Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION The instant application having Application No. 18/524,707 filed on 11/30/2023 is presented for examination. Examiner Notes Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Drawings The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes. Authorization for Internet Communications The examiner encourages Applicant to submit an authorization to communicate with the examiner via the Internet by making the following statement (from MPEP 502.03): “Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.” Please note that the above statement can only be submitted via Central Fax, Regular postal mail, or EFS Web. Information Disclosure Statement As required by M.P.E.P. 609 , the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statement dated 1/09/2024 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2017 / 0195212 ) in view of Shahar (US 2011 / 0113083 ). As per claim 1, Chen discloses a computer system, comprising: a processor (Abstract) ; and a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions executable by the processor to execute a first process of a collective computation executing on a plurality of processes on a set of nodes, which includes the computer system (Abstract) ; wherein executing the first process comprises: initiating a broadcast operation for the subset of processes (Paragraph 36 “ To achieve this new broadcast propagation path, the MU of the receiving intermediate node has been configured to examine the received packet broadcast payload 306 and to recognize from the first descriptor field [*,x,*] that it is to provide a modified transmission in accordance with the wild card characters in this first descriptor. In the case of node (1,0,0), the MU at that node would swap its node coordinates into the wild card positions of the descriptor field [*,x,*] to provide a new transmission instruction [1,x,0] 308, where this node (1,0,0) as the transmission path length in the added propagation path to be in the Y axis. The value of x is a number chosen at the root node. In this example as the dimensions of the torus are 2 in each dimension the root would have specified x=2. If the packet is broadcast to a different sized torus or a subset of the torus the root must choose a different value of x. The same is repeated at node [2,0,0] although not specified in the figure to propagate the packets to the YZ plane at node (2,0,0). The modified packet will be transmitted along the Y axis at X=1 to the endpoint x=2, and will include the remaining descriptor field [*,*,x] 310 as a broadcast payload. Node (1,0,0) becomes the initiator node by intermediate nodes (1,1,0) and (1,2,0) in this new transmission direction along the Y axis at X=1. ”); identifying a source buffer of a root process storing data to be distributed by the broadcast operation (Paragraph 7 “ Memory FIFO messages, such as Remote Direct Memory Access (RDMA), move data packets to a remote memory buffer, and the direct put instruction moves data payload directly to a remote memory buffer. A remote get can move remote data payload to a local buffer. In a remote get operation, the payload of the remote get contains a direct put descriptor which can initiate a put back to the node that initiates the remote get or to any other node. ”); dividing the data into a plurality of segments based on a number of processes in the subset of processes (Paragraph 25 “ Such creating of new originator nodes for each new propagation dimensions permits any data, such as arising from remote get instructions, or other feedback information, if any, that might be returned because of the broadcast request, to be returned to the originators in each such dimension, which will then, in turn, relay such data to its own originator node, ultimately bringing such data back to the originator node that initially sent out the broadcast request. The RDMA instruction is used for explanation of the concepts of the present invention but a similar approach can be implemented in other instructions, such as direct put and remote get DMA operations. ”); determining, from the plurality of segments, a first segment for which the first process is responsible for broadcasting based on an index of the first process in the number of processes (Paragraph 36 “ To achieve this new broadcast propagation path, the MU of the receiving intermediate node has been configured to examine the received packet broadcast payload 306 and to recognize from the first descriptor field [*,x,*] that it is to provide a modified transmission in accordance with the wild card characters in this first descriptor. In the case of node (1,0,0), the MU at that node would swap its node coordinates into the wild card positions of the descriptor field [*,x,*] to provide a new transmission instruction [1,x,0] 308, where this node (1,0,0) as the transmission path length in the added propagation path to be in the Y axis. ”); obtaining the first segment from the source buffer based on remote memory access (Paragraph 47 “ Observe there is no participation of processors on intermediate nodes while the data is propagated to all nodes in the 3D torus. In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 3, the remote get descriptors were injected by originator node (0,0,0) using the broadcast payload 310. In the example of FIG. 3, the mechanism could also be considered as a “chaining” by the originator node of a broadcast instruction, for example, the RDMA instruction, into the different new dimensions. ”); storing the first segment in a first destination buffer dedicated to storing the data for the first process (Paragraph 47) ; and sending the first segment to respective destination buffers of other processes in the subset of processes (Paragraph 47). Chen does not expressly disclose but Shahar discloses selecting a subset of processes based on a plurality of selection conditions (Paragraph 11 “ In some embodiments, determining the preferred paths includes selecting one or more of the network switching elements to serve as the root switching elements. In an embodiment, determining the preferred paths includes selecting two or more root switching elements, and the method includes configuring a given compute node to receive two or more end results from the respective root switching elements and to reduce the two or more end results to a single end result. In another embodiment, configuring the network switching elements includes causing a given network switching element in the subset to reduce a respective portion of the node-level results forwarded thereto to a single interim result, and to forward the interim result to one of the root switching elements. ”). