Claim Objection
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 2 – respectively, -- should be inserted before “wherein”. Appropriate correction is required.
35 USC 102 Rejections
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohtsuki et al 4671594.
Regarding claim 1, Ohtsuki et al (Figure 2b) discloses a joining clip for securing a plug and socket of an electrical connector of an electrical machine comprising: a first end and a second end (at 6b), wherein the first end is oriented in an opposing direction to the second end; a first leg 1b and a second leg 1b; a U-bend 1, wherein the U-bend Joins the first leg to the second leg; and a first L-bend and a second L-bend (both unnumbered), wherein the first L-bend joins the first end to the first leg, wherein the second L-bend joins the second end to the second leg; wherein the joining clip is configured to secure the plug to the socket when the plug Is inserted in the socket. Note that the joining clip per se, and not the clip/plug/socket combination, is being claimed, and thus Ohtsuki et al is deemed to disclose the positively recited structure.
Regarding claim 2, Ohtsuki et al discloses the joining clip comprises a wire, wherein the first end and the second end are disposed at opposing ends of the wire.
Regarding claim 3, Ohtsuki et al discloses the first end, the second end, the first leg 1b, and the second leg 1b are straight.
Regarding claim 4, Ohtsuki et al discloses the first leg 1b and the second leg 1b each include a same length, wherein the first end and the second end are co-planar.
Regarding claim 5, Ohtsuki et al discloses the first leg 1b, the second leg 1b, and the U- bend 1 are co-planar.
Regarding claim 6, Ohtsuki et al discloses the first leg 1b and the second leg 1b are longer than the first end and the second end.
Regarding claim 7, Ohtsuki et al discloses the first end and the second end are joined at approximately 90-degrees with the first leg 1b and the second leg 1b, wherein the first leg is joined at approximately 180-degrees with the second leg.
Regarding claim 8, Ohtsuki et al discloses the plug comprises a cable housing defining a cable housing recess, wherein the socket comprises a terminal housing defining a first terminal housing recess and a second terminal housing recess, wherein the joining clip is configured to secure the plug to the socket by being received in the cable housing recess, the first terminal housing recess, and the second terminal housing recess. Note that no portion of the plug and socket is positively recited, and thus Ohtsuki et al is deemed to disclose the positively recited structure.
Claims Defining Over Prior Art
Claims 9-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art discloses or teaches a plug and socket being joined together with the joining clip as recited; in combination with the rest of the subject matter of the respective independent claim.
/GARY F PAUMEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834