DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: The charging assembly item 40 in figure 1 is not labeled. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the union nut disclosed in claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 13 – 15, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fuehrer (US 20190176653)
Regarding claim 1, Fuehrer teaches a charging assembly (figure 1 shows a charging station with charging assembly item 1) comprising:
a charging plug (figures 1 and 2 item 1 defined in paragraph [0060] as a plug connector part) and a charging cable (figure 1 item 2 defined in paragraph [0059] as a cable), for connecting a charging station to the battery of an electric vehicle (Figure 1 shows a charging station item 3 to be connected to a vehicle item 4),
wherein the charging plug comprises a primary plug housing (figure 3 shows a housing part item 102) which comprises:
a first throughout opening in which a first conductor end piece is arranged,
which is attached to an end of a first conductor of the charging cable and comprises opposite to the first conductor a first charging contact extending in an axial direction (figures 3 and 5 show a first throughout opening 11A. Figures 1 and 2 show the first end of a first connector and a first charging contact extending in an axial direction);
b. a second throughout opening in which a second conductor end piece is arranged, which is attached to an end of a second conductor of the charging cable and comprises opposite to the second conductor a second charging contact being laterally spaced apart from and extending parallel to the first charging contact in the axial direction (figures 3 and 5 show a first throughout opening 11B. Figures 1 and 2 show the second end of a second connector and a second charging contact extending in an axial direction); wherein
c. the first and the second conductor end piece each comprise at least one cooling surface being during operation exposed to a circulating cooling agent, which cooling surface is fluidly interconnected to a respective cladding tube surrounding the first or the second conductor for conducting the circulating cooling agent along the first or the second conductor (figure 3 shows wherein the first and second conductor, items 11A and 11B end piece. Figure 3 shows a cooling surface item 13A and 13B which surrounds the first and second conductor defined in paragraph [0063] to serve the conductor elements coolant).
Figure 3 shows an electric vehicle charging station connector
Regarding claim 2, Fuehrer teaches the charging assembly according to claim 1, wherein each cladding tube is interconnected to the primary plug housing in a fluid tight manner and each cladding tube is terminated by a terminating sleeve which is in a mounted position arranged at least partially inside the primary plug housing (figure 6 item 159 defined in paragraphs [0067]-[0068] as a cooling channel with a casing element item 15 sealed in a fluid tight manner with sealing rings 155 and 156).
Regarding claim 3, Fuehrer teaches the charging assembly according to claim 1, wherein a feeding tube is interconnected to the primary plug housing for conducting the circulating cooling agent in an opposite direction with respect to the cladding tubes (figures 6, 8A and 9A defined in paragraph [074] discloses inlet opening item 132 and outlet opening item 133 for introducing a coolant flow and an outlet for discharging a coolant flow, or allowing the coolant to circulate in opposite directions).
Regarding claim 4, Fuehrer teaches the charging assembly according to claim 3, wherein the primary plug housing comprises at least one passage for transferring the circulating cooling agent between the cooling surface of the first and the second conductor end piece and the feeding tube (figures 16A and 16B show openings item 140, 140A, 140B and flow channels items 145-148 to allow coolant to flow).
Regarding claim 5, Fuehrer teaches the charging assembly according to claim 4, wherein the first and the second throughout opening are fluidically connected with each other via the at least one passage (figures 16A and 16B show openings item 140, 140A, 140B and flow channels items 145-148 to allow coolant to flow).
Regarding claim 6, Fuehrer teaches the charging assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first and the second charging contact are attached as a separate part to the first and or the second conductor end piece (figure 1 shows first and second charging contact items 11A and 11B).
Regarding claim 13, Fuehrer teaches the charging assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first and the second conductor end piece are mounted in the respective throughout opening with an anti-twist protection with respect to the axial direction (shown figures 5 and 7A show wherein the first and second conductor end pieces are mounted within the body item 150 of the housing)
Regarding claim 14, Fuehrer teaches the charging assembly according to claim 1, wherein the primary plug housing is at least partially encompassed by a secondary plug housing which protects the primary plug housing from outside influences (shown figures 5 and 7A show wherein the first and second conductor end pieces are mounted within the body item 150 of the housing. Paragraph [0068] discloses wherein the casing is sealed from outside influences).
Regarding claim 15, Fuehrer teaches the charging assembly according to claim 14, wherein in the mounted state the secondary plug housing fixates at least one element selected of the group consisting of the first and the second conductor end piece and the respective terminating sleeve in position within the first and the second throughout opening along the axial direction (shown figures 5 and 7A show wherein the first and second conductor end pieces are mounted within the body item 150 of the housing. Paragraph [0068] discloses wherein the casing is sealed from outside influences).
