DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 9-11 and 16-20 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) anticipated by Cooper is withdrawn by the examiner in view of the amendment filed on 3/19/2026.
A new Final Office Action is follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. (US 2013/030631 A1) in view of Sakai et al. (US 6,268,543 B1).
Cooper teaches a method for removing mercury from hydrocarbons (crude oil) by:
introducing chemical additives with water into a hydrocarbon stream,
promoting a chemical reaction transferring mercury into an aqueous phase, and
forming a top oil phase with reduced mercury and a bottom aqueous mercury-containing phase, followed by separation (Abstract; ¶¶ [0009], [0041]–[0046]).
Cooper further teaches:
separation using oil-water separators, desalters, centrifuges, and filters (¶¶ [0050], [0053]);
introduction of additives at the wellhead / pipeline (¶¶ [0046], [0055]);
hydrocarbons comprising crude oil (¶¶ [0002], [0018]);
filtration including 0.45 µm filtration (¶ [0028]);
operation in FPSO/storage systems (¶¶ [0056], [0060]);
mixing via mixers/recirculators (¶¶ [0050]–[0052]);
additives introduced with water (¶¶ [0009], [0044]–[0046]).
Sakai teaches removing mercury from liquid hydrocarbons by:
contacting hydrocarbons with sulfur compounds (MM′S) including sulfides (e.g., Na₂S, NaHS) (col. 3, ll. 63–67; col. 4, ll. 1–20) ;
using aqueous solutions of such compounds (col. 4, ll. 1–20) ;
separating mercury via decantation/filtration (col. 5, ll. 1–15) ;
application to crude oil/NGL systems (col. 4, ll. 1–15) .
Sakai further teaches:
contacting hydrocarbons with an aqueous solution of triethylene glycol (TEG) (Comparative Example 3) .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cooper by employing sulfur-containing additives such as sulfides, thiols, or sulfur-functional compounds as taught by Sakai in order to enhance mercury binding and removal, because both references address mercury removal from hydrocarbons using chemical reaction and aqueous phase separation.
Further, combining:
a glycol (aqueous organic component) with
a sulfur compound (e.g., Na₂S or dithiol)
represents the use of known components in combination within a single aqueous treatment system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cooper in view of Sakai to employ an aqueous system comprising both sulfur compounds and additional organic components (e.g., glycols) to optimize solubility, phase behavior, or contact efficiency, as a predictable variation.
Claim 10 Cooper discloses separating the phases using oil-water separators, gravity settling, centrifuges, and filters, which correspond to the recited bulk separator, desalter separator, sedimentation tank, centrifuge, filter, flotation tank, or inlet separator (¶¶ [0050], [0053]).
Claim 11 Cooper discloses introducing the chemical additive at the wellhead or into the pipeline from the production well such that the reaction occurs during transport of the crude oil (¶¶ [0046], [0055]).
Claim 16 Cooper expressly discloses that the hydrocarbons comprise crude oil (¶¶ [0002], [0018]).
Claim 17 Cooper discloses separation and characterization of mercury using filtration through a 0.45 micron filter, and disclose filtration as a separation technique (¶¶ [0028], [0041], [0053]).
Claim 18 Cooper discloses performing the mercury-removal process on floating production, storage, and offloading (FPSO) units, which are floating crude oil storage tanks, corresponding to ship cargo tanks and FSO/OCP tanks (¶¶ [0056], [0060]).
Claim 19 Cooper discloses facilitating the process by mixing using mixers, static mixers, contactors, and integrated separation units compatible with desalter mixing and recirculation (¶¶ [0050]–[0052], [0055]).
Claim 20 Cooper discloses that the chemical additives are added with water, including produced water, to the hydrocarbons (¶¶ [0009], [0044]–[0046]).
Claims 12–14
Sakai explicitly teaches aqueous triethylene glycol systems (Comparative Example 3) .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cooper to employ triethylene glycol in an aqueous additive system as taught by Sakai, because Sakai establishes glycol-containing aqueous systems as known candidates for mercury treatment. Selection of terephthalic acid represents an obvious species selection within known organic acid additives.
Claim 15
Sakai teaches sulfur compounds and sulfur-reactive chemistry for mercury removal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cooper to employ thiol-containing or sulfur-functional additives as taught by Sakai, because sulfur functionality is known to bind mercury.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Sakai teaches triethylene glycol is ineffective and thus teaches away. However, Sakai merely shows triethylene glycol alone is ineffective, not that glycol systems should be avoided. Sakai still expressly teaches aqueous triethylene glycol contacting (Comparative Example 3) . A reference does not teach away where it only shows lack of effectiveness in isolation.
Further, Sakai teaches that sulfur compounds are effective mercury-reactive agents (col. 3–4) . This would have suggested combining:
glycol (as a medium) with
sulfur species (e.g., Na₂S, dithiols).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the aqueous system of Cooper to include both glycol and sulfur compounds as taught by Sakai, because doing so represents a predictable use of known components to improve reaction or phase behavior.
Applicant’s argument that the specific additives are not disclosed is not persuasive. The claimed additives fall within recognized classes of mercury-binding sulfur compounds (thiols, sulfides, dithiols). Selection of specific species within a known class is an obvious species selection.
Applicant’s reliance on alleged improved results is not persuasive because:
the results are not compared to the closest prior art combination (Cooper + sulfur chemistry), and
any improvement is attributable to sulfur chemistry already taught by Sakai.
Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771