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen to include the teachings of Shahar because it provides for the purpose of “ facilit ing communication among a plurality of dedicated collective offload engines via the switch fabric or via a private channel disposed between the collective offload engines. ” See Shahar, paragraph 6). As per claim 2, Chen does not expressly disclose but Shahar discloses wherein the plurality of selection conditions comprises one or more of: a location of a respective process with respect to the root process ( Abtract ) , accessibility to a network interface controller (NIC) of the computer system, and distribution of processes on individual nodes. As per claim 3, Chen does not expressly disclose but Shahar discloses wherein the subset of processes comprises one of: a first subset of processes running on a node that executes the root process (Paragraphs 8-12); a second subset of processes with accessibility to respective NICs of one or more nodes (Paragraphs 8-12) ; and a third subset of processes running on a node that executes at least one process in the second subset of processes, wherein the at least one process operates as a secondary root process for the third subset of processes (Paragraphs 8-12). As per claim 4, Chen does not expressly disclose but Shahar discloses wherein the first process is the secondary root process; and wherein executing the first process further comprises: determining whether the broadcast of the data in the second subset of processes is complete (Paragraph 11 “ In some embodiments, determining the preferred paths includes selecting one or more of the network switching elements to serve as the root switching elements. In an embodiment, determining the preferred paths includes selecting two or more root switching elements, and the method includes configuring a given compute node to receive two or more end results from the respective root switching elements and to reduce the two or more end results to a single end result. ) ; and in response to the broadcast of the data in the second subset of processes being complete, initiating a broadcast of the data in the third subset of processes, wherein the first destination buffer operates as a secondary source buffer (Paragraph 11 “ In some embodiments, determining the preferred paths includes selecting one or more of the network switching elements to serve as the root switching elements. In an embodiment, determining the preferred paths includes selecting two or more root switching elements, and the method includes configuring a given compute node to receive two or more end results from the respective root switching elements and to reduce the two or more end results to a single end result. ). As per claim 5, Chen further discloses wherein the first process does not participate in the broadcast of the data in the third subset of processes (Paragraph 11 “ Asynchronous one-sided collectives that do not involve participation of the intermediate and destination processors are critical for achieving good performance in programming paradigms such as Charm++, UPC, etc. For example, in an asynchronous one-sided broadcast the root initiates the broadcast, and all destination processors receive the broadcast message without any intermediate nodes forwarding the broadcast message to other nodes. Thus, in the above-mentioned 3D rectangle broadcast there are three phases of processor involvement as each deposit bit line broadcast can only propagate data on one dimension at a time. ”). As per claim 6, Chen further discloses wherein executing the first process further comprises: sending a signal to a respective other process in the subset of processes indicating completion of the broadcast of the first block (Paragraph 11) ; and determining that the first destination buffer has received a respective segment of the data based on respective signals from other processes in the subset of processes (Paragraph 11). As per claim 7, Chen further discloses wherein sending the first segment to respective destination buffers of the other processes further comprises: randomly selecting a target process from the subset of processes (Paragraph 13); and sending the first segment to a destination buffer of the target process (Paragraph 13). As per claim 8, Chen further discloses wherein executing the first process further comprises: dividing the data into a set of blocks (Paragraph 25 “ Such creating of new originator nodes for each new propagation dimensions permits any data, such as arising from remote get instructions, or other feedback information, if any, that might be returned because of the broadcast request, to be returned to the originators in each such dimension, which will then, in turn, relay such data to its own originator node, ultimately bringing such data back to the originator node that initially sent out the broadcast request. The RDMA instruction is used for explanation of the concepts of the present invention but a similar approach can be implemented in other instructions, such as direct put and remote get DMA operations. ”) ; and dividing a respective block into a set of sub-blocks, wherein the first segment is a sub-block in a first block (Paragraph 25). As per claim 9, Chen further discloses wherein executing the first process further comprises: determining that the broadcast of the first block is complete (Paragraph 25); determining a second segment of the data for which the first process is responsible for broadcasting, wherein the second segment is a sub-block in a second block (Paragraph 25) ; and sending the second segment to respective destination buffers of other processes in the subset of processes (Paragraph 25). As per claims 1 0-18 , they are method claims having similar limitations as cited in claims 1- 9 and are rejected under the same rationale. As per claims 1 9 and 20, they are method claims having similar limitations as cited in claims 1- 9 and are rejected under the same rationale. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Archer (US 2011 / 0113083 ) discloses accepting a notification of a computing task for execution by a group of compute nodes interconnected by a communication network, which has a given interconnection topology and includes network switching elements. A set of preferred paths, which connect the compute nodes in the group via at least a subset of the network switching elements to one or more root switching elements, are identified in the communication network based on the given interconnection topology and on a criterion derived from the computing task. The network switching elements in the subset are configured to forward node-level results of the computing task produced by the compute nodes in the group to the root switching elements over the preferred paths, so as to cause the root switching elements to calculate and output an end result of the computing task based on the node-level results. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT TIMOTHY A MUDRICK whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3374 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 9am-5pm Central Time . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Pierre Vital can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-4215 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TIMOTHY A MUDRICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198 2/27/2026