Final Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Block (US 2016/0288548 A1) in view of Suva (US 2012/0027491 A1).
Referring to claim 1. Block discloses a media cartridge (a cartridge for providing media to a printer; Abstract, Fig. 2, para. [0029]) comprising:
a housing configured to rotatably support a media roll (the cartridge 10 includes a body 2 and a media guide 20 such that a roll of labels are disposed within the
body; para. [0029]);
a cartridge output within the housing configured to guide a media web from the
media roll out of the housing (The roll of labels may be pulled from the cartridge 10 through the media guide 20 by the label printer 100 as needed; Fig. 2, para. [0029]);
a spring; (a part of the feeder top 45 and within the throat 49 is a leaf spring 48; Fig. 11, para. [0053]).
Block does not disclose a media stop assembly configured to translate between a release position and a hold position, such that when the media stop assembly is in the hold position, the media web of the media roll is pinched between the media stop assembly and a surface and when the media stop assembly is in the release position, the media stop assembly is separated from the surface and the media web is free to move;
wherein the spring biases the media stop assembly towards the hold position; and
the spring is removable without opening the housing of the media cartridge.
Suva discloses a media stop assembly configured to translate between
a release position and a hold position (the torsion spring 78 engaging ribs 88 serves as a friction brake, or media stop assembly, that prevents this kind of unraveling of the length of media 56 from the roll of media 60; para. [0059]), such that when the media stop assembly is in the hold position, the media web of the media roll is pinched between the media stop assembly and a surface (If the core 58 of roll of media 60 is rotating clock-wise, then the lower bent-in end 80 of the torsion spring 78 engages the rib 88, but the induced stress in the torsion spring 78 will cause the diameter of the torsion spring 78 to expand and the increased friction between the two prevents further rotation of the core holder 64 in the clockwise direction; para. [0061]) and
when the media stop assembly is in the release position, the media stop assembly is separated from the surface and the media web is free to move (If the roll of media 60 is rotating counterclockwise when the lower bent-in end 80 of the torsion spring 78 engages the rib 88, then this engagement should induce a stress in the torsion spring 78 that will cause the diameter of the torsion spring 78 to decrease slightly such that the roll of media 60 can continue to rotate counter-clockwise; para.
[0060]);
wherein the spring biases the media stop assembly towards the hold position; and the spring is removable without opening the housing of the media cartridge (the interference fit between the torsion spring 78 and the core holder 64; para. [0061]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Block to include a media stop assembly configured to translate between a release position and a hold position, such that when the media stop assembly is in the hold position, the media web of the media roll is pinched between the media stop assembly and a surface and when the media stop assembly is in the release position, the media stop assembly is separated from the surface and the media web is free to move; wherein the spring biases the media stop assembly towards the hold position; and the spring is removable without opening the housing of the media cartridge based on the teaching of Suva because a controlled extension of the media roll would prevent unintended and wasteful unraveling.
Referring to claim 2. Suva discloses a media stop assembly wherein
a first aperture in a first side wall of the housing, disposed adjacent to the spring (shaft 84 extends through aperture on a first sidewall of the cartridge housing 12; Figs. 4 and 11); and
a second aperture in a second side wall of the housing, the second aperture disposed adjacent to the spring (shaft 84 extends through aperture on a second sidewall of the cartridge housing 12; Figs. 4 and 11);
wherein when a force is applied by a user to a side of the spring through the first aperture, the spring is configured to uncouple from the media stop assembly for removal from the media cartridge via the first or second aperture (what happens after engagement of the lower bent-in end 80 with the rib 88 will depend on the direction of rotation and the direction of winding of the torsion spring 78 wherein the rib 88 is rotated via the shaft within an aperture on a first or second side wall; para. [0059]).
Referring to claim 3. Block in view of Suva do not disclose wherein the first aperture has a width of 9. 5 mm and a height of 10.25 mm.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Block in view of Suva to include wherein the first aperture has a width of 9. 5 mm and a height of 10.25 mm, since such a modification would involve a mere change in the size of a component to provide an optimal interference fit of the components when locking
the cartridge roll is desired.
Referring to claim 4. Block discloses a media cartridge (a cartridge for providing media to a printer; Abstract, Fig. 2, para. [0029]) comprising:
wherein a circuit chip is secured on an outside surface of the housing (the cartridge 10 may include an electronic component, or chip 13; Fig. 3, para. [0045]), and a channel is inset within the housing such that a user can remove the circuit chip via inserting an object in the channel and loosening the circuit chip (the chip 13 is disposed on the body 2, and the chip 13 may be oriented such that when the cartridge 10 is loaded into the printer 100, the printer 100 may reliably interface with the chip 13; para. [0047]).
