DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 11/30/2023. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20170256973) in view of Bailly (US 20190356136).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a smart charging method (Fig. 9-10), comprising:
determining whether an electronic device is connected to a charger ([0071] Further, the processor 150 determines a charge mode when connected with an external adaptor)
determining whether a current time is within a predetermined idle period ([0074] and Fig. 10.. when the state of the charge of the battery is lower than 50% and it is currently late night time,...), if the electronic device is connected to the charger ([0074] and Fig. 10.. when the state of the charge of the battery is lower than 50% and it is currently late night time, the processor 150 may determine the charge mode to be the power-save charge mode. The ‘power-save charge mode,’ as used herein, refers to a charge profile that includes an idle segment during which the charging operation is not performed. This will be described below with reference to FIGS. 8 to 10.);
charging a battery of the electronic device at a charge rate by constant current charging, which lasts for a predetermined constant current charging time, if the current time is within the predetermined idle period (Fig. 10 and [0074][0087] [0149] the charge circuit 220 may provide different constant currents to the battery for each of the charge segments to be described below);
idling the battery for a predetermined idle time, after the predetermined constant current charging time is over (Fig. 10 “idle section” 1020);
Kim does not disclose/teach charging the battery by constant voltage charging, after the predetermined idle time is over.
Bailly teaches charging the battery by constant voltage charging, after the predetermined idle time is over (Fig. 4 from steps to 425 “Rest” to step 403 ‘”Y” to step 405)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the smart charging method of Kim to include charging the battery by constant voltage charging, after the predetermined idle time is over in order to prevent overcharging, avoid dangerous overheating, and safely top off the final capacity as the current naturally tapers down.
Kim in view of Bailly does not disclose/teach charging a battery of the electronic device at a charge rate is less than 0.8C.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to through routine experimentation to charge the electronic device at low charging rates less than .8C in order to reduce the temperature of the battery and the likelihood of causing damage by charging at the recommended charging rate.
As to claim 2, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the smart charging method according to claim 1, wherein the after the predetermined constant current charging time is over, the capacity of the battery is below 80% (Fig. 10 50% charged).
As to claim 3, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the smart charging method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining a remaining capacity of the battery ([0071]- [0074] when the state of the charge of the battery is lower than 50%..) obtaining a predetermined total charging time [0135] Referring to FIG. 10, when the battery state of the electronic apparatus 100 is a preset state (e.g., 50% or below), first, charging operation is performed until the preset state is reached, at 1010) calculating the predetermined constant current charging time according to the remaining capacity ([0135] since the time of use by the user is preset, considering the preset time of use and remaining charging time, charging is not performed after the first charging during an idle section 1020 until a time of initiating charging); and calculating the predetermined idle time according to the predetermined total charging time, the predetermined constant current charging time and a predetermined constant voltage charging time ([0135] That is, charging is initiated before the time of use, for the time of charging 50% to 100).
As to claim 4, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the smart charging method according to claim 3, wherein the step of obtaining the remaining capacity of the battery is performed at a healthy charging mode ([0071] the processor 150 may determine a charge mode based on the state of the charge of the battery, and pre-stored user pattern information. … the processor 150 may first determine whether to use a power-save charge mode (i.e. healthy charging mode) or to use high-speed charge mode or life-extension mode).
As to claim 5, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the smart charging method according to claim 3, wherein the step of obtaining the remaining capacity of the battery is periodically performed ([0135] Referring to FIG. 10, when the battery state of the electronic apparatus 100 is a preset state (e.g., 50% or below). Then a second charging is performed, at 1030, when the time of initiating charging comes. That is, charging is initiated before the time of use, for the time of charging 50% to 100%).
As to claim 6, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the smart charging method according to claim 1, wherein the constant voltage charging lasts for a predetermined constant voltage charging time, which remains unchanged (Fig. 4 step 405 to 409).
As to claim 7, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the smart charging method according to claim 6.
Kim in view of Bailly does not disclose/teach wherein the predetermined constant voltage charging time is 120 minutes.
However, absent an objective showing of criticality with regards to the claimed constant voltage charging time, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to determine the proper constant voltage charging time in order to ensure that the device is fully charged without overheating by the time of use.
As to claim 8, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the smart charging method according to claim 1.
The embodiment of Kim shown in Fig. 10 does not disclose/teach wherein the predetermined idle time is 0.
