DETAILED ACTION
3. Claims 1, 15, and 22 have been amended. Claims 1-6 and 8-24 are pending and will be considered for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-6, 8-9, 12, 15-19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattes et al. (US 2007/0050111 A1) in view of Irving et al. (US 2023/0293376 A1) and further in view of Bhimavarapu et al. (US 2018/0369039 A1).
As in Claim 1, Mattes teaches a apparatus for configuring settings of a power wheelchair, comprising: (FIGS. 1 and 6, at least pars. 19, 37, 41, a programming device 610 in a control system 600 of a power driven wheelchair), comprising:
processing circuitry configured to (FIG. 2, pars. 37-38, 51-53, and claim 38, a main controller 620 (a processor or microcontroller)):
set a first visual state of a graphical representation of a wheelchair functionality setting displayed within a user interface based on data received from the power wheelchair representing a current position of the power wheelchair (FIGS. 7 and 8A-8C, at least pars. 54-62, user input enables setting or adjusting graphical representations used for configuring parameters of the power-driven wheelchair), and
send the set of wheelchair parameters to the power wheelchair via a communications unit (pars. 37-38, 51, 53, and claim 38), the communications unit configured to send the set of wheelchair parameters determined by the processing circuitry to a power wheelchair for implementing the set of wheelchair parameters via one or more actuators of the power wheelchair (pars. 37-38, 45, 51, 53, and claim 38, communication interfaces facilitate the transmission of the wheelchair parameter settings, as managed by the microcontroller, to control actuators and other output devices).
Mattes does not appear to explicitly teaches that the processing circuitry is configured to receive an user input changing a visual state of the graphical representation from the first visual state to a second visual state, wherein every visual state of the graphical representation is associated with a set of wheelchair parameter settings, wherein the graphical representation is a view of a body showing a bodily position obtained by the body seated in the power wheelchair and the second visual state changes the bodily position from the bodily position in the first visual state, determine a set of wheelchair parameters associated with the second visual state of the graphical representation, and in response to receiving a commit input, send the set of wheelchair parameters to the power wheelchair via a communications unit, the communications unit configured to send the set of wheelchair parameters determined by the processing circuitry to a power wheelchair for implementing the set of wheelchair parameters via one or more actuators of the power wheelchair.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Irving teaches that the processing circuitry is configured to receive an user input changing a visual state of the graphical representation from the first visual state to a second visual state (FIGS. 2-5, pars. 33-43, depiction 210 can be updated from the currently selected chair configuration to a newly selected chair configuration by selecting one of the cions 202 displayed on user interface 200 as shown in FIG. 2), wherein every visual state of the graphical representation is associated with a set of wheelchair parameter settings, wherein the graphical representation is a view of a body showing a bodily position obtained by the body seated in the power wheelchair and the second visual state changes the bodily position from the bodily position in the first visual state (FIGS. 2-5, pars. 33-43, The interface displays the set of cions 202, each graphically depicting a stored chair position with a bodily position that corresponds to a particular posture of a person seated or reclining in the chair. Each stored chair position is associated with a chair configuration, such as seat height, backrest angle, or a procedure-specific potion),
determine a set of wheelchair parameters associated with the second visual state of the graphical representation (FIGS. 2-5, pars. 33-43, once the user selects a desired icon, the chair is adjusted to the corresponding configuration, and depiction 210 updates to reflect the chair’s new posture).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for controlling parameter settings of the power driven wheelchair, as taught by Mattes, and to incorporate the way to update the depiction reflecting the user’s newly selected chair position, as taught by Irving. The motivation is to quickly adjust the chair position via the graphical representation showing bodily positions.
