Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 10, 2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
An applicant’s duty of disclosure of material information is not satisfied by presenting a patent examiner with “a mountain of largely irrelevant data from which he is presumed to have been able, with his expertise and with adequate time, to have found the critical data. It ignores the real world conditions under which examiners work.” Rohm & Haas Co. v. Crystal Chemical Co., 722 F.2d 1556, 1573, 220 U.S.P.Q. 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). An applicant has a duty to not just disclose pertinent prior art references but to make a disclosure in such way as not to “bury” it within other disclosures of less relevant prior art. See Golden Valley Microwave Foods Inc. v. Weaver Popcorn Co. Inc., 24 U.S.P.Q.2d 1801 (N.D. Ind. 1992); Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 26 U.S.P.Q.2d 1889, 1899 (D. Del. 1992); Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc. et al., 175 U.S.P.Q. 260, 272 (S.D. Fl. 1972). It is unreasonable for Examiner to review all of the cited references thoroughly. By signing the accompanying 1449 form(s), Examiner is merely acknowledging the submission of the cited references and indicating that only a cursory review has been made.
Examiner notes that Therasense, Inc. v. Becton, Dickinson and Co., 649 F.3d 1276 (Ct. App. 2011) (en banc) has significantly restricted the infringement defense of inequitable conduct. A defendant must show that the patent in question would not have been issued but for undisclosed information, and that the patentee had the intent to deceive. Examiner suggests that future Information Disclosure Statements cite only the most relevant/inclusive references or portions thereof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6 of the amendment, filed April 10, 2026, with respect to the claim objections of claims 1, 8, 15, and 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of January 14, 2026 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6 of the amendment, filed April 10, 2026, with respect to the claim rejections under §112 of claims 1, 2, 7, 11, and 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The §112 claim rejections of January 14, 2026 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because they include reference characters which are not enclosed within parentheses:
Claim 1 (line 2) recites "a switch component comprising a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor, FET, comprising a drain terminal". It is unclear if "FET" is an abbreviation for the field-effect-transistor, or there are two transistors noted in the claim language. This confusion is removed if parentheses rather than commas were used, e.g. “(FET)”
Claim 13 (lines 1-2) recites "wherein the sense device is coupled to the voltage source supply, Vss, via a switch". It is unclear if "Vss" is an abbreviation for the voltage source supply, or there are two voltage supplies noted in the claim language. This confusion is removed if parentheses rather than commas were used, e.g. “(Vss)”
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 (line 2) recites "a switch component comprising a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor". It appears that applicant wanted "metal-oxide-semiconductor" crossed out, as the "MOS" was crossed out in "MOSFET" of line 3 of the claim.
Claim 1 (line 6) recites "a sense device for compensating current leakage of the switch component". It appears "the" is missing in front of "current leakage of the switch component".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 (lines 2 and 4) recites "LDMOS". It's unclear if "LDMOS" is an abbreviation, as the claim language does not define LDMOS.
Claim 8 (lines 4-5) recites "wherein the second transistor device has a first scale greater than a second scale of the first transistor device". It is unclear what "a first scale" and "a second scale" refers to in the context and how they are being compared such that one can be considered greater than the other. Examiner will interpret this "scale" to be channel width to length ratio.
Claim 9 (lines 1-2) recites "the second transistor device comprises more transistors than the first transistor device". It is unclear how a transistor can include more transistors within.
Claim 11 (lines 5-6) recites "wherein the first FET has a first scale greater than a second scale of the second FET". It is unclear what "a first scale" and "a second scale" refers to in the context and how they are being compared such that one can be considered greater than the other. Examiner will interpret this "scale" to be channel width to length ratio.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 6-18 of copending Application No. 19/007,345 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the anticipating limitations in bold and underlined, as shown in Table 1 below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 18/524,777
U.S. Co-pending Application 19/007,345
Claim 1:
A solid state switch device, comprising:
a switch component comprising a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor, FET, comprising a drain terminal, a source terminal, a gate terminal, and configured to generate a switch component leakage current based on non-idealities of the FET;
a compensation circuit comprising:
a sense device for compensating current leakage of the switch component, and configured to generate a sense device leakage current that is correlated with the switch component leakage current, including to:
detect a voltage level at the drain terminal of the FET; and
apply the voltage level to the sense device in order to generate the sense device leakage current correlated with the switch component leakage current; and
a current amplifier configured to:
generate an estimated switch component leakage current based on the sense device leakage current;
output the estimated switch component leakage current to the drain terminal of the FET in order to compensate for the switch component leakage current.