Kim teaches an embodiment wherein the predetermined idle time is 0 ([0072] Fig. 4b-4C)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the predetermined idle time of Kim to wherein the predetermined idle time is 0 in order to implement a high-speed charge mode that requires fast charging [0072] of Kim .
As to claim 9, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the smart charging method according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined idle time is larger than 0 (Fig. 10).
As to claim 10, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the smart charging method according to claim 1, wherein the battery has a non-charging mode (Fig. 2 [0097] The controller 250 may detect whether or not power is inputted from the adaptor 10). Before adaptor 10 is plugged into the device 200 is identified as “a non-charging mode”), an ordinary charging mode ([0072] high speed charging mode) and a healthy charging mode ([0074] power-save charge mode), before the charger is plugged into the electronic device, the battery is in the non-charging mode (before adaptor 10 is plugged into the device 200 is identified as “a non-charging mode”); when the charger is plugged into the electronic device within a predetermined busy period, the battery is controlled to remain in the ordinary charging mode ([0072], when the state of the charge of the battery is less than 50% and it is currently day time, the processor 150 may determine that the charge mode is a high-speed charge mode that requires fast charging); when the charger is plugged into the electronic device within the predetermined idle period, the battery is controlled to remain in the healthy charging mode ([0074] when the state of the charge of the battery is lower than 50% and it is currently late night time, the processor 150 may determine the charge mode to be the power-save charge mode. The ‘power-save charge mode,’ as used herein, refers to a charge profile that includes an idle segment during which the charging operation is not performed. This will be described below with reference to FIGS. 8 to 10).
As to claim 11, Kim discloses an electronic device (Fig. 1-2 100), comprising:
a power connection port, connected to a charger ([0084] inputter 210);
a battery (power supply 200);
a charging unit, connected to the battery and configured to charge the battery (Fig. 2 adaptor 10); and
a power management unit connected to the power connection port and the battery (Fig. 1 processor 150 and controller 250), wherein the power management unit comprises: a connection port detection circuit , configured to determine whether the power connection port is connected to the charger ([0097] The controller 250 may detect whether or not power is inputted from the adaptor 10);
a time determination circuit ([0074] and Fig. 10.. the processor 150); and
a control circuit, configured to control the charging unit; wherein if the power connection port is connected to the charger, the time determination circuit determines whether a current time is within a predetermined idle period ([0074] and Fig. 10.. when the state of the charge of the battery is lower than 50% and it is currently late night time, the processor 150 may determine. [0129] when the user going to bed connects the electronic apparatus to a charger...);
if the current time is within the predetermined idle period, the control circuit outputs a constant current control signal to the charging unit for enabling the charging unit to charge the battery at a charge rate by constant current charging, which lasts for a predetermined constant current charging time (Fig. 10 and [0074][0087] [0149] the charge circuit 220 may provide different constant currents to the battery for each of the charge segments to be described below);
after the time determination circuit determines that the predetermined constant current charging time is over, the control circuit outputs an idle signal to the charging unit for enabling the charging unit to idle the battery for a predetermined idle time (Fig. 10 “idle section” 1020 [0135] since the time of use by the user is preset, considering the preset time of use and remaining charging time, charging is not performed after the first charging during an idle section 1020 until a time of initiating charging );
Kim does not disclose/teach after the time determination circuit determines that the predetermined idle time is over, the control circuit outputs a constant voltage control signal to the charging unit for enabling the charging unit to charge the battery by constant voltage charging.
Bailly teaches after the time determination circuit determines that the predetermined idle time is over, the control circuit outputs a constant voltage control signal to the charging unit for enabling the charging unit to charge the battery by constant voltage charging (Fig. 4 from steps to 425 “Rest” to step 403 ‘”Y” to step 405).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Kim to include after the time determination circuit determines that the predetermined idle time is over, the control circuit outputs a constant voltage control signal to the charging unit for enabling the charging unit to charge the battery by constant voltage charging in order to prevent overcharging, avoid dangerous overheating, and safely top off the final capacity as the current naturally tapers down.
Kim in view of Bailly does not disclose/teach charging a battery of the electronic device at a charge rate is less than 0.8C.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to through routine experimentation to charge the electronic device at low charging rates less than .8C in order to reduce the temperature of the battery and the likelihood of causing damage by charging at the recommended charging rate.
