DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/016605 to Cataldo.
Regarding Claims 1-10 and 15
Cataldo teaches a biosensor comprising a wicking material comprising a nonwoven membrane comprising a plurality of electrospun fibers and one or more detection agents such as an antibody (Cataldo, abstract, page 2, lines 22-24). Cataldo teaches that the electrospun fibers may include cellulose acetate and/or PVP fibers with a diameter of between 200 and 1,000 nm which overlaps the claimed range of between 1 and 10,000 nm (Cataldo, page 15, line 5 to page 16, line 33). Cataldo teaches that the nonwoven exhibits porosity and comprises an average pore size from 1 to 4 microns which overlaps the claimed range of between 10nm and 100 micrometers (Id.). Cataldo teaches that the biosensor may comprise a lateral flow assay (Id., page 22-33).
Cataldo does not appear to teach that the wicking material comprises two layers of the nonwoven membrane. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a double layer membrane structure, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.04].
Regarding Claim 4
Cataldo does not explicitly teach relative amounts of cellulose acetate relative to PVP. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to alter and vary the amounts of each component, such as within the claimed range using nothing more than routine experimentation, for the purpose of providing a suitable membrane to achieve the desired capillary flow and biosensing properties. It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art unless such a range is shown to be critical. Please see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VINCENT TATESURE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786