Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-6 are pending in the current application and under consideration on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 29 February 2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanyo Electric Co. (JP 603855 A "Sanyo").
Regarding claim 1, Sanyo teaches a nickel-zinc secondary battery (nickel-zinc storage battery, pg. 1 line 53) comprising, in a sealed container (FIG. 1) a positive electrode (pg. 1, lines 38-39), a negative electrode (pg. 1 line 10), a separator (plurality of layers of separators, pg. 1, line 22) provided between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (pg. 1, lines 22-23), and an electrolytic solution (pg. 1, line 42), wherein an oxygen absorber (e.g. vinylon nonwoven fabric, pg. 1, line 49) is provided in a position where oxygen generated in the positive electrode in the sealed container is absorbable.
Regarding claim 2, Sanyo teaches the nickel-zinc secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the position where oxygen generated in the positive electrode is absorbable in a position between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (e.g. A plurality of layers of separators are provided between the two electrodes [pg. 1 lines, 22-23]).
Regarding claim 3, Sanyo teaches the nickel-zinc secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the oxygen absorber comprises vinylon(e.g. vinylon nonwoven fabric, pg. 1, line 49).
Regarding claim 4, Sanyo teaches the nickel-zinc secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the oxygen absorber is in the form of a nonwoven fabric, and the positive electrode and/or the negative electrode is covered with the nonwoven fabric (a non-woven nylon fabric is used as the separator in contact with the positive electrode to form a multilayer separator, pg. 1, lines 27-28).
Regarding claim 5, Sanyo teaches the nickel-zinc secondary battery according to claim 4, wherein the nonwoven fabric contains vinylon (nonwoven fabric composed of cellulosic fiber and vinylon fiber in contact with the positive electrode, pg. 2, lines 63-64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanyo Electric Co. (JP 603855 A "Sanyo") in view of Imoto et al., (US 20190190083 A1, “Imoto”).
Sanyo teaches the nickel-zinc secondary battery of claim 1 as described above. Sanyo also teaches the use of zinc as a negative electrode active material (pg. 1, lines 9-10)
Sanyo fails to teach that the positive electrode contains nickel hydroxide and/or nickel oxyhydroxide.
Imoto teaches a nickel hydrogen secondary battery including a positive electrode, an alkali electrolyte solution, a separator, and a negative electrode [0061-0062]. The positive electrode active substance contains nickel hydroxide [0024].
Sanyo and Imoto each constitute prior art which is analogous to the claimed invention – a nickel-based battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the positive electrode of Sanyo to contain nickel hydroxide as taught in Imoto improve the conductivity of the battery (Imoto, [0025]).
Conclusion
/SANDRA BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/AARON AUSTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782