1. This communication is responsive to the application filed 11/30/2023.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 14 and 18 are independent claims. This action is made Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyajima (JP 2014-082605A).
Regarding claim 1, Miyajima discloses a control apparatus comprising:
a memory in which a program is stored; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to perform processing by executing the program (see fig 2, 201-203; e.g., memory and processor), the processing including:
receiving spatial coordinates of a detection object located in front of a display surface of a display (see fig 4, 405/406; e.g., “The CPU 201 of the information processing apparatus 100 captures (continuously captures) the operation of the user's finger. That is, in order to specify which key (virtual key) in the virtual keyboard is pressed…the finger position in the real space is determined from the information on the size of the area and the position of the finger in the moving image (image). Specify the position (coordinates).”);
setting a first determination region associated with first character information included in a first character information group based on coordinates of a first display region in which information on the first character information group is displayed on the display surface and spatial coordinates of the detection object at a reference time that is a time when the first display region is designated by the detection object (see figs 9 and 10; e.g., “FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating an example of a side view of the virtual keyboard in the embodiment of the present invention. A virtual keyboard (virtual key group) is arranged in a range that can be imaged by the imaging device 209 of the information processing device 100. The position and coordinates on the space where the virtual keyboard is placed can be freely set and changed by receiving a virtual keyboard coordinate setting instruction from the user on a virtual keyboard coordinate setting screen (not shown), for example. And Details of the arrangement of the virtual keyboard on the Z coordinate and the positional relationship between the virtual keyboard and the user's finger…FIG. 10 is a diagram showing the positional relationship between the virtual keyboard and the user's finger in the embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 10, the virtual keyboard 1001 is arranged and set in a plurality of layers at predetermined intervals on the Z coordinate (Z axis).”);
determining whether or not the detection object is located in the first determination region after the first determination region is set (see figs 5 and 6; e.g., “It is assumed that the coordinates of the arrangement of the virtual keyboard can be set and changed separately from a setting screen (not shown)…FIG. 5 is a diagram showing an arrangement example of the virtual keyboard in the case of the hiragana-kanji conversion input method in the embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 6 is a diagram showing an arrangement example of the virtual keyboard in the case of the Roman character input method in the embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an arrangement example of a virtual keyboard including character conversion keys in the embodiment of the present invention. In addition to the input character key, a key for changing the selected character and converting it to Kanji and a key for changing the character type are formed as virtual keys in the space.”); and
controlling the display to display the first character information in the first display region in a case where it is determined that the detection object is located in the first determination region (see fig 10; e.g., “As shown in FIG. 10, the virtual keyboard 1001 is arranged and set in a plurality of layers at predetermined intervals on the Z coordinate (Z axis).”).
Regarding claim 2, Miyajima discloses wherein setting the first determination region includes setting the first determination region to intersect a straight line that connects spatial coordinates of the detection object at the reference time and the first display region (see fig 14; e.g., “after detecting a movement in which the user's finger is moved away from the virtual key and pressed toward you (the direction opposite to the touched surface) after pressing the virtual key, A character that has been specified as an input candidate character immediately before the action to be pulled forward is specified as an input character and output. Here, the operation of releasing the finger from the virtual key toward the near side (upward) (the operation of moving the finger from the position on the space corresponding to the virtual key) has been described as the reversal operation”).
Regarding claim 3, Miyajima discloses wherein setting the first determination region includes setting the first determination region to intersect a straight line that connects spatial coordinates of the detection object at the reference time and the display surface, the straight line being a normal line of the display surface (see fig 14; e.g., “after detecting a movement in which the user's finger is moved away from the virtual key and pressed toward you (the direction opposite to the touched surface) after pressing the virtual key, A character that has been specified as an input candidate character immediately before the action to be pulled forward is specified as an input character and output. Here, the operation of releasing the finger from the virtual key toward the near side (upward) (the operation of moving the finger from the position on the space corresponding to the virtual key) has been described as the reversal operation”).
Regarding claim 4, Miyajima discloses wherein the processing includes: setting a second determination region associated with second character information included in the first character information group to intersect the straight line; determining whether or not the detection object is located in the second determination region after the second determination region is set; and controlling the display to display the second character information in the first display region in a case where it is determined that the detection object is located in the second determination region (see fig 14; e.g., “after detecting a movement in which the user's finger is moved away from the virtual key and pressed toward you (the direction opposite to the touched surface) after pressing the virtual key, A character that has been specified as an input candidate character immediately before the action to be pulled forward is specified as an input character and output. Here, the operation of releasing the finger from the virtual key toward the near side (upward) (the operation of moving the finger from the position on the space corresponding to the virtual key) has been described as the reversal operation”).
