Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chandramouli (US 2024/0057139). Hereinafter referred to as Chandramouli.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 18. Chandramouli discloses a method, comprising: facilitating, by a system comprising a processor, energy efficiency aware load balancing of already served user equipment, wherein the energy efficiency aware load balancing distributes the already served user equipment among a group of cells of a communication network (see at least paragraphs [0027]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], and [0048]-[0063]); and facilitating, by the system, controlling of admissions of other user equipment to the communication network (see at least paragraphs [0027]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], and [0048]-[0063]), wherein the facilitating the energy efficiency aware load balancing and the facilitating the controlling of the admissions comprise: evaluating feedback data representative of near-real-time quality of service performance indicator feedback (see at least paragraphs [0027]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], and [0048]-[0063]); and based on the feedback data, controlling the energy efficiency aware load balancing and the admission control, the controlling resulting in a mitigated degradation of a quality of service of the already served user equipment (see at least paragraphs [0027]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], and [0048]-[0063]).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Chandramouli discloses a method wherein the facilitating the energy efficiency aware load balancing comprises: selecting a first cell of the group of cells for offloading of a first user equipment of the already served user equipment to a second cell of the group of cells, wherein the group of cells is within control of a near-real-time-radio access network intelligent controller; and based on selection of the first cell, providing information indicative of offload instructions for the first user equipment to a centralized unit for validation (see at least paragraphs [0027]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], and [0048]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 3, Chandramouli discloses a method further comprising: based on a completion of the connection transfer of the user equipment, determining, by the system, an outcome of the connection transfer as a function of a change in a network utility; and communicating, by the system, the change in the network utility for incorporation into a reinforcement learning model (see at least paragraphs [0027]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], and [0048]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 4, Chandramouli discloses a method wherein the controlling resulting in the mitigated degradation of the quality of service of the already served user equipment comprises the controlling resulting in minimized degradation of the quality of service of the already served user equipment, and wherein the facilitating the controlling of the admissions of other user equipment comprises: based on receipt of a connection request from a first user equipment of the other user equipment, activating an admission control procedure; and based on a result of the admission control procedure and based on acceptance of an admission policy and a utility function, selectively admitting the first user equipment to the group of cells (see at least paragraphs [0027]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], and [0048]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 6, Chandramouli discloses a method wherein the communication network is deployed as a disaggregated architecture that comprises central units, distributed units, and a near-real-time-radio access network intelligent controller (see at least paragraphs [0027]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], and [0048]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 7, Chandramouli discloses a method wherein the group of cells is configured to operate according to a new radio network communication protocol (see at least paragraphs [0027]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], and [0048]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 11. Chandramouli discloses a system wherein the operations further comprise: prior to the selecting of the first cell, obtaining average data usage from the cells, wherein the selecting is based on the average data usage and a defined policy (see at least paragraphs [0028]-[0031], and [0058]).
Regarding claim 12. Chandramouli discloses a system wherein the defined policy is based on a function of cell loads, PRB utilization, and load states of neighbor cells (see at least paragraphs [0028]-[0031], and [0058]).
Regarding claim 13. Chandramouli discloses a system wherein the load balancing procedure is activated based on a cell within a cluster being determined to satisfy a utilization threshold (see at least paragraphs [0027]-[0032], [0042]-[0045], and [0048]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 17. Chandramouli discloses a system, wherein the system is deployed in a disaggregated architecture of network equipment (see at least paragraphs [0028]-[0031], and [0058]).
Regarding claim 20. Chandramouli discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein the controlling of the admissions of other user equipment comprises: based on receipt of a connection request from a first user equipment of the other user equipment, activating an admission control procedure; and based on a result of the admission control procedure, selectively admitting the first user equipment to the plurality of cells based on acceptance of an admission policy and a utility function (see at least paragraphs [0028]-[0031], and [0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9-10, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandramouli in view of Ranganath et al (US 2024/0259879, hereinafter referred to as Ranganath).
Regarding claim 5, Chandramouli discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that based on completion of an admission of the first user equipment, communicating, by the system, cell level data for incorporation into a reinforcement learning model. However, Ranganath, from the same field of endeavor, teaches that based on completion of an admission of the first user equipment, communicating, by the system, cell level data for incorporation into a reinforcement learning model (see at least paragraphs [0161], [0193], and [0333]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Ranganath, as indicated, into the communication method of Chandramouli for the purpose of improving communication.
Regarding claim 9, Chandramouli discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that based on a completion of the connection transfer of the second user equipment, determining an outcome of the connection transfer as a function of a change in a network utility; and communicating the change in the network utility to a reinforcement learning model. However, Ranganath, from the same field of endeavor, teaches that based on a completion of the connection transfer of the second user equipment, determining an outcome of the connection transfer as a function of a change in a network utility; and communicating the change in the network utility to a reinforcement learning model (see at least paragraphs [0161], [0193], and [0333]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Ranganath, as indicated, into the communication method of Chandramouli for the purpose of improving communication.
Regarding claim 10. Chandramouli in view of Ranganath discloses a system wherein the operations further comprise: based on the validation of the offload instructions by the centralized unit, transferring the offload instructions to a scheduler for initiation of a connection transfer of the first user equipment (Chandramouli: see at least paragraphs [0028]-[0031], and [0058]).
Regarding claim 14, Chandramouli discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of activating the admission control procedure comprises: recommending, to a control unit (CU), a policy for admission of the second user equipment; based on acceptance of the policy by the CU and based on a determination that the second user equipment is to be admitted in a same radio unit (RU) that received the connection request from the second user equipment, sending an acceptance acknowledgment to the second user equipment; and completing setup of the second user equipment with a selected cell of the cells. However, Ranganath, from the same field of endeavor, teaches activating the admission control procedure comprises: recommending, to a control unit (CU), a policy for admission of the second user equipment; based on acceptance of the policy by the CU and based on a determination that the second user equipment is to be admitted in a same radio unit (RU) that received the connection request from the second user equipment, sending an acceptance acknowledgment to the second user equipment; and completing setup of the second user equipment with a selected cell of the cells (see at least paragraphs [0161], [0193], and [0333]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Ranganath, as indicated, into the communication method of Chandramouli for the purpose of improving communication.
Regarding claim 15, Chandramouli discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of activating the admission control procedure comprises: recommending, to a control unit (CU), a policy for admission of the second user equipment; based on acceptance of the policy by the CU and based on a determination that the second user equipment is to be admitted in a different cell than the cell that received the connection request from the second user equipment, sending redirect information to the second user equipment; and completing setup of the second user equipment with the different cell. However, Ranganath, from the same field of endeavor, teaches activating the admission control procedure comprises: recommending, to a control unit (CU), a policy for admission of the second user equipment; based on acceptance of the policy by the CU and based on a determination that the second user equipment is to be admitted in a different cell than the cell that received the connection request from the second user equipment, sending redirect information to the second user equipment; and completing setup of the second user equipment with the different cell (see at least paragraphs [0161], [0193], and [0333]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Ranganath, as indicated, into the communication method of Chandramouli for the purpose of improving communication.
Regarding claim 16, Chandramouli in view of Ranganath discloses a system wherein the operations further comprise: based on completion of the admission of the second user equipment at the different cell, communicating cell level data to a reinforcement learning model (see at least paragraphs [0161], [0193], and [0333]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476