DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --CONNECTOR HOUSING WITH TWO SEALED INSERTION PORTS AND CONNECTOR AND CHARGING SEAT ASSEMBLY USING THE SAME--.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-20 objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 13 line 9, the phrase “a metal bar” should read --the metal bar--. In claim 17 line 4, the word “metapl” should read --metal--. In claim 17 line 10, the phrase “a metal bar” should read --the metal bar--. In claim 17 line 12, the phrase “a charging terminal” should read --the charging terminal--. Claims 18-20 include the limitations of claim 17 and are objected for the same reasons. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN108054569A) in view of Zhang ‘3292 et al. (2018/0123292).
With regard to claim 1, Zhang teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “A connector housing assembly (7, 12, 17 and internal components therein), comprising: a housing 12 adapted to receive a metal bar 9 and including a terminal hole (where 18 is inserted in figure 1) adapted to receive one end of a… terminal 10… an end cover 17… fixed to the housing 6 and defining a terminal through hole (where 18 is received in 17 in figure 1) receiving the one end of the charging terminal therethrough; and a sealing ring 14 compressed between the housing 12 and the end cover 17 and surrounding the terminal hole and the terminal through hole”.
Zhang does not teach the terminal being a charging terminal of a charging seat. However, this is a mere recitation of the intended use of the connector housing assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the connector housing assembly with a charging terminal of a charging seat, since the patented structure provides the waterproofing that would be beneficial in different applications. Selecting a specific type of connector housing assembly would amount to a recitation of the intended use of the patented invention, without resulting in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the structure disclosed by Zhang, and therefore fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Zhang also does not teach the end cover detachably fixed to the housing.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Zhang ‘3292 teaches, as shown in figures 1-2, an end cover 600 detachably fixed to the housing 300. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhang ‘3292 with the invention of Zhang in order to improve the sealing of the structure (Zhang ‘3292, paragraph 18).
With regard to claim 2, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The connector housing assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Zhang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein a sealing ring installation groove (where 14 is position in figure 1) is formed on one of the housing 12 or the end cover and receives the sealing ring 14”.
With regard to claim 3, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The connector housing assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Zhang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein the housing 12 includes: a front end (bottom end in figure 1) and a rear end (top end in figure 1) that are opposite in a longitudinal direction (up-down direction in figure 1); and a rear port (where 1 is received in 10 in figure 1) formed at the rear end of the housing 12”.
With regard to claim 4, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The connector housing assembly according to claim 3”, as shown above.
Zhang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “further comprising an elastic seal 16 arranged in the rear port of the housing 12 and formed with a metal bar through hole (where 9 extends through 16 in figure 1) adapted to receive the metal bar 9 therethrough, the elastic seal 16 is adapted to be compressed between the housing 12 and the metal bar 9 to achieve sealing between the two”.
With regard to claim 5, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The connector housing assembly according to claim 4”, as shown above.
Zhang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “further comprising a rear cover 7 arranged on the rear end of the housing 12 and formed with a metal bar hole (where 9 is positioned within 7 in figure 1) adapted to receive the metal bar 9”.
With regard to claim 6, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The connector housing assembly according to claim 5”, as shown above.
Zhang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein a positioning step (where 16 is positioned in 12 in figure 1) is formed in the rear port of the housing 12, and the positioning step and the rear cover 7 respectively abut against two ends of the elastic seal 16”.
With regard to claim 8, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The connector housing assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Zhang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein: the housing 12 has a bottom wall (bottom wall of 12 in figure 1) and a top wall (top wall of 12 in figure 1) opposite to each other in a height direction (up-down direction in figure 1), the terminal hole is formed in the bottom wall of the housing 12; the end cover 17 has an end wall (top wall of 17 in figure 1) opposite the bottom wall of the housing 12, a boss (portion of 17 enclosing the bottom end of 12 in figure 2) is formed on the end wall and the terminal through hole passes through the boss; and the sealing ring 14 is compressed between the bottom wall of the housing 12 and the boss of the end cover 17”.
With regard to claim 9, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The connector housing assembly according to claim 8”, as shown above.
Zhang ‘3292 also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein a sealing ring installation groove (where 900 is positioned in figure 2) is formed on a top surface of the boss (portion of 600 surrounding the bottom end of 200 in figure 2) of the end cover 600, and the sealing ring 14 is installed in the sealing ring installation groove”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhang ‘3292 with the invention of Zhang in view of Zhang ‘3292 in order to improve the sealing of the structure (Zhang ‘3292, paragraph 18).