Claim 1:
A solid state switch device, comprising:
a switch component comprising a field-effect transistor, FET, comprising a drain terminal, a source terminal, a gate terminal, and configured to generate a switch component leakage current based on non-idealities of the FET;
a compensation circuit comprising:
a sense device for compensating current leakage of the switch component, and configured to generate a sense device leakage current that is correlated with the switch component leakage current; and
a current amplifier configured to:
generate an estimated switch component leakage current (~i1) based on the sense device leakage current (i2);
output the estimated switch component leakage current to the drain terminal of the FET in order to compensate for the switch component leakage current.
Claim 2:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the compensation circuit is configured to:
detect a voltage level at the drain terminal of the FET; and
apply the voltage level to the sense device in order to generate the sense device leakage current correlated with the switch component leakage current.
Claim 4:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the estimated switch component leakage current is a multiple of the sense device leakage current.
Claim 6:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the estimated switch component leakage current is a multiple of the sense device leakage current.
Claim 5:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the sense device leakage current is correlated with the switch component leakage current such that the sense device leakage current is N times less than the switch component leakage current.
Claim 7:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the sense device leakage current is correlated with the switch component leakage current such that the sense device leakage current is N times less than the switch component leakage current.
Claim 6:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the estimated switch component leakage current is a multiple of the sense device leakage current, wherein the sense device leakage current is correlated with the switch component leakage current such that the sense device leakage current is N times less than the switch component leakage current, wherein the multiple is N.
Claim 8:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the estimated switch component leakage current is a multiple of the sense device leakage current, wherein the sense device leakage current is correlated with the switch component leakage current such that the sense device leakage current is N times less than the switch component leakage current, wherein the multiple is N.
Claim 7:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the FET is a buried oxide isolated device, and the switch component further comprises an electrostatic discharge (ESD) diode, wherein the switch component leakage current is further based on non-idealities of the ESD diode.
Claim 9:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the FET is a buried oxide isolated device, and the switch component further comprises an electrostatic discharge (ESD) diode, wherein the switch component leakage current is further based on non-idealities of the ESD diode.
Claim 8:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the current amplifier is a current mirror comprising: a first transistor device coupled to the sense device; and a second transistor device coupled to the drain terminal of the FET of the switch component, wherein the second transistor device has a first scale greater than a second scale of the first transistor device.
Claim 10:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the current amplifier is a current mirror comprising: a first transistor device coupled to the sense device; and a second transistor device coupled to the drain terminal of the FET of the switch component, wherein the second transistor device has a first scale greater than a second scale of the first transistor device.
Claim 9:
The solid state switch device of claim 8, wherein the second transistor device comprises more transistors than the first transistor device.
Claim 11:
The solid state switch device of claim 8, wherein the second transistor device comprises more transistors than the first transistor device.
Claim 10:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the current amplifier comprises an operational amplifier comprising a first output and a second output, wherein the first output sources a first current, wherein the second output sources a second current, wherein the second current is a multiple of the first current, wherein the first output is coupled to the sense device, wherein the second output is coupled to the drain terminal of the FET of the switch component.
Claim 12:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the current amplifier comprises an operational amplifier comprising a first output and a second output, wherein the first output sources a first current, wherein the second output sources a second current, wherein the second current is a multiple of the first current, wherein the first output is coupled to the sense device, wherein the second output is coupled to the drain terminal of the FET of the switch component.
Claim 11:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the switch component is a first switch component, the FET is a first FET, and the sense device is a second switch component, wherein the second switch component comprises a second FET comprising: a drain terminal, a source terminal, a gate terminal, wherein the sense device leakage current is based on non-idealities of the second FET, wherein the first FET has a first scale greater than a second scale of the second FET.
