DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 21-27, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Wang (WO 2023/159434).
Referring to Claim 1, Wang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (see paragraph 7 which shows a processor and memory), the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
receive signaling indicating a plurality of energy values associated with communications with a network node, wherein each energy value of the plurality of energy values is associated with a different configuration from a plurality of configurations for the communications with the network node (see 2010 of fig. 2 which shows a plurality of configurations sent to a UE 110-1 and paragraph 49 which shows each configuration sent associated with a different power level or power offset which is represented by a value); and
communicate with the network node according to a first configuration of the plurality of configurations that is associated with a first energy value of the plurality of energy values (see 2040 of fig. 2 which shows the step of communicating after determining the configuration to be activated as shown in step 2030).
Claim 29 is similar to claim 1.
Referring to Claim 24, Wang teaches apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (see paragraph 7 which shows a processor and memory), the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), signaling indicating a plurality of energy values associated with communications with the network node, wherein each energy value of the plurality of energy values is associated with a different configuration from a plurality of configurations for the communications with the network node (see 2010 of fig. 2 which shows a plurality of configurations sent to a UE 110-1 and paragraph 49 which shows each configuration sent associated with a different power level or power offset which is represented by a value); and
communicate with the UE according to a first configuration of the plurality of configurations that is associated with a first energy value of the plurality of energy values (see 2040 of fig. 2 which shows the step of communicating after determining the configuration to be activated as shown in step 2030).
Claim 30 is similar to claim 24.
Referring to Claims 2 and 25, Wang also teaches each energy value of the plurality of energy values indicating an energy cost at the network node corresponding to one of the plurality of configurations (see paragraph 49 which shows power level, power ratio, and power offset according to each configuration, all of which contribute to energy cost).
Referring to Claims 3 and 26, Wang also teaches each configuration from the plurality of configurations comprising a serving beam configuration from a plurality of serving beam configurations, and wherein each energy value of the plurality of energy values is associated with a different serving beam configuration from the plurality of serving beam configurations (see paragraph 33 which shows the network device each configuration in separate beams and paragraph 49 which shows each configuration sent associated with a different power level or power offset which is represented by a value).
Referring to Claims 4 and 27, Wang also teaches wherein the plurality of serving beam configurations comprise different synchronization signal block indices or different groups of synchronization signal blocks (see paragraph 33 which shows each beam having its own SSB (synchronization signal block) configuration).
Referring to Claim 21, Wang also teaches receiving at least one of a multicast signal, a broadcast signal, or a signal that is dedicated to the UE (see 2010 of fig, 2 which shows the signal sent directly and exclusively to the UE 110-1).
Referring to Claim 22, Wang also teaches receive, from the network node and via a medium access control control element or a physical downlink control channel, second signaling indicating an update to one or more of the plurality of energy values (see paragraph 36 which shows the updating of the SSB configuration and paragraph 52 which shows MAC and PHY signaling).
Referring to Claim 23, Wang also teaches calculating, according to the plurality of energy values associated with the communications with the network node, an energy efficiency for communications with the network node, wherein communicating with the network node according to the first configuration is in response to calculating the energy efficiency for communications with the network node (see 2040 of fig. 2 which shows the step of communicating after determining the configuration to be activated as shown in step 2030 and paragraph 49 which shows power level, power ratio, and power offset according to each configuration, all of which contribute to energy efficiency).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0131676).
Referring to Claims 5 and 28, Wang does not teach wherein each configuration from the plurality of configurations is associated with a signal quality threshold from a plurality of signal quality thresholds, and wherein each energy value of the plurality of energy values is associated with a different signal quality threshold from the plurality of signal quality thresholds. Zhang teaches wherein each configuration from the plurality of configurations is associated with a signal quality threshold from a plurality of signal quality thresholds, and wherein each energy value of the plurality of energy values is associated with a different signal quality threshold from the plurality of signal quality thresholds (see paragraph 25 which shows comparing all downlink signals quality to a threshold and paragraph 26 which shows the threshold as modifiable). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Zhang to the device of Wang in order to maintain the delivery of high quality content between devices.