With regard to claim 10, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The connector housing assembly according to claim 8”, as shown above.
Zhang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “further comprising a sealing plug 7, wherein an installation hole (where 7 is located in 12 in figure 1) is formed in the top wall of the housing 12 and the sealing plug 7 is inserted into the installation hole”.
With regard to claim 13, Zhang teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “A connector, comprising: a connector housing assembly (7, 12, 17 and internal components therein), including: a housing 12 adapted to receive a metal bar 9 and including a terminal hole (where 18 is inserted in figure 1) adapted to receive one end of a… terminal 18… an end cover 17… fixed to the housing 12 and defining a terminal through hole (where 18 is received in 17 in figure 1) receiving the one end of the… terminal 18 therethrough; and a sealing ring 14 compressed between the housing 12 and the end cover 17 and surrounding the terminal hole and the terminal through hole; a metal bar 9 inserted into the housing 12; and a connecting member 10 arranged in the housing 12 and connecting the metal bar 9 to one end of a… terminal 18 inserted into the housing 12”.
Zhang does not teach the terminal being a charging terminal of a charging seat. However, this is a mere recitation of the intended use of the connector housing assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the connector housing assembly with a charging terminal of a charging seat, since the patented structure provides the waterproofing that would be beneficial in different applications. Selecting a specific type of connector housing assembly would amount to a recitation of the intended use of the patented invention, without resulting in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the structure disclosed by Zhang, and therefore fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Zhang also does not teach the end cover detachably fixed to the housing.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Zhang ‘3292 teaches, as shown in figures 1-2, an end cover 600 detachably fixed to the housing 300. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhang ‘3292 with the invention of Zhang in order to improve the sealing of the structure (Zhang ‘3292, paragraph 18).
With regard to claim 14, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The connector according to claim 13”, as shown above.
Zhang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein: the connecting member 10 enters the housing 12 through an installation hole (formed in top of 12 in figure 1) of the housing 12, the installation hole is sealed by a sealing plug 7 inserted into the installation hole; and a receiving recess (where 10 is received in 7 in figure 1) is formed on one end of the sealing plug 7 and receives a head of one end of the connecting member 10”.
With regard to claim 15, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The connector according to claim 14”, as shown above.
Neither Zhang nor Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “wherein: the metal bar includes: a first metal bar is flat in shape and is adapted to electrically connect with a first charging terminal of a charging seat; and a second metal bar is flat in shape and is adapted to electrically connect with a second charging terminal of the charging seat; the first metal bar and the second metal bar have the same width and have left and right sides opposite to each other in a width direction thereof; and when the first and second metal bars are connected to respective ones of the first and second charging terminals, the first metal bar and the second metal bar overlap each other in a thickness direction thereof”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the first metal bar and the first charging terminal so that the first metal bar and the second metal bar have the same width and arranged so left and right sides thereof are opposite each other in a width direction and the first and second metal bars connected to respective first and second charging terminals in order to form a waterproof connector connecting multiple metal bars and charging terminals. Also, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 and it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
With regard to claim 16, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The connector according to claim 14”, as shown above.
Neither Zhang nor Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “wherein the metal bar is an aluminum bar”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the metal bar out of aluminum in order to use an easily available metal for the metal bar. Also, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With regard to claim 17, Zhang teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “A… seat assembly (shown in figure 1), comprising: a connector, including: a connector housing assembly 1 and 2, having: a housing 12 adapted to receive a metapl bar 9 and including a terminal hole (where 18 is inserted in figure 1) adapted to receive one end of a… terminal 18… an end cover 17… fixed to the housing 12 and defining a terminal through hole (where 18 is received in 6 in figure 1) receiving the one end of the… terminal 18 therethrough; and a sealing ring 14 compressed between the housing 12 and the end cover 17 and surrounding the terminal hole and the terminal through hole; a metal bar 9 inserted into the housing 12; and a connecting member 10 arranged in the housing 12 and connecting the metal bar 9 to one end of a… terminal 18 inserted into the housing 12; and a… seat, including: a… seat housing 15; and a… terminal 18 arranged in the… seat housing 15, the end cover 17 of the connector is arranged on an end of the… seat housing 15, and one end of the… terminal 18 passes through the end cover 17 and is inserted into the housing 12 of the connector to electrically connect with the metal bar 9 inserted into the housing 12”.
