DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 51-72 are pending and being examined.
Specification
2. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggests amending the title to relate to the claimed invention of evaluating eukaryotic cells in stool samples.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 51-59, 62-66, and 69-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spethmann et al (International Journal of Molecular Medicine, 2004, 13:451-454).
Spethmann teaches a method for evaluating a stool sample, the method comprising:
a) collecting a stool sample and immediately freezing them at -70ºC in the absence of buffer and surfactant, and
b) in a laboratory, analyzing eukaryotic cells in the stool sample by:
i) thawing an aliquot of the stool sample and making a suspension of the aliquot in Puck’s Saline G (= Puck’s balanced salt solution, that functions as an aqueous and osmotic balance buffer to preserve cells in samples including the proteins and nucleic acid they contain);
ii) isolating and analyzing the eukaryotic cells by contacting the sample with magnetic microbeads carrying a monoclonal antibody that binds EpCam protein, a human marker of epithelial cells, thereby analyzing for the presence of protein biomarker;
iii) extracting DNA from the cells and analyzing the DNA for p53 gene;
iv) extracting RNA and analyzing the RNA for CK18 biomarker (Materials and methods p. 451-452; Figures 1-2; Results p. 452-453).
4. Claim(s) 51, 52, 62-70, and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heigh et al (PLOS ONE, 2014, 9:e85659, pages 1-6).
Heigh teaches a method a method for evaluating a stool sample, the method comprising:
a) collecting a fresh stool sample that is inherently not present in a buffer or surfactant;
b) placing the stool sample into a suspension of preservative solution; and
c) in a laboratory, analyzing eukaryotic cells in the stool sample by:
i) conducting a commercially available fecal immunochemical test (FIT) analysis that tests for the presence of hemoglobin (a protein present in eukaryotic red blood cells); and
ii) assaying for DNA markers methylated BMP3, NDRG4, mutant KRAS, β-actin, and hemoglobin derived from exfoliated cells in the sample (p. 2; Figure 2).
5. Claim(s) 51-66, and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2011/0129860, Karl et al, published 2011; as evidenced by Spethmann et al (International Journal of Molecular Medicine, 2004, 13:451-454).
Karl teaches stool samples have been in contact with intestinal or even cancerous cells ([17]) and are a source of analytes to assess the presence of colorectal cancer ([31-39]; [47]; claims 1-2).
Karl teaches a method a method for evaluating a stool sample, the method comprising:
a) collecting a fresh stool sample that is inherently not present in a buffer or surfactant ([81]); and
b) in a laboratory, analyzing the stool sample by:
i) making a suspension of the stool sample in a diluent ([63]; [81]), wherein the diluent comprises: a buffer, protease inhibitors that preserve proteins, a surfactant/detergent (= analyte-releasing agent that lyses the cells in the stool sample), and/or a chaotropic reagent ([64-76]);
wherein the buffer comprises phosphate-buffered saline (PBS) which is aqueous and an osmotic balancer ([65]);
wherein the detergent is a non-ionic surfactant ([76]); and
wherein the chaotropic reagent is guanidinium-hydrochloride, which is inherently a ribonuclease inhibitor that preserves RNA ([76]); and
ii) analyzing proteins in the sample by immunoassay, including hemoglobin/haptoglobin and calprotectin biomarkers (abstract; [63]; [82-90]; claim 1; Examples 1-3), and assaying for additional cancer biomarkers including CEA, CYFRA 21-2, CA19-9, CA 72-4, NNMT, PROC, and SAHH ([48-62]; claim 2; Example 3).
As evidenced by Spethmann, stool samples inherently have exfoliated eukaryotic cells present (abstract; Introduction), which is noted by Karl ([17]), therefore the method of Karl analyzing stool samples inherently analyzes eukaryotic cells and their proteins present in the stool samples.
6. Claim(s) 51-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent 11,479,820, Barnell et al, claiming priority to 2017.
