Specification
The use of the term “Delrin” on Paragraph [0057], line 4, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is vague and indefinite. On line 1, the phrase “further comprising the modular fingertip” is unclear. How does this claim further limit the structure set forth in Claim 1? Note that the modular fingertip has already been set forth on line 8 of independent Claim 1.
Claims 3-7 are rejected due to their dependency upon Claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-9, 11-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curhan et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0084165), hereinafter “Curhan”, in view of Seto et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0110938), hereinafter “Seto”.
With respect to Claim 1, Curhan, Figures 1-8, teaches a soft robotic actuator system comprising:
a soft robotic actuator 100 comprising an elastomeric material (See Paragraph [0038]) extending from a proximal end to a distal end and substantially surrounding a reservoir (See Paragraph [0046]) configured to receive an inflation fluid, the soft robotic actuator configured to bend in a circumferential direction upon adding the inflation fluid to, or removing the inflation fluid from, the reservoir.
Curhan teaches all the elements of the actuator except for wherein
the distal end of the actuator is sized and shaped to mate with a proximal end of a modular fingertip configured to be secured onto the distal end of the actuator, and
the distal end comprises one or more holes configured to receive a fastener that mates with the modular fingertip.
However, Seto, Figures 1-21, teaches wherein
the distal end of the actuator 2 is sized and shaped to mate with a proximal end of a modular fingertip 30 configured to be secured onto the distal end of the actuator 2, and
the distal end comprises one or more holes (See Figure 1 on Page 5 of this Office Action) configured to receive a fastener that mates with the modular fingertip.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Curhan with a modular fingertip, as taught by Seto, because a reaction force of this action is proportional to a distance from the cap 30, thus the bending force of the actuator is desirably larger at the base than the tip. (See Paragraph [0087])
[AltContent: textbox (Hole)][AltContent: arrow]
With respect to Claim 2, Seto further teaches the modular fingertip.
With respect to Claim 5, Seto further teaches wherein the modular fingertip comprises a surface that is textured so as to increase a friction applied by the modular fingertip as compared to a base of the soft robotic actuator.
With respect to Claim 7, Seto further teaches wherein the modular fingertip is a first modular fingertip that connects to a second adjacent modular finger via inter-fingertip webbing.
With respect to Claim 8, Seto further teaches wherein the one or more holes of the distal end do not extend completely through the elastomeric material of the soft robotic actuator.
With respect to Claim 9, Seto further teaches a backing plate 18j configured to secure the proximal end of the modular fingertip to the distal end of the actuator.
With respect to Claims 11-17 and 19-20, the method described in these claims would inherently result from the use of the actuator of Curhan in view of Seto as advanced above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6, 10, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654