Claim 13:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the switch component is a first switch component, the FET is a first FET, and the sense device is a second switch component, wherein the second switch component comprises a second FET comprising: a drain terminal, a source terminal, a gate terminal, wherein the sense device leakage current is based on non-idealities of the second FET, wherein the first FET has a first scale greater than a second scale of the second FET.
Claim 12:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the sense device comprises a cathode coupled to the current amplifier and an anode coupled to a voltage source supply (Vss).
Claim 14:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the sense device comprises a cathode coupled to the current amplifier and an anode coupled to the voltage source supply (Vss).
Claim 13:
The solid state switch device of claim 12, wherein the sense device is coupled to the voltage source supply, Vss, via a switch, wherein the switch is configured to be open when the switch component is closed.
Claim 15:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the sense device is coupled to the voltage source supply (Vss) via a switch, wherein the switch is configured to be open when the switch component is closed.
Claim 14:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, further comprising a temperature sensor configured to activate the compensation circuit upon sensing a temperature above a temperature threshold.
Claim 16:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, further comprising a temperature sensor configured to activate the compensation circuit upon sensing a temperature above a temperature threshold.
Claim 15:
A compensation circuit comprising:
a sense device for leakage compensation of a switch component leakage current of a switch component, and configured to generate a sense device leakage current, including to:
detect a voltage level at an output of a switch component; and
apply the voltage level to the sense device in order to generate the sense device leakage current; and
a current amplifier configured to:
generate an estimated switch component leakage current based on the sense device leakage current;
output the estimated switch component leakage current to the switch component in order to compensate for the switch component leakage current.
Claim 17:
A compensation circuit comprising:
a sense device for leakage compensation of a switch component leakage current of a switch component, and configured to generate a sense device leakage current; and
a current amplifier configured to:
generate an estimated switch component leakage current (~i1) based on the sense device leakage current (i2);
output the estimated switch component leakage current to the switch component in order to compensate for the switch component leakage current.
Claim 2:
The solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the compensation circuit is configured to:
detect a voltage level at the drain terminal of the FET; and
apply the voltage level to the sense device in order to generate the sense device leakage current correlated with the switch component leakage current.
Claim 16:
The compensation circuit of claim 15, wherein the estimated switch component leakage current is a multiple of the sense device leakage current.
Claim 18:
The compensation circuit of claim 17, wherein the estimated switch component leakage current is a multiple of the sense device leakage current.
Table 1
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 17-18 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 19-20 of copending Application No. 19/007,345 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented, as shown below in Table 2.
Instant Application 18/524,777
U.S. Co-pending Application 19/007,345
Claim 17:
A method of compensating for a switch component leakage current of a switch component, the method comprising:
determining a voltage level at an output of the switch component;
applying the voltage level to a sense device; determining a sense device leakage current of the sense device that is correlated with the switch component leakage current;
generating an estimated switch component leakage current based on the sense device leakage current;
outputting the estimated switch component leakage current to the output of the switch component in order to compensate for the switch component leakage current.
Claim 19:
A method of compensating for a switch component leakage current of a switch component, the method comprising:
determining a voltage level at an output of the switch component;
applying the voltage level to a sense device; determining a sense device leakage current of the sense device that is correlated with the switch component leakage current;
generating an estimated switch component leakage current based on the sense device leakage current;
outputting the estimated switch component leakage current to the output of the switch component in order to compensate for the switch component leakage current.
Claim 18:
The method of claim 17, wherein the estimated switch component leakage current is a multiple of the sense device leakage current.
Claim 20:
The method of claim 19, wherein the estimated switch component leakage current is a multiple of the sense device leakage current.
Table 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant is reminded that claim mapping is provided as a courtesy to the applicant, but applicant should consider a reference as a whole, as the entire reference gives context to mapped sections.
Claims 1, 3-6, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Englekirk (US 20230037837 A1); hereinafter Englekirk.