Referring to claim 5. Block discloses a media cartridge (a cartridge for providing media to a printer; Abstract, Fig. 2, para. [0029]) comprising:
wherein the housing having a first side wall and a second side wall; at least one media guide surface extending from an inner surface of the first side wall (the media guide 20 disposed between the first and second side walls of the body 2; Fig. 2, para. [0029]); and
the at least one media guide wall is configured to direct media from the media roll to the cartridge output (The roll of labels may be pulled from the cartridge 10 through the media guide 20 by the label printer 100 as needed; para. [0029]).
Referring to claim 6. Suva discloses a media stop assembly wherein
at least one opening in the first side wall of the media cartridge, and when the media web requires to be rethreaded through the cartridge output, a user may access the media web via the at least one cutout and feed the media through the at least one media guide surface and then through the cartridge output (each of the guides 15 enhances strength of a respective sidewall, and further helps to ensure alignment of the roll of labels 1 as it rotates about the axis of rotation, R; Fig. 4, para. [0037]).
Referring to claim 7. Suva discloses a media stop assembly wherein
a channel in the first side wall of the media cartridge that allows the media web to be fed along the side of the media cartridge (a pair of inward dimples 11 positioned on each of the side walls provides a mounting feature for mounting and retaining the roll of labels 1; Fig. 4, para. [0037]).
Referring to claim 8. Block does not disclose wherein the media stop assembly includes a tab and can be manually moved from the hold position to the release position by a user.
Suva discloses a media stop assembly wherein the media stop assembly
includes a tab and can be manually moved from the hold position to the release position by a user (the shaft 84 is rotated to thereby rotate the ribs 88 on the core holder, para. [0059]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Block to include the media stop assembly comprising a tab and can be manually moved from the hold position to the release position by a user from the media stop assembly for removal from the media cartridge via the first or second aperture as taught by Suva because controlled extension of the media roll to would prevent unintended and wasteful unraveling.
Referring to claim 9. Block discloses a media cartridge (a cartridge for providing media to a printer; Abstract, Fig. 2, para. [0029]) comprising:
a housing configured to rotatably support a media roll (the cartridge 10 includes a body 2 and a media guide 20 such that a roll of labels are disposed within the body;
para. [0029]);
a cartridge output within the housing configured to guide media from the media roll out of the housing (The roll of labels may be pulled from the cartridge 10 through the media guide 20 by the label printer 100 as needed; Fig. 2, para. [0029]);
a spring (a part of the feeder top 45 and within the throat 49 is a leaf spring 48; Fig. 11, para. [0053]),
Block does not disclose a media stop assembly configured to translate between a release position and a hold position, such that when the media stop assembly is in the
hold position, media web of the media roll is pinched between the media stop assembly and a surface and
when the media stop assembly is in the release position, the media stop assembly is separated from the surface and the media is free to move;
wherein the spring biases the media stop assembly towards the hold
position, the spring is accessible via a first aperture in a first side wall of the housing; and
when a force is applied by a user to a side of the spring through the first aperture, the spring is configured to uncouple from the housing for removal from the media cartridge via a second aperture in a second side wall of the housing.
Suva discloses a media stop assembly configured to translate between a release position and a hold position, such that when the media stop assembly is in the hold position (the torsion spring 78 engaging ribs 88 serves as a friction brake, or media stop assembly, that prevents this kind of unraveling of the length of media 56 from the roll of media 60; para. [0059]), media web of the media roll is pinched between the media stop assembly and a surface (If the core 58 of roll of media 60 is rotating clock-wise, then the lower bent-in end 80 of the torsion spring 78 engages the rib 88, but the induced stress in the torsion spring 78 will cause the diameter of the torsion spring 78 to expand and the increased friction between the two prevents further rotation of the core holder 64 in the clockwise direction; para. [0061]) and
when the media stop assembly is in the release position, the media stop assembly is separated from the surface and the media is free to move (If the roll of media 60 is rotating counter-clockwise when the lower bent-in end 80 of the torsion spring 78 engages the rib 88, then this engagement should induce a stress in the torsion spring 78 that will cause the diameter of the torsion spring 78 to decrease slightly such that the roll of media 60 can continue to rotate counter-clockwise; para. [0060]);
wherein the spring biases the media stop assembly towards the hold position, the spring is accessible via a first aperture in a first side wall of the housing; and when a force is applied by a user to a side of the spring through the first aperture, the spring is configured to uncouple from the housing for removal from the media cartridge via
a second aperture in a second side wall of the housing (what happens after engagement of the lower bent in end 80 with the rib 88 will depend on the direction of rotation and the direction of winding of the torsion spring 78 wherein the rib 88 are rotated via the shaft within an aperture on a first or second side wall; para. [0059]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Block
to include a media stop assembly configured to translate between a release position and a hold position, such that when the media stop assembly is in the hold position, media web of the media roll is pinched between the media stop assembly and a surface and when the media stop assembly is in the release position, the media stop assembly is separated from the surface and the media is free to move; wherein the spring biases the media stop assembly towards the hold position, the spring is accessible via a first aperture in a first side wall of the housing; and
when a force is applied by a user to a side of the spring through the first aperture,
the spring is configured to uncouple from the housing for removal from the media cartridge via a second aperture in a second side wall of the housing as taught by Suva
because a controlled extension of the media roll would prevent unintended and wasteful unraveling.