Mattes and Irving do not teach that processing circuitry configured to: in response to receiving a commit input, send the set of wheelchair parameters to the power wheelchair via a communications unit, the communications unit configured to send the set of wheelchair parameters determined by the processing circuitry to a power wheelchair for implementing the set of wheelchair parameters via one or more actuators of the power wheelchair.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Bhimavarapu teaches that in response to receiving a commit input, send the set of wheelchair parameters to the power wheelchair via a communications unit (see at least pars. 164, 168, and 38, 159, the system may prompt the user to confirm their selection/input when engaging indicia 116 on the touchscreen 113 or pendant. Users can adjust a pictorial representation of the patient support apparatus 30 to a desired position before confirming. Once the confirmation input is received, the controller 102 interprets the user’s selection and sends the corresponding signal to control the patient support apparatus 30),
the communications unit configured to send the set of wheelchair parameters determined by the processing circuitry to a power wheelchair for implementing the set of wheelchair parameters via one or more actuators of the power wheelchair (see at least pars. 164, 168, and 38, 159, the system transmits the signal, and the selected operation device 70-90-such as the deck adjustment device 84, lift device 78, or other features represented by the indicia 116 (e.g., position) is actuated according to the confirmed input ).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for controlling parameter settings of the power driven wheelchair, as taught by Mattes, in view of Irving’s teachings, and to incorporate the way to receive the confirmation input for processing operation of the patient support apparatus, as taught by Bhimavarapu. The motivation is to prevent unintended or erratic movements of the patient support apparatus.
As in Claim 2, Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu further teaches that the processing circuitry is configured to determine the set of wheelchair parameters by determining a set of wheelchair parameters for each of a plurality of intermediate visual states between the first visual state and the second visual state, and wherein the communications unit is configured to send the set of wheelchair parameters by sending all sets to the power wheelchair (Mattes, FIGS. 8A—8C, pars. 57-58, the graphical interface shows an intermediate state during parameter input by displaying a graphic bar that represents the valid numerical range for the selected actuator’s parameter ((e.g., 0 to 90 degrees)), and wherein the communications unit is configured to send the set of wheelchair parameters by sending all sets to the power wheelchair (pars. 37-38, 45, 51, 53).
As in Claim 3, Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu teaches all the limitations of Claim 2. Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu further teaches that the processing circuitry is further configured to determine an order of sequence of the sets associated with the plurality of intermediate visual states (Mattes, pars. 75-76, the wheelchair’s settings are organized into ordered sequences of actuator positions, each identified by a sequence number and shown with graphical representations (e.g., FIGS. 8A-8C); see a first sequence 1110 , a second sequence 1120 in FIG. 11, and 1410 and 1420-1440 in FIG. 14), wherein the communications unit is configured to send the set of wheelchair parameters by sending the order of sequence of the sets to the power wheelchair (Mattes,FIG. 10 and 12-13, pars. 37-38, 45, 51, 53).
As in Claim 4, Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu further teaches that the processing circuitry is configured to determine the set of wheelchair parameters based on a look-up table, a database, or a mathematical function that associates every visual state of the graphical representation with a set of wheelchair parameters (Mattes, FIGS. 11 and 14, pars. 74, 87, the position parameters for actuators, organized into sequences and series with corresponding sequence and series numbers, are stored in a memory).
As in Claim 5, Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu further teaches that the set of wheelchair parameter settings include wheelchair actuator settings (Mattes, FIGS. 3-5, at least pars. 43-49, the wheelchair settings include parameters for actuators controlling tilt, recline, leg positions, etc.).
As in Claim 6, Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu further teaches that the processing circuitry is further configured to receive an identifier associated with the power wheelchair, and in response thereto enable displaying of the graphical representation within the user interface (Mattes, pars. 55-57, 67-69, actuators and position parameters can be identified by parameter numbers liked to commands. These are shown on the controller’s display with icons or arrows. Further, drive settings can include multiple sequences, each with a sequence number tied to commands and displayed similarly), wherein the communications unit is configured to send the set of wheelchair parameters by sending the set of wheelchair parameters to the power wheelchair associated with the identifier (Mattes, pars. 55-57, 67-69; further see FIG. 10 and 12-13 and the accompanying paragraphs, pars. 37-38, 45, 51, 53).
As in Claim 8, Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu further teaches that every visual state is a different bodily position (Irving, pars. 33-34, see Fig. 2, which displays a plurality of icons 202, each representing a different bodily position).
As in Claim 9, Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu further teaches that the wheelchair functionality setting is driving properties of the power wheelchair (Mattes, FIGS. 3-5, at least pars. 43-49).