Regarding Claim 1, Englekirk discloses [Fig. 1/2/3/4] a solid state switch device, comprising: a switch component comprising a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor [M], FET, comprising a drain terminal [M-drain], a source terminal [M-source], a gate terminal [M-gate], and configured to generate a switch component leakage current [Leakage Current] based on non-idealities of the FET; a compensation circuit [108/106] comprising: a sense device [108; resistive divider (paragraph 0003)] for compensating current leakage of the switch component, and configured to generate a sense device leakage current [output of 108 to input of 106] that is correlated with the switch component leakage current [paragraphs 0002-0005, 0021-0034]; including to: detect a voltage level at the drain terminal of the FET [voltage at M-drain (Vout)]; and apply the voltage level to the sense device in order to generate the sense device leakage current correlated with the switch component leakage current [paragraphs 0002-0005, 0021-0034]; and a current amplifier [106] configured to: generate an estimated switch component leakage current [output of 106] based on the sense device leakage current; output the estimated switch component leakage current to the drain terminal of the FET [thru the gate of M] in order to compensate for the switch component leakage current.
Regarding Claim 3, as best understood, Englekirk discloses the solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the FET is a first "LDMOS" [paragraphs 0050-0052], and the switch component further comprises a second "LDMOS" comprising: a drain terminal, a source terminal, a gate terminal, wherein the source terminal of the second "LDMOS" is coupled to the source terminal of the first "LDMOS" [paragraph 0054; "using multiple components ... to handle greater currents. Additional circuit components may be added to enhance the capabilities of the disclosed circuits and/or to provide additional functionality ..."].
Regarding Claim 4, Englekirk discloses the solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the estimated switch component leakage current is a multiple [bracketed 'N' at switch component M] of the sense device leakage current.
Regarding Claim 5, Englekirk discloses the solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the sense device leakage current is correlated with the switch component leakage current such that the sense device leakage current is N times less than the switch component leakage current [paragraph 0003; resistive divider network that provides a scaled version of Vout].
Regarding Claim 6, Englekirk discloses the solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the estimated switch component leakage current is a multiple of the sense device leakage current [output of 108 to the input of 106, compared to the reference voltage, and the difference is amplified making it a multiple of the sense device leakage current], wherein the sense device leakage current is correlated with the switch component leakage current such that the sense device leakage current is N times less than the switch component leakage current, wherein the multiple is N [paragraph 0003; resistive divider network that provides a scaled version of Vout].
Regarding Claim 15, Englekirk discloses [Fig. 1/2/3/4] a compensation circuit [108/106] comprising: a sense device [108; resistive divider (paragraph 0003)] for leakage compensation of a switch component leakage current [Leakage Current] of a switch component [M], and configured to generate a sense device leakage current [output of 108 to input of 106]; including to: detect a voltage level at an output of a switch component [voltage at M-drain (Vout)]; and apply the voltage level to the sense device in order to generate the sense device leakage current [paragraphs 0002-0005, 0021-0034]; and a current amplifier [106] configured to: generate an estimated switch component leakage current [output of 106] based on the sense device leakage current; output the estimated switch component leakage current to the switch component in order to compensate for the switch component leakage current.
Regarding Claim 16, Englekirk discloses the compensation circuit of claim 15, wherein the estimated switch component leakage current is a multiple [bracketed 'N' at switch component M] of the sense device leakage current.
Regarding Claim 17, Englekirk discloses a method of compensating [Fig. 1/2/3/4] for a switch component leakage current [Leakage Current] of a switch component [M], the method comprising: determining a voltage level [Vout] at an output of the switch component [M-drain]; applying the voltage level to a sense device [108; resistive divider (paragraph 0003)]; determining a sense device leakage current [output of 108 to input of 106] of the sense device that is correlated with the switch component leakage current [paragraphs 0002-0005, 0021-0034]; generating an estimated switch component leakage current [output of 106] based on the sense device leakage current; outputting the estimated switch component leakage current to the output of the switch component in order to compensate for the switch component leakage current.
Regarding Claim 18, Englekirk discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the estimated switch component leakage current is a multiple [bracketed 'N' at switch component M] of the sense device leakage current.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant is reminded that claim mapping is provided as a courtesy to the applicant, but applicant should consider a reference as a whole, as the entire reference gives context to mapped sections.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englekirk, in view of Cai et al. (US 9305916 B1); hereinafter Englekirk, in view of Cai.
