Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that Cardwell does not discloses a “reflected signal” and merely detects a short circuit.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as Cardwell discloses conductive elements that receive electrical signals which vary in response to interaction with the fluid environment. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, a signal received at a conductive element that varies based on interaction with a sensed condition constitutes a returned or reflected signal. The does not require a specific reflection mechanism.
Applicant further argues that “signal reflectance” is a term of art defined as a ration S11 and is not disclosed in Cardwell.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as the claim does not recite S11, a ratio, or any specific mathematical relationship. While applicant cites a definition in the specification, the claim language does not include this limitation. Under BRI “signal” encompasses a measurable characteristic of a returned signal indicative of interaction with the fluid. Cardwell discloses detecting and processing electrical signals representative of fluid conditions, which reasonably corresponds to determining a characteristic of a returned signal.
Applicant further argues that Cardwell does not compare signal reflectance to reference values. Examiner respectfully states that Cardwell processing sensed data and providing stored data. Under BRI the use of stored data to interpret sensor outputs constitutes comparison to reference values. The claim does not require a specific form of reference.
Applicant further argues that Mulholland relies on signal and detecting a corresponding return signal. A time varying electromagnetic field includes an electric field component. The claim does not exclude electromagnetic coupling. Accordingly, Mulholland reasonably teaches the claimed signal application and return signal detection. Further the argument related to combination that neither reference teaches determining signal reflectance and comparing the reference values. Examiner respectfully for reasons discussed above disagrees as Cardwell and Mulholland each teach aspects of the claimed limitations, and Applicant has not identified error in the prior art mapping of these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardwell (U.S. Publication 20220113197) in view of Mulholland (U.S. Publication 20130147470).
Regarding claim 1, Cardwell teaches a sensor for interrogating a fluid for multiple parameters (fig. 4 (30) “a fluid conveyed by the conduit may transfer its temperature to the exterior wall of the conduit so that the temperature of the fluid can be detected by a temperature sensor” [0030]), comprising:
first and second electrodes position able in proximity to the fluid (fig. 4 (upper and lower resistive elements 35));
a source operatively connected to the first electrode, the source configured to selectively apply a signal to first electrode (fig. 4 via battery 450 to 400 to 35 via conductors 33, “the power source connected to and receive power from the vehicles electrical distribution system” [0041]); and
an analyzer operatively connected to the second electrode and configured to measure a reflected signal received at the second electrode (fig. 4 (via 400 which is connected to 30 via 33 where “one sensor element is selected from a group consisting of electrical conductors” [claim 4] conductive pads and traces) where sensor “the BLE module 400 transmits the operating information sensed by sensor 30 to the mobile BLE device 300 using the BLE protocol. The mobile BLE device 300 using the operational software converts the sensor data to data compatible for display on the mobile BLE device “reflected electrical resistance signal in response to the supplied signal via 450, 400 of the strain gauge);
determining a signal reflectance of the reflected AC signal: and comparing the signal reflectance to reference values to determine a parameter of the fluid (processing circuitry that receives electrical signals from the printed electronic sensors ana analyzes those signals to determine operating parameters of the fluid conduit [0031-34]. The received signal that varies in response to interaction with the fluid constitutes a returned signal, and determining a characteristic or relationship of such signal relative to the applied signal corresponds to determining a signal reflectance under broadest reasonable interpretation. Further the claim does not recite a specific mathematical definition or ratio. Additionally, as per [0042] providing real time data and historical log data stored in memory, such data constitutes baseline or reference information used in interpreting subsequently received signals, under BRI the use of such stored data in analyzing sensed signals constitutes comparison to reference values).
Cardwell does not explicitly teach an AC source, the AC source configured to selectively apply an AC signal, thereby inducing an electric field to interact with the fluid, wherein the interaction of the electric field with e fluid causes a reflected AC signal generated.
However, Mulholland in a relevant art teaching sensor which is capable of being sensed, such as pressure, temperature, proximity to other objects, orientation and fluid level teaches an AC source, the AC source configured to selectively apply an AC signal, thereby inducing an electric field to interact with the fluid, wherein the interaction of the electric field with e fluid causes a reflected AC signal generated (applying an AC interrogation signal to a conductive element (transducer) to generate a time varying field, when interaction with a sensed condition produces a return AC signal that is detected by a receiving element and processed by a signal processor [0034-37] as can be evident by Schilowitz (U.S. Publication 20040085080) [0022-23], further the detected return signal is representative of the sensed condition and is measured and analyzed by the processing circuitry).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cardwell’s conductive sensor element such that a first conductive element (first electrode) is driven with an AC interrogation signal taught by Mulholland , thereby inducing a time varying electric field that interacts with fluid, and such interaction of the electric field with the fluid causes a reflected/return signal to be generated and received at a second conductive element (second electrode) to gain advantage of improved sensing robustness and signal detection.
Regarding claims 2, 13 Cardwell as modified further teaches wherein each of the first and second electrodes include a base portion having a plurality of legs projecting therefrom, the plurality of legs of the first electrode interdigitated with the plurality of legs of the second electrode (fig. 4 (upper and lower flat bars and projected legs of 35)).