Regarding claim 5, Miyajima discloses wherein the processing includes: controlling the display to display information on a second character information group in a second display region of the display surface; and determining whether or not the detection object has designated any of the first display region or the second display region based on spatial coordinates of the detection object, coordinates of the first display region, and coordinates of the second display region, and setting the first determination region includes: setting the first determination region by associating the first character information with the first determination region in a case where the detection object is determined to have designated the first display region; and setting the first determination region, based on spatial coordinates of the detection object at the reference time that is a time when the second display region is designated by the detection object, by associating second character information included in the second character information group with the first determination region in a case where the detection object is determined to have designated the second display region (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Miyajima discloses wherein controlling the display to display the first character information in the first display region includes controlling the display to display the first character information in the first display region and display second character information associated with the first character information in the second display region adjacent to the first display region, in a case where it is determined that the detection object is located in the first determination region (see fig 10; e.g., “As shown in FIG. 10, the virtual keyboard 1001 is arranged and set in a plurality of layers at predetermined intervals on the Z coordinate (Z axis).”).
Regarding claim 7, Miyajima discloses wherein the processing includes: setting a second determination region associated with third character information included in the first character information group to intersect the straight line; determining whether or not the detection object is located in the second determination region after the second determination region is set; and controlling the display to display the third character information in the first display region and display the fourth character information associated with the third character information in the second display region in a case where it is determined that the detection object is located in the second determination region (see figs 5 and 6; e.g., “It is assumed that the coordinates of the arrangement of the virtual keyboard can be set and changed separately from a setting screen (not shown)…FIG. 5 is a diagram showing an arrangement example of the virtual keyboard in the case of the hiragana-kanji conversion input method in the embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 6 is a diagram showing an arrangement example of the virtual keyboard in the case of the Roman character input method in the embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an arrangement example of a virtual keyboard including character conversion keys in the embodiment of the present invention. In addition to the input character key, a key for changing the selected character and converting it to Kanji and a key for changing the character type are formed as virtual keys in the space.”).
Regarding claim 8, Miyajima discloses wherein the display surface has an input display region in which an input character is displayed, the processing includes determining whether or not a first determination operation or a second determination operation is performed by the detection object and whether or not the detection object has designated the second display region, and controlling the display to display the first character information in the first display region includes: controlling the display to display the first character information in the input display region in a case where it is determined that the detection object has been located in the first determination region and a first determination operation has been performed; and controlling the display to display the second character information in the input display region in a case where it is determined that the detection object has designated the second display region and a second determination operation has been performed (see figs 5 and 6; e.g., “It is assumed that the coordinates of the arrangement of the virtual keyboard can be set and changed separately from a setting screen (not shown)…FIG. 5 is a diagram showing an arrangement example of the virtual keyboard in the case of the hiragana-kanji conversion input method in the embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 6 is a diagram showing an arrangement example of the virtual keyboard in the case of the Roman character input method in the embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an arrangement example of a virtual keyboard including character conversion keys in the embodiment of the present invention. In addition to the input character key, a key for changing the selected character and converting it to Kanji and a key for changing the character type are formed as virtual keys in the space.”).
Regarding claim 11, Miyajima discloses wherein the second determination region is located on a side of the display surface closer than the first determination region, and a volume of the second determination region is larger than a volume of the first determination region (see fig 13; e.g., For example, if the position of the finger on the X / Y axis is on the virtual key “A” and the coordinate on the Z axis of the finger is Z5 to Z6 (in the Z axis coordinate 1302), the virtual keyboard “A” Is pressed, and the virtual key “A” is enlarged and displayed on the display screen.).
Regarding claim 12, Miyajima discloses wherein the first determination region and the second determination region are adjacent to each other along the straight line, and the processing includes widening the second determination region toward a side of the first determination region and narrowing the first determination region in a case where the detection object is located in the second determination region (see fig 13; e.g., For example, if the position of the finger on the X / Y axis is on the virtual key “A” and the coordinate on the Z axis of the finger is Z5 to Z6 (in the Z axis coordinate 1302), the virtual keyboard “A” Is pressed, and the virtual key “A” is enlarged and displayed on the display screen.).