Referring to Claim 6, Zhang also teaches the plurality of signal quality thresholds comprising different reference signal received power thresholds (see paragraph 4 which shows the reference signals and paragraph 25 which shows comparing all downlink signals quality to a threshold).
Claim(s) 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Laselva (WO 2023/170613).
Referring to Claim 7, Wang does not teach receiving an indication of a condition that is associated with the plurality of energy values, wherein communicating with the network node is in response to the condition being satisfied. Laselva teaches receiving an indication of a condition that is associated with the plurality of energy values, wherein communicating with the network node is in response to the condition being satisfied (see paragraph 4 which shows receiving of a condition for a configuration for a handover). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Laselva to the device of Wang in order to maintain the delivery of high quality content between devices.
Referring to Claim 8, Laselva also teaches wherein the condition is for a conditional handover, and wherein communicating with the network node comprises performing the conditional handover from another network node to the network node in response to the condition being satisfied (see paragraph 4 which shows receiving of a condition for a configuration for a handover).
Referring to Claim 9, Laselva also teaches receiving the signaling from the other network node (see 302 and 304 of fig. 3A which shows the UE receiving signaling from the other nodes).
Referring to Claim 10, Laselva also teaches the condition is for a conditional lower layer triggered mobility, and wherein communicating with the network node comprises performing the conditional lower layer triggered mobility from another network node to the network node in response to the condition being satisfied (see paragraph 59 which shows operation in lower frequency layers at the target cell).
Referring to Claim 11, Laselva also teaches receive the signaling from the other network node (see 302 and 304 of fig. 3A which shows the UE receiving signaling from the other nodes).
Referring to Claim 12, Laselva also teaches wherein the condition is for a cell selection or reselection procedure, and wherein communicating with the network node comprises performing the cell selection or reselection procedure with the network node in response to the condition being satisfied (see paragraph 8 which shows cell selection based on conditional handover configurations).
Referring to Claim 13, Laselva also teaches receiving one or more system information blocks comprising an indication of a plurality of second energy values associated with communications with another network node, wherein each second energy value of the plurality of second energy values is associated with a different second configuration from a plurality of second configurations for communications with the other network node, wherein performing the cell selection or reselection procedure with the network node is further in response to a second condition that is associated with the plurality of second energy values not being satisfied (see paragraph 8 which shows cell selection based on conditional handover configurations and further noting that there are more than one handover conditions used in cell selection based on information of all target cells which implies energy values from all target cells).
Referring to Claim 14, Laselva also teaches the condition is for reporting measurements associated with the plurality of configurations, and wherein communicating with the network node comprises reporting measurements for one or more configurations of the plurality of configurations in response to the condition being satisfied for each of the one or more configurations (see paragraph 71 which shows the process of adjusting measurements made in the process of selecting a target cell).
Referring to Claim 15, Laselva also teaches performing measurements associated with one or more configurations of the plurality of configurations in response to the condition being satisfied for each of the one or more configurations (see paragraph 71 which shows measurements performed in regards to conditions exceeding a threshold).
Referring to Claim 16, Laselva also teaches the condition is satisfied based at least in part on the first energy value satisfying a threshold energy value associated with the condition (see paragraph 39 which shows operation dependent on load satisfying a threshold).
Referring to Claim 17, Laselva also teaches the condition further associated with one or more additional parameters (see paragraph 57 which shows more parameters in regards to energy saving).
Referring to Claim 18, Laselva also teaches the condition is satisfied based at least in part on a decision value satisfying a threshold, and wherein the decision value is indicated by a mapping of the one or more additional parameters and the first energy value to the decision value (see paragraph 66 which measures probability to a threshold in regards to additional parameters such as latency, bitrate, etc.)
Referring to Claim 19, Laselva also teaches the condition satisfied based at least in part on a decision value satisfying a threshold, and wherein the decision value is a function of the one or more additional parameters and the first energy value (see paragraph 39 which shows operation dependent on parameters satisfying a threshold).
Referring to Claim 20, Laselva also teaches the one or more additional parameters comprise at least one of a signal to noise ratio, a signal to noise plus interference ratio, a reference signal received power, a quality of service type, a beam identifier, a cell identifier, a time of day, or a position or zone identifier (see paragraph 45 which shows SINR as a parameter).
Conclusion
/EUGENE YUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648