The applied reference has a common Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Barnell teaches a method for evaluating a stool sample, the method comprising:
a) collecting a fresh stool sample that is inherently not present in a buffer or surfactant;
b) in a laboratory, isolating eukaryotic cells from the stool sample by:
i) mixing the stool sample with a buffer, a surfactant and a ribonuclease inhibitor to form a suspension;
ii) separating the suspension into a portion enriched for eukaryotic cells and a portion enriched for bacterial cells and retaining the portion enriched for eukaryotic cells;
iii) adding a chaotropic agent and optionally a surfactant to the portion enriched for eukaryotic cells to form a lysate;
iv) isolating RNA, DNA, and proteins; and
c) analyzing the RNA, DNA, and proteins for multiple biomarkers (claims 1-20; col. 4, line 62 to col. 9, line 51; Examples);
wherein the buffer is Hanks balanced salt solution, Alsever's solution, Earle's balanced salt solution, Gey's balanced salt solution, Phosphate buffered saline, Puck's balanced salt solution, Ringer's balanced salt solution, Simm's balanced salt solution, TRIS-buffered saline, or Tyrode's balanced salt solution (col. 8, lines 1-10);
wherein the surfactant is ionic or non-ionic (col. 8, lines 10-11);
wherein the stool sample can be suspended in the presence or absence of surfactant (col. 8, lines 25-33);
the method further comprising testing for the presence of blood using a fecal immunochemical test (FIT) (col. 19, lines 4-21; col. 21, lines 14-35).
7. Claim(s) 51-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2023/0203591, Barnell et al, claiming priority to 2017 (Application No. 17/887,752).
The applied reference has a common Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
US Patent Application Publication 2023/0203591, Barnell claims priority to US Patent 11,479,820, Barnell cited above, and comprises the same disclosure as US Patent 11,479,820, therefore, US Patent Application Publication 2023/0203591 anticipates the instant claims for the same reasons stated above for US Patent 11,479,820.
Double Patenting
8. Claims 51-57, 59-66, 69-71 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US Patent 11,479,820. Claim 56 is rejected further in view of Spethmann et al (International Journal of Molecular Medicine, 2004, 13:451-454).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the US Patent claims a method comprising steps and reagents overlapping with, and rendering obvious, the instant method of analyzing eukaryotic cells from a collected stool sample. The US Patent claims:
1. A method of isolating eukaryotic nucleic acid from a stool sample, the method comprising:
a) mixing the sample with a buffer, a surfactant and a ribonuclease inhibitor to form a suspension;
b) separating the suspension into a portion enriched for eukaryotic cells and a portion enriched for bacterial cells and retaining the portion enriched for eukaryotic cells;
c) adding a chaotropic agent and optionally a surfactant to the portion enriched for eukaryotic cells to form a lysate;
d) fractioning the lysate into a cell debris layer, a layer comprising eukaryotic nucleic acids and a lipid layer; and
e) collecting the layer comprising eukaryotic nucleic acids and optionally the lipid layer.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising providing a stool sample.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the stool sample is a human stool sample.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the separating step comprises centrifugation or a column-based method.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the separating step utilizes targeted probes that bind eukaryotic cells.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the separating step utilizes differential filtration.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein i) step a) is repeated one, two, three, four or more times, ii) step b) is repeated one, two, three, four or more times, or iii) both step a) and step b) are repeated one, two, three, four or more times.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the fractionating step comprises centrifugation or differential filtration.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the fractionating step utilizes targeted probes that specifically bind eukaryotic nucleic acid.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein i) step d) is repeated two or more times, ii) step e) is repeated two or more times, or iii) both step d) and step e) are repeated two or more times.
11. The method of claim 1, further comprising extracting the eukaryotic nucleic acids from the collected layer comprising eukaryotic nucleic acids.
12. The method of claim 1, wherein the extraction method is a magnetic particle-based, column-based, filter-based, bead-based, or organic solvent-based method.
13. The method of claim 1, wherein the nucleic acid comprises DNA, RNA, total RNA, mRNA, tRNA, rRNA, ncRNA, smRNA, or snoRNA, or a combination of any of DNA, RNA, total RNA, mRNA, tRNA, rRNA, ncRNA, smRNA, or snoRNA.
14. The method of claim 1, wherein the separating step comprises centrifugation.
15. The method of claim 1, wherein the extraction method comprises a magnetic particle-based method.
16. The method of claim 1, wherein the nucleic acid comprises RNA.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the nucleic acid comprises mRNA.
18. The method of claim 1, further comprising a step of analyzing the extracted nucleic acid via microarray sequencing, molecular barcoding, probe capture, polymerase chain reaction (PCR), ddPCR, RT-PCR, RT-qPCR, or nucleic acid sequencing.
