Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 are currently pending.
Claim 1 has been amended
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN214753793, and further in view of CN 113871494, hereinafter as ‘793, ‘494.
Regarding claim 1, ‘793 teaches a solar cell comprising:
a substrate 1 having a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other in a first direction, wherein the first direction is a thickness direction of the substrate [fig 1];
a tunnel oxide layer 41 located on the first surface [fig 1 embodiment 1];
a doped polysilicon layer 42 located on a surface of the tunnel oxide layer away from the substrate [fig 1 embodiment 1];
an electrode 7 located in the electrode region and in contact with the doped silicon layer [fig 1];
a dielectric layer5 located on a surface of the doped polysilicon layer away from the substrate and a surface of the barrier layer away from the substrate [fig 1]
the doped polysilicon layer includes a groove in the electrode region, the groove extends a predetermined depth into the doped polysilicon layer in the first direction wherein the predetermined depth is equal to or less than a thickness of the doped polysilicon layer [fig 1].
the predetermined depth is less than a thickness of the doped polysilicon layer [fig 1].
Modified ‘793 teaches the barrier as set forth above, but modified ‘793 does not teach a barrier being formed on in a groove of the doped polysilicon layer and the barrier layer being made of silicon carbide
‘494 teaches a method of forming a solar cell including a barrier layer 6 being formed on the doped polysilicon layer on the groove where the barrier being made of silicon carbide. Also, ‘494 teaches a portion of the dielectric layer 9 and a portion of the electrode 10 are positioned in the groove (contents of the invention section (fig 6)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have barrier layer of ‘793 to be on the doped polysilicon and in the groove as taught by ‘494 for improving the battery performance of the solar battery (contents of the invention section section).
As for combination, the doped polysilicon layer includes a groove in the electrode region, the groove extends a predetermined depth into the doped polysilicon layer in the first direction, wherein the barrier layer is formed positioned in the groove, a portion of the dielectric layer and a portion of the electrode are positioned in the groove, wherein the predetermined depth is less than a thickness of the doped polysilicon layer.
Regarding claim 2, the barrier layer goes deep into the doped polysilicon layer to the predetermined depth in the first direction. [fig 1]
Regarding claim 3, the barrier layer is located on the surface of the tunnel oxide layer away from the substrate [fig 1]
Regarding claim 4, the surface of the barrier layer away from the substrate is closer to the substrate than the surface of the doped polysilicon layer away from the substrate [fig 10]
Regarding claim 5, Since modified ‘793 teaches the claimed limitation, it is considered that a recombination current density of the electrode region is equal to or less than 100fA/cm2. It is noted that "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Regarding claim 7, the electrode penetrates the dielectric layer and contacts the barrier layer [fig 1, fig 6]
Regarding claim 8, modified ‘793 teaches the thickness of the doped polysilicon layer from 50-350nm which is overlapped the claimed range [embodiment]. According to MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/11/2025 are deemed moot in view of the following new grounds of rejection, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment to the claims which significantly affected the scope thereof (i.e., by incorporating new limitations into the independent claims, which require further search and consideration).
Conclusion
/UYEN M TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726