As in Claim 12, Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu further teach that the processing circuitry is further configured to pair the set of wheelchair parameters with a specific user identifier, and wherein the communications unit is further configured to send the set of wheelchair parameters with the associated specific user identifier to a remote database or server for storing the set of wheelchair parameters and the associated specific user identifier, the set of wheelchair parameters thus becoming associated with a specific user (FIGS. 17-19, at least pars. 140-144; further see FIG. 8, pars. 133-139, the system uses unique user identifies stored in a referential database to create profiles with roles, permission, and conditions. When a user is identified via a tag or mobile device, the system retrieves their profile to display a customized menu showing the wheelchair settings permitted for their role).
Claim 15, please see the rejection for claim 22, which incorporates all the limitations recited in claim 15.
Claim 16 is substantially similar to Claim 2 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 17 is substantially similar to Claim 3 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 18 is substantially similar to Claim 4 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19 is substantially similar to Claim 6 and rejected under the same rationale.
As in Claim 22, Mattes teaches a system for configuring settings of a power wheelchair (see FIGS. 1-2 and 6), the system comprising:
a control system for the power wheelchair (see FIGS. 1-2 and 6); and
a handheld configuration device, the handheld configuration device including:
an input unit (FIG. 2, remote input device 210),
a display unit (see FIG. 6, a display screen 612),
a communications unit configured to wirelessly communicate with the control system for the power wheelchair (pars. 37-38, 45, 51, 53, and claim 38, communication interfaces wirelessly facilitate the transmission of the wheelchair parameter settings),
processing circuity (par. 46, a controller 102 comprises microprocessors), and
storage medium comprising computer code that when executed by the processing circuitry causes the handheld configuration device to (par. 46, a non-transitory memory 130 stores programs or instructions for execution by one or more microprocessors to control the operational devices 70-90):
a) set a first visual state of a graphical representation of a wheelchair functionality setting based on data received from the power wheelchair representing a current position of the power wheelchair (FIGS. 7 and 8A-8C, at least pars. 54-62, user input enables setting or adjusting graphical representations used for configuring parameters of the power-driven wheelchair),
b) display, on the display unit, the graphical representation of the wheelchair functionality setting (FIGS. 6 and 8A-8C, at least pars. 21, 50, 57-62, a display screen 612 of the programming device 610 displays a graphic interface of functions/operations settings),
c) detect, through the input unit, a user input changing a visual state of the graphical representation from a first visual state to a second visual state, wherein every visual state of the graphical representation is associated with a set of wheelchair parameter settings (FIGS. 8A-8C, pars. 34, 37-38, 50, an input device –such as a joystick controller 130, touchpad controllers, sip and puff controllers, headset controllers, etc.), or pushbuttons 614 on the display screen 612- receives user input that modifies the graphical representations; further see pars. 57-62).
Mattes does not appear to explicitly teaches that the graphical representation is a view of a body showing a bodily position obtained by the body seated in the power wheelchair and the second visual state changes the bodily position from the bodily position in the first visual state, d) determine a set of wheelchair parameters associated with the second visual state of the graphical representation; e) in response to receiving a commit input, send, with the communications unit, the set of wheelchair parameters to the power wheelchair for implementing the set of wheelchair parameters via one or more actuators of the power wheelchair.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Irving teaches that the graphical representation is a view of a body showing a bodily position obtained by the body seated in the power wheelchair and the second visual state changes the bodily position from the bodily position in the first visual state ( FIGS. 2-5, pars. 33-43, depiction 210 can be updated from the currently selected chair configuration to a newly selected chair configuration by selecting one of the cions 202 displayed on user interface 200 as shown in FIG. 2. The interface displays the set of cions 202, each graphically depicting a stored chair position with a bodily position that corresponds to a particular posture of a person seated or reclining in the chair. Each stored chair position is associated with a chair configuration, such as seat height, backrest angle, or a procedure-specific potion),
d) determine a set of wheelchair parameters associated with the second visual state of the graphical representation (FIGS. 2-5, pars. 33-43, once the user selects a desired icon, the chair is adjusted to the corresponding configuration, and depiction 210 updates to reflect the chair’s new posture).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for controlling parameter settings of the power driven wheelchair, as taught by Mattes, and to incorporate the way to update the depiction reflecting the user’s newly selected chair position, as taught by Irving. The motivation is to quickly adjust the chair position via the graphical representation showing bodily positions.