Regarding Claim 7, Englekirk does not explicitly disclose the solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the FET is a buried oxide isolated device, and the switch component further comprises an electrostatic discharge (ESD) diode, wherein the switch component leakage current is further based on non-idealities of the ESD diode.
However, Cai discloses wherein the FET is a buried oxide isolated device [column 2, lines 30-40], and the switch component further comprises an electrostatic discharge (ESD) diode [Abstract; Fig. 1], wherein the switch component leakage current is further based on non-idealities of the ESD diode. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the invention of Cai in the invention of Englekirk, with the expected benefit of achieving much higher operating speeds. This method of improving Englekirk using Cai was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on the teachings of Cai. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Englekirk and Cai to obtain the invention: incorporating the FET ESD protection device in place of the M transistor switch.
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englekirk, in view of Yan et al. (WO 2022205764 A1); hereinafter Englekirk, in view of Yan.
Regarding Claim 8, as best understood, Englekirk does not explicitly disclose the solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the current amplifier is a current mirror comprising: a first transistor device coupled to the sense device; and a second transistor device coupled to the drain terminal of the FET of the switch component, wherein the second transistor device has a first scale greater than a second scale of the first transistor device.
However, Yan discloses wherein the current amplifier [Fig. 3/4, 22] is a current mirror [Fig. 3/4, 22] comprising: a first transistor device [M221] coupled to the sense device [Fig. 3/4, 21]; and a second transistor device [M222] coupled to the drain terminal of the FET [Fig. 3, M10-drain; Fig. 4, M11-drain] of the switch component, wherein the second transistor device has a first scale greater than a second scale of the first transistor device [paragraphs referring to Fig. 4 Description (pages 24-26 of merged file attached)]. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the invention of Yan in the invention of Englekirk, with the expected benefit of scaling capabilities. This method of improving Englekirk using Yan was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on the teachings of Yan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Englekirk and Yan to obtain the invention: incorporating the current mirror in place of the amplifier.
Regarding Claim 11, as best understood, Englekirk does not explicitly disclose the solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the switch component is a first switch component, the FET is a first FET, and the sense device is a second switch component, wherein the second switch component comprises a second FET comprising: a drain terminal, a source terminal, a gate terminal, wherein the sense device leakage current is based on non-idealities of the second FET, wherein the first FET has a first scale greater than a second scale of the second FET.
However, Yan discloses wherein the switch component is a first switch component [Fig. 3, M10], the FET is a first FET [M10], and the sense device [Fig. 3, 21] is a second switch component [21], wherein the second switch component comprises a second FET [Fig. 3, M21] comprising: a drain terminal [M21-drain], a source terminal [M21-source], a gate terminal [M21-gate], wherein the sense device leakage current is based on non-idealities of the second FET, wherein the first FET has a first scale greater than a second scale of the second FET [paragraphs referring to Fig. 4 Description (pages 24-26 of merged file attached)]. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the invention of Yan in the invention of Englekirk, with the expected benefit of scaling capabilities. This method of improving Englekirk using Yan was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on the teachings of Yan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Englekirk and Yan to obtain the invention: incorporating the current mirror in place of the amplifier.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englekirk, in view of Yan, further in view of Hasegawa (US 20060097774 A1); hereinafter Englekirk, in view of Yan, further in view of Hasegawa.
Regarding Claim 9, as best understood, Englekirk, in view of Yan, does not explicitly disclose the solid state switch device of claim 8, wherein the second transistor device comprises more transistors than the first transistor device.
However, Hasegawa discloses wherein the second transistor device comprises more transistors than the first transistor device [Abstract; Fig. 2, 2]. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the invention of Hasegawa in the invention of Englekirk, in view of Yan, with the expected benefit of controlling the currents. This method of improving Englekirk, in view of Yan, using Hasegawa was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on the teachings of Hasegawa. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Englekirk, in view of Yan, and Hasegawa to obtain the invention: incorporating the current mirror in place of the amplifier.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englekirk, in view of Rooran (JP H077400 A); hereinafter Englekirk, in view of Rooran.