Regarding claims 3, 14, Cardwell as modified further teaches a flexible first layer (fig. 4 (525’)), the first layer having a first face position able adjacent to fluid (fig. 4 (525’) “Protective layers 500 and 600 cover and effectively pot the printed sensors and their wire networks” [0051]) and a second face, wherein the first and second electrodes are bonded to the second face (fig. 4 525’ on 35).
Regarding claim 4, Cardwell as modified further teaches a flexible second layer, the second layer bonded to the first layer and the first and second electrodes (fig. 4 525’ on 35).
Regarding claim 5, Cardwell as modified further teaches a SubMiniature version A (SMA) connecter operatively connected to the first and second electrodes (fig. 4 (connectors 32, 32’)).
Cardwell discloses the claimed invention above except:
Regarding claims 6, 15 Cardwell further teaches wherein the parameter of the fluid is temperature
Regarding claims 7, 9 Cardwell as modified further teaches wherein the reference values define of signal reflectances for the fluid when the fluid at different temperatures interacts with the AC signal having a predetermined magnitude (receiving electrical signals from conductive sensor elements that vary in response to interatction with the fluid and processing those signals to determine parameters [0031-34], under BRI, the signal constitutes a reflected signal, and a characteristic of that signal corresponds to signal reflectance. Further sensing temperature of the fluid via the conduit wall [0030] and storing real time and historical data corresponding to sensed conditions [0042]. Such stored data inherently includes signal values associated with different fluid temperatures. Under BRI, a set of signal values corresponding to different temperatures defines a map relating signal characteristics (reflectance) to temperature, as the claim does not require a particular structure, dimensionality, or mathematical representation of the map).
Cardwell does not explicitly teach to selectively apply an AC signal, thereby inducing an electric field to interact with the fluid, wherein the interaction of the electric field with e fluid causes a reflected AC signal generated.
However, Mulholland in a relevant art teaching sensor which is capable of being sensed, such as pressure, temperature, proximity to other objects, orientation and fluid level teaches to selectively apply an AC signal, thereby inducing an electric field to interact with the fluid, wherein the interaction of the electric field with e fluid causes a reflected AC signal generated (applying an AC interrogation signal to a conductive element (transducer) to generate a time varying field, when interaction with a sensed condition produces a return AC signal that is detected by a receiving element and processed by a signal processor [0034-37] as can be evident by Schilowitz (U.S. Publication 20040085080) [0022-23], further the detected return signal is representative of the sensed condition and is measured and analyzed by the processing circuitry).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cardwell’s conductive sensor element such that a first conductive element (first electrode) is driven with an AC interrogation signal taught by Mulholland , thereby inducing a time varying electric field that interacts with fluid, and such interaction of the electric field with the fluid causes a reflected/return signal to be generated and received at a second conductive element (second electrode) to gain advantage of improved sensing robustness and signal detection.
Regarding claims 8, 16 Cardwell as modified further teaches wherein the parameter of the fluid is
Cardwell discloses the claimed invention above except:
Regarding claims 10, 18, Cardwell does not explicitly teach wherein the AC source is configured to selectively apply the AC signal to first and second electrodes at a plurality of frequencies.
However, Mulholland in a relevant art teaching sensor which is capable of being sensed, such as pressure, temperature, proximity to other objects, orientation and fluid level teaches wherein the AC source is configured to selectively apply the AC signal to first and second electrodes at a plurality of frequencies (“sensor apparatus 10, the transmitter coils 24 are driven with a preferably VLF AC signal having a particular frequency or frequencies” [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the frequency configuration of Mulholland in Cardwell to gain the advantage of measuring frequency specific properties of a fluid reducing noise improving measurement accuracy and signal resolution.
Regarding claim 11, the method recited is intrinsic to the apparatus recited in claim 1, as disclosed by Cardwell (U.S. Publication 20220113197) in view of Mulholland (U.S. Publication 20130147470) as the recited method steps will be performed during the normal operation of the apparatus, as discussed above with regard to claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Cardwell as modified further teaches comprising the additional step of comparing the signal reflectance to reference values to determine
Regarding claims 17 Cardwell as modified further teaches wherein the first parameter is determined by comparing the of signal reflectances (“Upon request by the mobile device 300 the controller 200 process the request to transmit data from the temperature sensor 10 to mobile BLE device 300. Based on the type of request, the processor either provides digital data representing the real-time sensor readings or the historical log data stored in the memory device 204” [0031-34, 42]).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 19, 22-25 are allowed
Reason for Allowance
6. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Applicant amended independent claim 19 by adding the limitations and overcome rejection. In combination with other limitations of the claims. The cited prior arts fail to teach “A method of interrogating a fluid having a plurality of parameters, each parameter having a plurality of values… determining signal reflectances of the reflected AC signals: generating a map of the signal reflectances of determining a signal reflectance of the reflected interrogating AC signal; and comparing the
Claims 22-25 are in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cardwell (U.S Patent 11262247) discloses Fluid Conduit With Printed Sensors.
/TAQI R NASIR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858