Regarding claim 13, Miyajima discloses wherein the display surface has an input display region in which an input character is displayed, and the processing includes: determining whether or not a determination operation has been performed by the detection object; and controlling the display to display the first character information in the input display region in a case where it is determined that the detection object has been located in the first determination region and a determination operation has been performed (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 14, Miyajima discloses a control apparatus comprising:
a memory in which a program is stored; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to perform processing by executing the program (see fig 2, 201-203; e.g., memory and processor), the processing including:
receiving spatial coordinates of a first detection object and a second detection object located in front of a display surface of a display (see fig 4, 405/406; e.g., “The CPU 201 of the information processing apparatus 100 captures (continuously captures) the operation of the user's finger. That is, in order to specify which key (virtual key) in the virtual keyboard is pressed…the finger position in the real space is determined from the information on the size of the area and the position of the finger in the moving image (image). Specify the position (coordinates).”);
setting a first determination region associated with first character information included in a first character information group based on spatial coordinates of the first detection object at a reference time that is a time when a predetermined input start condition is satisfied, and setting a second determination region associated with second character information included in a second character information group based on spatial coordinates of the second detection object at the reference time (see figs 9 and 10; e.g., “FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating an example of a side view of the virtual keyboard in the embodiment of the present invention. A virtual keyboard (virtual key group) is arranged in a range that can be imaged by the imaging device 209 of the information processing device 100. The position and coordinates on the space where the virtual keyboard is placed can be freely set and changed by receiving a virtual keyboard coordinate setting instruction from the user on a virtual keyboard coordinate setting screen (not shown), for example. And Details of the arrangement of the virtual keyboard on the Z coordinate and the positional relationship between the virtual keyboard and the user's finger…FIG. 10 is a diagram showing the positional relationship between the virtual keyboard and the user's finger in the embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 10, the virtual keyboard 1001 is arranged and set in a plurality of layers at predetermined intervals on the Z coordinate (Z axis).”);
determining whether or not the first detection object is located in the first determination region and whether or not the second detection object is located in the second determination region after the first determination region and the second determination region are set (see figs 5 and 6; e.g., “It is assumed that the coordinates of the arrangement of the virtual keyboard can be set and changed separately from a setting screen (not shown)…FIG. 5 is a diagram showing an arrangement example of the virtual keyboard in the case of the hiragana-kanji conversion input method in the embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 6 is a diagram showing an arrangement example of the virtual keyboard in the case of the Roman character input method in the embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an arrangement example of a virtual keyboard including character conversion keys in the embodiment of the present invention. In addition to the input character key, a key for changing the selected character and converting it to Kanji and a key for changing the character type are formed as virtual keys in the space.”); and
controlling the display to display the first character information in a first display region of the display surface in a case where it is determined that the first detection object is located in the first determination region, and controlling the display to display the second character information in a second display region of the display surface in a case where it is determined that the second detection object is located in the second determination region (see fig 10; e.g., “As shown in FIG. 10, the virtual keyboard 1001 is arranged and set in a plurality of layers at predetermined intervals on the Z coordinate (Z axis).”).
Regarding claim 15, Miyajima discloses wherein setting the first determination region includes setting the first determination region to intersect a first straight line that connects spatial coordinates of the first detection object at the reference time and the first display region, and setting the second determination region includes setting the second determination region to intersect a second straight line that connects spatial coordinates of the second detection object at the reference time and the second display region (see fig 14; e.g., “after detecting a movement in which the user's finger is moved away from the virtual key and pressed toward you (the direction opposite to the touched surface) after pressing the virtual key, A character that has been specified as an input candidate character immediately before the action to be pulled forward is specified as an input character and output. Here, the operation of releasing the finger from the virtual key toward the near side (upward) (the operation of moving the finger from the position on the space corresponding to the virtual key) has been described as the reversal operation”).
Regarding claim 16, Miyajima discloses wherein setting the first determination region includes setting the first determination region to intersects a first straight line that connects spatial coordinates of the first detection object at the reference time and the display surface, the first straight line being a normal line of the display surface, and setting the second determination region includes setting the second determination region to intersect a second straight line that connects spatial coordinates of the second detection object at the reference time and the display surface, the second straight line being a normal line of the display surface (see fig 14; e.g., “after detecting a movement in which the user's finger is moved away from the virtual key and pressed toward you (the direction opposite to the touched surface) after pressing the virtual key, A character that has been specified as an input candidate character immediately before the action to be pulled forward is specified as an input character and output. Here, the operation of releasing the finger from the virtual key toward the near side (upward) (the operation of moving the finger from the position on the space corresponding to the virtual key) has been described as the reversal operation”).
