DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/30/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “body is tapered in a direction away from the cap” (Claim 15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation " the multi-stage electromagnetic relay" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the cap" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hawkins [US 3,200,222], applicant cited prior art.
Claim 1, Hawkins discloses a component [figures 1 and 2] for a high-voltage electric system of a vehicle, the component comprising: a hollow body [36/38/5] having a circular cross section; a first contact [42] arranged circumferentially in the body and configured to be externally exposed and to reach an interior of the body [figures 1 and 2]; a second contact [43] arranged circumferentially in the body and configured to be externally exposed and to reach an interior of the body, the second contact being separated from the first contact [42] in the axial direction of the body [figures 1 and 2]; an axially movable connector element [23/24/26/27/29/31/32] arranged within the body; and an electromagnetic relay [3] arranged to control axial movement of the connector element, wherein the relay is configured so that actuation of the relay results in an axial movement of the connector element to form an electrical connection between the first contact and the second contact [col. 5 lines 9-26 and 39-46].
Claim 3, Hawkins discloses the component according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first [42] and second contact [43] extends into the interior of the body [figures 1 and 2].
Claim 4, Hawkins discloses the component according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first [42] and second contact [43] comprises a central opening [51] through which the connector element is arranged [figures 1 and 2].
Claim 7, Hawkins discloses the component according to claim 1, further comprising a third [44] and a fourth [46] contact, each contact being arranged circumferentially in the body and configured to be externally exposed and to reach an interior of the body [figures 1 and 2].
Claim 13, Hawkins discloses the component according to claim 1, further comprising a fifth contact [47] arranged circumferentially in the body and configured to be externally exposed and to reach an interior of the body [figures 1 and 2].
Claim 14, Hawkins discloses the component according to claim 1, wherein the body has a substantially cylindrical shape [figures 1 and 2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins [US 3,200,222] in view of Perreira [US 20230178318].
Claim 16, Hawkins discloses the component according to claim 1, with the exception of at least one of the first and second contact area is threaded and configured to be threaded into a receiving socket.
Zhong teaches a high voltage relay disclosing that the conventional way to connect a terminal involves threaded connection, connector connection, signal line connection, coil QC (quick-connection) leading-out terminal connection, PCB lead connection [paragraph 0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for at least one of the first and second contact area of Hawkins to be threaded as taught by Zhong to facilitate connection of the relay with other components [Zhong paragraph 0003]. It has been held that the recitation that the element is “configured to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins [US 3,200,222] in view of Roemelsberger [US 2022/0200214]
Claim 18, Hawkins discloses the component according to claim 1, but fails to teach that it can be used in a vehicle.
Roemelsberger teaches that a high voltage contactor (relay) can be used in an electric vehicle [abs].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the component of Hawkins in a vehicle as taught by Roemelsberger in order to switch high voltages in a vehicle. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ F.2d 1647 (1987).
Claim 19, Hawkins discloses the component according to claim 1, but fails to teach a socket configured to receive a component according to claim 1.
Roemelsberger teaches that a carrier [100] comprising plural sockets [111/211] for receiving high voltage contactors [301].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a socket to mount the component of Hawkins as taught by Roemelsberger in order to simplify connecting and replacing components.
Claim 20, Hawkins discloses the component according to claim 1, but fails to teach
a connector assembly comprising a said and a socket configured to receive the component.
Roemelsberger teaches that a connector assembly [100] comprising plural sockets [111/211] for receiving high voltage contactors [301].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a connector assembly with a socket to mount the component of Hawkins as taught by Roemelsberger in order to simplify connecting and replacing components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, 6, 8-10, 12 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837