DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they have elements shown in cross section which are not properly crosshatched.
The conventional crosshatch for conductive members shown in cross section consist of thin lines of equal thickness. See Figs. 3a, 3b, and 11b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morgan et al. (US 10,283,914).
Regarding claim 1, Morgan discloses an electrical connector, comprising: a plurality of signal contacts (166); a plurality of ground contacts (188); a wafer (122) supporting the plurality of signal contacts and the plurality of ground contacts; a first organizer (254/222) attached to the wafer and positioning the plurality of signal contacts, the first organizer comprises an electrically insulating material (non-conductive, col. 3, lines 52-56 / dielectric, col. 10, lines 7-13); and a second organizer (252) attached to the wafer, the second organizer in electrical contact with and positioning the plurality of ground contacts.
Regarding claim 2, Morgan discloses the first organizer and the second organizer being stacked on each other (Figs. 10 and 11).
Regarding claim 3, Morgan discloses the electrical connector connected to a circuit board (106); and the second organizer comprises an electrically conductive material (conductive gasket).
Regarding claim 4, Morgan discloses the second organizer defining a first face (bottom of 252, Fig. 12) opposite the circuit board formed of the electrically conductive material, the plurality of ground contacts in electrical contact with the electrically conductive material.
Regarding claim 5, Morgan discloses the second organizer including: an electrically conductive film (252) formed on the first face; and a molded body (222) supporting the electrically conductive film and comprising an electrically insulating material.
Regarding claim 6, Morgan discloses the first organizer including a plurality of first support portions (222) spaced from each other and supporting the plurality of signal contacts.
Regarding claim 7, Morgan discloses the second organizer including a plurality of second support portions (372) supporting the plurality of ground contacts.
Regarding claim 8, Morgan discloses a plurality of arrangement spaces (370) that pass through a front and a back of the second organizer, the plurality of second support portions and the plurality of arrangement spaces being alternated in a planar direction (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 9, Morgan discloses the first support portion (222) of the first organizer arranged in the arrangement space of the second organizer (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 10, Morgan discloses each of the plurality of signal contacts being a press-contact beam contact (166) adapted to electrically contact an electrode pad (intended use); and each of the plurality of ground contacts being a press-fit contact (188) adapted to be inserted into a through-hole electrode (intended use).
Regarding claim 11, Morgan discloses a connector assembly, comprising: an electrical connector, including: a signal contact (166) adapted to electrically contact an electrode pad (intended use); a ground contact (188) adapted to be inserted into a through hole electrode (intended use); a wafer (122) supporting the signal contact and the ground contact; a first organizer (254) attached to the wafer and positioning the signal contact; and a second organizer (252) attached to the wafer, the second organizer in electrical contact with and positioning the ground contact; and a circuit board (106), including a signal electrode (not shown) and a ground electrode (not shown), the signal contact of the electrical connector electrically connected to the signal electrode of the circuit board, and the ground contact of the electrical connector is electrically connected to the ground electrode of the circuit board.
Regarding claim 12, Morgan discloses the circuit board further including: a plurality of signal electrode pad (not shown, inside holes); and a plurality of ground electrodes formed around a through-hole (see Fig. 12) passing through a front and a back of the circuit board; and the signal contact and the ground contact include a plurality of signal contacts and a plurality of ground contacts, respectively.
Regarding claim 13, Morgan discloses the plurality of signal contacts being in press contact with the signal electrode pads (pressure exerted by flexible part of signal contact 166), and the plurality of ground contacts are press-fitted in the ground electrodes (Figs. 10-12).
Regarding claim 14, Morgan discloses an electrical connector, comprising: a wafer (122) adapted to support a plurality of signal contacts and a plurality of ground contacts; an electrically insulating first organizer (254/222, non-conductive, col. 3, lines 52-56 / dielectric, col. 10, lines 7-13) attached to the wafer and adapted to receive and locate the plurality of signal contacts; and a second organizer (252) attached to the wafer and in electrical contact with the plurality of ground contacts, and responsible for positioning the ground contacts.
Regarding claim 15, Morgan discloses the electrical connector adapted to be connected to a circuit board; and the second organizer defines a first face adapted to be positioned opposite the circuit board and comprising an electrically conductive material (conductive gasket) in electrical contact with the plurality of ground contacts.
Regarding claim 16, Morgan discloses the second organizer further including an electrically conductive film (252) formed on the first face opposite.
Regarding claim 17, Morgan discloses the second organizer further including a molded body (222) supporting the electrically conductive film and comprising an electrically insulating material.
Regarding claim 18, Morgan discloses the first organizer including a plurality of first support portions (222) supporting the plurality of signal contacts, the plurality of first support portions being spaced from each other; and the second organizer includes a plurality of second support portions (372) supporting the plurality of ground contacts, and a plurality of arrangement spaces (370) passing through a front and a back of the second organizer, the plurality of second support portions and the plurality of arrangement spaces being alternated in a planar direction (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 19, Morgan discloses the plurality of first support portions of the first organizer are arranged in the plurality of arrangement spaces of the second organizer (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 20, Morgan discloses each of the plurality of signal contacts being a press-contact beam contact (166); and each of the plurality of ground contacts being a press-fit contact (Fig. 10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as applied.
Please note that Morgan discloses the electrically insulating first organizer (254/222, non-conductive, col. 3, lines 52-56 / dielectric, col. 10, lines 7-13).
Morgan discloses a signal contact (166) adapted to electrically contact an electrode pad (intended use, can contact pad inside the hole); a ground contact (188) adapted to be inserted into a through hole electrode (intended use). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Additionally, please note that “pad” electrode and “though hole” electrode are not mutually exclusive descriptions/features. Furthermore, the claim language does not provide any other structural description or location of the pad.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833