19. The method of claim 1, further comprising a step of analyzing the extracted nucleic acid via ddPCR.
20. The method of claim 1, further comprising a step of analyzing the extracted nucleic acid via PCR.
The initial stool sample used in the method requires collection and inherently would not be present in a buffer or surfactant when obtained.
With regard to claim 56, the US Patent does not specify the buffer used to suspend the stool sample, in order to isolate the eukaryotic cells for nucleic acid analysis.
Spethmann teaches successfully suspending stool samples in buffer Puck’s Saline G (Puck’s balanced salt solution, that functions as an aqueous and osmotic balance buffer) in order to isolate the eukaryotic cells for nucleic acid analysis.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize Puck’s balanced salt solution as the buffer in the method of the US Patent. One would have been motivated to, and have a reasonable expectation of success to, given the US Patent claims suspending the stool sample in a buffer for purposes of isolating eukaryotic cells for nucleic acid analysis, and Spethmann demonstrates successfully using Puck’s balanced salt solution as a buffer for that same function.
9. Claim 51-57, 59-66, 69-71 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 38-57 of copending Application No. 17/887,752 (reference application). Claim 56 is rejected further in view of Spethmann et al (International Journal of Molecular Medicine, 2004, 13:451-454).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application claims a method comprising steps and reagents overlapping with, and rendering obvious, the instant method of analyzing eukaryotic cells from a collected stool sample. The copending application claims:
1. A method of isolating eukaryotic nucleic acid from a stool sample, the method
comprising:
a) mixing the sample with a buffer, a surfactant and a ribonuclease inhibitor to form a suspension;
b) separating the suspension into a portion enriched for eukaryotic cells and a portion enriched for bacterial cells and retaining the portion enriched for eukaryotic cells;
c) adding a chaotropic agent and optionally a surfactant to the portion enriched for eukaryotic cells to form a lysate;
d) fractioning the lysate into a cell debris layer, a layer comprising eukaryotic nucleic acids and a lipid layer; and
e) collecting the layer comprising eukaryotic nucleic acids and optionally the lipid layer.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising providing a stool sample.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the stool sample is a human stool sample.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the stool sample is a non-human animal stool sample.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the non-human animal is selected from the group consisting of dog, cat, non-human primate, ruminant, ursid, equid, pig, sheep, goat, camelid, buffalo, deer, elk, moose, mustelid, rabbit, guinea pig, hamster, rat, mouse, pachyderm, rhinoceros, and chinchilla.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the non-human animal is a dog.
7. The method of claim 5, wherein the non-human animal is a cat.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the separating step comprises centrifugation.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the separating step comprises a column based method.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the separating step utilizes targeted probes that bind eukaryotic cells.
11. The method of claim 1, wherein the separating step utilizes differential filtration.
12. The method of claim 1, wherein steps a and b are repeated one, two, three, four or more times.
13.The method of claim 1, wherein the fractionating step comprises centrifugation.
14. The method of claim 1, wherein the fractionating step utilizes targeted probes that specifically bind eukaryotic nucleic acid.
15. The method of claim 1, wherein the fractionating step utilizes differential filtration.
16. The method of claim 1, wherein steps di and e are repeated two or more times.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the layer comprising eukaryotic nucleic acids is collected using a small-bore tip.
18. The method of claim 1, further comprising extracting the eukaryotic nucleic acids from the collected layer comprising eukaryotic nucleic acids.
19. The method of claim 1, wherein the extraction method is a magnetic particle-based, column based, filter-based, bead-based, or organic solvent-based method.
20. The method of claim 1, wherein the nucleic acid comprises DNA, RNA, total RNA, mRNA, tRNA, rRNA, ncRNA, smRNA, or sno RNA, or a combination of any of DNA, RNA, total RNA, mRNA, tRNA, rRNA, ncRNA, smRNA, or sno RNA.
21. A method of detecting a eukaryotic biomarker in a stool sample, the method comprising: analyzing the extracted nucleic acid of claim 1 by microarray sequencing, molecular barcoding, probe capture, polymerase chain reaction (PCR), ddPCR, RT-PCR, RT-qPCR, or nucleic acid sequencing.
22. The method of claim 21, wherein the eukaryotic biomarker is selected from the biomarkers listed in Figure 6 (Panel A) or Figure 13 (Panel B).
