DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “protrusion comprising a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape such that the protrusion is wider toward a bottom of the protrusion and narrower toward a top of the protrusion where the protrusion protrudes from the underside of the base (Claim 1, lines 14-16)” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 20220297207 to Jacobson et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 20210154753 to Johnson et al., and in further view of US Patent No. 9,132,490 to Ramun.
In re claim 1, Jacobson teaches a tip assembly for a jaw of a jaw set for demolition and construction equipment comprising:
a base (600) having:
a top side (see Annotated Figure 1, below) comprising a mounting surface (see Annotated Figure 1, below, the mounting surface is the surface which engages a corresponding surface of the upper jaw, 40) for engaging a surface of the jaw and an underside opposite the top side;
a protrusion protruding from the underside away from the top side and extending along a longitudinal axis;
a first insert (620) mounted to the base and a second insert (622) mounted to the base, wherein each insert has:
a first wall (632) and an opposing second wall (634) with a front side (636) extending therebetween; and
a locking recess (as shown in at least Figure 15B) that conforms to the protrusion to limit movement of the insert in directions perpendicular to the longitudinal axis;
wherein the protrusion comprises a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape (as shown in at least Figure 6, if the cross section is taken along the length of 606, the shape of the protrusion will be generally trapezoidal).
In re claim 2, wherein the first wall (632) of the first insert contacts the first wall of the second insert (632 of 622) to enclose the inserts over the protrusion (as shown in at least Figures 1-5).
In re claim 3, wherein the front side (636) and a bottom side (644) of each insert intersect to form a piercing edge (654).
In re claim 4, wherein the piercing edges (654) of the first insert and the second insert abut to define an expanded piercing edge (as shown in at least Figures 1-5).
In re claim 8, wherein each insert (620,622) has a bore (660) extending therethrough, wherein the bores are offset from one another and the protrusion (600) has matching offset bores (as shown in at least Figure 17) which align with the insert bores such that a separate bolt may be dedicated to mating each insert to the base (Para 0043).
In re claim 9, wherein one bore (660) within each insert is threaded and each insert is secured to the opposing insert with threaded bolts that mate with the threaded bore of each insert such that for each insert movement in all directions is limited (Para 0043).
In re claim 11, wherein the locking recess of each insert has an engaging tab (646) that engages with a matching indentation within the protrusion (Para 0041).
In re claim 14, wherein the underside of the base further includes a concave segment (see Annotated Figure 1, below) adjacent to the protrusion and wherein the top of the insert includes a matching shape.
Regarding claim 1, Jacobson teaches a protrusion comprising a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape that is wider toward a bottom, but does not teach the cross section is narrower toward a top of the protrusion where the protrusion protrudes from the underside of the base and the locking recess comprises a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape extending into the first wall such that the locking recess is narrower toward a top of the locking recess where the locking recess is open.
Johnson teaches a protrusion comprising a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape that is wider toward a bottom (as shown in at least Figure 2, the bottom being 270e) and is narrower toward a top of the protrusion where the protrusion protrudes from the underside of the base (as shown in at least Figure 2) and the locking recess (325) comprises a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape (as shown in at least Figure 5) extending into the first wall such that the locking recess is wider toward a bottom (480) of the locking recess and narrower toward a top (see Annotated Figure 3, below) of the locking recess where the locking recess is open.
Johnson teaches the protrusion narrows towards a top portion, which is best shown in at least Figure 5 (and Annotated Figure 3, below), which provides details to the contour of the locking recess (which follows the contour of the base).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape of the protrusion and locking recess of Jacobson to have a narrower shape toward the top of the locking recess and the protrusion as taught by Johnson to maintain protection of the nose portion from wear during use of the shears (Abstract, Paras 0047,0088,0091).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson teaches a base having a detachable portion (Para 0046), but does not teach the base having the top side, the underside, and the protrusion is removable from the jaw.
Regarding claim 1, Ramun teaches a base (200) having a top side (216), an underside (218), and as protrusion (228) removable from the jaw (22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to fabricate the base including the top side, the underside, and protrusion of Johnson to be removable from the jaw as taught by Ramun which is advantageous for removing the entire tip to make the tip disposable (Col. 8, lines 9-11). It is further known to make structures separable to access an end and/or opening. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). See MPEP 2144.04
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobson et al. in view of Johnson ‘753, as applied to the above claims, and in further view of US Patent No. 20200086326 to Johnson et al. (hereinafter Johnson ‘326).
In re claim 5, modified Jacobson teaches an insert having an expended piercing edge, but does not teach wherein there is a notch at each end of the expanded piercing edge, the notch has walls that form an angle of at least 90 degrees (claim 6), and wherein a cutting edge is defined at the intersection of the second wall and the notch and the notch extends along the entire length of the cutting edge (Claim 7).