Regarding Claim 10, Englekirk does not explicitly disclose the solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the current amplifier comprises an operational amplifier comprising a first output and a second output, wherein the first output sources a first current, wherein the second output sources a second current, wherein the second current is a multiple of the first current, wherein the first output is coupled to the sense device, wherein the second output is coupled to the drain terminal of the FET of the switch component.
However, Yan does not explicitly disclose, wherein the second current is a multiple of the first current, these are just different quantities and thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the N factor for the other in the absence of unexpected results in order to have an optimum working condition for the circuit since this practice is well known in the art.
However, Rooran discloses the solid state switch device [Fig. 1], wherein the current amplifier comprises an operational amplifier [45] comprising a first output and a second output [output of 45], wherein the first output sources a first current [current to 2], wherein the second output sources a second current [current to 50], wherein the first output is coupled to the sense device, wherein the second output is coupled to the drain terminal of the MOSFET of the switch component. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the invention of Rooran in the invention of Englekirk, with the expected benefit of providing amplification to the current signals. This method of improving Englekirk using Rooran was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on the teachings of Rooran. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Englekirk and Rooran to obtain the invention: incorporating the amplifier with two outputs.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englekirk, in view of Gammie et al. (US 6667650 B2); hereinafter Englekirk, in view of Gammie.
Regarding Claim 12, Englekirk does not explicitly disclose the solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the sense device comprises a cathode coupled to the current amplifier and an anode coupled to a voltage source supply.
However, Gammie discloses wherein the sense device [Fig. 4, 402] comprises a cathode coupled to the current amplifier [404; column 4, lines 25-38] and an anode coupled to the voltage source supply [negative supply voltage; column 4, lines 25-38]. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the invention of Gammie in the invention of Englekirk, with the expected benefit of determining the amount of leakage current loss. This method of improving Englekirk using Gammie was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on the teachings of Gammie. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Englekirk and Gammie to obtain the invention: incorporating a diode to be coupled to the sense device and the voltage source supply.
Regarding Claim 13, Englekirk, in view Gammie, of discloses the solid state switch device of claim 12, wherein the sense device is coupled to the voltage source supply via a switch [Englekirk; 108 to VDD thru M], wherein the switch is configured to be open when the switch component is closed.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englekirk, in view of Namuduri et al. (US 20210143811 A1); hereinafter Englekirk, in view of Namuduri.
Regarding Claim 14, Englekirk does not explicitly disclose the solid state switch device of claim 1, further comprising a temperature sensor configured to activate the compensation circuit upon sensing a temperature above a temperature threshold.
However, Namuduri discloses wherein the solid state switch device [Fig. 1, 102], further comprising a temperature sensor [thermistor 134] configured to activate the compensation circuit upon sensing a temperature above a temperature threshold [paragraphs 0003-0018]. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the invention of Namuduri in the invention of Englekirk, with the expected benefit of preventing overheating. This method of improving Englekirk using Namuduri was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on the teachings of Namuduri. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Englekirk and Namuduri to obtain the invention: incorporating a temperature sensor for the compensation circuit.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englekirk, in view of Bergstedt et al. (US 20080259105 A1); hereinafter Englekirk, in view of Bergstedt.
Regarding Claim 22, Englekirk does not explicitly disclose the solid state switch device of claim 1, wherein the compensation circuit includes: a buffer, configured to detect the voltage level at the drain terminal of the FET and apply the voltage level to the sense device in order to generate the sense device leakage current correlated with the switch component leakage current.
However, Bergstedt discloses wherein the compensation circuit [Fig. 5] includes: a buffer [114], configured to detect the voltage level [119] at the FET [M41] and apply the voltage level to the sense device [R8] in order to generate the sense device leakage current [output current of R8] correlated with the switch component leakage current [output current of 190]. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the invention of Bergstedt in the invention of Englekirk, with the expected benefit of providing precise voltage sensing. This method of improving Englekirk using Bergstedt was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on the teachings of Bergstedt. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Englekirk and Bergstedt to obtain the invention: incorporating a buffer within the compensation circuit.
Conclusion
/Amit R Bhatia/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REGIS J BETSCH/SPE, Art Unit 2836