DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 13-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ananthamurthy et al. (US 2024/0314060 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ananthamurthy discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a first network device (e.g. 202-1, 202-2), a media access control (MAC) advertisement route message indicating that a second network device (e.g. 204-1, 204-2) has discovered a MAC address of a host device (such as paragraph [0074]-[0076], illustrating receiving advertisement route message relating to a host device 210 from a second PE device when the host device 210 moves to the second device PE); and deleting, by the first network device, one or more multicast group memberships associated with the host device (paragraph [0076]-[0078]; and etc., describing deleting or removing the membership or MAC address of the host device based on the received advertisement).
Regarding claim 13, the claim includes features identical to subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding a first network device, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 2 and 14, Ananthamurthy further discloses comprising: storing, by the first network device, based on identifying an association of the one or more multicast group memberships with the host device, the MAC address, the one or more multicast group memberships associated with the host device, and an attachment circuit of the first network device in an entry of a database associated with internet group management protocol (IGMP) or multicast listener discovery (MLD) snooping with explicit tracking (figs. 2-4; paragraph [0045]-[0050]; [0055]; [0032]; [0076]-[0078]; [0088]-[0090]; and so on).
Regarding claim 3 and 15, Ananthamurthy discloses wherein deleting the one or more multicast group memberships associated with the host device includes deleting the entry from the database (paragraph [0076]-[0078]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 6 and 18, Ananthamurthy discloses wherein deleting the one or more multicast group memberships associated with the host device includes deleting the one or more multicast group memberships associated with the host device using an internet protocol (IP) address of the host device (paragraph [0073]-[0077]).
Regarding claim 7 and 19, Ananthamurthy discloses wherein the first network device is a first provider edge device associated with an Ethernet virtual private network (EVPN), and wherein the second network device is a second provider edge device associated with the EVPN (paragraph [0058]-[0060]; [0052]-[0053]; [0034]-[0038]; and so on).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 9-10, 12, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ananthamurthy in view of Dorenbosch (US 2007/0168555 A1).
Regarding claim 4-5 and 16-17, as applied above, Ananthamurthy discloses comprising transmitting, by the first network device, based on receiving the MAC advertisement route message, message associated with the host device (figs. 3-4; paragraph [0076]-[0078]). However, Ananthamurthy does not disclose comprising: the transmitting is a group-specific membership query for a multicast group membership of the one or more multicast group memberships associated with the host device, and determining that a response to the group-specific membership query has not been received, wherein deleting the one or more multicast group memberships associated with the host device includes deleting the multicast group membership based on determining that the response to the group-specific membership query has not been received.
Dorenbosch comprising: the transmitting is a group-specific membership query for a multicast group membership of the one or more multicast group memberships associated with the host device, and determining that a response to the group-specific membership query has not been received, wherein deleting the one or more multicast group memberships associated with the host device includes deleting the multicast group membership based on determining that the response to the group-specific membership query has not been received.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use comprising: the transmitting is a group-specific membership query for a multicast group membership of the one or more multicast group memberships associated with the host device, and determining that a response to the group-specific membership query has not been received, wherein deleting the one or more multicast group memberships associated with the host device includes deleting the multicast group membership based on determining that the response to the group-specific membership query has not been received as taught by Dorenbosch into Ananthamurthy in order to reduce dropping of data, and to improve overall performance and cost.
Regarding claim 9, Ananthamurthy discloses a method, comprising: discovering, by a network device of a network, a media access control (MAC) address of a host device, associated with an attachment circuit, that has moved to the network device from another network device of the network (such as figs. 2-4; paragraph [0074]-[0077]; [0065]-[0069]; [0072]; and so on); and transmitting, by the network device, based on discovering the MAC address of the host device that has moved to the network device from the other network device, over the attachment circuit, message (figs. 2-4; paragraph [0076]-[0078]).
Ananthamurthy does not disclose the transmitted forwarding MAC address is a general membership query.
Dorenbosch teaches the transmitted forwarding MAC address is a general membership query (paragraph [0027]-[0029]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the transmitted forwarding MAC address is a general membership query as taught by Dorenbosch into Ananthamurthy in order to reduce dropping of data, and to improve overall performance and cost.
Regarding claim 10, Ananthamurthy further discloses comprising: receiving a message associated with the host device. However, Ananthamurthy does not disclose receiving, by the network device, based on the general membership query, a membership report associated with the host device; and updating a group membership database based on the membership report.
Dorenbosch teaches receiving, by the network device, based on the general membership query, a membership report associated with the host device; and updating a group membership database based on the membership report (paragraph [0027]-[0029]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the transmitted forwarding MAC address is a general membership query as taught by Dorenbosch into Ananthamurthy in order to reduce dropping of data, and to improve overall performance and cost.
Regarding claim 12, Ananthamurthy discloses wherein the network is an Ethernet virtual private network (EVPN) (paragraph [0058]-[0060]; [0052]-[0053]; [0034]-[0038]; and so on).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ananthamurthy in view of Mathew et al. (US 2020/0036646 A1)
Regarding claim 8 and 20, as applied above, Ananthamurthy discloses the host device. However, Ananthamurthy does not disclose wherein the host device is a virtual machine.
Mathew teaches wherein the host device is a virtual machine (paragraph [0086]; [0098]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the host device is a virtual machine as taught by Mathew into Ananthamurthy in order to improve throughput, performance, and quality of service.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ananthamurthy in view of Dorenbosch, and further in view of Mathew.
Regarding claim 11, as applied above, Ananthamurthy discloses the host device. However, Ananthamurthy does not disclose wherein the host device is a virtual machine.
Mathew teaches wherein the host device is a virtual machine (paragraph [0086]; [0098]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the host device is a virtual machine as taught by Mathew into Ananthamurthy in order to improve throughput, performance, and quality of service.
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461