Referring to claim 10. Suva discloses a media stop assembly wherein the housing comprises a recyclable material and the spring comprises a different material
than the housing (In one preferred form, the core holder 64 is made of an acetal or nylon material and the torsion spring 78 is made of a music wire for excellent wear control and drag consistency; Para. [0063]).
Referring to claim 11. Block discloses a media cartridge (a cartridge for providing media to a printer; Abstract, Fig. 2, para. [0029]) comprising:
wherein the housing further comprises a first side wall and a second side wall (the media guide 20 disposed between the first and second side walls of the body 2; Fig. 2, para. [0029]), wherein the first side wall includes at least one opening; and via the at least one opening and without opening the media cartridge, the media web can be threaded along a media feed path that passes adjacent a media guide surface projecting from the second side wall (each of the guides 15 enhances strength of a respective sidewall, and further helps to ensure alignment of the roll of labels 1 as it rotates about the axis of rotation, R; Fig. 4, para. [0037]).
Referring to claim 12. Block discloses a media cartridge (a cartridge for providing media to a printer; Abstract, Fig. 2, para. [0029]) comprising:
a housing configured to rotatably support a media roll (the cartridge 10 includes a body 2 and a media guide 20 such that a roll of labels are disposed within the body;
para. [0029]), the housing including a first side wall and a second side wall (the media guide 20 disposed between the first and second side walls of the body 2; Fig. 2, para. [0029]); and a spring positioned within the housing (a part of the feeder top 45 and within the throat 49 is a leaf spring 48; Fig. 11, para. [0053]).
Block does not disclose wherein the spring is accessible via an aperture in the first side wall of the housing; and
when a force is applied by a user to a side of the spring through the aperture, the spring is configured to uncouple from the housing for removal from the media cartridge.
Suva discloses a media stop assembly wherein a spring is accessible via an aperture in the first side wall of the housing; and
when a force is applied by a user to a side of the spring through the aperture, the spring is configured to uncouple from the housing for removal from the media cartridge (what happens after engagement of the lower bent-in end 80 with the rib 88 will depend on the direction of rotation and the direction of winding of the torsion spring 78 wherein the rib 88 are rotated via the shaft within an aperture on a first or second side wall; para. [0059]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Block
to include the spring as being accessible via an aperture in the first side wall of the housing; and when a force is applied by a user to a side of the spring through the aperture, the spring is configured to uncouple from the housing for removal from the media cartridge based on the teaching of Suva because a controlled extension of the media roll would prevent unintended and wasteful unraveling.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Block (US 2016/0288548 A1) in view of Suva (US 2012/0027491 A1) and further in view of Leonard (US 5,672,020).
Referring to claim 13. Block discloses a media cartridge (a cartridge for providing media to a printer; Abstract, Fig. 2, para. [0029]) comprising a circuit chip (chip 13 disposed on the body 2; Fig. 3) secured to the housing,
Suva discloses the circuit chip is positioned partially over both the first side wall and the second side wall.
Block in view of Suva do not disclose a circuit chip, wherein the circuit chip is positioned partially over both the first side wall and the second side wall.
Leonard discloses a thermal printer wherein the circuit chip is positioned partially over both the first side wall and the second side wall (printing media supply spool 130 includes two bars 134, 136 for insertion into 1 roll 24 of printing media 22, the bar 134 having a read/write circuit 138 extending therethrough to contact centrally located profiler chip 140 in roll 24, wherein the chip 140 is disposed between a first side wall of bar 134 and a second side wall of bar 136; Fig. 7, col. 7, Ins. 10-15, 28-30).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Block in view Suva to include wherein the circuit chip is positioned partially over both the first side wall and the second side wall as taught by Leonard because the chip can be positioned to perform both reading and writing functions as necessary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See structure as presented in the claims rejected in light Block (US 2016/0288548 A1) in view of Suva (US 2012/0027491 A1).
Applicant’s submission of clear drawings overcome the drawing objections.
Applicant argues “the torsion spring is disposed within the internal cavity 54 of the media cartridge 12 of Suva and is not removable from the internal cavity 54 of Suva without opening the housing of the media cartridge.” In view of the Examiner, the housing of the media cartridge of Suva is construed to consist of core holder 64 which comprises the torsion spring 78. When referring to the media 60 and housing core holder 64 the torsion spring can be removed without opening the housing core holder 64. It is suggested the applicant include additional structure to overcome the cited rejection for allowance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAKESH KUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651