Johnson ‘326 teaches an insert having a notch (between 670c and 670d) at each end of the piercing edge, the notch (as shown in Figure 11) has walls that form an angle of at least 90 degrees (see Annotated Figure 2, below), and wherein a cutting edge (670a-d) is defined at the intersection of the second wall (see Annotated Figure 2, below) and the notch and the notch extends along the entire length of the cutting edge (Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to fabricate the end of the piercing edge of modified Jacobson with a notch as taught by Johnson ‘326 to focus the piercing force at the notched locations (Para 0161, Johnson).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobson et al. in Johnson ‘753, as applied to the above claims, and in further view of WO2019209537 to Johnson et al. (hereinafter Johnson ‘537) or US Patent Application Publication No. 20130068079 to Kimura et al.
In re claim 15, modified Jacobson teaches the inserts and base are made of a material, but does not teach the inserts and the base are made of casting material.
Johnson ‘537 teaches inserts (310,320) are metal bodies (Col. 9, lines 61-67, Col. 10, lines 1-3).
Kimura teaches the jaw material is usually made of a softer metal than the inserts, which are made of a hard metal (Para 0009,0046).
It has been interpreted that the material merely has to be capable of being cast. A metal material has the characteristics of being cast (via a mold). Per Merriam Webster Dictionary, the term casting is defined as something cast in a mold.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to fabricate the base and inserts of modified Jacobson via a casting material as taught by Johnson ‘537 or Kimura to form an insert of a harder material than the base to increase wear and the tool life of the insert.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobson et al. in view of Johnson et al.
In re claim 16, Jacobson teaches an insert to be used with a base attached to a jaw of a jaw set for demolition and construction equipment comprising:
a first wall (632) and an opposing second wall (634) with a front side (636) extending therebetween, wherein an edge of the first wall is a piercing edge (654);
and a locking recess (see Annotated Figure 3, Pg. 10, below) extending within the first wall;
a first bore (660) having a first bore diameter (668 of 660, Para 0043) and inner and outer bore walls (the bore has an inner and outer bore wall disposed between the first and second walls), wherein the first bore (660) extends through the first wall and second wall (as shown in at least Figures 15a,15b);
a second bore (660, see Annotated Figure 3, Pg. 10, below) having a second bore diameter and inner and outer bore walls;
wherein the inner bore wall of the first bore is spaced from the inner bore wall of the second bore by a length at least equal to the diameter of the first bore wall (see Annotated Figure 3, below),
and the locking recess comprises a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape (the cross section taken along the length of 636 in the direction toward 653) extending into the first wall such that the locking recess (Annotated 3, below) is wider toward a bottom of the locking recess.
In re claim 17, wherein the locking recess further includes a convex segment (see Annotated Figure 2, above).
In re claim 18, wherein the first bore (660) is blank to permit a bolt to extend therethrough and the second bore is threaded to engage a threaded bolt (Para 0043).
Note, at least a portion of the first bore is blank, since it has a concentric counterbore, 668.
Regarding claim 16, Jacobson teaches a protrusion comprising a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape that is wider toward a bottom, but does not teach the cross section is narrower toward a top of the protrusion where the protrusion protrudes from the underside of the base and the locking recess comprises a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape extending into the first wall such that the locking recess is narrower toward a top of the locking recess where the locking recess is open.
Johnson teaches a protrusion comprising a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape that is wider toward a bottom (as shown in at least Figure 2, the bottom being 270e) and is narrower toward a top of the protrusion where the protrusion protrudes from the underside of the base (as shown in at least Figure 2) and the locking recess (325) comprises a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape (as shown in at least Figure 5) extending into the first wall such that the locking recess is wider toward a bottom (480) of the locking recess and narrower toward a top (see Annotated Figure 4, Pg. 12, below) of the locking recess where the locking recess is open.
Johnson teaches the protrusion narrows towards a top portion, which is best shown in at least Figure 5 (and Annotated Figure 4, Pg. 12, below), which provides details to the contour of the locking recess (which follows the contour of the base).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape of the protrusion and locking recess of Jacobson to have a narrower shape toward the top of the locking recess and the protrusion as taught by Johnson to maintain protection of the nose portion from wear during use of the shears (Abstract, Paras 0047,0088,0091).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Jacobson teaches a base, but does not teach the base includes a support bar spanning between the protrusion and a remaining portion of the underside of the base. Johnson further teaches a base, but does not teach support bar spanning between the protrusion and the remaining portion of the underside of the base. A modification to the prior art of record would have relied on hindsight reasoning, since there is no teaching or suggestion to modify the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
The claim objections in the Office Action mailed July 29, 2025 have been obviated by the amendments filed October 29, 2025.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 and 15-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER S MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724