Regarding claim 17, Miyajima discloses wherein the processing includes: setting a third determination region associated with third character information included in the first character information group to intersect the first straight line; setting a fourth determination region associated with fourth character information included in the second character information group to intersect the second straight line; determining whether or not the first detection object is located in the third determination region after the third determination region is set; determining whether or not the second detection object is located in the fourth determination region after the fourth determination region is set; controlling the display to display the third character information in the first display region in a case where it is determined that the first detection object is located in the third determination region; and controlling the display to display the fourth character information in the second display region in a case where it is determined that the second detection object is located in the fourth determination region (see figs 9 and 10; e.g., “FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating an example of a side view of the virtual keyboard in the embodiment of the present invention. A virtual keyboard (virtual key group) is arranged in a range that can be imaged by the imaging device 209 of the information processing device 100. The position and coordinates on the space where the virtual keyboard is placed can be freely set and changed by receiving a virtual keyboard coordinate setting instruction from the user on a virtual keyboard coordinate setting screen (not shown), for example. And Details of the arrangement of the virtual keyboard on the Z coordinate and the positional relationship between the virtual keyboard and the user's finger…FIG. 10 is a diagram showing the positional relationship between the virtual keyboard and the user's finger in the embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 10, the virtual keyboard 1001 is arranged and set in a plurality of layers at predetermined intervals on the Z coordinate (Z axis).”).
Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 19, Miyajima discloses wherein setting the first determination region includes setting the first determination region and a second determination region associated with second character information in a plane parallel to the display surface or in a plane intersecting the display surface, and the processing includes: determining whether or not the detection object is located in the second determination region after the second determination region is set; and controlling the display to display the second character information on the display surface in a case where it is determined that the detection object is located in the second determination region (see figs 9 and 10; e.g., “Here, with reference to FIGS. 8 to 10, the positional relationship between the virtual keyboard and the user's finger in the embodiment of the present invention will be described. FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating an example of a virtual keyboard layout on the plane and an input instruction target identification method according to an embodiment of the present invention. The coordinates on the plane of the virtual keyboard are defined by the X axis and the Y axis. The CPU 201 of the information processing apparatus 100 identifies the finger from the video imaged by the imaging device, and uses the tip of the finger as a vertex and the other two vertices. A regular triangle (a triangle 1101 to be described later) inscribed in the outline of the finger is formed on the belly of the finger, and points on the triangle (for example, the center point / point 802 and the point 1103 of the triangle), It is determined at which coordinate on the Y-axis, and it is determined which key can be pressed on the plane coordinate.”).
Regarding claim 20, Miyajima discloses wherein the first determination region and the second determination region are adjacent to each other, and the processing includes widening the first determination region toward a side of the second determination region and narrowing the second determination region in a case where the detection object is located in the first determination region (see fig 10; e.g., “As shown in FIG. 10, the virtual keyboard 1001 is arranged and set in a plurality of layers at predetermined intervals on the Z coordinate (Z axis).”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyajima in view of Sakakibara et al (WO 2014181516).
Regarding claim 9, Miyajima does not expressly disclose wherein the processing includes setting an interval along the straight line between the first determination region and the second determination region to be wider as a moving speed of the detection object at a predetermined time after the reference time increases.
However, Sakakibara discloses wherein the processing includes setting an interval along the straight line between the first determination region and the second determination region to be wider as a moving speed of the detection object at a predetermined time after the reference time increases (see section “5.3 Summary of Embodiment 5”; e.g., adjustment of setting level in accordance with speed of finger movement). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Sakakibara’s teachings in Miyakima’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that saves user time by reducing the number of steps for performing routine tasks.
Regarding claim 10, Sakakibara discloses wherein the first character information and the second character information are numerical information, respectively, and the processing includes setting a difference between numerals in the first character information and numerals in the second character information to be larger as a moving speed of the detection object at the predetermined time after the reference time increases (see section “5.3 Summary of Embodiment 5”; e.g., adjustment of setting level in accordance with speed of finger movement).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qin et al (CN 101344816 B).
/RASHAWN N TILLERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174