Regarding claim 17, Fuehrer teaches a charging plug for a charging assembly (figures 1 and 2 item 1 defined in paragraph [0060] as a plug connector part) according to claim 1, comprising
a primary plug housing encompassed by a secondary plug housing (figures 1 and 2 item 1 defined in paragraph [0060] as a plug connector part), wherein
a. the primary plug housing (figure 3 shows a housing part item 102) comprises
i. a first throughout opening in which a first conductor end piece is arranged, which is attached to the end of a first conductor of the charging cable and comprises opposite to the first conductor a first charging contact extending in an axial direction, and ii. a second throughout opening in which a second conductor end piece is arranged, which is attached to the end of a second conductor of the charging cable and comprises opposite to the second conductor a second charging contact being laterally spaced apart from and extending parallel to the first charging contact in the axial direction (figures 3 and 5 show a first throughout opening 11A. Figures 1 and 2 show the first end of a first connector and a first charging contact extending in an axial direction. Figures 3 and 5 show a first throughout opening 11B. Figures 1 and 2 show the second end of a second connector and a second charging contact extending in an axial direction);
wherein b. the primary plug housing comprises with respect to the axial direction a front part and a back part assembled to each other in the axial direction (figures 3 and 5) ; and
c. the secondary plug housing comprises a first and a second half-shell assembled to each other essentially perpendicular to the axial direction (figure 2 shows a first and second half shell assembled essentially perpendicular items 100 and 101).
Regarding claim 18, Fuehrer teaches the charging plug according to claim 17, wherein the charging cable enters the secondary plug housing by a cable gland arranged at a rear end of the secondary plug housing (shown in figure 2 wherein charging cable item 2 enters by a cable gland arranged at the rear end).
Regarding claim 20, Fuehrer teaches the charging plug according to claim 17, wherein an interface element is interconnected to the primary plug housing by at least one screw which in an assembled position covered and therefore not visible from an outside of the charge (paragraph [0073] discloses screws as fastening elements).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuehrer (US 20190176653)(‘653) in view of Fuehrer (US 20220376525) (‘525)
Regarding claim 7, Fuehrer (‘653) teaches the charging assembly according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein at least one element selected of the group consisting of the first and the second conductor end piece and the first and/or the second charging contact are interconnected to a thermal sensor which is electrically interconnected to an electronic device by an opening in the primary plug housing.
Fuehrer (‘525) teaches wherein at least one element selected of the group consisting of the first and the second conductor end piece and the first and/or the second charging contact are interconnected to a thermal sensor which is electrically interconnected to an electronic device by an opening in the primary plug housing (figure 5 shows temperature sensors items 11A and 11B connected to an electronic device item 12 defined in paragraph [0039] as an evaluation unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging connector system of the Fuehrer (‘653) reference with the charging connector system of the Fuehrer (‘525) reference so that the charging process may be aborted if unacceptable heating occurs.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Fuehrer (‘525) reference in paragraph [0005] wherein terminating a charging session is taught upon detected unacceptable heating.
Fuehrer (‘525) shows a vehicle charging connector
Regarding claim 8, Fuehrer (‘653) teaches the charging assembly according to claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein a thermal sensor is arranged in a recess of at least one element selected of the group consisting of the first and the second conductor end piece and the first and the second charging contact close to a respective contact surface.
Fuehrer (‘525) teaches wherein a thermal sensor is arranged in a recess of at least one element selected of the group consisting of the first and the second conductor end piece and the first and the second charging contact close to a respective contact surface (figure 5 shows temperature sensors items 11A and 11B connected to an electronic device item 12 defined in paragraph [0039] as an evaluation unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging connector system of the Fuehrer (‘653) reference with the charging connector system of the Fuehrer (‘525) reference so that the charging process may be aborted if unacceptable heating occurs.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Fuehrer (‘525) reference in paragraph [0005] wherein terminating a charging session is taught upon detected unacceptable heating.
Regarding claim 9, Fuehrer (‘653) teaches the charging assembly according to claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein the primary plug housing comprises a chamber in which the electronic device is arranged.
Fuehrer (‘525) teaches wherein the primary plug housing comprises a chamber in which the electronic device is arranged (figure 5 shows temperature sensors items 11A and 11B connected to an electronic device item 12 defined in paragraph [0039] as an evaluation unit housed in a chamber within the housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging connector system of the Fuehrer (‘653) reference with the charging connector system of the Fuehrer (‘525) reference so that the charging process may be aborted if unacceptable heating occurs.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Fuehrer (‘525) reference in paragraph [0005] wherein terminating a charging session is taught upon detected unacceptable heating.
Regarding claim 10, Fuehrer (‘653) teaches the charging assembly claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein at least one element selected of the group consisting of an auxiliary and monitoring contact is interconnected to the electronic device and extends parallel to the first and the second charging contact.
Fuehrer (‘525) teaches wherein at least one element selected of the group consisting of an auxiliary and monitoring contact is interconnected to the electronic device and extends parallel to the first and the second charging contact (figure 5 shows temperature sensors items 11A and 11B connected to an electronic device item 12 defined in paragraph [0039] as an evaluation unit housed in a chamber within the housing. Figure 5 show ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging connector system of the Fuehrer (‘653) reference with the charging connector system of the Fuehrer (‘525) reference so that the charging process may be aborted if unacceptable heating occurs.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Fuehrer (‘525) reference in paragraph [0005] wherein terminating a charging session is taught upon detected unacceptable heating.