Zhang does not teach the terminal being a charging terminal of a charging seat. However, this is a mere recitation of the intended use of the connector housing assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the connector housing assembly with a charging terminal of a charging seat, since the patented structure provides the waterproofing that would be beneficial in different applications. Selecting a specific type of connector housing assembly would amount to a recitation of the intended use of the patented invention, without resulting in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the structure disclosed by Zhang, and therefore fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Zhang also does not teach the end cover detachably fixed to the housing.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Zhang ‘3292 teaches, as shown in figures 1-2, an end cover 600 detachably fixed to the housing 300. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhang ‘3292 with the invention of Zhang in order to improve the sealing of the structure (Zhang ‘3292, paragraph 18).
With regard to claim 18, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The charging seat assembly according to claim 17”, as shown above.
Zhang ‘3292 also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein the charging seat further includes a first sealing ring 900 compressed between the end cover 600 and the charging seat housing 700 to achieve sealing between the two”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhang ‘3292 with the invention of Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 in order to improve the sealing of the structure (Zhang ‘3292, paragraph 18).
With regard to claim 19, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The charging seat assembly according to claim 18”, as shown above.
Zhang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein a terminal installation hole (where 18 is disposed in figure 1) is formed in the charging seat housing 15”.
With regard to claim 20, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The charging seat assembly according to claim 19”, as shown above.
Zhang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein the charging seat further includes a second sealing ring 16 compressed between the charging terminal 18 and a hole wall of the terminal installation hole”.
Claims 7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN108054569A) in view of Zhang ‘3292 et al. (2018/0123292) and Kim (2018/0047533).
With regard to claim 7, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The connector housing assembly according to claim 5”, as shown above.
Zhang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein: the rear cover 7 includes a peripheral wall (outer wall of 7 in figure 1) and an end wall (bottom wall of 7 in figure 1) connected to the peripheral wall, and the metal bar hole is formed in the end wall of the rear cover 7”.
Neither Zhang nor Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “and a snapping slot is formed on the peripheral wall of the rear cover, and a protrusion is formed on the outside of the rear end of the housing, the protrusion is engaged into the snapping slot and fixes the rear cover to the rear end of the housing”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Kim teaches, as shown in figures 3-6: “and a snapping slot (indent below 23 in figure 4) is formed on the peripheral wall of the rear cover 200, and a protrusion 91 is formed on the outside of the rear end (bottom end in figure 4) of the housing 100, the protrusion 91 is engaged into the snapping slot and fixes the rear cover 200 to the rear end of the housing 100”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Kim with the invention of Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 in order to hold the housing and the rear cover together (Kim, paragraph 64).
With regard to claim 11, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The connector housing assembly according to claim 8”, as shown above.
Neither Zhang nor Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “further comprising a plurality of connecting screws, wherein multiple connecting ears are formed on a side wall of the housing, and multiple connecting posts are formed on the end wall of the end cover, and the plurality of connecting screws connect to respective ones of the multiple connecting ears to the multiple connecting posts and fix the housing and the end cover together”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Kim teaches, as shown in figures 3-6: “further comprising a plurality of connecting screws 7, wherein multiple connecting ears 25 are formed on a side wall of the housing 200, and multiple connecting posts (where the screws engage 400 in figure 4) are formed on the end wall (top wall of 400 in figure 4) of the end cover 400, and the plurality of connecting screws 25 connect to respective ones of the multiple connecting ears 25 to the multiple connecting posts and fix the housing 200 and the end cover 400 together”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Kim with the invention of Zhang as modified by Zhang in order to hold the housing and the end cover together (Kim, paragraph 35).
With regard to claim 12, Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “The connector housing assembly according to claim 8”, as shown above.
Neither Zhang nor Zhang ‘3292 teaches: “wherein the end cover further includes a peripheral wall connected to the end wall, a slot hole is formed on the peripheral wall and engaging with a protrusion on a charging seat housing”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Kim teaches, as shown in figures 3-6: “wherein the end cover 200 further includes a peripheral wall (outer wall of 200 in figure 4) connected to the end wall (top wall of 200 in figure 4), a slot hole (indent below 23 in figure 4) is formed on the peripheral wall and engaging with a protrusion 91 on a charging seat housing 100”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Kim with the invention of Zhang as modified by Zhang ‘3292 in order to hold the housing and the rear cover together (Kim, paragraph 64).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831