DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Examiner recommend applicant to change “a hollow” to “an opening” in claim 13.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “heating device” in claims 1 and 16; “camera receiving member” in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang (US 10794599).
Regarding claim 16, Jang teaches a cooking apparatus comprising:
a main body (10, fig 2) including:
a cooking chamber (an inner housing that forms cooking chamber 20), and
an electronic compartment (50, fig 2);
a heating device (21, fig 2) configured to heat the cooking chamber;
a camera (140, fig 10) “configured to capture an image of an inside of the cooking chamber” (camera inherently can capture images through the transparent member);
a housing (130, fig 5 or 14) including a camera receiving member (housing 130 itself is a camera receiving member) which forms a camera receiving space (space in 130) in which the camera is positioned;
an electronic compartment cooling fan (51, fig 3) configured to form a first air flow that passes about an outer surface (outside surface of 130) of the camera receiving member in a front and rear direction (left-right direction of fig 12 or 14) of the main body to cool the camera receiving member; and
a camera cooling fan configured to form a second air flow (from top to bottom shown in fig 13) that passes through the camera receiving portion and around the camera in a left and right (direction into the paper in fig 10. See fig 11, camera 140 is smaller than housing, therefore air has to pass around the camera in a left-right direction of cooking apparatus)) direction of the main body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 10794599) in view of Glaser (US 20180014382).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches a cooking apparatus comprising:
a main body (10, fig 2) comprising an inner case (an inner housing that forms cooking chamber 20) which forms a cooking chamber (Col 7 lines 16-17, “cooking compartment (20) provided in the main body (10)”);
a heating device (21, fig 2) configured to heat the cooking chamber;
a transparent member (170, fig 10) configured as at least a portion (see fig 10 and 16, transparent member 170 is embedded in an upper wall of inner housing) of an upper wall (upper wall of inner housing) of the inner case; and
a camera (140, fig 10) disposed above the transparent member, wherein the camera and the transparent member are configured so that: the camera “is operable to capture an image, through the transparent member” (camera inherently can capture images through the transparent member), of an inside of the cooking chamber, and has a viewing angle (shown in dash line in fig 15) along a left and right direction (direction of W as shown in fig 15) of the main body.
Jang fails to teach the viewing angle is 80 degrees or more.
Glaser teaches a viewing angle of a camera is 80 degrees or more ([0072] “wider-angle cameras may have a field of view with an angle greater than 40°, and some implementations may have field of views greater than 100°, 360° panoramic, 360° spherical”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jang as taught by Glaser by using a wide angle camera for the cooking apparatus in order to capture image of entire cooking chamber and allow users to monitor cooking status of plural food items at the same time.
Regarding claim 3, Jang in view of Glaser teaches a viewing angle (b) of the camera along a front and rear direction (horizontal direction shown in Jang fig 2) of the main body is 55 degrees or more (see rationale in claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Jang in view of Glaser teaches one or more hangers (Jang col 7 line 64, “a plurality of supports…provided on both side walls inside the cooking compartment”) formed in the cooking chamber; and a shelf (Jang col 7 lines 66-67, “a rack (not shown) may be mounted on the supports so that the object to be cooked may be placed thereon”) that is mountable to at least one hanger among the one or more hangers.
Regarding claim 5, Jang in view of Glaser teaches the shelf includes a shelf member (a rack) configured to support food to be cooked, and in response to the shelf being mounted to a highest hanger among the one or more hangers, the camera is configured to capture an image of an entire area of the shelf member (Glaser [0072] teaches that camera can have a field of view with 360 degree spherical or 360° panoramic, and such camera can capture an image of entire area of the shelf member).
Regarding claim 7, Jang in view of Glaser teaches a camera cooling fan (Jang 120, fig 5) configured to cool the camera; and a housing (Jang 130, fig 5) including a camera receiving space (space inside 130) in which the camera is positioned.
Regarding claim 8, Jang in view of Glaser teaches the housing includes: an inlet (an upper opening of Jang 130) through which air flows into the housing, and an outlet (a lower opening of Jang 130) through which air flows out of the housing, and the inlet and the outlet are formed at a higher position than the camera positioned in the camera receiving space (see Jang fig 10, camera extends through the lower opening of 130).
Regarding claim 9, Jang in view of Glaser teaches the housing includes a lower opening (a lower opening of Jang 130) formed in a lower portion (bottom portion) of the camera receiving space.
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 10794599) in view of Glaser (US 20180014382).
Regarding claim 18, Jang teaches a cooking apparatus comprising:
a main body (10, fig 2) including:
an inner case (an inner housing that forms cooking chamber 20) which forms a cooking chamber (Col 7 lines 16-17, “cooking compartment (20) provided in the main body (10)”), and
an electronic compartment (50, fig 2) formed outside the inner case;
one or more hangers (col 7 line 64, “a plurality of supports…provided on both side walls inside the cooking compartment”) formed in the cooking chamber;
a shelf (Jang col 7 lines 66-67, “a rack (not shown) may be mounted on the supports so that the object to be cooked may be placed thereon”) that is mountable to at least one of the one or more hangers, the shelf (shelf inherently include the shelf member and holder as defined below) including:
a shelf member (the portion of shelf that touches cookware) configured to support food to be cooked, and
a holder (edge of shelf that is supported by the supports on side walls of cooking compartment) that is couplable to the at least one of the one or more hangers to mount the shelf thereto;
a transparent member (170, fig 10) configured as at least a portion (see fig 10 and 16, transparent member 170 is embedded in an upper wall of inner housing) of an upper wall (upper wall of inner housing) of the inner case; and
a camera (140, fig 10) disposed above the transparent member;
wherein the camera and the transparent member are configured so that: the camera is “operable to capture an image, through the transparent member” (camera inherently can capture images through the transparent member), of an inside of the cooking chamber, and
Jang fails to teach the camera is operable to capture an image of an entire area of the shelf member while the shelf is mounted to any of the one or more hangers.
Glaser teaches a viewing angle of a camera is 80 degrees or more ([0072] “wider-angle cameras may have a field of view with an angle greater than 40°, and some implementations may have field of views… greater than 100°, 360° panoramic, 360° spherical”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jang as taught by Glaser by using a wide angle camera for the cooking apparatus in order to capture image of entire cooking chamber and allow users to monitor cooking status of plural food items at the same time.
As modified, Jang in view of Glaser teaches the functional limitation “the camera is operable to capture an image of an entire area of the shelf member while the shelf is mounted to any of the one or more hangers” by using a camera with 360° spherical field of views.
Regarding claim 20, Jang in view of Glaser teaches a viewing angle in which the camera receives light through the transparent member is 80 degrees or more along a left and right direction of the main body, and 55 degrees or more along a front and rear direction of the main body (Glaser [0072] “wider-angle cameras may have a field of view with an angle greater than 40°, and some implementations may have field of views… greater than 100°, 360° panoramic, 360° spherical”)..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6, 10-15, 17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KO-WEI LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762