Regarding claim 11, Fuehrer (‘653) teaches the charging assembly according to claim 9, but does not explicitly teach wherein the chamber extends in the axial direction and the electronic device comprises a printed circuit board to which the at least one auxiliary contact is attached, protruding above a front end of the printed circuit board.
Fuehrer (‘525) teaches wherein the chamber extends in the axial direction (figure 4 shows a chamber 152B extending in an axial direction) and the electronic device comprises a printed circuit board (figure 5 shows a circuit board item 13 within the chamber) to which the at least one auxiliary contact is attached, protruding above a front end of the printed circuit board (figures 4 and 5 show an auxiliary contact item 11c protruding above the board item 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging connector system of the Fuehrer (‘653) reference with the charging connector system of the Fuehrer (‘525) reference so that the charging process may be aborted if unacceptable heating occurs.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Fuehrer (‘525) reference in paragraph [0005] wherein terminating a charging session is taught upon detected unacceptable heating.
Regarding claim 16, Fuehrer (‘653) teaches the charging assembly according to claim 14, but does not explicitly teach wherein the secondary plug housing comprises an interface element for inserting the charging plug into an automotive vehicle and at least two half-shells forming an outer contour of the charging plug.
Fuehrer (‘525) teaches wherein the secondary plug housing comprises an interface element for inserting the charging plug into an automotive vehicle and at least two half-shells forming an outer contour of the charging plug (figure 2 items 152A and 152B defined in paragraph [0034] discloses two half-shells forming an outer shell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging connector system of the Fuehrer (‘653) reference with the charging connector system of the Fuehrer (‘525) reference so that the charging process may be aborted if unacceptable heating occurs.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Fuehrer (‘525) reference in paragraph [0005] wherein terminating a charging session is taught upon detected unacceptable heating.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuehrer (US 20190176653)(‘653) in view of Fuehrer (US 20220376525) (‘525) as applied to claim 10 and in further view of Chou (US 20190291588).
Regarding claim 12, Fuehrer (‘653) and Fuehrer (‘525) teaches the charging assembly according to claim 11, but does not explicitly teach wherein several auxiliary contacts are attached to the printed circuit board on at least two vertical levels with respect to the printed circuit board.
Chou teaches wherein several auxiliary contacts are attached to the printed circuit board on at least two vertical levels with respect to the printed circuit board (figures 9 and 10 and paragraph [0027] discloses wherein a printed circuit board assembly includes a two part structure located on at least two vertical levels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging connector system of the Fuehrer (‘653) and Fuehrer (‘525) references with the charging connector system of the Chou reference to allow for a more efficient routing of electrical wires and to reduce the overall size of the electrical connector.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Chou reference in paragraph [0027] wherein efficiently routing the wires and reducing size is taught.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuehrer (US 20190176653) in view of Casanova (US 20140090887 ).
Regarding claim 19, Fuehrer teaches the charging plug according to claim 18, but does not explicitly teach wherein the cable gland is clamped between the half-shells of the secondary plug housing and attached by a union nut.
Casanova teaches the cable gland is clamped between the half-shells of the secondary plug housing and attached by a union nut (shown in figures 1 and 2 item 12 and defined in paragraph [0049] wherein a unit nut is used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging connector system of the Fuehrer reference with the charging connector system of the Casanova reference so that the charging cables prevented from kinking or twisting.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Casanova reference in paragraph [0029] wherein the union nut is used to prevent kinking.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20190315239 A1 Liquid-Cooled Contact Element Beimdieck; Carsten Et Al.
Us 20120043935 A1 Station For Rapidly Charging An Electric Vehicle Battery Dyer; Christopher K. Et Al.
Us 20200317070 A1 Charging Cable For Transmitting Electric Energy, Charging Plug And Charging Station For Discharging Electric Energy To A Recipient Of Electric Energy Fuhrer; Thomas
Us 20190131035 A1 Charging Cable For Transmitting Electrical Energy, Charging Plug And Charging Station For Discharging Electrical Energy To A Recipient Of Electrical Energy Führer; Thomas Et Al.
Us 20200317071 A1 Charging Cable System With Cooling Hakenberg; Peter
Us 20230241991 A1 Charging Plug Connector Kaufmann; Lilian Et Al.
Us 20200369167 A1 Suspended Charging Cable System For Electric Vehicles Krucinski; Martin Et Al.
Us 8834202 B2 Connector Assembly For Vehicle Charging Kwasny; Keith R. Et Al.
Us 20180290558 A1 Vehicle Thermal Management System With Vortex Tube Myers; Eric Et Al.
Us 20150217654 A1 Cooling Of Charging Cable Woo; Yee Shan Et Al..
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859