Mattes and Irving do not teach: e) in response to receiving a commit input, send, with the communications unit, the set of wheelchair parameters to the power wheelchair for implementing the set of wheelchair parameters via one or more actuators of the power wheelchair.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Bhimavarapu teaches: e) in response to receiving a commit input, send, with the communications unit, the set of wheelchair parameters to the power wheelchair for implementing the set of wheelchair parameters via one or more actuators of the power wheelchair (see at least pars. 164, 168, and 38, 159, the system may prompt the user to confirm their selection/input when engaging indicia 116 on the touchscreen 113 or pendant. Users can adjust a pictorial representation of the patient support apparatus 30 to a desired position before confirming. The system transmits the signal, and the selected operation device 70-90-such as the deck adjustment device 84, lift device 78, or other features represented by the indicia 116 (e.g., position) is actuated according to the confirmed input).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for controlling parameter settings of the power driven wheelchair, as taught by Mattes, in view of Irving’s teachings, and to incorporate the way to receive the confirmation input for processing operation of the patient support apparatus, as taught by Bhimavarapu. The motivation is to prevent unintended or erratic movements of the patient support apparatus.
5. Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattes et al. (US 2007/0050111 A1) in view of Irving et al. (US 2023/0293376 A1 in view of Bhimavarapu et al. (US 2018/0369039 A1) and further in view of Rotelli et al. (US 2021/0223781 A1)
As in Claim 10, Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu teaches all the limitations of Claim 9. Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu does not teach that the graphical representation comprises a slider or one or more knobs.
However, in the same field of the invention, Rotelli teaches that the graphical representation comprises a slider or one or more knobs (FIG. 38, pars. 68-69, as slider knob 3802 is moved, numerical display 3804 is updated to indicate the presently set veer adjust input value).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for controlling parameter settings of the power driven wheelchair, as taught by Mattes, in view of Irving’s teachings and Bhimavarapu’s teachings, and to provide the slider for controlling of the power wheelchair, as taught by Rotelli. The motivation is to easily and precisely adjust veer correction visually and interactively, enabling quick fine-tuning to ensure straight wheelchair movement.
As in Claim 11, Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu teaches all the limitations of Claim 10. Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu further teaches that every visual state is a different position of the slider or the one or more knobs (Rotelli, FIG. 38, pars. 68-69).
6. Claims 13-14, 20-21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattes et al. (US 2007/0050111 A1) in view of Irving et al. (US 2023/0293376 A1) in view of Bhimavarapu et al. (US 2018/0369039 A1) and further in view of Dean et al. (US 2024/0118713 A1).
As in Claim 13, Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu does not teach that the processing circuitry is further configured to validate the set of wheelchair parameters and send the set of wheelchair parameters to the power wheelchair in response to validating the set of wheelchair parameters.
However, in the same field of the invention, Dean teaches that the processing circuitry is further configured to validate the set of wheelchair parameters and send the set of wheelchair parameters to the power wheelchair in response to validating the set of wheelchair parameters (pars. 261-262, 275-276, 344-345, 354-355, 360, the system can validate the settings of a smart motorized mobile system (S-MMS, such as power wheelchair ) before transmitting or configuring (setting) the data for controlling the S-MMS; further see pars. 151, 187-189, 192, 248-249).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for controlling parameter settings of the power driven wheelchair, as taught by Mattes, in view of Irving’s teachings and Bhimavarapu’s teachings, and to validate the setting of the S-MMS (e.g., power wheelchair), as taught by Dean. The motivation is to ensure safety by preventing harmful or invalid data from causing errors or security risks.
As in Claim 14, Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu and Dean teach all the limitations of Claim 13. Mattes-Irving-Bhimavarapu and Dean further teach that the processing circuitry validates the set of wheelchair parameters using one or more stored rules associated with at least one selected from a group consisting of the power wheelchair and a user of the power wheelchair (Dean, pars. 261-262, 275-276, 344-345, 354-355, 360, the system can validate the settings of the S-MMS (e.g., power wheelchair) according to rules as well as user-specific information such as profile, history, and behavior).
Claims 20 and 23 are substantially similar to Claim 13 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 21 and 24 are substantially similar to Claim 14 and rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims 1-6 and 8-24 have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Contact Information
/RINNA YI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179