation data, said excitation data comprising data of the produced torsional excitation; and for identifying the lateral vibration characteristics of the electric machine with the help of said lateral vibration data and said generated one or more frequency response functions.
However, Agilent teaches that one or more frequency response functions (H(w) = Y(w)/X(w), Pages 11-12 and 14) are generated utilizing vibration data and excitation data, said excitation data comprising data of the produced torsional excitation (Feature already provided by Jiang); and lateral vibration characteristics of the electric machine are identified with the help of said lateral vibration data and said generated one or more frequency response functions (Pages 6-14; generally teach that frequency response functions from measured excitation data and measured vibration/acceleration response data are used to identify dynamic and vibrational characteristics of a structure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generating one or more FRF utilizing both the lateral vibration data and the data of the produced torsional excitation, whereby lateral vibration characteristics of the electric machine are identified with the help of said lateral vibration data and said generated one or more frequency response functions, as taught by Agilent, in the invention by Jiang. The motivation for doing so is to improve the diagnostic insight obtained from the measured data by applying known analytical techniques according to well-established function.
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (CN103558003A) in view of Elliott (US 2023/0213375 A1).
Considering claim 6, Jiang fails to disclose that the condition of the electric machine is analyzed and determined utilizing said identified lateral vibration characteristics of the electric machine.
However, Elliott teaches monitoring a condition of an electrical machine, including generators and motors ([0001-2]), whereby vibrations of the machine are detected by vibrations sensor 11 (Figure 1; [0007]; [0059]), and the vibrations are converted to frequency response spectrum ([0061]), whereby the frequency response spectrum is compared to a model spectrum to determine a fault ([0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize vibration characteristics to identify a condition of a machine, as taught by Elliott, in the invention by Jiang. The motivation for doing so is to provide fault detection, as made clear by Elliott.
Considering claim 18, Jiang fails to disclose that the condition of the electric machine is analyzed and determined utilizing said identified lateral vibration characteristics of the electric machine.
However, Elliott teaches monitoring a condition of an electrical machine, including generators and motors ([0001-2]), whereby vibrations of the machine are detected by vibrations sensor 11 (Figure 1; [0007]; [0059]), and the vibrations are converted to frequency response spectrum ([0061]), whereby the frequency response spectrum is compared to a model spectrum to determine a fault ([0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize vibration characteristics to identify a condition of a machine, as taught by Elliott, in the invention by Jiang. The motivation for doing so is to provide fault detection, as made clear by Elliott.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (CN103558003A) in view of Sakaguchi et al. (US 2013/0006540 A1).
The invention by Jiang discloses that the vibration sensors are very close to the shaft bearing mounts of the electric machine, and thus fails to disclose that they are attached to the bearing/bearings of said electric machine.
However, Sakaguchi teaches mounting at least one vibration sensor 70 attached to a bearing 60 of an electric machine (Figure 1; [0047]; [0049]; [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize at least one vibration sensor on the bearings in the invention by Jiang, as taught by Sakaguchi. The motivation for doing so is to provide an indication of abnormality of the bearing itself, as suggested by Sakaguchi ([0051]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (CN103558003A) in view of Krishnamoorthi et al. (US 2019/0204390 A1).
Considering claim 13, Jiang discloses a data analysis system 3 arranged for analyzing said gathered data and for identifying the lateral vibration characteristics of said electric machine and/or the condition of said electric machine, a frequency converter 1, and a data gathering unit for gathering data, including lateral vibration data of said electric machine (data collectors; [0023]), but fails to explicitly disclose gathering control data and a connection unit for transmitting the gathered data to the data analysis system.
However, Krishnamoorthi teaches a data analysis system 160/220 having a motor driver 230 and a data gathering unit 170/150 for gathering data ([0020]; [0024-25]), including control data (via 230) for the electric motors 110,120,130 ([0028]) and vibration data ([0017]; [0020]; [0031]) and a connection unit arranged for transmitting said gathered data to said data analysis system 160/220 ([0020], wireless transmission to the gateway 170 or mobile device 150 ([0024-25]) from the motors 110,120,130 and from the gateway to the server 160).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remotely process the control data and vibration data, as suggested by Krishnamoorthi, in the invention by Jiang. The motivation for doing so is that remote processing allows for great computational power while minimizing the power consumption at the source, which a well understood advantage of cloud computing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wahrburg et al. discloses providing an excitation signal to a motor having a shaft, whereby the excitation signal comes from a VSD and utilizes sine sweep, chirps and pseudo-random binary signal, whereby the resulting response signal power spectrum is measured.
Suryanarayanan et al. discloses using a frequency converted to drive a generator, the output shaft of the generator is monitored for speed and an overall lateral vibration is monitored via an accelerometer, wherein the combined speed and acceleration are used in the process of determining a feedback control to dampen any observed vibration on the shaft.
EP 3943898 A1 discloses monitoring lateral vibration and torsional vibration of a shaft of a machine for the purpose of determining coherence. Both the lateral vibration and the torsional vibration are converted to frequency spectrum.
EP 0410331 A2 discloses monitoring lateral vibration of bearing blocks holding a shaft for the purpose of determining a counter vibration to be provided to compensate the lateral vibrations.
/JONATHAN M DUNLAP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 February 7, 2026