As to claim 12, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the electronic device according to claim 11, wherein the after the predetermined constant current charging time is over, the capacity of the battery is below 80% (Fig. 10 50% charged).
As to claim 13, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the electronic device according to claim 11, wherein the power management unit further comprises: a battery detection circuit (the processor 150), configured to detect a remaining capacity of the battery ([0071]- [0074] when the state of the charge of the battery is lower than 50%..); a timer setting circuit (the processor 150), configured to provide a predetermined total charging time ([0135] since the time of use by the user is preset, considering the preset time of use and remaining charging time, charging is not performed after the first charging during an idle section 1020 until a time of initiating charging); and a calculation circuit, configured to calculate the predetermined constant current charging time according to the remaining capacity and calculate the predetermined idle time according to the predetermined total charging time ([0135] since the time of use by the user is preset, considering the preset time of use and remaining charging time, charging is not performed after the first charging during an idle section 1020 until a time of initiating charging), the predetermined constant current charging time and a predetermined constant voltage charging time ([0135] That is, charging is initiated before the time of use, for the time of charging 50% to 100).
As to claim 14, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the electronic device according to claim 13, wherein the remaining capacity of the battery is obtained at a healthy charging mode ([0071] the processor 150 may determine a charge mode based on the state of the charge of the battery, and pre-stored user pattern information. … the processor 150 may first determine whether to use a power-save charge mode (i.e. healthy charging mode) or to use high-speed charge mode or life-extension mode).
As to claim 15, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the electronic device according to claim 13, wherein the remaining capacity of the battery is periodically obtained ([0135] Referring to FIG. 10, when the battery state of the electronic apparatus 100 is a preset state (e.g., 50% or below). Then a second charging is performed, at 1030, when the time of initiating charging comes. That is, charging is initiated before the time of use, for the time of charging 50% to 100%).
As to claim 16, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the electronic device according to claim 13, wherein the constant voltage charging lasts for a predetermined constant voltage charging time, which remains unchanged (Fig. 4 step 405 to 409).
As to claim 17, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the electronic device according to claim 16.
Kim in view of Bailly does not disclose/teach wherein the predetermined constant voltage charging time is 120 minutes.
However, absent an objective showing of criticality with regards to the claimed constant voltage charging time, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to determine the proper constant voltage charging time in order to ensure that the device is fully charged without overheating by the time of use.
As to claim 18, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the electronic device according to claim 11.
The embodiment of Kim shown in Fig. 10 does not disclose/teach wherein the predetermined idle time is 0.
The embodiment of Kim shown in Fig. 10 does not disclose/teach wherein the predetermined idle time is 0.
Kim teaches an embodiment wherein the predetermined idle time is 0 ([0072] Fig. 4b-4C)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the predetermined idle time of Kim to wherein the predetermined idle time is 0 in order to implement a high-speed charge mode that requires fast charging [0072] of Kim .
As to claim 19, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the electronic device according to claim 11, wherein the predetermined idle time is larger than 0 (Fig. 10).
As to claim 20, Kim in view of Bailly teaches the electronic device according to claim 11, wherein the battery has a non-charging mode (Fig. 2 [0097] The controller 250 may detect whether or not power is inputted from the adaptor 10). Before adaptor 10 is plugged into the device 200 is identified as “a non-charging mode”), an ordinary charging mode and a healthy charging mode ([0072] high speed charging mode), before the charger is plugged into the electronic device, the battery is in the non-charging mode (before adaptor 10 is plugged into the device 200 is identified as “a non-charging mode”); when the charger is plugged into the electronic device within a predetermined busy period, the battery is controlled to remain in the ordinary charging mode ([0072] For example, when the state of the charge of the battery is less than 50% and it is currently day time, the processor 150 may determine that the charge mode is a high-speed charge mode that requires fast charging); when the charger is plugged into the electronic device within the predetermined idle period, the battery is controlled to remain in the healthy charging mode ([0074] Meanwhile, when the state of the charge of the battery is lower than 50% and it is currently late night time, the processor 150 may determine the charge mode to be the power-save charge mode. The ‘power-save charge mode,’ as used herein, refers to a charge profile that includes an idle segment during which the charging operation is not performed. This will be described below with reference to FIGS. 8 to 10).
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mattisson et al (US 20140077815) is cited for having constant current charging then and idle period.
Jung et al (US 20150077058) is cited for having constant current followed by constant voltage charging followed by idling period.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859