23. The method of claim 21, wherein the eukaryotic biomarker is a B cell marker, a T cell marker, or an immunoglobulin.
24. A method of determining whether a subject is at risk for colorectal cancer, the method comprising:
a) measuring the level of expression of two or more colorectal neoplasm biomarker genes selected from any of the colorectal neoplasm biomarker genes listed in Figure 6 (Panel A) or Figure 13 (Panel B) in a biological sample from the subject;
b) comparing the measured expression level of the two or more colorectal neoplasm biomarker genes in the biological sample with the measured expression level of the two or more colorectal neoplasm biomarker genes in a control, wherein a difference in the measured expression level of the two or more genes in the biological sample relative to the measured expression level of the two or more genes in the control indicates that the subject is at risk for colorectal cancer.
25. The method of claim 24, wherein the biological sample comprises a human nucleic acid isolated according to the method set forth in claims 1-20.
26. The method of claim 24, wherein the colorectal neoplasm biomarker genes contained within the 200 differentially expressed transcript clusters shown in Figure 5A and contained within the common pathways associated with the colorectal cancer shown in Figure 5B.
27. The method of claim 24, wherein the colorectal neoplasm biomarker gene is selected from the biomarkers listed in Figure 6 (Panel A) or Figure 13 (Panel B).
28. A method of selecting a clinical plan for a subject having or at risk for colorectal cancer, the method comprising:
a) measuring the level of expression of two or more colorectal neoplasm biomarker genes selected from any of the colorectal neoplasm biomarker genes listed in Figure 6 (Panel A) or Figure 13 (Panel B) in a biological sample from the subject;
b) comparing the measured expression level of the two or more colorectal neoplasm biomarker genes in the biological sample with the measured expression level of the two or more colorectal neoplasm biomarker genes in a control, wherein a difference in the measured expression level of the two or more genes in the biological sample relative to the measured expression level of the two or more genes in the control indicates that the subject has or is at risk for colorectal cancer; and
c) selecting a clinical plan based on step b.
29. The method of claim 28, wherein the biological sample comprises a human nucleic acid isolated according to the method set forth in claims 1-20.
30. The method of claim 28, wherein the colorectal neoplasm biomarker genes contained within the 200 differentially expressed transcript clusters shown in Figure 5A and contained within the common pathways associated with the colorectal cancer shown in Figure 5B.
31. The method of claim 28, wherein the colorectal neoplasm biomarker gene is selected from the biomarkers listed in Figure 6 (Panel A) or Figure 13 (Panel B).
32. A method of determining whether a non-human animal is at risk for a gastrointestinal disorder, the method comprising:
a) measuring the level of expression of one or more B cell, T cell, or immunoglobulin genes in a biological sample from the subject;
b) comparing the measured expression level of the one or more B cell, T cell, or
immunoglobulin genes in the sample with the measured expression level of one or more B cell, T cell, or immunoglobulin genes in a control, wherein a difference in the measured expression level of the one or more genes in the biological sample relative to the measured expression level of the one or more genes in the control indicates that the subject is at risk for a gastrointestinal disorder.
33. The method of claim 32, wherein the biological sample comprises a non-human animal nucleic acid isolated according to the method set forth in claims 1-20.
34. The method of claim 32, wherein the gastrointestinal disorder comprises gastrointestinal lymphoma or inflammatory bowel disease.
35. The method of claim 32, wherein the non-human animal is a cat.
36. The method of claim 32, wherein the non-human animal is a dog.
37. The method of claim 32, wherein the biological sample comprises a stool sample.
The initial stool sample used in the method requires collection and inherently would not be present in a buffer or surfactant when obtained.
With regard to claim 56, the copending application does not specify the buffer used to suspend the stool sample, in order to isolate the eukaryotic cells for nucleic acid analysis.
Spethmann teaches successfully suspending stool samples in buffer Puck’s Saline G (Puck’s balanced salt solution, that functions as an aqueous and osmotic balance buffer) in order to isolate the eukaryotic cells for nucleic acid analysis.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize Puck’s balanced salt solution as the buffer in the method of the copending application. One would have been motivated to, and have a reasonable expectation of success to, given the copending application claims suspending the stool sample in a buffer for purposes of isolating eukaryotic cells for nucleic acid analysis, and Spethmann demonstrates successfully using Puck’s balanced salt solution as a buffer for that same function.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
10. Conclusion: No claim is allowed.
/Laura B Goddard/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642